Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,150 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant headaches every time I went home.
Prepared foods team member (Former Employee), Albany, NYNovember 18, 2014
Pros: 20% discount
Cons: healthcare is too expensive, favoritism, managers are terrible, no hours...the list goes on.
I wanted to work for this company because my friend absolutely loved it. I worked at a different location than she did and from what I experienced, it was a nightmare. Managers play favorites so unless you're a good *** kisser, don't even bother with looking to advance. They gave the hours to people who did the least amount of work and didn't clean – more... at all. They'll try to fire you over absolutely nothing if they can get away with it. I didn't feel respected there at all and I left because my manager didn't take her job seriously and was a very horrible person. If they don't like you, you'll know because its basically like high school where everyone talks negative behind your back. Customers were rude and at times very aggressive. If I were to ever work at Whole Foods again, it would NOT be for this region because they are absolutely terrible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with room to grow
Customer Service Cashier (Seasonal) (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 17, 2014
Everyone is friendly and very helpful. Very busy but not chaotic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with it's ups and downs
COOK (Current Employee), Orland Park, ILNovember 17, 2014
Pros: fun work environment, nice employees, understranding management
Cons: poorly organised schedules, no consistancy in scheduleing
Everyone has specific duties and stations. It is hard to manage two jobs if this is one of them, schedules are posted Thursdays before next work week so it is hard to plan ahead for other jobs. Employees are nice and fun to be around. Management and communication needs work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Demonstrator (Former Employee), Southern Pines, NCNovember 17, 2014
I was doing a demonstrating job for BARetc. Giving out samples of Sangria, and also informing the consumer about the product. Overall, I got a lot of wine sold. The staff was very friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company excelled with whole foods market but moved to arizona.
team member (Former Employee), Los Altos, CANovember 16, 2014
great company excelled with whole foods market but moved to arizona.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A healthy grocery store with products you are proud to promote
Floral/Produce Team Member (Current Employee), Winston-Salem, NCNovember 16, 2014
Pros: 20% employee discount
Cons: healthcare for part time employees is expensive
Whether I am working in floral or produce, freshness is key to my daily routine. Product quality is maintained by rotation of stock and culling. I have learned about types of produce and how to prepare them, how plants are grown and the standards that Whole Foods adheres to to ensure the highest quality product. This is important to our customer base – more... as they come to Whole Foods looking for healthy and wholesome foods. In our store, and other stores I've noticed, the co-workers tend to become a second family. Everyone is friendly and caring, which makes this a great place to work for. The greatest part of my job is creating a memorable experience for the customer. I really love making someones day with a beautiful floral arrangement. There has been a recent change in management style to a top-down, more corporate feel. As I worked for Whole Foods previously my experience was that I could take ownership of my position, whereas now most of what I do must be approved by management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude guests, but a great team and management
Cashier (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LANovember 14, 2014
Tons of rude people come into this store. Co-workers and management help make it easier to deal with them. Ideal job for students that do not want to work in a restaurant, but want a good wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), jenkintownNovember 13, 2014
Pros: positive work enviornment
Cons: challenging workload
Whole foods is an incredibly intimate and close knit place to work. The employee/employer relationships are based upon a set of values the company holds stating that there are no real superiors, everyone is apart of a team. Customers love how friendly and easy going whole foods is a market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your natural industry career.
Grocery Associate Team Leader (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNNovember 12, 2014
Pros: good benefits, discount on groceries.
Cons: deductible is really high on any medical coverage.
Popcorn schedule. Great peers that you work with, and a good customer base. Management can be hit or miss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was definitely a fair and fun place to work.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), South Weymouth, MANovember 12, 2014
Pros: lunch at work!!
Cons: short breaks
The typical day at work would be fun and fast paced.. The customers were very pleasant! i learned how to use the registers at whole foods, and i learned MAJORLY about organics and how meat is produced and fruits and vegetable and about animals! My coworkers were the best ever!! I enjoyed working with every single one of them, when we had no customers – more... we would work as a team to keep the front end clean and we would tell silly jokes and take walks around the store to learn more about what we sell. The hardest part about the job was trying to remember all of the PLU numbers for the fruits and veggies, BUT it was a fun challenge for me! I enjoyed working for this company and i would work for them forever if it were a career! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fortune 500 with a secret
Prepared Foods Team Member (Former Employee), Providence, RINovember 12, 2014
Pros: 20% off discount, very good benifits, pto hours
I spent 1.7 years working for Whole Foods Market, specifically on Waterman Street. I was a team member in the Prepared Foods department, and I worked front of house or pizza. I quickly learned that (at least within the department I was in) everyone was miserable under the happy faces that we were being paid to put on. Many hated the team leader because – more... he did not appropriately support and guide the team, and many times he seemed "checked out". There is a lot of favoritism being played in the store, tricking all the way down from the store management. If you are able to do the most physically demanding job in the store for the same amount of pay as the cashiers, then this job is for you. Know that I personally walked into work every day with fear of losing my job (and so did others). If not, I would recommend the customer service team, bakery team, grocery team, or produce team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After 3 years
Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 12, 2014
Pros: great culture, great products, opportunity to help people
Cons: in the search for the almighty dollar the core values are often forgotten
It is a very stressful company to work for at least at the store level. The amount of pressure placed on management from Regional leadership trickles it's way down to the Team Members, bringing down moral.
When I started with the company it was an amazing place to work. In recent years cutbacks have happened that have affected events that are supposed – more... to boost team member moral, such as in store birthday parties, holiday parties, and the annual team member appreciation week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive, Professional and Personal
Grocery Team Member (Current Employee), Davis, CANovember 11, 2014
Everyone acknowledges the store as one team. My product knowledge began to be taught from the very first day. I've never had a question go unanswered. Management is given the tools to help and care for their employees. Their sincerity shows as strongly as their professionalism. In order to work for Whole Foods Market, you must truly care for your community. – more... Take pride in bringing more wholesome food to your neighborhood. Look forward to interacting with every person that comes to you. Every customer is a reason why each shift is different than the last. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job, I still can't stop talking about the perks of this place
Venue Supervisor (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 9, 2014
Pros: healthcare, reasonable hours, great team, random benefits (massage, etc)
Anyone who can get a job at Whole Foods, should.

They believe in taking care of their employees and show it in every choice they make.

The employees all seem happy there because they are genuinely taken care of.

You won't work more than 40 hours. Your upper management team is all rooting for you and supporting you in every way possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company that really cares about its employees
Customer Service Courtesy Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Valencia, CANovember 6, 2014
The company offers great pay and amazing benefits. How much you like the job depends on who you work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Full Time Grocery Supervisor (Current Employee), lake grove, nyNovember 6, 2014
this is a good place to work at with a good amount of great people, i have learned a lot my three years working for this company. it can teach you many different things about different lifestyles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place
customer service (Former Employee), San Jose, CANovember 5, 2014
i love it whole foods market, company is great. great place to work for, great benifits, great staff, loving traning program, amazing christmas party
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costomer Service
Cashier (Former Employee), White Plains, NYNovember 5, 2014
Working as a cashier for a higher end Food Market required a lot of customer service and through this I believe I learned valuable lessons in conversing with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fecund, up-beat work environment
Customer Service, Cashier (Former Employee), Chelsea, NYNovember 5, 2014
A typical day at whole foods market was putting on your apron, clocking in and feeling great at work. Helping not only customers but other team members as well with simple task around the store felt amazing.Being the peoples person that i am, helped me get through each day at work, just having that desire to help and be around others. Especially with – more... the incredible management team there at the super market. Whole Foods Market was actually the first work place I've shared my experience at where everyone , and i mean everyone who worked there was involved and cared about what was going on. Everyone I've worked with there basically took their position title serious and worked amazingly hard with it. Like seriously the hardest part of the job was going home after your shift, tired and all but knowing you'd be back the next day to do what you love was most enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Cashier (Former Employee), Boulder, CONovember 4, 2014
Great benefits. You get to meet interesting people as you check them out. Very relaxed and easy going.

About Whole Foods Market

•Austin, Texas-based Whole Foods Market (NASDAQ: WFM) is the leading natural and organic food retailer, and one of the most – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos