Wholesale Sports Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 28 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place with great coworkers
Cashier and Retail (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK22 August 2017
In the short time I worked there, enjoyed the customer service and being able to talk to customers about hunting/fishing/outdoors. I enjoyed working as a cashier
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work at
Purchasing Planner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 June 2017
The salary is not too great. Other than that, it is a great workplace. Great staff, great management and great work place culture. If you are passionate about hunting camping or fishing, it is a great place to work at.
Pros
great work- life balance. Employee discounts on store products
Cons
salary is not too great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management terrible
Looking at you (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK12 June 2017
This little bald headed kid from the USA had a bad attitude. I don't know how this company can put people like this in charge. What goes around Will come around.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 April 2017
Worked there but didn't give enough hours. I think we should get commission because some people don't work too hard. Good and nice guys. You learn a lot!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB5 April 2017
If you love the outdoors this is the best place for you too work. There are so many different departments to work for and everyone there has the same interests as you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC14 March 2017
Okay job if you like hunting, fishing, camping, hiking and activities like that. No room to advance further up. Lots of drama and a very high turnover rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK24 February 2017
A fine place to work. I learned a lot from my direct manager. The best part of the job were the people that you worked with. You could have fun and still get your job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations
Operations (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 December 2016
No matter how hard you work you will not be appreciated. However, many coworkers are very enjoyable to work with. If I miss anything, it is definitely the coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typcial day at work
Front End Lead Cashier (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK24 October 2016
I begin my day with restarting all the computers at the Front End so they will not to be sluggish and work for half the day at least. I always arrive early after I am done restarting the tills I put away my stuff in my locker and I relax.

Once I am done and punched in I go speak to my boss to find out if anyone has called in or anything I should know, I am Front End Dept. Lead so it is my job to find out this information.

I then communicate with my coworkers and I process transactions and engage in customer concerns.
Pros
Stress Free
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff management needs work
gun counter associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 June 2016
I use to enjoy going into work everyday but as time grew on it got worse and worse. New hires got more hours then the original staff. if we had a issue with the schedule we were belittled for complaining. department mangers were a blessing but the upper end needs to give their head a shake.
Pros
discounts
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport

Want to know more about Wholesale Sports?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, good discounts
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 January 2016
Days are not overly long, co workers are great. Upper management is not the most helpful but the department managers are fantastic.
Pros
Staff bonding, employee discounts
Cons
Difficult to reach upper management quickly
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2015
Friendly staff, good customers and lots of things to learn or teach. Management was constantly visible and talk with customers and staff. Wages were okay, time off was hard to get due to problems in staff time management.
Pros
Anual pot luck and BBQ, discounts
Cons
Management and stock troubles
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding job
Operations Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton AB10 August 2015
Typical day at work is fun, and eventful. I have learned a whole lot about hunting, fishing and camping while I have worked here. It has also taught me a lot about customer service and the business side of things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent but....
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 June 2015
Management when I was working at Wholesale sucked, the main office was always messing things up and we were losing customers all the time because of it. The staff is friendly and most in hunting know their stuff.
Pros
Extras from manufacturers
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very boring environment, good people
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  West Kelowna, BC24 May 2015
Great CEO, work space had poor training and was very boring, lack of understanding and communication, Too much staff, then too little staff when the floor became busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy working here
Junior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 April 2015
The guys I worked with seemed to be nice and of a decent sort. The management unfortunately did not provide a nice working atmosphere. Low pay boring job. I would recommend not working here.
Pros
Tim Hortons was close by
Cons
Painfully boring job
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, friendly customers
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC28 September 2014
My job is to be at the customer service desk and help customers. I answer phones, handle cash and payments, and also issue hunting and fishing licenses. My coworkers are very friendly and help out whenever needed. Management is friendly and comes to help whenever needed. My favourite part of my job is talking to the customers, because some of them are very sociable and brighten my day!
Pros
Fun work environment, friendly staff and management
Cons
Messy Scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poductive and fun
Receptionist, AR (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 June 2014
Family owned. Very fun and awesome staff. Busy but fun days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced retail outlet.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 May 2014
Extremely active.
On-going updates of product knowledge.
Pros
None
Cons
Stock shortages, weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff parties and discount purchasing policy.
Receiver/Shipper/Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC12 February 2014
Progressive well managed company at the Head Office level.
Pros
Work hours. Local staff well suited for work.
Cons
Local management had no autonomy, head office handled all purchasing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wholesale Sports. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.9
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

54%
11 ratings
Add your rating