Woodbine Entertainment Group Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you really need a job, apply at your own risk
Dinning Rooms & Banquet Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 July 2017
good, professional people to work with. long hours! you can kiss your personal life , goodbye. along with your family and friends cause you will be working alot and hardly have time to see them.

A good place to work, they are fair.

pay could be better.
Pros
discounted food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace and culture
Manager (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON16 June 2017
- opportunity to be involved with new projects
- good rapport with direct manager and my staff. We are able to make conversation of anything from serious talks to jokes in the office that made it good team building
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
no windows in the office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun, friendly, good work life balance
Systems network Anayst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 June 2017
Working at Woodbine for over 20 years, the people were the backbone of the company. Employees who love horse racing, and want to see it continue. However times have changed, so did upper management - more stress, less incentive, less flexibility, staff have to watch their every move. They do try to have ping pong, and employee events, but the mood has changed unfortunately.
Pros
Good hard working staff still exist
Cons
more work, less people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at
Hospitality (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 May 2017
a typical day it work is very nice from costumers and co-workers
i have learned many things from making pizza and also doing customer service to how the place is set up and the different events that goes on
work place culture no problems yet
for me to say there is none
everything management workers environment
Pros
breaks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Campbellville, ON17 May 2017
Decent hours and management nice place to work good incentives lack of day shift hours made it difficult to work with family at home would like to see more straight day shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy Workplace
Part Time Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 April 2017
Great place to work, payed for the day at special events easy way to make some quick money, new jobs every event, helpful if you can serve alchol however it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fast paced place to work.
Security Services Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON18 March 2017
- Busy but fun atmosphere.
- Room for growth within the company.
- Great culture to work in.
- Great staff from entry level up to management.
- Extensive training offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 February 2017
I enjoy it - hours can range and you get to choose when you work. There is always hours available and you set you your own schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job in my life
TV crew (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
I worked there at TV department over 10 years.
I had to work early morning, late night including weekend and holiday.
They do not allow union so you can not claim overtime and gas mileage to other location.
Most crew left within 2-3 years or they kick you out with some unreasonable fact.
But high position guys they suck lots of money and benefit because it is non profit company so they have to spend all profit before year.
I regret why I worked there long time.
Never try this stupid company for your life!!!
Pros
Just looks nice
Cons
No overtime pay with weekend and holiday working
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Rexdale, ON4 February 2017
I've been there for almost 16 years and only gotten a $1 raise and the prices of living has gone up $100's. it has also lost its Clientele due to poor management and not paying out compared to other casinos. I'm looking to get out of the serving industry and looking to learn something new something more dependable with pay and hours.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Low pay, poor union, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work you shift go home.
Line Cook/Buffet Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 January 2017
Shift starts at 4 pm cook A la Carte for casino patrons. After 4 hours Hors D'oeurves for VIP clientele by the 100s added on top of A la carte. break in between and closing duties
Pros
Benefits
Cons
NO advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with potential for growth
Chef (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2017
This is a large fast paced organization that demands productivity and efficiency. There is a great deal of pressure put on middle management to organize and supervise the business.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no hours or sometimes short hours
Teller (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2017
should be equal number of hours among all employees including casual members


a typical day of work- I say no comment. It is because I am not given any schedule. If ever, 4 1/2 or 5 hours minimum, I prefer longer hours and / or double shift

I learned to be patient with difficult customers

management- no comment

co- workers? honestly, many seniors do their betting at work

I feel that as a casual member, there's a some sort of discrimination

hardest part of the job- that you are denied to request for a training especially in the money room.

most enjoyable - customer give you tip
Pros
sometimes overtime
Cons
no hours given.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace culture
Administration Offices (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON27 October 2016
I love coming into work, there is always something fun and exciting happening around here. My manager is great and gives me the opportunity to take on special projects that allow me to feel like I am a contributor. I really enjoy the people here, everyone says hello in the halls (executives included). Challenges have to do with bringing a company forward in the future with lots of history and tenured employees.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
The property development will take a long time to complete
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challenging
Senior Operator / Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 July 2016
bringing horse racing to audience. Live events, able to be shown on network sports channel. Great place to adapt new skills.
Pros
ever changing
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much Horse play
Dining Room Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 July 2016
This is not your normal workplace. They take restaruant to a new level. I can say that each day is very different from the last.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to land
Programmer / DB Analyst / SharePoint (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 May 2016
Woodbine was a great place to land. It gave the opportunity to expand my programming skills and hone existing skills.
Great people, management and atmosphere.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Industry is slowing down
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cook (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 March 2016
Woodbine is a great place to work. There's a lot going on at WEG and always something fun. Casino, horseraces are just a couple. The culture at woodbine has changed for the best.
Pros
Great people, good benifits, decent lunches
Cons
Open every day of the year
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, exhilrating
Hot walker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 March 2016
Woodbine was one of the best jobs I ever had being outside all the time and enjoying fresh air with one earths most beautiful animals how can you complain.
Pros
boss always took care of us
Cons
waking up 3am
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Good
Chauffeur (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 November 2015
its a good place to work.Its a fun place to work
The most enjoy part of this job is u get to meat a lot off people
There is a lot of different people i meat on a day to day basics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Woodbine Entertainment Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 45 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

Woodbine Entertainment Group Reviews by Location