Find companies:
Wolseley
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Wolseley Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good if u like to work overtime
Fork Lift Operator (Current Employee), Milton, ONJune 21, 2014
90% productivity- 10% safety.. good if you need/want money... plenty of overtime
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Regional H & S Coordinator, Supervisor, Trainer (Current Employee), Langley, BCFebruary 9, 2013
They are striving to be number one in all of their markets. The company is undergoing a change in the way they do things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst I've experienced
Fusion Tech & shipping (Former Employee), SaskatchewanJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: early experience good
Cons: as time progressed it was much less a good work environment.
Wages were well below industry average when compared to accurate data. Employee Benefit pkg was changed occasionally to advantage of employer. Impossible to identify culture/values because what management said was too often at odds w/ what was expected. Too many excellent fellow employees discovered too late how little their contributions were appreciated; – more... job security was non-existent. A Union might have been a good thing here. Most managers had no clue regarding the actual amount of work required to accomplish the goals set. Those that tried to improve such situations were almost always overridden by the more remote (& less capable) upper management. Work/life balance was (mostly) ignored when it suited management short term goals.

At first it was a decent place to work. Wages were OK but not great. Occasionally there were perks such as free meals & paid time off. Company resources (shop, tools, vehicles etc) were reasonably available for employees to borrow/use. Time was allotted (& not infringed upon) for any extra work required (ie: clean up @ end of day). Gradually things changed; wages did not keep up w/ inflation, perks reduced, staff functions drastically cut (most notably Christmas parties) or scheduled during work breaks, resources severely restricted and work demands increasingly unreasonable & without adequate compensation.

Towards the end of my employment a typical day would start as soon as you arrived (even if early) and usually end 5-10 min later than normal work hrs w/ few or no breaks in between. I can count on one hand the # of uninterrupted coffee/lunch breaks I had during the last yrs. Little of that extra time (before/after & breaks) was compensated for by overtime payment. Of course, if one was minutes late in the AM (or left slightly early) it was a VERY different matter. With few exceptions I can state that my fellow workers were among the best I've experienced anywhere. I will also state that the exceptions were among the worst; one of which was as useful as a screen door in a submarine. Incompetence personified. My most enjoyable moments were when I had done something well, plus the appreciation a lot of customers showed as I served them. It's unfortunate that same appreciation didn't show up on a paystub but no doubt management bonuses were based on profit margins. The hardest thing to do was deal w/ those who didn't know their job or were simply too lazy to do it. To the best of my knowledge they're still there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the job
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Bartow, FLJuly 31, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: no loyalty
Was laid off the next day my Mom died, so not to good. They sent me out of town to drive a truck from bartow to Virginia when i got back on that friday they laid me off no warning they new my mom was dying and did not care just c ya..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Day at Woseley
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), South Holland, ILMarch 11, 2014
Pros: teamwork, uplifting spirits, hardwork
My day consisted of various daily tasks such as clocking in for work, forklift checklists, piping inventory, cycle counting, packing materials for customers, staging materials for customers, and loading/unloading trucks. I learned about inventory management and proper staging procedures. I enjoyed packing and unpacking inventory for UPS and LTL Motorfreight, – more... using pallets. The management was fair and was pleasurable to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustration
Pipe Fabricator/ laborer (Former Employee), Horseheads, NYFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: do well we would be treated to lunch or a hockey game. good benefits, decent pay
Cons: no hours, no job advancement
Worked for the company for two years and never was given any advancement opportunities but family or friends of supervisors would be able to advance to a foreman position soon after they were hired. Hours at first were long and often you had no home time. After the first year the company changed from onda-lay pipe to wolseley and went from installing – more... pipeline to fabrication in a small bay in horseheads, NY. where hours were cut and there was restriction on overtime. I was written up once in two years and was fired only two weeks after my write up. Though the individuals I worked with were nice to work with the management there was only looking out for themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Learning Place
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee), Latrobe, PAFebruary 17, 2014
I learned a lot about the accounts payable job. It was an interesting place to work. Meet some great people along the way. It was sad when it ended.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what they say it is
Driver (Former Employee), ManchesterAugust 1, 2013
Pros: good lads
Cons: management
The job itself is all heavy lifting , carrying items upstairs , flats etc, the warehouse lads are good , management rubbish, has no idea what goes on outside his office, pay and hours was good , the council lads are great, they have no people skills in management .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heating & Cooling Division of wolesely Group.
Stores Controller (Former Employee), Eastleigh UKJuly 13, 2013
Pros: looked after the employees
Cons: no holiday time during the summer months, but enjoyed my winter holiday time
Hard work but very rewarding.
I gained quite a lot of knowledge on how air conditioning works & also the break down of what is used to make up a system. I had a very good boss & we spoke daily on how to move our branch forward & we did just that & increased sales massively through out my 4+ years with the company. The call outs at 03.00 am were the – more... hardest part of the job as I was back in the branch by 07.30 each morning
The summer months would be crazy & very very busy,But that is when im at my best I love the day to fly by because your on te go all day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry leading service
Buyer, General Electric Energy (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 29, 2013
Wolseley provides supply chain management solutions serving businesses utilizing a full range of maintenance repair and operating supplies (MRO). Services include information management and reporting, strategic sourcing and tactical purchasing, inventory optimization, and product distribution.

The office environment is both professional and comfortable. – more... Management is relaxed and cares about each and every associate, but expects an appropriate and professional atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Warehouse opertive (Former Employee), WorcesterMarch 6, 2013
picking orders, sort orders, signed sheets
very help full management and co-workers
hardest is to remember all locations of items
there's no rush in work, do it slower but without mistakes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, fun people and great customers. Good working atmosphere.
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Pelham, ALJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: traveling, room for advancement
Cons: high health care costs, no lunch breaks, required to work 50hrs a week
I learned a great deal of information while working for this company. It is a corporation which took a little getting used to since I came from a small business. It is a fast-paced atmosphere and mentally challenging, but I loved it!
The hardest part of the job was trying to get bids in for projects on time. The customer set deadlines that were sometimes – more... hard to meet, but we always did submit our bids on time.
The most enjoyable part of my job was the people I worked with and getting to meet new people on a constant basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
How can I put it?
Delivery Truck Driver / Warehouse (Former Employee), Clarksville, TNDecember 10, 2012
Pros: heath insurance is a great package and vacation time. the pay was decent, but you have to put in 50-60 hours to make any real money.
Cons: managers who don't respect their employees, certain back stabbing co-workers. well thats how the office manager got his position.
The company as a whole is great. Its local management at the 2 Clarksville locations are the problems. They are sales rep's posing as managers. they have NO people skills, and have been known to upset customers. they have NO regard for their employees who are the ones who are helping them get their bonuses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Renewable Sales Manager
Renewables Sales Manager (Current Employee), Central & East AngliaDecember 3, 2012
I currently manage all Plumb Center customers that install Renewable technologies for Central England and East Anglia. My customer base is made up of approximately 250 accounts that range from installers to housing associations. I support these accounts by keeping them up to date with newly released products, legislation and regulations, producing quotes – more... for large projects and aiding with designs and specifications. Another key area of my duties is to manage the BPEC training courses and MCS accreditation that is held with the Wolseley Sustainable Building Centre (SBC). I always endeavour to bring as much new business into the SBC as possible to get businesses up to speed with Renewables and increase sales through Plumb Center. I also promote Plumb Center at Renewable seminars and events within my region by showcasing our product range and services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture with great associates
Project Coordinator (Current Employee), West Chester, OHNovember 29, 2012
The company is considerate of associates trying to balance home and work schedules. They do support career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work
SQL SERVER DATABASE ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee), BangloreSeptember 17, 2012
I have learnt the work releated to my project which is based on the sql server.
I was one of the member in our team.
my co-workers are very much supported to me.

May 15, 2013

Nice to be an Indian from India these days you get all the canadian jobs coutrtesy canada's "leadership" RBC, Manulife, this plumbing place, Mattel and hopefully All the teachers and police jobs in the K-W region so my Taxes will go down

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise de distribution
Comptable/Analyste (Former Employee), Laval, QCJanuary 8, 2014
Beaucoup de défis. Relations interpersonnelles avec les gens dans plusieurs domaines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evolution de carrière
Gestionnaire de bases de données (Former Employee), PacéOctober 16, 2014
Pros: horaires fixes
Cons: pas de reconnaissance salariale
Malgré des compétences et des atouts , l'entreprise ne prend pas la peine de reconnaître les qualités professionnelles de ces salariés. Manque d'humanisme et pas de reconnaissance salariale.

En terme d'opportunité ou d'évolution, je dirai qu'elle est à nulle ou presque
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Société en pleine restructuration
DIRECTEUR DE SECTEUR (Former Employee), secteur marneJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: remunération, outil de travail.
Cons: l'impatience de résultats, la priorité au très court terme;
Comme dans toute société en restructuration réductive, les projections et le long terme sont difficiles; dommage car les outils sont performants et le management France est responsabilisant et cohérent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail dynamique
Directeur Régional Opérationnel (Former Employee), 1/4 Sud Ouest de la FranceMarch 28, 2013
Pros: evolution favorisée, entreprise dynamique.
Société où la culture des valeurs humaines est importante.
Pratique d'un Management de proximité, à l'écoute des collaborateurs.
Sens du commerce, en recherche permanente de résultat.