Wood Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical construction day
Field Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver Island, BC17 December 2017
• Oversaw and directed construction projects from concept to completion
• Chaired weekly site meetings with company management and all site contractors
• Reviewed all Documentation and Safety Work Plans of all contractors, including the prime contractor on site, before allowing the work to begin
• Reviewed project documentation in-depth for schedule deliverables
• Oversaw all onsite and offsite construction to monitor compliance with client requirements and building and safety regulations and requirements
• Coordinated and supervised all trade workers and contractors on site
• Arranged for materials, and equipment and received and tracked all inventory
• Ensured all contractors met the contractual requirements
• Reviewed daily, weekly and monthly work progress and prepared internal and external reports on job status to Project Manager and Client Project Manager
• Planned ahead to prevent problems and immediately resolve emerging problems to avoid delays and critical issues
• Analyzed, managed and mitigated risks
• Ensured contract adherence of quality construction standards and proper techniques
• Issued Request for Information (RFI), Site Instructions (SI), Non-Compliance Reports (NCR), and Field Memo and Inquiries (FMI)
• Ensured all
  more... personnel on site complied with the safety program
• Monitored safe work procedures of contractors and workers to ensure safety compliances
  less
Pros
satisfaction of seing each phase in the construction completed safely
Cons
Having to deal with highly inflated egos at AMEC
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun & proud at Kearl project
Document Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 December 2017
i became to know so many good people. it was fun to work with them. the document control job was demanding but there was great peer support. any question met with kind answer.
Pros
good people great coworkers
Cons
soso management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 December 2017
It is bad, not organised at all, company charge too much. no balance with personal life too much management and positions not defined even top do not answer
Pros
few
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead E/I&C Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 November 2017
Very straight forward place to work. Challenging and interesting project. Learned quite a lot. Great, motivated people. Not as well isolated from economic cycles as one would like.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and job culture
Senior I&C Designer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 November 2017
It was a pleasure working at Wood (Amec Foster Wheeler). We finished our projects on time. I am willing to work again at Wood if given a chance. Highly recommended company to my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what can i say
Junior Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 March 2017
i do not want to particpate in this but am being forced to do so .. this is not fair and i dont think i should have to do this and be forced to write a review in the interests of privacy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Good safe place to work
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL27 February 2017
Was a great place to work learned lots and made new friends. To bad the job will soon be done. I enjoyed working there the job had good benefit's.
Pros
Great hours Good Money
Cons
Job Is comming to a end
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team driven
Project Lead Buyer Osum Project (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 January 2017
Strong team driven EPCM company. Flexible hours. Work life balance is essential. Not a lot of projects to work on though
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging projects, fun place to work.
Senior EI&C Engineering Technologist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 May 2016
Wood Group PSN is a great place to work. They have excellent Project Management that allows the lead designers freedom to incorporate new and exciting processes and techniques. They encourage team building and as a result the day to day routine is fun and at the same time challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed company with multiple projects
Senior Project Administrator/Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 November 2015
Unfortunately Wood Group has been hit hard by the massive project slowdown in Alberta.

They are a well managed company with good people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work.
Piping Drafter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 September 2015
An excellent place to work and develop with very understanding management who always support your idea.
Very good place to improve and gain more experience and expose to piping and design.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Implementation Technologist (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL5 August 2015
great people
easy going
great place to work
great experience
management lacked direction
CEO was great
Great location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with and for.
Operator A (Current Employee) –  varies locations depending on the client23 March 2015
Most people that I worked for, project managers, were easy to relate to and I enjoyed talking with. Co-workers usually turned into friends. Working 14 days is hard at times, and seems to last forever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un-decided
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 February 2015
I was assigned to the JV which was a fabulous team and the Director helped keep the team working together. Very supportive of the Quality Management System.

Only worked in the downtown office for 3 months so I can't provide a full review.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Desktop Support at Wood Group Mustang
Desktop Support (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 February 2015
Loved working at Wood Group Mustang. There just was no work to be done there during December and January. I used to play hockey with my supervisor before I was hired on there. Very friendly atmosphere to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When faced with the impossible, the solution was found!
Control System Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta21 July 2014
The work environment was wonderful people worked together towards a common goal. Never afraid to suggest new and innovative solutions. Some were implemented and others not, but everyone was heard. The people are what make this company as they treat it like it was their own. People walk around with a real sense of pride in their accomplishments and in their defeats because we are always learning.

The job itself was never hard it only presented opportunities for improvement and outside of the box thinking. Stress levels may get high, but their was always time for play. To come together, be a team and succeed. Together we may fail, but that failure presented the opportunity to learn. As we all know if we stop learning we cannot move forward, success would never occur and failure could never be concurred!!!
Pros
Comfortable, enjoyable the people
Cons
Sometimes you had to do what needed to be done to ensure success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people working there
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 May 2014
the turn over rate is high but the people there are good to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Vessel Operator (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL6 April 2014
Great place to work always something new to learn. Everyday there is a challange to overcome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for with good values and leadership
Project Planner/Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Narrows, VA21 October 2013
A great company to work for with good values and leadership. Opportunity for growth. A friendly enviroment with great coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and high accuracy environment
Sub-Lead Document (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL23 September 2013
great company to work for. High accuracy and quick turnaround on documents. Very Caring atmosphere.
Pros
Friendly and effiencent Staff
Cons
Too little parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wood. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 593 reviews
5228
4222
393
225
125

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture