Find companies:
Wholesale Sports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Wholesale Sports Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poductive and fun
Receptionist, AR (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 9, 2014
Family owned. Very fun and awesome staff. Busy but fun days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced retail outlet.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 5, 2014
Cons: stock shortages, weekend work
Extremely active.
On-going updates of product knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff parties and discount purchasing policy.
Receiver/Shipper/Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: work hours. local staff well suited for work.
Cons: local management had no autonomy, head office handled all purchasing.
Progressive well managed company at the Head Office level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was busy and I always found work if things were slow.
Outfitter (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 19, 2013
Pros: variety, learning, responsibility, and maintaing customer and co-worker relationships.
Cons: not enough hours to satisfy my bank account. cuts were made, and i was affected as were many others.
This is one position I loved and will always be grateful for. I learned so much in this line of work and I had great co-workers who taught me and guided me as I learned new tasks. Eventually, I grew in this position from the "new kid" to a more senior role and loved the responsibility. It was the "fun" place to be and with the economy and the competition – more... being tough on that particular company, they made cut-backs and it was time to move on. It was a tough decision, but one that I put much thought into. I am now once again, growing and learning and looking for ways to advance. I believe in looking forward - because if you concentrate on staring in the rear-view mirror - you will eventually crash. Positive and forward I go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too many cheifs, not enough indians
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 17, 2013
Pros: steady hours, breaks, medical/dental benefits, flex days etc.
Cons: communication issues, bipolar decision making from upper management
a typical day would consist of processing deadline based bill payments, and collecting the necessary backup to facilitate the requirements posted for audit purposes (i.e. filing, proper signatories for cheques etc.) management is fluid and indecisive at times considering the ratio of upper management employees and team members is to my knowledge, largely – more... favoring upper management, co-workers can be either largely enjoyable or quite off-putting as attitude will vary from person to person, the hardest part of the job was attempting to communicate the issues around deadlines, vendors etc. in a way that made sense to the upper management staff, communication was sparse and direct. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 16, 2013
Pros: really cool store
Cons: night shift to morning shift
I was a customer service associate. It was definitely a good position for me, because I am a people person. My till was always spot on. The management was a little sloppy at the time, because they had the front end manager just leave one day, so a supervisor got asked to step up. No experience, things were sloppy. But she did a great job of holding – more... everything together. I enjoyed everyone I worked with. They were all good people. I felt comfortable working with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), WinnipegSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: there is none
Cons: it's a job
If you like to get pushed round, then this is the place to work.
You work over time no pay for it, then you get into trouble for it.
The work needs to be done, but you won't get any help.
I know as I worked there. And after all the work no benefits.
Just treated badly. I would of stayed but Management made it hard.
I gave up my lunches
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABMarch 25, 2013
Start @ 7 am and finish @ 15:30 hrs with half hr.for lunch.All the ins and outs of ship/rec.and learning something new everyday.Management is awesome and they stand behind there employees,co-workers awesome and it is a fun atmosphere to work in.I think the hardest part of the job is the removal of the skids that the products come on.The enjoyable part – more... is working with co-workers and helping customers have an awesome experience of being looked after when t hey come into the store and leave knowing they were well looked after. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Manangemnet
Part Time Cashier (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: fun job, nice people
Cons: many hours, management wasn't often available for help.
Had little training before being asked to work by myself. Also was asked and expected to miss several days of school per week to work extra hours on top of the twenty plus hours per week I already worked don weekends while completing high school. Quit the job after talking with management about changing or shortening hours and deciding that school needed – more... to come first. Also breaks and such were scheduled and were decided based on who got to work earliest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large retail operation
Department Manager (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: excellent employee purchase program
Cons: poor supply chain logistics make for customer service issues
A Typical retail position in the outdoor sporting goods industry. Lots of public interaction and opportunity to become an expert in the product lines. The arrival of new product is always exciting and being given the opportunity to educate the public is a bonus. Because this is part of a chain of stores, the on-hand product is often not based on local – more... requirements but those of the chain as a whole, so it can be frustrating when customers cannot find specifically what they are looking for. Much of the staff is part-time and temporary so there can be a lack of product knowledge and dedication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace environment, fun customers and employees, gained lots of knowledge within industry
Logistics Associate (Former Employee), Missoula, MTNovember 12, 2014
Pros: being involved in the fishing industry and all the products associated with that
Cons: bad compensation and little hope for raises
A typical day involved listening to many customers' need and meeting those needs specifically. It also involved managing inventory and creating point of purchase displays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, not a career.
Operations (Former Employee), Federal Way, WAJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: laid back
Cons: no room for advancement
Lots of fun people there, and not a lot of pressure. Just not a place to build on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing
Store Manager (Former Employee), Kennewick, WADecember 4, 2013
Pros: merchandise discount
Cons: unclear business path
Typical work day included , corporate calls and meetings.
Learned to be flexible.
Management tried Hard.
Co- Workers gave with every ounce of energy to the company.
Hardest part was the changing objectives.
Most Enjoyable part was all the great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and passionate place to work
Sales Associate/ (Former Employee), Federal Way, WANovember 14, 2013
Pros: enviroment that fed into the passions of hunting and fishing enthusiasts.
Cons: being away from family
Helping custormers find exactly what they need and offering advise and expertise in outdoor activites constituted a majority of the day. Merchandising shelves and inventory control were other duties performed. The hardest part of the day was moving cases of heavy freight from pallets to displays areas. Though breaking a sweat it was still enjoyable – more... to see the end result. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work and great time with co-workers
Retail/ Cashier (Former Employee), Spokane, WAAugust 6, 2013
Pros: started out higher pay than min. wage
Cons: no benefits
A typical day was fairly busy, whether it was with customers or stocking the shelves. Learned to manage frustration during stressful times as cashier. Managers were always helpful and quick to help when needed. Co workers were very easy to get along with. There really wasn't a hard part of the job...I adapted quickly. Being able to interact with the – more... customers and joke around with everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people but lacks support from board of directors
Director of Purchasing (Former Employee), Federal Way, WAJuly 11, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere and people
Cons: benefits are basic
A lot is asked of the employees but they are taken care of well

Senior Management is experienced and understands the business world

Co workers are good people and envoirnment is fun

Work hard, Play hard

No support from board of directors for new systems and warehousing for business advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at times, yet unprofessional environment. Total rumor mill!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), burlington, WAFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: fun to work with some of the product
Cons: all drama
I was at the customer service counter. I handled all returns, special orders, and acted as a cashier. The place is COMPLETELY unprofessional. Managers do not manage, they rule over their departments as if they own you. Often there will be inappropriate conversation going on (not far from clientele). If you're looking for a place that will work with – more... you on your schedule...look elsewhere. Schedule is NEVER out on time, and they will change it on you in (even on your day off) and you will be penalized if you don't show up.
It's all just a bunch of kids who really don't know what they're doing.
They don't allow overtime, and don't give pay raises.
not a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Camping replenishment planner for all US stores (Current Employee), federal way, waFebruary 15, 2013
its been a great time i have lots of fun and learned more about myself and the world i live in here than i probably ever did in school. I am sad to see the company go away now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the store was great.
Hunting Associate (Former Employee), Portland, ORFebruary 4, 2013
Working was good. I enjoyed helping customers in there hunting, reloading and firearm needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, good people
Customer Service & Apparel Specialist (Former Employee), Federal way, WAJanuary 26, 2013
Pros: good atmosphere, possible advancements
Cons: low compensation
Enjoyable place to work, very good surroundings and caring co-workers. My typical day was ringing customers out, Issuing fishing and hunting licenses, and stocking shelves. Overall good place to work, besides the minimum wage pay.