Woodbine Entertainment Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With the right team/department this can be a fun place to work at
CUSTOMER SERVICE ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Rexdale, ON16 December 2017
At times can be tedious...very busy and very lively. Culture is great, good people. Sometimes you're unable to get time off for vacation but that's also dependant on role with company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work at
Dish Washer (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON6 December 2017
I was a dishwasher at this company. It is a good place to work as the wage is very high. Working gets tougher here during busy days. Sometimes, you will enjoy relaxed depending on the shift and the place of work within the building. As work hours changed constantly, I had to often go to bed very late in the night, it gave me sleep issues. For some people, work timing has no issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and fun too
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  REXDALE ONTARIO27 November 2017
Worked at night so usually working alone finish the shift.Woodbine entertainment is trying to become zero harm environment too.But,annually woodbine reconize as zero harm soil (organic).Woodbine always conduct christmas party for our children exclusively aside for adult s party
Pros
Free lunch before, Free dental, Eye exam, Medicine
Cons
Seniority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintaining 600,000 square feet
Facility Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Property Services25 September 2017
Tour facility to find deficiencies and repair them
assign staff to work
check emails
make work orders
respect in the workplace
learning new things
people are my strengths
Pros
Service awards for long standing employees
Cons
travel to get to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you really need a job, apply at your own risk
Dinning Rooms & Banquet Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 July 2017
good, professional people to work with. long hours! you can kiss your personal life , goodbye. along with your family and friends cause you will be working alot and hardly have time to see them.

A good place to work, they are fair.

pay could be better.
Pros
discounted food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace and culture
Manager (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON16 June 2017
- opportunity to be involved with new projects
- good rapport with direct manager and my staff. We are able to make conversation of anything from serious talks to jokes in the office that made it good team building
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
no windows in the office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun, friendly, good work life balance
Systems network Anayst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 June 2017
Working at Woodbine for over 20 years, the people were the backbone of the company. Employees who love horse racing, and want to see it continue. However times have changed, so did upper management - more stress, less incentive, less flexibility, staff have to watch their every move. They do try to have ping pong, and employee events, but the mood has changed unfortunately.
Pros
Good hard working staff still exist
Cons
more work, less people
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, especially during big event days.
Workforce Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 June 2017
Woodbine is an exciting place to work. The future is looking bright with the new expansion plans.With the new culture shift employees have input and are challenged to offer opinions and suggestions for improvements. Management will take the time to listen to what you have to say.
Pros
Subsidized meals. Free WIFI. Fuel the FUN Lounge.
Cons
Shift work. Mediocre wages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at
Hospitality (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 May 2017
a typical day it work is very nice from costumers and co-workers
i have learned many things from making pizza and also doing customer service to how the place is set up and the different events that goes on
work place culture no problems yet
for me to say there is none
everything management workers environment
Pros
breaks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Campbellville, ON17 May 2017
Decent hours and management nice place to work good incentives lack of day shift hours made it difficult to work with family at home would like to see more straight day shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy Workplace
Part Time Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 April 2017
Great place to work, payed for the day at special events easy way to make some quick money, new jobs every event, helpful if you can serve alchol however it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fast paced place to work.
Security Services Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON18 March 2017
- Busy but fun atmosphere.
- Room for growth within the company.
- Great culture to work in.
- Great staff from entry level up to management.
- Extensive training offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Labourer, Property services (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 March 2017
Hard working fast paced environment, unfortunately very hard to advance. Great people who make the work enjoyable despite the work load. Company has been closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 February 2017
I enjoy it - hours can range and you get to choose when you work. There is always hours available and you set you your own schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job in my life
TV crew (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
I worked there at TV department over 10 years.
I had to work early morning, late night including weekend and holiday.
They do not allow union so you can not claim overtime and gas mileage to other location.
Most crew left within 2-3 years or they kick you out with some unreasonable fact.
But high position guys they suck lots of money and benefit because it is non profit company so they have to spend all profit before year.
I regret why I worked there long time.
Never try this stupid company for your life!!!
Pros
Just looks nice
Cons
No overtime pay with weekend and holiday working
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Rexdale, ON4 February 2017
I've been there for almost 16 years and only gotten a $1 raise and the prices of living has gone up $100's. it has also lost its Clientele due to poor management and not paying out compared to other casinos. I'm looking to get out of the serving industry and looking to learn something new something more dependable with pay and hours.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Low pay, poor union, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and entertaining workplace with a great customer service team
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2017
A typical day at Woodbine is answering any customer inquires regarding horse racing and/or building navigation. While being at woodbine I have learned great customer service skills and how to handle aggressive customers in an appropriate manner. The management is great, we all get along just fine. Hardest part of the job is getting a question from a customer and having no answer. Easiest part of the job is being at the customer service desk, rather than being in the dining rooms helping new customers. Most enjoyable part about being at woodbine would be the horse races.
Pros
paid lunches and cheap cafeteria
Cons
repetitive work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work you shift go home.
Line Cook/Buffet Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 January 2017
Shift starts at 4 pm cook A la Carte for casino patrons. After 4 hours Hors D'oeurves for VIP clientele by the 100s added on top of A la carte. break in between and closing duties
Pros
Benefits
Cons
NO advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with potential for growth
Chef (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2017
This is a large fast paced organization that demands productivity and efficiency. There is a great deal of pressure put on middle management to organize and supervise the business.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no hours or sometimes short hours
Teller (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2017
should be equal number of hours among all employees including casual members


a typical day of work- I say no comment. It is because I am not given any schedule. If ever, 4 1/2 or 5 hours minimum, I prefer longer hours and / or double shift

I learned to be patient with difficult customers

management- no comment

co- workers? honestly, many seniors do their betting at work

I feel that as a casual member, there's a some sort of discrimination

hardest part of the job- that you are denied to request for a training especially in the money room.

most enjoyable - customer give you tip
Pros
sometimes overtime
Cons
no hours given.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Woodbine Entertainment. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 78 reviews
518
433
319
25
13

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Woodbine Entertainment Reviews by Location