Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
951 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic benefits and pay
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), La Jolla, CAJune 27, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great team members, great environment to work in
Cons: tough for meatitarians sometimes :p
By far the best place I've ever worked. Only downfall is some management, But that differs at every store. Inspiring place to work, Everyone cares about what they're doing and what affect they have on the environment. I learned how to appreciate people with different dietary needs, Both Medical and ethical. The hardest part is occasionally getting scolded – more... for eating meat :P It's really just a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My co workers
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJune 27, 2014
Pros: i was paid on time and the food was great.
Cons: too laid back
I worked with white team members and management who thought it was funny to make fun of blacks and latino.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great in Theory, Inconsistent in Practive
Bulk Buyer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 26, 2014
Pros: secure employment, good pay, frequent raises
Cons: biased and intimidating promotion structure
Great Pay

Teaching and growth oriented employment

however there is a tendency towards politics over merit when promotions are considered
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If youre not one of thr favorites or a certain culture dont expect respect
Seafood Specialist (Former Employee), Winter Park, FLJune 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management, lack of communication with workers
Management is only concerned when the safety or food inspector comes in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, routined
picker (Former Employee), Cheshire, CTJune 26, 2014
for this job you must be on your toes from start to finish, keeps you in shape but sometimes could be overwhelming and stressful due to longs hours, and seasonal demands
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Produce Team Member (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 25, 2014
Pros: decent pay, excellent co-workers and bosses
Cons: n/a
Come in with a smile on my face to greet fellow co-workers rocking the same perma-smile. Customers were friendly and curious. And the people working there shared so much knowledge with excellent training, both video and hands on.
I learned a great deal about organic and non organic foods.
The people that work their are great and colorful.
I didn't find – more... that there was a truly difficult part of the job.
I enjoyed coming in to work everyday, and having the honor of sampling out delicious fresh fruits and veggies. Everyday brought a new fun task. It was a joy to work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Montclair, NJJune 25, 2014
The hardest part of the job sometimes was dealing with angry customers. I loved my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you don't want a life work here.
Order Selector (Current Employee), Austin, TXJune 24, 2014
Pros: discount on groceries at stores
Cons: mandatory ot, split days off, pay
Mandatory overtime (work or get written up). Pay is not equivelant to work required. Split days off, which you work into your days off. No available training for advancement, or opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee), Glen Mills, PAJune 24, 2014
Whole Foods Market is a great place to learn about organic foods and how to be more healthy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Specialty Team Member (Current Employee), Boulder, COJune 23, 2014
Whole Foods is a great place to work! Fun atmosphere and everyone who works there is awesome. Very dynamic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace almost like a family
cashier assistant, cashier (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 22, 2014
Pros: 20% discounts, paid breaks
Whole Foods Market is all about team work and customer service a typical day for me is pretty much routine, chasing carts, bagging groceries, doing returns, stocking and cleaning the cafe area as well as cashier terminals, and helping customers with whatever question or concerns they may have. I learned exactly what is to exemplify customer service – more... through conversation, taking interest, and product knowledge. Co-workers and management are great and always a pleasure to be around. Everyone works hard together we actually referred to each other as team members which also taught me that everyone is just as important as the next. The hardest part about the job is remembering PLU codes for produce. The most enjoyable part of the job for me is helping customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amateur
Bakery Team Member (Former Employee), Boise, IDJune 22, 2014
Pros: great groceries
Cons: everything else.
Management above the store level, was nothing but a bunch of bullies. People who had entered retail, having no skills other than being bossy. At the store level was better, but they would always be directed to be jerks. I learned nothing, and was never utilized for any skills I brought from previous experience. I walked out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated it
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cupertino, CAJune 22, 2014
Pros: healthy food
Cons: less pay
The workers are nice, poor management. The pay is less, the schedule could be messy at times. Co workers are hard workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great core values!
Human Resources (Current Employee), Rockville, MDJune 21, 2014
Great company to work for with great core values.
Has been on the Fortune Top places to work for 17 consecutive years!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
Team Member (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 21, 2014
If you have passion and are recognized for what you do than you can move up pretty quickly. If you don't then you are stuck at the bottom of the barrel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, but...
Bartender (Former Employee), Reno, NVJune 19, 2014
Pros: team member happiness, fair salary, wonderful products
Cons: terrible benefits, bad management
I loved Whole Foods! When I worked there, I learned so much about different cultures and the importance to natural and organic foods. The information I learned opened my mind and has made me much more of an opinionated and informed consumer. I am so glad I learned what I did because I am much healthier and know what products help/ don't take advantage – more... of other countries. The problem with Whole Foods was the good ole' boy system in which in runs under. There were many individuals who had been with the company for awhile who would go for a promotion; only to lose to the new guy who was hired by a friend of theirs. It was sad to see. Very disorganized with zero leadership because leadership positions were given to people with no experience or they just didn't care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
sanitization (Current Employee), South Weymouth, MAJune 17, 2014
Pros: positive, nice place friendly
Cons: very hard to move up
I think whole foods is a great place to work for, they treat everyone the same & are very outgoing & positive to employees & patrons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Payroll and Benefits Specialist (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJune 17, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of basic job tasks that I am required to do everyday. Management is ok, I have a few concerns.My co-workers are pleasant .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work everyone is like family
Sports Buyer (Current Employee), Atlanta, Ga.June 17, 2014
There is always something to do. Each day you learn something new. Whether it is builing endcaps to changing the department around to meet the needs of the customers, there is always something to do. I have learned so much about supplements and homeopathy. My cooworkers are like family, We spend everyday together. We even get together outside of work. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is going to work everyday and knwoing there is not going to be any conflict. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job harder than it looks.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLJune 16, 2014
Pros: they do employee gratitude day and give you t-shirts.
Cons: very strenuous work.
On a typical day, we didn't get our breaks. Sent me to a class to be serve-safe certified, although now I understand they just give you a book and ask you to take the test. My co-workers were awesome, the managers did not seem to care about the food being organic, natural, only overall sales seemed to be their motive to being there. You never had a – more... shift at the same time to bring continuity to your life, you might close at night, only to open the next morning. Monthly meetings are required and held in the store before dawn. – less

About Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market owns and operates a chain of natural and organic foods supermarket. As of September 30, 2008, the Company operated – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos