Find companies:
World Duty Free
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

World Duty Free Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Warehouse Team Member (Current Employee), EghamJuly 17, 2014
Good place to work, but not for too long. I did enjoy work at World Duty Free, but it didn't gave me opportunities. Everyday is exactly the same, no chance for development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun at times yet a negative vibe
Customer Sales Assistant (Current Employee), London Gatwick AirportJune 20, 2014
Pros: access to luxury products, staff canteen card, great staff discount.
Cons: very early starts
Start my shift at 4am, I cover beauty counters attending to the needs of customers. advising and helping them make a choice on fragrance, skincare and make up. Also making sales. Promote new products.
I have learnt how to communicate with people from all over the world and different nationalities. Learnt how to work and cope in very busy environments.
Performance – more... from management in my eyes could be a lot better. I feel that there is hardly any duty of care towards employees.
Gossiping is very big amongst colleges and i see it as a form of bullying, but saying that working in the beauty department we work well as a team.
Hardest part for me would be 4am starts.
Enjoyable part i would say is meeting new people every day, working in the beauty department, training sessions, and being able to be the 1st to experience new products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring hours
Perfume and Make-Up Specialist (Former Employee), Stansted, ENGJune 9, 2014
As a sales assistant my job was to promote and sell duty free products in a very busy environment. I was a perfume and make-up specialist and had to reach sales targets daily. I worked in a team to keep sales up and till queues down and prevent stock loss. I was also placed in stores by myself where I had to do regular till checks, cash lifts and stock – more... counting. I exceeded sales targets for certain products were I received praise and awards. I was flexible to different customers and adapted to their characteristics to push sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Night Replenishment/Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), birminghamJune 5, 2014
The work was great I enjoyed what I did. Prefer to speak about work related issues face to face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely well streamlined and efficient business.
Shift Leader (Current Employee), EghamJune 4, 2014
Pros: 4 on 4 off shiftwork is amazing!!
Cons: long days and sometimes an impossibly heavy workload
Amazingly efficient business. Positive staff and a consistantly busy workload
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, very people driven.
Replenishment Manager - Nights (Current Employee), London, ENGMay 4, 2014
Pros: salary, bonus, staff parking, staff sales, airport environment
Cons: work / life balance, advancement
There is no typical day at WDF, it is a fast paced airport environment with the sales to match.

There is a wide range of scope for the "typical" day from managing the night operations for a terminal to working on projects (e.g Terminal 2)

I have learned along the way through my time with WDF, the following:

Change management - adapting to change – more... and engaging other to achieve change

Working within a senior team, understanding roles and how they interact with head office functions

My exposure to head office roles, engaging & supporting. Influencing / sharing ideas to deliver growth

Promotional planing - adapting to numerous changes and manpower planning for events

Maintenance - running terminal maintenance & working with 3rd party contractors

My Co-workers - I have seen a fair few come and go over the years, however it is about working as a team to deliver the end result. It is also building a support network and not being afraid to say help when you need it.

The hardest part of the of the job, I would have to say is the work / life balance

The most enjoyable part of the job is it is never the same day twice, always something different. I take satisfaction when my team have delivered above expectations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place of work
CUSTOMER SERVICE / MERCHANDISING ASSISTANT (Current Employee), London HeathrowApril 16, 2014
Pros: good staff discount and excellent pay.
Cons: unsociable hours
A Typical day of work would involve customer interaction until store closes. Greet passenngers, establish a connection and offer them help. Help varies fom helping customers locate certain products, helping them find things they are unsure of with open questions and by exploting your own personal product knowlege, providing them with information about – more... their allowances according to where they are travelling and just assisting generally in their store experience. After store hours unpacking and replenishing delivery, implenting any promotional displays and planograms, making a note of missing products and chasing them up, checking tickets are in place and filling out any forms for damaged or faulty stock.

I have developed extensively in my customer service skills with World Duty Free, through training and personal experience. I able to identify easily purchasing trends and how to approach different types of customers and give them tailored and unbiased advice.
I have explored the creative side of merchandising being involved in creating displays to capture customer attention and launching new fragrance campaigns that are exclusive to World Duty Free.

I work with a hardworking team, who work under a lot of pressure with ease and contribute to the team equally making it enjoyable to work with them, the hardest part however is the job can be quite repetitive letting it become quite dull. There is little chance of advancement as the employee turnover is very minimal in more challenging roles available. But the best part is the fast paced environment and the excellent discount. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment to work in
Customer Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Leeds, ENGApril 4, 2014
Pros: good staff discount
Cons: early starts
A typical day at duty free is always a pleasant one, i have learned a lot about selling products and my product knowledge has grown a lot whilst working at duty free. I love meeting new people and when i speak to passengers who are really nice and they appreciate my help then that really makes my day a better one. v
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Sales and Service Specialist (Current Employee), London, Heathrow terminal 3March 10, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: over analysis before making any decision big or small
the company is a very well run company that is in a constant state of improvement. always concentrating on the customer needs whether its internal or external. i have learnt a lot bieng there and for anyone who wishes to reach a high level in the customer service industry it is a recommended place of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive busy workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee), Beauty- fragrance/cosmetics departmentFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: incentive, trianing, discounted goods
Cons: unsociable hours
My typical day at work,
Fulfilling daily tasks
To work well in a team and bring contributing ideas and discussions
To have a detailed knowledge about all the products and book sales
To perform a personal service for customers
Stock take
Merchandising stock
Passing on important hand over information when shifts change
Dealing with customer service telephone – more... orders and request
Working on computers and delivering weekly paper work tasks which involve figures and targets of each brand.

I have learned a wide range of product knowledge in great detail of thousands of products in store, my service skills have improved and I have learnt the skills required to train others on product knowledge, welcome and train new comers, organise a daily planner for team members, extensive communications between colleagues.

I have a great relationship with my team and other co-workers, we are a team of 12, I communicate jobs and tasks throughout and during shifts, I motivate the team, forth coming with new creative ideas, I hold small up to date meetings with important information for the team. I work not only with 12 people but hundreds of other members around the store in each department, communication is key along with strong relationships.

The hardest part of the job is the early start, getting up at 3.00am to start work for 5.00am.

The most enjoyable part is working in a great team and having freedom around the large store, meeting new people each day and being able to give a personal customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplae
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), HeathrowFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: built my self confidence
Cons: not a career
Well planned and organised day ahead. I work with a friendly group of team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
target oriented
Customer Representative (Current Employee), London, ENGJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: get some price deduction on duty free products
Cons: shift timings v early 5.30 am start
meeting and greeting customers
going out of your way to help the customer
learned highest standards of customer service
cash handling ,dealing with all type foreign currencies
management is target oriented and rewarding
co workers are friendly and good team players
hard part of the job is shift work v early morning start at 5.30 am
every moment is enjoyable – more... as its airport and its v happening live – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service assistant (Current Employee), Heathrow AirportNovember 24, 2013
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: normal working hours
Not two days is the same
I learned to be patient
they are very understanding
Fantastic team workers
Reach the targets
Meeting new people everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Luxury Specialist (Former Employee), stantedOctober 19, 2013
Pros: travel free
Cons: odd hours
very rewarding.
mostly helping client choose.
.meeting different people.
its challenging to satisfy everyone but you have to stay focus
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Buzzing and friendly atmosphere
Sales Specialist (Current Employee), World Duty FreeSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: the discounts and meeting new people everyday.
Cons: shift work
To provide the best customer service possible and maximise sales on a daily basis.You have to be pretty flexible as you may get put into different stores to cover breaks and staff shortages. Opening and closing shops as well as cashing up and operating the tills. The most fun part of the job is meeting new people that are flying out and work in the – more... airport. not one day is the same unless you make it to be. I have learned quite a lot about the products they sell and we are given a lot of product knowledge as we are sent for training and road-shows.
Management help you develop your career within the business by helping by a development progression plan. Also are given various opportunities to work internally.
If your active then this is the job for you because you are on your feet all day and work long hours. but there are options to choose different shift patterns therefore adjust to your circumstances.
My favourite part of the day is interacting with my customers and knowing that i am developing my personal communication and other relevant skills needed to provide a satisfactory service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment in a fast paced area
Supervisor (Former Employee), Sanford, FLJune 20, 2013
Pros: great opportunity to advance
Cons: no set days off
Meet and Greet New customers made daily goal reports and make sure we provided the best customer service skills possible to our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy enviroment
Senior sales specialist (Former Employee), Gatwick south terminalMay 27, 2013
Pros: free car parking, staff purchase discounts
Cons: distance and cost of getting to work
Work colleagues work hard all the time and are under a good deal of pressure, learnt to cope with stress and making decisions very quickly,working hours are very anti social but neccesary for the airport enviroment and usually involved time pressures.The only criticism I have is that the management seems to be very fragmented and decisions tend to get – more... delayed but the idea that someone else has dealt with it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat, fun and friendly workplace
sales assistant (Current Employee), heathrow terminal fuveMay 15, 2013
Pros: discounts
Everyday at work will be different. Everyday, there are hundreds of customers from all over the world. The workplace is always lively and busy, so I have learnt to wok well under pressure and on the spot. Also, I manage the collections store on my own regularly, so i can work well individually as well as within a team. Moreover, we stock a variety of – more... items, so i feel i have great product knowledge on fragrance, handbags, jewellery, make up and skin care. Also, working with high-end products in a well recognised shop, I believe I have enhanced my interpersonal skills and deliver exceptional customer service. The hardest part of the job can be trying to communicate with foreign passengers, however I feel with experience and patience, it is possible. I would not leave a customer until they are satisfied and have found exactly what they are looking for. The best part of the job is representing an amazing store that everyone will be excited to come back to wen flying out. I also love communicating with people of all ages and ensuring i am friendly and welcoming.So, i enjoy helping others and giving them a shopping experience to remember. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working Enviroment & Lovely People
Buying Assistant (Former Employee), HeathrowMay 8, 2013
Pros: staff discount
Cons: lack of development
On a normal day to day basis i would deal with all areas of the business. Supply Chain to deal with product coming into the business and forecasting orders. Marketing: to deal with POS requests and any in store events. Accounts: to deal with Invoices and manage supplier income. Stores: to communicate any price or promotion changes. Suppliers: to deal – more... with new product/ranges and product information. Category Buying Manger: to deal with cost/retail prices, ranges, new promotions, discontinued stock, and general support. I have learnt so much from WDF about Buying and how a retail company operates. I have met some truly amazing people to work with at WDF. The most enjoyable part of the job is the lovely working atmosphere and friendly people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), London Stansted AirportMarch 18, 2013
At world duty free you are made to feel part of the team from day one, everyone is warm and welcoming, you can make new friends, its a really fun place to work at.