Find companies:
Williams-Sonoma, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
235 reviews

Williams-Sonoma, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming workplace with polite employees
Seasonal Gift Wrapper (Former Employee), Yorkdale MallSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: friendly workplace, small store
Cons: certain item shapes were difficult to wrap
The other employees greeted me with a smile and were very polite, welcoming me into their work family the first day I started.
The management was efficient and did very well at their job.
My co-workers were very professional and had warm personalities towards everyone.
The hardest part was standing for long periods but after awhile you do not notice – more... it. Certain items proved difficult to wrap but fellow co-workers were there with a helping hand.
The atmosphere of the workplace was the most enjoyable part. Also when the customers would get their wrapped gifts with smiles on their faces, commenting on the nice work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 27, 2013
Great company, great products. Corporate culture is good. will take some time to get promoted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are Canadian and want to join a cult then work for WS
General Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: good salary
Cons: too many to list
I have been a retail manager for years and had only worked for Canadian companies until I joined WS and had the worst experience of my life. My first experience was at the conference in Arizona and I left there feeling like I had joined some crazy cult. The employees at my store were for the most part horrible people who believed they were of the same – more... economic status of the customers, where my opinion is that it doesn't matter what kind of retail environment you work in you are still just a retail employee. They reminded me of the two women in Pretty woman who ended up getting schooled by Julia Roberts. The company likes to say that they have a people first culture which is a total lie. Staff members had won prizes for corporate contests and yet had not received them six months later. Work life balance is terrible and my DM had no clue what she was doing. My training was about 4 days of being a greeter at a store and getting a bunch of information crammed in my head and then told....go, cut staff hours but still make these ludicrous budgets. also if you don't work in the States don't expect to make any sense of the visual set up packages or actually get any of your benefits.Enjoy conference calls?, well you had better because you will be on them for hours every day. Hands down the worst experience of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Visual Merchandising Manager
Visual Merchandising Manager (Former Employee), Glen Mills, PANovember 15, 2012
As part of the management team at the Brinton Lakes' store I was in charge of implementing the visual standards for the sales floor. I worked closely with the general and assistant managers to make sure that both the sales and stock room areas were up to the corporate issued standards for merchandising, and easy of finding products. I managed approximately – more... ten people as part of my position, which included writing & presenting performance reviews. My favorite part of working for Pottery Barn was working with the customers in the Design Studio area, which allowed me to exercise my interior design skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is furniture company, it is good
IT Manager, IT technical Leader, IT support (Former Employee), Binh Duong ProvinceJuly 23, 2014
Pros: have lunch time with co-workers
Cons: enjoy coffee, benefit like new year gift
- Build up server room.
- Learn to control vendor, suppliers.
- Manage myself, timeline, plan to follow up the project deadline.
- Build up sever room alone.
- Go to some factory to troubleshoot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
discounts
Customer Service (Former Employee), oklahoma city, oklahomaJuly 20, 2014
Pros: discounts on merchandise
Cons: seasonal
management kept you up to date on everything
co workers were cool, just a young crowd
most enjoyable part of job was helping customer pick out merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsafe osha needs to make a visit or two
turret forklift (Former Employee), city of IndustryJuly 12, 2014
Went through an agency they made me wait 4 hours in the cafeteria before I started I complained about it 2hrs later was told go also witnessed an accident about to happen on my way out very unprofessional
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent - Visuals
Sales Associate, Visuals (Internship) (Former Employee), Montclair, NJJuly 9, 2014
Pros: create visually pleasing store front windows and in-store displays
Cons: worked holidays and weekends
I was in charge of all the store fixtures and window displays. Followed plano-grams, monthly and seasonal changes with new merchandise. Example: holiday product and appliances.In charge of keeping shelves well stocked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a wonderful workplaace
Team Leader and Material Handler (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 7, 2014
Pros: giveaways
Cons: short breaks
Love my job.......a typical day at this job is exciting, because you never know what's the next new item/s are until you actually look at them for yourself, instead of a catalog. I learned different types of jobs throughout the warehouse. My co-workers were very nice and helpful, always work like a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work........I would not recommend.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 5, 2014
Pros: discount which is what you would normally pay somewhere else.
Cons: over worked. supervisors do not want to help
The worst job I have ever had. This company does not care about their employees. They make it harder and harder. Very stressful because the company does not know what they are doing. Lots of mistakes made other departments, not to mention over priced product with lots of flaws. Under paid and overworked!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and safe work enviroment and very professional
Stock Room Associate (Current Employee), San Juan, PRJuly 4, 2014
Pros: very professional work enviroment
Cons: part time job
a typical day at work would be arriving on time for my shift, reporting to the manager to get an update on the duties for the day which typicaly are auditing inventory, receiving inventory, stock checks ect.
I have learned the effective management and auditing of inventory and the responsible and efficient repting of results acquired in the process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLJuly 1, 2014
Pros: great pay
This job was extremely enjoyable, i cherished every moment of it. The team members where extremely nice and i was well respected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A position where my financial background and/or office administrative talents will be of value.
Customer Sales/Service Representative (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 30, 2014
Managed new products sales for four separate catalogs in a busy call center environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but it was a temp job
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Township of South Brunswick, NJJune 29, 2014
Pros: climate controlled, friendly atmosphere, stress free
Cons: far drive, pay was just ok, it was only temp
At this job I could work at my own pace doing all that was required of me and then some, and I was still ahead of the day.
I learned quality control, how to do my job which consisted of taking pictures of stock, measurements, data entry
My co-workers were great and also I enjoyed the management.
Hardest part of the job was physically demanding but it – more... really wasn't a problem for me, and it was a far drive.
Most enjoyable part of the job was climate controlled, friendly atmosphere, and I was good at my job. I really would have liked to stay there, but only temp was available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top heavy and deceitful manager
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hallandale Beach, FL at Gulfstream ParkJune 27, 2014
Pros: nice merchandise
Cons: top heavy, dishonest management, disorganized store.
This store is not a good place to work. They have like 5 managers and 3 part-time sales associates. I was lied to by the store manager who told me that I had to work as a stock boy as well. I didn't sign up for that. Management is cliquey and shady. It's a nice store though and a couple of the managers are cool but not the top guy. Avoid at all costs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal
Quality Inspector (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 26, 2014
the job was only seasonal but it was a good experience. management encourage you to do good work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to advance.
Delivery Quality Team Lead (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 25, 2014
A lot of work. Learned negotiating is part of corporate world. Management have a lot on their plate. Co-workers friendly. Hardest- navigating gray areas in policies. Enjoyable- saving company money and helping customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy at all times
Laser Technician (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 21, 2014
Learned to operated machine
worked hard the whole eight to ten hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was like a second home to me
Customer Service Representative - Southwest Branch (Current Employee), Plano, TXJune 19, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, knowing staff for a long time, many years with company
Cons: not getting much of a pay increase after being there for almost a decade
Have had over 8 years of high-end retail experience,primarily in stock and warehouse functions. Work was always a new exiting challenge for me everyday! Met exiting people from all different cultures. I had to articulate and be persuasive in dealing with all levels of management of my fellow co workers who I had no problems getting along with. We are – more... a team. Highly enjoyed customer service and helping people.Most Enjoyable part of my job, was something I am extremely precise with.Having an eye for attention to detail, in organization and setting goals to improving efficiency of everyday work functions! Hardest part (Although it was not hard to me) was the the labor of warehouse work. I actually enjoy hard labor. I am very fit and capable of working hard! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day at my Work
Sales Associate, Visual Cordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 8, 2014
Pros: great discount
Cons: no room for advancement in the company by bringing new mangers from other brands.
A great place if you are looking for part time work, after four years working and learning great product information and great customer service to my clients.
I have been in top sales of my region and elected catch the spirit award for my company four times and top sales at William Sonoma.
I enjoy working with my management team and fellow employees, – more... the hardest part is not enough hours in the day to complete my great customer service to my clients. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Williams-Sonoma, Inc.

Epicureans are at home at Williams-Sonoma, a leading multi-channel retailer of high-end goods for well-appointed kitchens, bedrooms, – Read more