Find companies:
Wilfrid Laurier University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Wilfrid Laurier University Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONDecember 14, 2014
Great work environment. As a Master's student and research assistant I was required to plan my own time effectively in order to complete tasks in a timely manner. I learned a lot about qualitative research and time management. The hardest part of the job was staying focused on the task at hand when new information or ideas came up. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was continuously learning more and more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Event Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONNovember 3, 2014
Awesome staff to work with, management was excellent. The most enjoyable part of work was working the kids and teaching them new skills each and everyday. Knowing that they were having a positive experience made it enjoyable for myself as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing establishment to work for!
Department of Residence Associate (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONOctober 28, 2014
This was an amazing establishment to work for. The individuals who work at Wilfrid Laurier University are truly there for the students. Wilfrid Laurier continues to inspire me to become a better leader every single day. I would be honoured to return to Wilfrid Laurier University as an employee again in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always great to work at an academic institution
Teaching assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONOctober 27, 2014
Not great with the paperwork, and term contracts get annoying, but otherwise excellent place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The first full time job that I had worked.
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 13, 2014
A typical day at work: To develop Manulife clients application forms access database and perform filing clients' information to the company database
What you learned: I learned some policy of the life insurance company.
Management: There are two managers as a partners in the company, so sometimes they have the different idea for some issues.
Your co-workers: – more... I love my colleagues who gave me some investment suggestions.
The hardest part of the job: How to handle some situations with two managers.
The most enjoyable part of the job: Knowing how to buy a reasonable life insurance in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Stock Market Investment Competitions (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 6, 2014
Wilfrid Laurier University has hosted an excellent event for us to have the chance to experience stock market with no risk.
We chose our own stock and operate through the Wilfrid Laurier University's website. I have learned many details about the function of stock market and team-working in a operation project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment, no micromanaging
ESL Instructor (EAP) (Current Employee), Brantford OntarioAugust 1, 2014
A great balance between teaching hours and planning hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work with a sense of community
Student Ambassador (Former Employee), Brantford, ONJuly 27, 2014
- a lot of interaction with incoming students
- very rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on my Master's degree
M.A. Degree Community Psychology (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJune 18, 2014
I was working on my Master's degree full time. Courses included community development and other psychology courses.

After attaining Master's Degree, I lived in the Canadian arctic from 1988-91 (working for the Government of the Northwest Territories) developing self-help programmes as defined by and for Inuit peoples. I was also working as a psychologist/mental – more... health specialist in that capacity.

In the arctic my salary was approximately $50,000 per year – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment within a university setting
Student Health Promoter (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 28, 2014
Informed, advised, and educated students on health initiatives. Excellent managerial support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for connecting within the world
International Peer Mentor (Current Employee), Brantford, ONMay 26, 2014
• Provide leadership and mentorship to new international students
• Maintain drop-in hours for students that need assistance
• develop and Facilitate programs and services for Laurier Brantford students
• other duties as assigned
• be a prefessional face and voice for Laurier Brantford International
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with opportunity to meet other students
Call Centre Representative (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 14, 2014
- fun icecreaking games/games at lunch break
- recognition whenever someone receives a donation
- really fun coworkers and supervisors
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fun atmosphere with hard working and unique individuals!
Wilfrid Laurier Liaison Team (Volunteer) (Former Employee), WaterlooApril 14, 2014
Pros: positivity
Cons: residence managment
Laurier itself is a very respectable school. There Student Union is very strong and full of exciting and enthusiastic people. This was a volunteer that I feel deserves the rights to sit at par with my jobs and what I learned from them. My team was very close, probably as close as my family. They taught me many things to consider within life and what – more... is important to me. I feel being on this team was probably one of the biggest things to have ever shaped me. The hardest part for me would actually be saying good bye. The balance was amazing and the people I got to meet throughout Laurier were amazing. A good lesson in life with communication and positivity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Significant job supervising exams
Exam Proctor (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 31, 2014
Pros: relatively simple
Essentially a simple job to ensure midterms run smoothly. You sign up for your own hours so it is flexible and it is first come first served. You must check your emails regularly to make sure you see the hour postings that you can sign up for. It is important that you remain professional because it may become easy to fall short and let loose in regards – more... to tasks that must be performed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but fun place to work, plus flexible hours in my case.
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
I worked from home. A typical day involved reviewing the financial statements of US companies and recording my findings in an excel spreadsheet.
I have become very adept at research.
My boss is understanding and very easy to work with.
The hardest part of the job is when the company being reviewed does not have a properly designed website and I spend – more... a lot of time looking for the necessary information; it gets frustrating. But i deal with it and move on.
It is interesting and enjoyable to see the similarities between these companies and note the little differences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job that provides great experience
Lab Coordinator (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 21, 2014
Although the hours are part time, working as a lab coordinator is a great experience and has taught me some new skills that will be invaluable later in life. It is a job that combines being a research assistant with being in human resources, as you manage payroll and hiring decisions as well. I have a wonderful employer and dedicated colleagues. The – more... hardest part of the job is coordinating people's schedules. The most rewarding is seeing how my work helps the PhD students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to work with students
Accessible Learning Centre Tutor (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: pay well, students were determined to learn.
Cons: unexpected calls to meetup at times.
-make study notes and prep notes for students
-meet with students for tutoring session
-ensure students are prepared for exams
-tutor students with learning disabilities to help them find success in certain courses

Sometimes students requested for immediate meetup during unexpected hours. Always have to be available and prepared to help students out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment and learned a lot from this experience.
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 23, 2014
At this job, I walk around the classroom to make sure everyone has the required pages up on their computer screens following along with the lab instructor. After the lab instructor completes his talk, the students would begin a quiz and task where I would keep a close eye on students to make sure no one cheats. I would also assist students as needed – more... if they have any questions. Since I was an instructional assistant for a computer science course, I have learned in depth what Microsoft Office has to offer to everyone. Everyone that I have worked with within the 1.5 years have been friendly and very easy to get along with. Even the lab instructor was easy to get in contact with if I had any questions and was always very approachable in the classroom for the students as well as the instructional assistants. I definitely really enjoyed this job and would do it again if an opportunity came along. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union based no area for improvement
Digital Marketing Coordinator Co-op (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONNovember 26, 2013
Union based no area for improvement. It can be frustrating how people are so slow in getting tasks done and there is no room for self-improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great University to work for
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 25, 2013
A great place to work for and awesome experience .
great co-workers and professors .
would recommend it to anyone.