Willbros Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Lead Hand / Skilled Labourer (Former Employee) –  Western Canada11 August 2017
Great company to work for, would love the opportunity to work with them again on another shut down. The morel was great, hands on training and family orientated.
Pros
Family orientated
Cons
work away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shop vrs field
Quality Control Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 July 2017
Shop was not a great place to work. I had personal information exposed by individuals who broke into my desk drawer. Management at the shop seemed to be out of touch with production activities and quality concerns.
Field team was much better to work for and with. Quality and safety were top notch.
Pros
Great salary
Cons
poor support at shop location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company
Welder Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 July 2017
It's a big company. The company works all over North America
. The company constantly has work and has a lot of great Welders. The company you want to be with to start
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Equipment Admin (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB12 June 2017
The most enjoyable part of my job was going to work and it felt like having a second family.
A typical day included data entry and problem solving
The hardest part of my job was trying to collect information from various job sites
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive,safe, and effiecent
2nd Year Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB31 May 2017
I worked for Willbros down on Surmont 2 there was a project ongoing for a couple of months there. I was the very last electrician on site. we had a new contract that was supposed to be up on the brion site by suncor but our contract went south and I had to take a Layoff.
Pros
Excellent people to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and family orientated
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB5 April 2017
Great place to work, very understanding to someone with a child. Office work is great, set hours with good pay and pretty steady work.
Site work is very long days at decent pay but a very different atmosphere then in the office (even if you're in the office on site)
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive workplace
Labourer- consists of general duties as a labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB13 March 2017
a typical day consist of going to work with a job scope needing to get done with no hiccups and working with people who can help you get through various tasks with out any complications and the ability to fix any complications with minimum time delay
Pros
minimum supervision
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Learning Experience
Intermediate Buyer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 February 2017
Willbros does good work and it was a pleasure to work with the team and build the portfolio of constructions projects.
I still have some friends that work there and seem to enjoy it. They've done good work for my current company and continue to have a good safety culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Employee (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 February 2017
Willbros is an OK place to work.
Divisions are all cliques.
Management slow to react.
Spend more time firing and hiring than focusing on training.
Need to have a closer look at some of the individuals in management seats.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 January 2017
Overall Willbros was a good company to work for, money was decent, people where good to work for management and employees. They were a company that was allays striving for improvement with the company it self and it's employee's.
I enjoyed working for them.
Pros
Good benifets, money, people were repectful good work with
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Equipment Operator Crane/Lead hand (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 January 2017
enjoyed working with this company for 4 years would gladly go back lots of hours but a good place to work big company and room to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cuting and install strut,tray
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 January 2017
my day start with toolbox meeting morning,gather tool and material for task,plan my route,read drawing print,like to work with my co-worker make the day go faster,after the day work i like to go home to my family in pace
Pros
yes
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Welder's Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort Hills, AB4 January 2017
Working with good co-workers and friends i learned to become a good welder, productive days with a lot of work to do. Would like to work everyday full-time.i am multi-tasked and motivated to get the job done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Sandblast operator, coating,Pipefitting (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 November 2016
working on various pipeline projects the work was professionally executed, good on managing different crews and sub contractors at different locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn safety advisor job
Safety Lead (Former Employee) –  Hardisty, AB26 August 2016
Willbros gave me a chance to learn my craft as a safety ad visor and I appreciated that very much. Willbros needs to provide more direction and safety training for the safety ad visors in the field. Training has been cut back due to slow down in the oil industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
0 leadership
HSE Advisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 August 2016
Extremely disorganized company business units are a disaster. They have people in roles that are not knowledgeable skilled or Advanced enough to be placed in those rules. A lot of shoot-from-the-hip rules and programs developed. No alignment within the organization.
Pros
O
Cons
Worked way too much overtime with no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't wait to work again with them!
Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB16 July 2016
Great company with extraordinary core values. Many divisions in the company to work with. Would love to make a career with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connected structural Steel
Ironworker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 June 2016
Morning Meeting and Wrote FLRAs
rigged steel
connected, bolt up and impacted steel
Fabricated Steel for ad ons
finished off project with deficiencies and punch lists
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life with Willbros
Admin (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2016
My "typical day" isn't always a typical one, which kind of keeps things interesting.

Good place to work, with a variety of departments with a variety of people to work for and with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprenticeship
Apprentice Welder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 May 2016
Good place to work, management is great

Environment is clean

people are very open to help one another as a team

most enjoyable part of the job is the people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Willbros Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5