Find companies:
Wilfrid Laurier University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Wilfrid Laurier University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on my Master's degree
M.A. Degree Community Psychology (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJune 18, 2014
I was working on my Master's degree full time. Courses included community development and other psychology courses.

After attaining Master's Degree, I lived in the Canadian arctic from 1988-91 (working for the Government of the Northwest Territories) developing self-help programmes as defined by and for Inuit peoples. I was also working as a psychologist/mental – more... health specialist in that capacity.

In the arctic my salary was approximately $50,000 per year – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment within a university setting
Student Health Promoter (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 28, 2014
Informed, advised, and educated students on health initiatives. Excellent managerial support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for connecting within the world
International Peer Mentor (Current Employee), Brantford, ONMay 26, 2014
• Provide leadership and mentorship to new international students
• Maintain drop-in hours for students that need assistance
• develop and Facilitate programs and services for Laurier Brantford students
• other duties as assigned
• be a prefessional face and voice for Laurier Brantford International
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with opportunity to meet other students
Call Centre Representative (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 14, 2014
- fun icecreaking games/games at lunch break
- recognition whenever someone receives a donation
- really fun coworkers and supervisors
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fun atmosphere with hard working and unique individuals!
Wilfrid Laurier Liaison Team (Volunteer) (Former Employee), WaterlooApril 14, 2014
Pros: positivity
Cons: residence managment
Laurier itself is a very respectable school. There Student Union is very strong and full of exciting and enthusiastic people. This was a volunteer that I feel deserves the rights to sit at par with my jobs and what I learned from them. My team was very close, probably as close as my family. They taught me many things to consider within life and what – more... is important to me. I feel being on this team was probably one of the biggest things to have ever shaped me. The hardest part for me would actually be saying good bye. The balance was amazing and the people I got to meet throughout Laurier were amazing. A good lesson in life with communication and positivity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Significant job supervising exams
Exam Proctor (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 31, 2014
Pros: relatively simple
Essentially a simple job to ensure midterms run smoothly. You sign up for your own hours so it is flexible and it is first come first served. You must check your emails regularly to make sure you see the hour postings that you can sign up for. It is important that you remain professional because it may become easy to fall short and let loose in regards – more... to tasks that must be performed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but fun place to work, plus flexible hours in my case.
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
I worked from home. A typical day involved reviewing the financial statements of US companies and recording my findings in an excel spreadsheet.
I have become very adept at research.
My boss is understanding and very easy to work with.
The hardest part of the job is when the company being reviewed does not have a properly designed website and I spend – more... a lot of time looking for the necessary information; it gets frustrating. But i deal with it and move on.
It is interesting and enjoyable to see the similarities between these companies and note the little differences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job that provides great experience
Lab Coordinator (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 21, 2014
Although the hours are part time, working as a lab coordinator is a great experience and has taught me some new skills that will be invaluable later in life. It is a job that combines being a research assistant with being in human resources, as you manage payroll and hiring decisions as well. I have a wonderful employer and dedicated colleagues. The – more... hardest part of the job is coordinating people's schedules. The most rewarding is seeing how my work helps the PhD students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to work with students
Accessible Learning Centre Tutor (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: pay well, students were determined to learn.
Cons: unexpected calls to meetup at times.
-make study notes and prep notes for students
-meet with students for tutoring session
-ensure students are prepared for exams
-tutor students with learning disabilities to help them find success in certain courses

Sometimes students requested for immediate meetup during unexpected hours. Always have to be available and prepared to help students out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment and learned a lot from this experience.
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 23, 2014
At this job, I walk around the classroom to make sure everyone has the required pages up on their computer screens following along with the lab instructor. After the lab instructor completes his talk, the students would begin a quiz and task where I would keep a close eye on students to make sure no one cheats. I would also assist students as needed – more... if they have any questions. Since I was an instructional assistant for a computer science course, I have learned in depth what Microsoft Office has to offer to everyone. Everyone that I have worked with within the 1.5 years have been friendly and very easy to get along with. Even the lab instructor was easy to get in contact with if I had any questions and was always very approachable in the classroom for the students as well as the instructional assistants. I definitely really enjoyed this job and would do it again if an opportunity came along. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union based no area for improvement
Digital Marketing Coordinator Co-op (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONNovember 26, 2013
Union based no area for improvement. It can be frustrating how people are so slow in getting tasks done and there is no room for self-improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great University to work for
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 25, 2013
A great place to work for and awesome experience .
great co-workers and professors .
would recommend it to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching
Research Assistant, Brock University (Former Employee), 75 University Ave W, Waterloo, ON N2L 3C5September 4, 2013
spending a day with new chemistry students is so exciting they are doing 12 experiments during the whole semester which develope their skills in chemistry. usually we are 2 lab demonestrator that at first showing them how to do the experiments and we would be there with them and checking them how they ar doing it and trying to tell them their mistakes. – more... the hardest part of this job is marking for sure and the most enjoyable part is teaching the things which they don't know and seeing them how they are learning and improving after a whole semester.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace, Committed to Excellence
Examination Proctor, Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 3, 2013
Being a teaching assistant (TA) and a examination proctor at WLU was a great experience for me. As a first-time TA, there were many resources available to help me better my teaching skills and further my knowledge. The support system in place for teachers was excellent, and I felt I was constantly becoming more comfortable (while still challenged) in – more... this role because of these resources. I worked with other grad students, and some excellent faculty members. The hardest part of this job was the learning curve, as it was quite steep. I enjoyed working with students and seeing the progress they made, as well as seeing the progress for myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: good salary
Cons: lots of marking
I really enjoyed working with and helping the undergraduate students. The managers were so helpful, organized and reachable. The hardest part was to be fair and concise in marking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall beneficial opportunity for a student looking to build experience and communication skills.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONApril 30, 2013
Pros: occasional free lunches, extensive work variety
Cons: fixed pay for student employees
Working at Laurier was a new experience for me in that I had no set 'position' and was utilized where I was needed around campus in various departments and positions. For a time I worked as a file clerk, I conducted research for various administrators, I wrote and edited academic presentations, I spend some time assisting with events planning and even – more... preformed manual labour packing and moving boxes and furniture (in preparation for an office renovation). This fluidity provided me a plethora of experience; I learned how to conduct myself and communicate effectively in a professional, academic environment and how to adapt quickly to new responsibilities. My co-workers were friendly, intelligent and patient, providing a supportive and comfortable work space that fostered quality performance. I am a better, more communicative employee for having worked there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, laid-back atmosphere
Usher (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 26, 2013
Pros: had the opportunity to watch a show
Cons: limited number of hours that you can work per week
-learned to be accommodating, respectful, friendly, professional
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, educational environment
Geographic Information Systems Research Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 7, 2013
Pros: extra geomatics education and experience
Cons: can be tidious
working at laurier was an excellent opportunity to gain GIS experience while working alongside masters students and professors directly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work environment
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 25, 2013
Friendly staff. Wonderful Supervisor. Hard working coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day of work
Co-curricular Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: i set my own hours
Cons: there is alot of work
On a daily basis I answer emails, create reports, update website, answer inquiers and send out reports. Through this job I have learned to focus my attention while working at a desk job and how to multitask further. I have great managers they are nice and always willing to offer help. The most enjoyable aspect of my job are my co-worker, we make a good – more... team. – less