Woodbine Entertainment Group Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Campbellville, ON17 May 2017
Decent hours and management nice place to work good incentives lack of day shift hours made it difficult to work with family at home would like to see more straight day shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy Workplace
Part Time Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 April 2017
Great place to work, payed for the day at special events easy way to make some quick money, new jobs every event, helpful if you can serve alchol however it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fast paced place to work.
Security Services Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON18 March 2017
- Busy but fun atmosphere.
- Room for growth within the company.
- Great culture to work in.
- Great staff from entry level up to management.
- Extensive training offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 February 2017
I enjoy it - hours can range and you get to choose when you work. There is always hours available and you set you your own schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job in my life
TV crew (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
I worked there at TV department over 10 years.
I had to work early morning, late night including weekend and holiday.
They do not allow union so you can not claim overtime and gas mileage to other location.
Most crew left within 2-3 years or they kick you out with some unreasonable fact.
But high position guys they suck lots of money and benefit because it is non profit company so they have to spend all profit before year.
I regret why I worked there long time.
Never try this stupid company for your life!!!
Pros
Just looks nice
Cons
No overtime pay with weekend and holiday working
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Rexdale, ON4 February 2017
I've been there for almost 16 years and only gotten a $1 raise and the prices of living has gone up $100's. it has also lost its Clientele due to poor management and not paying out compared to other casinos. I'm looking to get out of the serving industry and looking to learn something new something more dependable with pay and hours.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Low pay, poor union, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work you shift go home.
Line Cook/Buffet Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 January 2017
Shift starts at 4 pm cook A la Carte for casino patrons. After 4 hours Hors D'oeurves for VIP clientele by the 100s added on top of A la carte. break in between and closing duties
Pros
Benefits
Cons
NO advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with potential for growth
Chef (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2017
This is a large fast paced organization that demands productivity and efficiency. There is a great deal of pressure put on middle management to organize and supervise the business.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no hours or sometimes short hours
Teller (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2017
should be equal number of hours among all employees including casual members


a typical day of work- I say no comment. It is because I am not given any schedule. If ever, 4 1/2 or 5 hours minimum, I prefer longer hours and / or double shift

I learned to be patient with difficult customers

management- no comment

co- workers? honestly, many seniors do their betting at work

I feel that as a casual member, there's a some sort of discrimination

hardest part of the job- that you are denied to request for a training especially in the money room.

most enjoyable - customer give you tip
Pros
sometimes overtime
Cons
no hours given.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace culture
Administration Offices (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON27 October 2016
I love coming into work, there is always something fun and exciting happening around here. My manager is great and gives me the opportunity to take on special projects that allow me to feel like I am a contributor. I really enjoy the people here, everyone says hello in the halls (executives included). Challenges have to do with bringing a company forward in the future with lots of history and tenured employees.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
The property development will take a long time to complete
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challenging
Senior Operator / Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 July 2016
bringing horse racing to audience. Live events, able to be shown on network sports channel. Great place to adapt new skills.
Pros
ever changing
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much Horse play
Dining Room Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 July 2016
This is not your normal workplace. They take restaruant to a new level. I can say that each day is very different from the last.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to land
Programmer / DB Analyst / SharePoint (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 May 2016
Woodbine was a great place to land. It gave the opportunity to expand my programming skills and hone existing skills.
Great people, management and atmosphere.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Industry is slowing down
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cook (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 March 2016
Woodbine is a great place to work. There's a lot going on at WEG and always something fun. Casino, horseraces are just a couple. The culture at woodbine has changed for the best.
Pros
Great people, good benifits, decent lunches
Cons
Open every day of the year
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, exhilrating
Hot walker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 March 2016
Woodbine was one of the best jobs I ever had being outside all the time and enjoying fresh air with one earths most beautiful animals how can you complain.
Pros
boss always took care of us
Cons
waking up 3am
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Good
Chauffeur (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 November 2015
its a good place to work.Its a fun place to work
The most enjoy part of this job is u get to meat a lot off people
There is a lot of different people i meat on a day to day basics.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provide positive health experience
Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON26 October 2015
Professional provision of treatment( first aid, health programs and counseling), disability case management. Ensure clinic efficiency (equipment and supplies) and timely response to communications electronic, phone and review dates.
Fulfilling with acknowledgement of service from employees, supervisors and service providers received. Assisted clients through difficult health issues, personal crisis and workplace incidents.
Unique working experience as entertainment facility and contact with the horsemen and also special events such as Queen's Plate.
Pros
continuing learning experience with variety of requirements
Cons
validating sevice with management plan
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always something new and fun to do at track
Cashier/Teller (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 October 2015
I had to count cash at start of the day, set up machines for staff, open safe hand out floats...Turn on channels for the racing. My job was to service the public in a timely manner and be accurate with requests...End of the day balance cash, take all floats from other employees and place into safe in sealed number bag...I was to be prompt, on time and polite to customers at all time.
Pros
free food, good salary, good bosses...and co- workers
Cons
getting to work in rush hour and short notice calls
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyone is kind
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  toronto, ontario24 August 2015
Mobile patrols
foot patrols
trespass people
management is reasonable
co-workers are helpful
pay is no good compared to P/T, F/T they receive 19.80
Pros
Management has an open door policy
Cons
no enough shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Senior Relief Operator HPItv (Former Employee) –  Toronto10 May 2015
Woodbine is a good place to get a lot of experience in the Broadcast industry. You can move up to different roles in the company which is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Woodbine Entertainment Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

63%
11 ratings
Add your rating

Woodbine Entertainment Group Reviews by Location