Woodbine Entertainment Group Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace culture
Administration Offices (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON27 October 2016
I love coming into work, there is always something fun and exciting happening around here. My manager is great and gives me the opportunity to take on special projects that allow me to feel like I am a contributor. I really enjoy the people here, everyone says hello in the halls (executives included). Challenges have to do with bringing a company forward in the future with lots of history and tenured employees.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
The property development will take a long time to complete
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much Horse play
Dining Room Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 July 2016
This is not your normal workplace. They take restaruant to a new level. I can say that each day is very different from the last.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to land
Programmer / DB Analyst / SharePoint (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 May 2016
Woodbine was a great place to land. It gave the opportunity to expand my programming skills and hone existing skills.
Great people, management and atmosphere.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Industry is slowing down
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cook (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 March 2016
Woodbine is a great place to work. There's a lot going on at WEG and always something fun. Casino, horseraces are just a couple. The culture at woodbine has changed for the best.
Pros
Great people, good benifits, decent lunches
Cons
Open every day of the year
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, exhilrating
Hot walker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 March 2016
Woodbine was one of the best jobs I ever had being outside all the time and enjoying fresh air with one earths most beautiful animals how can you complain.
Pros
boss always took care of us
Cons
waking up 3am
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Good
Chauffeur (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 November 2015
its a good place to work.Its a fun place to work
The most enjoy part of this job is u get to meat a lot off people
There is a lot of different people i meat on a day to day basics.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provide positive health experience
Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON26 October 2015
Professional provision of treatment( first aid, health programs and counseling), disability case management. Ensure clinic efficiency (equipment and supplies) and timely response to communications electronic, phone and review dates.
Fulfilling with acknowledgement of service from employees, supervisors and service providers received. Assisted clients through difficult health issues, personal crisis and workplace incidents.
Unique working experience as entertainment facility and contact with the horsemen and also special events such as Queen's Plate.
Pros
continuing learning experience with variety of requirements
Cons
validating sevice with management plan
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always something new and fun to do at track
Cashier/Teller (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 October 2015
I had to count cash at start of the day, set up machines for staff, open safe hand out floats...Turn on channels for the racing. My job was to service the public in a timely manner and be accurate with requests...End of the day balance cash, take all floats from other employees and place into safe in sealed number bag...I was to be prompt, on time and polite to customers at all time.
Pros
free food, good salary, good bosses...and co- workers
Cons
getting to work in rush hour and short notice calls
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyone is kind
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  toronto, ontario24 August 2015
Mobile patrols
foot patrols
trespass people
management is reasonable
co-workers are helpful
pay is no good compared to P/T, F/T they receive 19.80
Pros
Management has an open door policy
Cons
no enough shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Senior Relief Operator HPItv (Former Employee) –  Toronto10 May 2015
Woodbine is a good place to get a lot of experience in the Broadcast industry. You can move up to different roles in the company which is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
OFFICE ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2015
Fun Workplace - Great People - General office Duties - Very Hospitality so no concept of weekends. Great Entry Level Position and good starting wage. If you like horses then this position is great as you get to see them often. Mid Managment are very helpful and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Paddock Attendant (Current Employee) –  Campbellville, ON19 December 2014
I really enjoy working here because theres a lot of really nice people and the pay is good. each day is the same set up but the outcomes are different, you make great relationships with not only the employees but also the customers. there are long hours and its a bit of a drive to get there but its worth it once you are there. i really enjoy the people and the environment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fast pace
Mutual Teller (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 September 2014
serviing and selling tickers to customers. learning how to deal with customers, ,Management is good to work for as they listen to what you need. there is a lot of emplyees that your know and don't, and you get to know who there are which is nice. Dealing with irate customers which take it out on you when its not your fault, so the company has taught you how to deal with them. Being at this job taught me how a lot of customers skills which now I can provide with another company that I would work for.
Pros
good benifits and pension plan
Cons
never the same schedule each week
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Purchasing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, On8 September 2014
-very busy area
-answering phone calls
-covering the front desk plus other tasks
Pros
free meals
Cons
rotation hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Mutuel Teller (Former Employee) –  Rexdale, ON7 August 2014
each day was different
some customers were difficult
when people lost money, they could get angry
standing on your feet for long periods of time
working in the trackside tents in the heat of the summer
Cons
angry gamblers
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Their rules and policy
Wagering Teller (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 April 2014
very good company , I did learned how entered P.O.s for new material and file all journal and reprint if missing,
Pros
good place to work
Cons
regular hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with, like a family.
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto On28 March 2014
I've learned alot at working for Woodbine Entertainment, I have had the oportunity to help people in ways that I never did before. From medical situations to helping parents find their childern.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Cutbacks
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Office Admin (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON10 March 2014
Admin work and customer service, several different skills were learned. Management was nice and helpful. Co-workers were independent and worked well as a team. Hardest part was the commute.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
False advertisement
Market place server (Former Employee) –  Campbellville ontario17 November 2013
I responded to this ad and was told that they have 3 positions available one full time and 2 part time but the part time employees got full time hours so it did not matter what position I got. I quit a full time job to start there because it was more money. When I started I only got maybe 20 hrs a week spread out among 5 to 6 days it was ridiculous, it was pointless to drive into work for a 4 or 5 hr shift. They can't offer any new employee a full time position because of their union. The employees that are there longer take the full time position. Beware if your quitting a full time job for this they won't be able to offer you it.
Cons
Poorly managed
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad work environment
Gardé Manger (Current Employee) –  Campbellville/Toronto, ON18 October 2013
A typical day at Woodbine includes getting yelled multiple times a day; co-workers will get others in trouble to save themselves from looking bad and the overall kitchen is poorly managed
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

Woodbine Entertainment Group Reviews by Location