Find companies:
Williams-Sonoma, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
280 reviews

Williams-Sonoma, Inc. Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with opportunity to advance
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, OntAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great discount as full time employee. many opportunities to advance
Work with a great team and worked with product I loved and believed in
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toy store for culinary enthusiasts
Associate Store Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 7, 2014
Pros: develop cooking skills and share your own
Cons: gaining weight
Fast paced environment with emphasis on engaging with the customer at many sensory levels. Steep learning curve to become familiar with the myriad of product but a strong focus on associate development. Good work ethic and enthusiasm is recognized and rewarded. Cooking or foodie background is a huge asset and makes customer interaction much more fun – more... - selling a great product AND helping to make someone a great cook...or at least spark a new passion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming workplace with polite employees
Seasonal Gift Wrapper (Former Employee), Yorkdale MallSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: friendly workplace, small store
Cons: certain item shapes were difficult to wrap
The other employees greeted me with a smile and were very polite, welcoming me into their work family the first day I started.
The management was efficient and did very well at their job.
My co-workers were very professional and had warm personalities towards everyone.
The hardest part was standing for long periods but after awhile you do not notice – more... it. Certain items proved difficult to wrap but fellow co-workers were there with a helping hand.
The atmosphere of the workplace was the most enjoyable part. Also when the customers would get their wrapped gifts with smiles on their faces, commenting on the nice work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 27, 2013
Great company, great products. Corporate culture is good. will take some time to get promoted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are Canadian and want to join a cult then work for WS
General Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: good salary
Cons: too many to list
I have been a retail manager for years and had only worked for Canadian companies until I joined WS and had the worst experience of my life. My first experience was at the conference in Arizona and I left there feeling like I had joined some crazy cult. The employees at my store were for the most part horrible people who believed they were of the same – more... economic status of the customers, where my opinion is that it doesn't matter what kind of retail environment you work in you are still just a retail employee. They reminded me of the two women in Pretty woman who ended up getting schooled by Julia Roberts. The company likes to say that they have a people first culture which is a total lie. Staff members had won prizes for corporate contests and yet had not received them six months later. Work life balance is terrible and my DM had no clue what she was doing. My training was about 4 days of being a greeter at a store and getting a bunch of information crammed in my head and then told....go, cut staff hours but still make these ludicrous budgets. also if you don't work in the States don't expect to make any sense of the visual set up packages or actually get any of your benefits.Enjoy conference calls?, well you had better because you will be on them for hours every day. Hands down the worst experience of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and great managers
Administrative Assistant/Data Entry Clerk/DC Clerk (Current Employee), Walnut, CADecember 27, 2014
I started here as a temp thru an agency. I got hired after 3 months of being a temp. I have worked in various departments for the company like Inventory, shipping, receiving, and cross-dock. I work with supporting one of our vendors and taking care of customer orders. People here are very easy to get a long with and mangers follow an open-door policy – more... and are always there to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and socially diverse
Hardlines-Cutter (Current Employee), Branch, MSDecember 24, 2014
Pros: time-consuming
Cons: short breaks
On a regular work day, I sit at the computer cutting and printing monograms for orders. I also weeded the monograms with fellow employees to complete work assignments daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced warehouse packaging
Package Handler/Sorter (Current Employee), Olive Branch, MSDecember 20, 2014
Pros: fun, fast paced environment
Cons: long hours with minimal breaks
long hours, tough work, have to work as fast as possible but without mistakes. good diversity of employees. fun job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Williams-Sonoma FSA LV
Full Service Associate (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 16, 2014
Pros: freedom
Cons: freedom
The job description is simple. Help customers with any concerns they may have, regarding returns, purchases, related questions, etc. The problem is maybe a blessing and a curse. After 4 weeks of excellent training, I was on the call center floor for a month or so before I ever met a boss. I felt as though I was coming to some weird, hated prison for – more... a month straight before I finally got my turn to meet my supposed "floor supervisor".

Now, granted, the only reason I had yet to meet this manager was due to the fact that I never had a question. I learned well enough in training that I never had a problem helping a customer out. Yet, without any supervision whatsoever, I felt unimportant and unwanted. Silly, I know. But it was like I was a ghost in this place.

This is in addition to the countless other associates I would observe all day, who answer calls and immediately put customers on hold for the next 20-30 mins. This slacking tactic is the exact culture that can be expected from williams-sonoma. Nobody wants to work, from the bottom to the top! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Start
Service Enhancement/Social Media Customer Care (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 9, 2014
Pros: internal opportunites for growth and change
Cons: below industry average pay
As this is my first and only call center experience, I must say it has been a great place to learn and grow. Friendly atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 3, 2014
A typical day was fast paced and very productive
I learned a lot in regards to managing budgets
the hardest part of the job was the long hours and every weekend. Poor work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
regular day
Picker (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 2, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: point system
go in clock in find your work area and start working. the lead would move you if the work was more in another area. you would follow the work until you got done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, CODecember 1, 2014
Pros: nice associates
Cons: heavy lifting
I love working here, it gives me an opportunity to put my orgganization skills to use.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
How to Lose a Great Employee in 90 days
Administrative. (Former Employee), Claremont, NCNovember 26, 2014
Pros: free coffee machine
Cons: management sucks!
Dear Sutter Street, If you’re a good (or even just halfway decent) then your managers or leaders shall probably already know most of this, but it is worthwhile to remind ourselves of them now and again. Here’s my list as follows;

1. Be dishonest.
2. Don’t say “Thank you.”
3. Forget the values that made your organization a success.
4. Don’t take time – more... to listen (to their concerns).
5. Ignore their personal and professional development.
6. Don’t be selective who you hire in the first place.
7. Micromanage.
8. Set the bar low.
9. Be cold and uncaring (to them and to their co-workers, no common courtesy).
10. The “usual” things (under-pay them, intrude into their personal lives, bullying, harassment, etc.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic company. Great place to work when properly staffed.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Township of Susquehanna, PANovember 26, 2014
Pros: great benefits, and generous discounts.
Cons: not a great work life balance.
I work with some of the Best people on the planet. It is not flexible if you are in management,if you have children this is not the job for you unless they are older school age. I Love this store and company otherwise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, very enjoyable
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 25, 2014
Pros: extensive training, contests, recognition
Cons: low pay
My day would start by doing my follow-ups from previous days. This included calling customers about their orders such as back orders, discounts applied to orders, or just making sure everything was to their satisfaction. I answered high call volume from customers from all our sister companies, took care of orders, and technical support. I loved my co-workers, – more... we got along very well. I didn't find anything hard about the job, there were challenges but that's what makes it exciting. My immediate supervisor was great! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 22, 2014
Williams-Sonoma is a very success company that treats all their employees with respect. They care about each customer. The most enjoyable part of my eday is knowing that I made all the customers happy and I did my very best. The hardest part would be working the long hours. My co-workers are hard working individuals taht also have the work goals that – more... I have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Hardworking
Sales/Telephone Catalog Support (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CANovember 18, 2014
were the most common phrases hear thought out my 2 week long training class i assumed this job was a good and easy going job and had a efficient structure and i was correct
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, able to work from home, advanced easily, updating skills is ongoing
Currently Furniture Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 17, 2014
Pros: ongoing training, easy to move to new departments, great retail discount.
Cons: compensation low, hard to take advantage of pto & vacation.
When working from the contact center, a typical day consisted of taking incoming calls regarding customer furniture orders. Checking order status, sending to scheduling, resolving issues with delayed deliveries, material damage or defects, issuing replacements and compensation within company guidelines. Now I work from home, it is the same process but – more... with out physically going to the office.

Enjoy speaking and interacting with customers as well as retail associates and management. Co-workers are wonderful and we work well together as a team.

I've learned a lot about home furnishings as well as decorator items.
There is always something new to learn which is great as it keeps me on my toes and lets me share that information to customers or other associates.

The hardest part is dealing with insufficient information via the company website or internal departments then trying to make it coherent to the customer. Such as why items still not shipped or material/delivery delays. Having to wait 24-48 hrs or longer to get a reply from an internal department is a bit frustrating and of course trying to give the customer the best service with incomplete information is challenging.

Love to help customers with their orders, to share my knowledge about the products, sister companies and introduce customers to new products. Of course, working with my fellow associates and assisting new furniture associates how to find information as well as tips on handling escalated customers during their live training.

Overall, this is a good company but compensation is low. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could be better
Stock Associate (Seasonal) (Current Employee), Rolling Hills Estates, CANovember 5, 2014
Pros: getting free samples of food, some short work days
Cons: retail work, pay, on-call shifts
A typical day at work is to clock in and process any unfinished items/boxes that hasn't been stocked on the shelves. Then the UPS guy comes and unloads the shipment for the day. We have to scan in every box that came in and put the the items on the shelves of the stockroom (which is usually 40 or more boxes per day). There is either one or two stockers.

The – more... hardest part of the job is having to run the stock room alone and having to find room for each item because the stock room is full. Though the stock room is full, it is also hard to find items too.

The most most enjoyable part of the job is that stocking is pretty chill. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Williams-Sonoma, Inc.

Epicureans are at home at Williams-Sonoma, a leading multi-channel retailer of high-end goods for well-appointed kitchens, bedrooms, – Read more