Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
961 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace almost like a family
cashier assistant, cashier (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 22, 2014
Pros: 20% discounts, paid breaks
Whole Foods Market is all about team work and customer service a typical day for me is pretty much routine, chasing carts, bagging groceries, doing returns, stocking and cleaning the cafe area as well as cashier terminals, and helping customers with whatever question or concerns they may have. I learned exactly what is to exemplify customer service – more... through conversation, taking interest, and product knowledge. Co-workers and management are great and always a pleasure to be around. Everyone works hard together we actually referred to each other as team members which also taught me that everyone is just as important as the next. The hardest part about the job is remembering PLU codes for produce. The most enjoyable part of the job for me is helping customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amateur
Bakery Team Member (Former Employee), Boise, IDJune 22, 2014
Pros: great groceries
Cons: everything else.
Management above the store level, was nothing but a bunch of bullies. People who had entered retail, having no skills other than being bossy. At the store level was better, but they would always be directed to be jerks. I learned nothing, and was never utilized for any skills I brought from previous experience. I walked out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated it
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cupertino, CAJune 22, 2014
Pros: healthy food
Cons: less pay
The workers are nice, poor management. The pay is less, the schedule could be messy at times. Co workers are hard workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great core values!
Human Resources (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJune 21, 2014
Great company to work for with great core values.
Has been on the Fortune Top places to work for 17 consecutive years!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
Team Member (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 21, 2014
If you have passion and are recognized for what you do than you can move up pretty quickly. If you don't then you are stuck at the bottom of the barrel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, but...
Bartender (Former Employee), Reno, NVJune 19, 2014
Pros: team member happiness, fair salary, wonderful products
Cons: terrible benefits, bad management
I loved Whole Foods! When I worked there, I learned so much about different cultures and the importance to natural and organic foods. The information I learned opened my mind and has made me much more of an opinionated and informed consumer. I am so glad I learned what I did because I am much healthier and know what products help/ don't take advantage – more... of other countries. The problem with Whole Foods was the good ole' boy system in which in runs under. There were many individuals who had been with the company for awhile who would go for a promotion; only to lose to the new guy who was hired by a friend of theirs. It was sad to see. Very disorganized with zero leadership because leadership positions were given to people with no experience or they just didn't care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
sanitization (Current Employee), South Weymouth, MAJune 17, 2014
Pros: positive, nice place friendly
Cons: very hard to move up
I think whole foods is a great place to work for, they treat everyone the same & are very outgoing & positive to employees & patrons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Payroll and Benefits Specialist (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJune 17, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of basic job tasks that I am required to do everyday. Management is ok, I have a few concerns.My co-workers are pleasant .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work everyone is like family
Sports Buyer (Current Employee), Atlanta, Ga.June 17, 2014
There is always something to do. Each day you learn something new. Whether it is builing endcaps to changing the department around to meet the needs of the customers, there is always something to do. I have learned so much about supplements and homeopathy. My cooworkers are like family, We spend everyday together. We even get together outside of work. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is going to work everyday and knwoing there is not going to be any conflict. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job harder than it looks.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLJune 16, 2014
Pros: they do employee gratitude day and give you t-shirts.
Cons: very strenuous work.
On a typical day, we didn't get our breaks. Sent me to a class to be serve-safe certified, although now I understand they just give you a book and ask you to take the test. My co-workers were awesome, the managers did not seem to care about the food being organic, natural, only overall sales seemed to be their motive to being there. You never had a – more... shift at the same time to bring continuity to your life, you might close at night, only to open the next morning. Monthly meetings are required and held in the store before dawn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced but sometimes tedious workplace.
Customer Service Cashier (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 16, 2014
Pros: fun environment, better-than-average benefits
Cons: short breaks
Working for WFM was great - my coworkers were a ton of fun, and so were most clients. However, working with the public has its draw-backs and sometimes made for a challenging day. On the whole, this was a great job but not where I'd like to make a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love food
Assist customers (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 14, 2014
their food are top shelf in my book. fast paced environment. positive energy all around. great team activities. did i mention that their food is great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Meat Cutter (Current Employee), Redwood City, CAJune 14, 2014
Pros: abillibity to be yourself. friendly enviorment.
Cons: tends to be more pricey so your market share is limited.
The Company has grown a great deal since I started in 2001 and the reason is that the people there are really kind, caring and willing to help you achieve what you want to do with your future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, Great Job Culture; Management is not really on point though
Store Graphic Artist (Current Employee), Miami BeachJune 13, 2014
Pros: good store events, 20% discount, free samples of great food @ 11am
Cons: 30 min lunch, horrible schedule, micromanagement
The Artist position is very relaxed. A job could not endeavor more to resemble paradise. All you have to do is endure a ridiculously shifting work schedule, early mornings (5, 6 and 7 a.m. most times), and micromanagement.
Haven't really had much of a social life because of the shifting schedule.

The pay for an entry level artist is good. The benefits – more... are beyond compare, very, very good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Member
Team Member Front Desk (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLJune 13, 2014
Whole Foods Market: Front Desk (Customer Service), Boca Raton, Florida
• Serve and take care of the customers.
• Cashier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun up beat work place
Cashier (Former Employee), San Rafael, CAJune 12, 2014
Pros: great benifits, great stock options, and 401 and dental for part time employees
Cons: not alot of oppurtunities for growth in company
Very friendly customers and co workers. The management really cares about the future of company and employees. Training is detailed and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where high quality standards are the center of there core values
Cashier (Current Employee), Aventura, FLJune 11, 2014
Pros: supporting team member happiness, top organic company
Cons: small store
Whole foods is a company where no two days is never the same. Where the atmosphere is always a ecstatic one. i have met people from all over the world even china. I'm always happy to be at work. There is never a dull moment at Whole Foods Market. In just the two years there i have learned that great customer service can make or break your business. – more... That it is not easy for everyone to provide it. Management is a laid back environment. As in as in there just as happy as there employees being at work is a wonderful experience an they don't need to put too much pressure on them to make things get done. I would say the hardest part of my job is to not love my job. Even with irate customers to make them happy brightens my day. The most enjoyable part of my job is that fact its open to ideas they take every ones ideas on anything and everything into consideration. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Team Leader (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 11, 2014
Pros: free luchhes
Cons: health care
One of the best place to work for. A relaxing environment professional environment and very relaxing place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good
Sanitation (Former Employee), charlotte ncJune 11, 2014
its a nice place to work you get to meet a lot of people your co workers are nice the management is really good over all ill tell people to work here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not terrible place, but terrible pay
Associate (Current Employee), Austin, TXJune 10, 2014
coworkers/management is fairly nice, but it is a lot of manual labor for not a lot of pay.

About Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market owns and operates a chain of natural and organic foods supermarket. As of September 30, 2008, the Company operated – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos