Wood Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Senior Electrical Specialist, Canada (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON31 October 2017
It is a good company, they have good management, there were very good opportunity in the company, they have large projects. People like to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my day
MECHANICAL COMPLETIONS CO-ORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB17 October 2017
· Create format for System Walkdown binders.
· Populate related Documents for each system Walkdown binder.
· Organize System pre-walk information.
· Prepare and review turnover requirements.
· Organize system pre-walk schedule and distribution.
· Interface with Contractors, Engineering, QAQC, CSU, Document Control and Client to completion.

· Create and distribute Deficiency lists related to each System walk down.

· Prepare “Completion” Binders for turnover to Client.

· Attend Construction and Completions System walk downs.
· Record Deficiencies on System Walkdowns.
· Attend Punchlist review and System progress meetings.
Pros
good rotation / good rate / great co-workers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity
Office Attendant/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 September 2017
Always something to do. Helping others that need help. Making sure everything is ready for staff coming in. Going on tours of the site. versatile staff. Meeting new staff.
Pros
Bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Project Estimator & Cost Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 September 2017
Senior management is experienced and knowledgeable.
Allows growth and flexibility in your career.
Interesting and challenging projects with lots of learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working enviorment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 September 2017
Great coworkers and nice environment. I would definitely suggest candidate to work here. Well organized working process and you do get lots of vacation in this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and fun working environment.
Environmental Specialist (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK30 August 2017
AMEC FW provides a great work to life balance with a fun working environment. The management team are great mentors with their employees as their priority. Some jobs are better than others, however overall the quality of work at AMEC FW is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place to work.
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 August 2017
I worked as an electrical engineer under different teams with great engineers. Our main client was BC Hydro. So I had the chance to get familiar with BC Hydro standards, process and guidelines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy and challenging work everyday
Document Controller (Current Employee) –  Kuwait13 August 2017
Busy but challenging work everyday. I have learned to manage my time properly and prioritize tasks to be done. The management is good with all the managers being supportive to growth of each and every employee. Hardest part of the job is I have to adjust to middle east culture and deal with co-workers who came from different parts of the globe. The most enjoyable part is was able to learn more new experience and skills everyday.
Pros
Free Medical Benefits
Cons
Strict Rules in Kuwait
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, too much management
Electrical Engineer (EIT) and Project Lead (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 August 2017
All around good company to work for, projects are interesting. Advancement is good, but bottlenecked by large quantity of management. Only real issue with them is that there's too much management who try and micromanage everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good experience to work in Potash Mining Project in Saskatoon.
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 July 2017
My new job in Amec Foster Wheeler Saskatoon is entirely different from my previous job in the Middle East and in the Philippines. This is my first time to work in mining company and the system is a litle bit different from my previous experience especially on the design of Electrical Modular Substation wherein my previous experience are mostly on stick built Electrical Substation. The new technology for the Design of Modular Electrical Room including the Heat Tracing system is an added knowledge to me.
Pros
Learn new technology and sometimes free lunch during lunch & learn session.
Cons
Most of the time attending meetings both in design & project execution.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to learn and grow
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON24 July 2017
I have had nothing but an excellent experience working for Amec Foster Wheeler.
Lots of opportunities to learn both professionally and personally.
Flexible with work and family responsibilities.
Pros
flexibility, large mentoring program
Cons
consulting in general is demanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work.
GIS Specialist on EIAs (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 July 2017
Great opportunity and flexibility to work in different roles across the country with a wide variety of customers in the E & I industry. Opportunities to get site/hands on experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Systematic Work nature, good team with complete workability
Document Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Shuaiba, Kuwait7 July 2017
A global company to work with. Systematic Work nature, good team with complete workability. All nationality persons in the both management and execution teams. Major Clients in Kuwait are KOC & KNPC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Intermediate Project Accountant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 July 2017
Very good company and great prosperity opportunity. International company with possible opportunity to move around the world, Flexible hours and very professional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unqualified supervisor and poor management
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON29 June 2017
Unqualified supervisor with no project management skills, only knows micromanage team members. Branch manager has no intention to correct the problem, nor the other project managers are aware of the wrong people in the wrong position situation. Special treatment to people who have connection to VP level, Unrealistic budget of most small projects, wrong hiring decisions and company culture is very conservative, not open minded.
Pros
fair medical coverage
Cons
culture is narrow minded and management team doesn't have courage to correct problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional team and good environment to work with.
Architectural Design Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 June 2017
AMEC is one of the best engineering companies and well recognized in OIL & GAS with design and fabrication expertise. AMEC has projects all over the world and offers very appealing opportunities.
Pros
Very professional engineering company.
Cons
Difficult to communicate properly with some managenent levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Engineering Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 June 2017
Not the best experience. Not the worst. Department went downhill. Manager didn't care. Really disorganized. Bad moral ethics. No encouragement. No recognition. Underpaid. No salary increase. Cheap. Overcharging clients. Charging clients on projects we shouldn't because too cheap to charge O/H.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented Professional Organization
Contracts Administrator, Oakville (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON14 June 2017
- "put safety first" workplace culture
- great management support
- lack of work
- low job security
- happy to work here
- wonderful "Designated Days Off" program
Pros
Lunch & Learn Programs
Cons
Lack of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced skilled engineering consulting firm
Senior Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 June 2017
Work is very technical and competitively awarded.
Employees are very skilled and many are experts in their field.

As consulting firm, work is competitive and often times not enough hours are provided for project managers to perform their duties effectively.
Pros
Great benefits and diverse culture
Cons
Hours can be long depending on client needs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company for Internship
Engineering Internship - Design Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2017
I worked here on my internship and enjoyed it to the utmost. My days consisted of constantly challenging my knowledge from what I learned in University. I was also required to read more textbooks and papers to gain a better understanding that was not taught in school. I learned about project management, self-management, torsional vibration control and water hammer. The variety of people who work here is huge and I was always learning more and more about different cultures and countries; truly spectacular. The job and people were open to ask questions to at anytime which was the most important part for me.
Pros
Great variety of people to talk with, challenging work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wood. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,088 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7