Wyndham Vacation Ownership Employee Reviews

Found 157 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable and well organised
Housekeeping / Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2014
I learnt to be more Self-motivated, dependable, hard working, punctual, prioritize tasks and able to manage multiple demands and tasks simultaneously. I also improve in my ability to work under pressure, attention to detail, knowledgeable of safety practices related to housekeeping and meeting timeline in fast-paced and safe environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Night Shifts on the Frontline and Banquet Kitchen
3rd Line Cook/Banquet Cook (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ONOctober 14, 2014
A typical Day at work starts off by sanitation and making sure all tools and equipment are sharpened, clean and safe to use.
I prepare the Frontline setup which consists of filling up all the ingredient inserts and fridges. I check if everything is fresh and usable for the next 3 days coming. Once the rush starts, I help out my other coworkers with orders as well as room services.

I learned to deal with the stress, and long hours that some restaurants and hotels offer. I learned to take my time and do what is asked the right way/the way the chef wants it without cutting corners.

The hardest part of my job would be the plated banquets. ( lots of dishes prepared at the same time can cause confusion and/or a mix-up of ingredients.)

The enjoyable part of my job would be the amount of respect and care all of the employees ( Chefs, other Cooks, Porters, Staff) have for each other. There's barely any negativity in the kitchen which is key in some places.
Pros
one free meal every shift.
Cons
it's a hotel restaurant so business in the dinning room is a hit and miss.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible workplace where you are able to enjoy a work-life balance.
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville OntarioOctober 5, 2014
I enjoy working here as it allows me to use my self-management skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBSeptember 23, 2014
 Interacted with the guest in a warm, friendly and courteous manner.
 Checked and tallied accounts of all departments in the hotel.
 Handled cash transactions and produce a timely report.
 Maintained a daily balance of the transactions, reconciliation and final reports and forward the same to accounting centers.
 Balanced and tallied cash in hand against invoices.
 Reconciled the cashier’s report.
 Processed the journal entries, balanced the accounts and audited the same to check for accuracy.
 Completed the audit summary for all the shifts keeping policies and procedures into consideration.
 Helped in booking room reservation, answering phone calls, taking messages for guests and notified them about the same.
 Ensured that necessary desk information was submitted to shift manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABSeptember 22, 2014
fun place to work. able to meet lotsof people from different walks of life. great management and co-workers.
Pros
free use of pool and gym during my tenure.
Cons
no benifits.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summer job
Room Attendant/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Drumheller, ABSeptember 17, 2014
It is a fast paced good work environment with a ton of perks. It was a good summer job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun loving, Values every employee and Guest
Guest Services Agent (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, ABSeptember 12, 2014
Amazing work environment with the friendliest of staff who work hard to make people happy. It is very rewarding to work for this company. You will get to know many different people while working here. You will better yourself in computer skills and communication skills. Everyday is different, which makes it exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, Fun & Great place to work
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, OntarioAugust 28, 2014
Management was amazing!

Staff very friendly, tight knit.

Enjoyed meeting different people from all over the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Night Auditor/Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ONAugust 8, 2014
As a night auditor I mostly worked alone. I booked guest into the hotel, made sure their stay was pleasant and did the shift end report. I had a great experience working for the super 8 and obtained lots of knowledge around being a night auditor.
Pros
great working enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 5, 2014
Ensured all Rooms status when i start the work everyday. Also checked all log books, Cash Handling Procedure and check outs and reservations of the day.

Learned to work in a professional environment.

Co-workers were helpful

Management was Great.

When there is no entry of any guest request in the log book and guest get upset with service was the hardest part of the job.
Pros
free car wash coupons
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grate experience
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONJuly 26, 2014
while working at the travelodge i made some grate friends and had an amazing experience working there. the environment was grate and the learning curve/ training was grate the workers are very dedicated and patient with one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONJuly 15, 2014
greet the people arrange all the facility
give best hospitality to guest
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Aurora ,ONJune 19, 2014
N/A

Free breakfast.
Crazy hours.
No security at night.
Not a good place to work to long.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible unenjoyable job experience
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ONJune 16, 2014
do not work here, worst job of your life. bad management, bad pay. do not make good experiences for guests; overall hotel is in very poor shape and not well managed
Pros
working with the public
Cons
pay, management, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Breakfast Bar Clerk (Former Employee) –  High Level, ABMay 28, 2014
very tedious duties.....staff difficult to get along with
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 24, 2014
customer service and front desk work
nice co-workers
good management system
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent intro to the world of tourism
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MBMay 12, 2014
I loved everything about this job. It began my love for tourism and the nature of such jobs. Management and co-workers alike we fantastic. They provided support, education and unlimited understanding. I appreciated the trust they had in their employers to complete the jobs of any given day. It was just a really great place, assuming you accomplished the tasks that were expected of you.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unipress Ltd was a division of Brunswick News that was relocated to Moncton
General Office Administration (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBMay 9, 2014
The job requirements for a typical day included data entry of time sheets of workers, preparation of purchase orders and invoices for head office.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ONMay 3, 2014
From one day to the next it was an interesting experience based on teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Psychology Student/Residential Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSApril 25, 2014
I learned the company has many tools for the guest to earn points and receive different rewards through the Rewards Program
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,480 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

Wyndham Vacation Ownership Reviews by Location