Wyndham Vacation Ownership Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 142 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New ownership
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  LindsayJanuary 15, 2014
New ownership. Co-workers are great to work with. Guests were amazing as well as old owner
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A true test of one's people skills
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ONJanuary 2, 2014
Taught a great deal of patience and understanding due to the high volume of overly irate guest base.
Great sales experience and management skills.
Management only listens with half an ear and roadblock any attempt at advancement within the company.
Good, supportive co-workers...in most cases.
Pros
good benefits, discount at restaurant, event ticket perks
Cons
terrible hours, no allowance for advancement, unapproachable management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Niagara FallsDecember 12, 2013
It was not enjoyable and very unorganized. It was hard to get any work done, and the it was often short staffed due to people calling in sick.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned new things
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ponoka, ABNovember 7, 2013
learned how to deal with multi cultured people and language barrier
Pros
long hrs. pay was ok
Cons
language barriers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outgoing, preductive, works well with others
bluenotes (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ONNovember 7, 2013
I got to work on my own and i impressed the boss by showing him i am a great worker.
Pros
working hard and getting noticed
Cons
people who don't appreiate a hard worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY STRESSFULL
Night Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ONOctober 29, 2013
NOT A CLEAN PLACE ...,DO ALL KIND OF WORK..ROOM IS DIRTY,,,BASEMENT IS A REAL MESS ..WATER ON THE FLOOR
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Housekeeping/Laundry (Former Employee) –  Dieppe, NBOctober 21, 2013
work started at 8am i was mainly laundry personnal wash dryed folded and put laundry away also cleaned and disinfected rooms and hallways..
Pros
early work days
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work people were welcoming
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKSeptember 30, 2013
i liked the housekeeping looking after rooms going at your own pace and level cleaning everything in the rooms were pretty messy at times but that was expected.
Pros
welcoming people
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food stocking
housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, ABSeptember 18, 2013
i experince stocking and i dont interest with that job cause i dont match it ...
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of location
RCI Vacation Guide (Former Employee) –  Saint John NBSeptember 2, 2013
a challenging and rewarding place to work. Teamwork was well used and a lot of great people to work with both team members and team leaders.
Pros
people, great pay and incentives as well as good benefits
Cons
high requirements for stats
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not A Fun Workplace
Housekeeping/Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ONAugust 20, 2013
Working at super 8 taught me alot about cleaning and hotels, but working there wasn't fun or interesting to me at all. I found co-workers were always complaining about everything they possibly could. The managers were great except the housekeeping manager, very rude and demanding. I always put my full effort into my job. I always got everything done on time no matter what but when it came to me asking for proper equipment to help me work it was always a hassle. I haven't found one person who likes there job working for this company. Also no one liked working as a team like we were supposed to. Super 8 would be such an amazing workplace if alot of people didn't bring personal problems to the workplace and if things were delt with maturity. I found that things were never handled properly. Sundays we would have a full day check out 82 rooms? we asked for one of us to be able to go around the hotel and strip the rooms so that the laundry could begin, but the only way they allowed us to do that was if we had a co-op student because they were free, then when are co-op student decided to leave they told us that if we still wanted someone to strip rooms we would have to take time out of each of our rooms with is close to 30 mins per room so add that up all day each girl and we have to pay her with our money. confusing yes. but isn't crazy?
Pros
good long hours, friendly customers!
Cons
negativity
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Days Inn
Front Desk Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ONJuly 31, 2013
Was great 2 years working at Front Desk, got to be managers on the weekend which was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Hotel
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 5, 2013
The hotel is great with lovely staff members.

The pay was good and the hour also.

Clean and nice hotel close to my house.
Pros
good staff
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with.
Front Desk Clerk (P/T) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 2, 2013
Learned how to interact with customers.

Co-workers are helping me always when ever i need them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO FUN
Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ONJune 6, 2013
The hardest part of the job was working with a manager who did not give a care in the world about anything involving work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers were great
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 27, 2013
Good place to work,Hours were good,management was great too,meeting people
Pros
good place to work
Cons
don't have any
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace, flexible hours
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ONMay 5, 2013
Had a great experience with colleagues and my supervisor. I now have a personal relationship with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NBApril 18, 2013
I Love to work with with all people,Love to see them get ahead,it makes my day just to see a smile on their face,One of the best days of my life Was when I became A Maintenance Supervisor and Forman,And then started to sell my Paintings.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unforgettable experience
Serveuse (Former Employee) –  Timmins OnApril 10, 2013
learning and typical day at work :

serving drinks and meals
taking orders
dishes
cleaning tables
cleaning meeting rooms
working at the cash

management:

they plaid favoritism with the workers part of there family worked and where given more then the others

co-workers:

the cooks where polite and fun to work with the other servers some where fun to work with and others just went on smoke breaks and let you alone to work

the hardest part of the job :

was to keep working and doing everything to help out and get nothing back from the others

the most enjoyable part of the job:

the miners and the other costumers we had a contract to serve and learning new things every day
Pros
the customers i served
Cons
the lack of apriciation for the workers / favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guest services Agent
Guest Services Agent (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg ManitobaApril 9, 2013
My day typically starts with making coffee for the guests to enjoy in the morning, then I answer phones and help with laundry. I do guest check outs, file paperwork, take payments from guests extending their stay.
The part of this job that enjoy the most is the guests, I love the interaction with people, providing the best possible customer service to each and every one.
Pros
discount on food/relaxed atmosphere
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,258 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture