Willbros Canada Employee Reviews

Showing all 49 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive workplace
Labourer- consists of general duties as a labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB13 March 2017
a typical day consist of going to work with a job scope needing to get done with no hiccups and working with people who can help you get through various tasks with out any complications and the ability to fix any complications with minimum time delay
Pros
minimum supervision
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Learning Experience
Intermediate Buyer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 February 2017
Willbros does good work and it was a pleasure to work with the team and build the portfolio of constructions projects.
I still have some friends that work there and seem to enjoy it. They've done good work for my current company and continue to have a good safety culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Employee (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 February 2017
Willbros is an OK place to work.
Divisions are all cliques.
Management slow to react.
Spend more time firing and hiring than focusing on training.
Need to have a closer look at some of the individuals in management seats.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 January 2017
Overall Willbros was a good company to work for, money was decent, people where good to work for management and employees. They were a company that was allays striving for improvement with the company it self and it's employee's.
I enjoyed working for them.
Pros
Good benifets, money, people were repectful good work with
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Equipment Operator Crane/Lead hand (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 January 2017
enjoyed working with this company for 4 years would gladly go back lots of hours but a good place to work big company and room to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cuting and install strut,tray
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 January 2017
my day start with toolbox meeting morning,gather tool and material for task,plan my route,read drawing print,like to work with my co-worker make the day go faster,after the day work i like to go home to my family in pace
Pros
yes
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Welder's Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort Hills, AB4 January 2017
Working with good co-workers and friends i learned to become a good welder, productive days with a lot of work to do. Would like to work everyday full-time.i am multi-tasked and motivated to get the job done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Sandblast operator, coating,Pipefitting (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 November 2016
working on various pipeline projects the work was professionally executed, good on managing different crews and sub contractors at different locations
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn safety advisor job
Safety Lead (Former Employee) –  Hardisty, AB26 August 2016
Willbros gave me a chance to learn my craft as a safety ad visor and I appreciated that very much. Willbros needs to provide more direction and safety training for the safety ad visors in the field. Training has been cut back due to slow down in the oil industry
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
0 leadership
HSE Advisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 August 2016
Extremely disorganized company business units are a disaster. They have people in roles that are not knowledgeable skilled or Advanced enough to be placed in those rules. A lot of shoot-from-the-hip rules and programs developed. No alignment within the organization.
Pros
O
Cons
Worked way too much overtime with no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't wait to work again with them!
Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB16 July 2016
Great company with extraordinary core values. Many divisions in the company to work with. Would love to make a career with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connected structural Steel
Ironworker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 June 2016
Morning Meeting and Wrote FLRAs
rigged steel
connected, bolt up and impacted steel
Fabricated Steel for ad ons
finished off project with deficiencies and punch lists
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life with Willbros
Admin (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2016
My "typical day" isn't always a typical one, which kind of keeps things interesting.

Good place to work, with a variety of departments with a variety of people to work for and with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprenticeship
Apprentice Welder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 May 2016
Good place to work, management is great

Environment is clean

people are very open to help one another as a team

most enjoyable part of the job is the people
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Electrical Materials CoOrdinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 April 2016
Personnel are well treated and the company has great benefits. Training is ongoing and safety is paramount. Management were always open to suggestions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Relief Supervisor & Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 April 2016
I found the company to be very good to there employees. Everyone at the company got along great very little problems between workers
Pros
rate
Cons
lack of work
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning
Welding Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 February 2016
I had a good learning experience with Willbros. They treated me good and help teach me a lot about work and life. Working there as an apprentice in welding showed me how hard that life is and made me realize what I have to do to become a better one myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work.
Office Manager/Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 February 2016
This was a great place to work and the management and staff were wonderful. Relocation was the reason for leaving. I was with them for 10 years and would still be there if not for the move.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing People, Fun
Junior Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Anzac, AB12 January 2016
Willbros Canada is an amazing company with amazing people. The management and co-workers were all really enjoyable to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job.....
Site Materials Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 January 2016
Typical for industrial construction in the Oil and Gas sector. Management was slow to react and only got involved when there were challenges. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-operation and professionalism of my co-workers.
Pros
"it's a job"
Cons
Lack of site management representation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Willbros Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 49 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4