Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,034 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company bad location
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEAugust 21, 2014
A typical day at work consists of monitoring a break chart, handling cash, and helping customers. I also process refunds and coach the cashiers on how to provide better customer service and sales. I have learned about a major company and their mission and values. I have also learned how to watch sales projections and labor projections. Management is – more... not the greatest at this location. There has been a lot of situations where favoritism have played a factor. However most of the time they are there when asked to be. I love my co-workers and they are what I would miss most if I left this job. The hardest part about this job is when the store is slow there is not much to do. We always find things but it is so much better when we are busy. The most enjoyable part is being able to try new foods and meet new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be prepared. It's Retail.
Bakery Team Member (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 20, 2014
As a manger, i set my own schedule but didnt appreciate the holiday season. Like most retail sales, the stroe was only closed on Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas. This made for a terrible work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Ideals don't necessarily apply to the average worker
Cashier (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 19, 2014
Pros: perks, good benefits
Cons: store management, busy times, customers at times
A typical day involves dealing with many different types of people and overlapping duties that may or may not have been a part of your original job description. I learned that I have a vast amount of patience and that this may not be a good fit for me in the long run. Management is in a constant state of flux. It's best not to get used to seeing anyone – more... in the top tier of management stay too long. With the constant management change comes a constant store policy change which can be hard to get used to especially when there is little notice or reason given as to why these policy changes have been instituted. There is little support for the workers when it comes to enforcing store policy. It seems that catering to the wealthy is more important than following established and effective store policy. Co-workers are good to work with for the most part, although there seems to be a strong culture of favoritism when it comes to promoting individuals. Also senoirity tends to count for more than it should in some instances, especially when workers who have been there longer get away with slacking off and other offenses. The hardest part of the job is staying motivated. As I have stated before, the constant leadership and policy changes, the lack of recognition for accomplishments and the profits over people atmosphere makes it a demoralizing and energy draining environment. The most enjoyable part are the coworkers and the customers that are not pretentious. The benefits are very good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management team sucks!
Cashier (Former Employee), West OrangeAugust 19, 2014
Pros: discounts, food, co workers and customers
Cons: management team and lack of hours
I worked this job for about a year and because I wasn't under team leaders butt kissing it they gave me no hours! They claimed it was because I wasn't "smiling" much lol. Great pay buhh no hours! Whole Foods only cares for their dollar and the customers that keep bringing their money in. Great co workers and customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
TM/ Front End Manager (Former Employee), Santa Fe, NMAugust 18, 2014
Whole foods is a corporate place with a hippy attitude. Its the best of both worlds but a happy place none the less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer service, Floral,Coffee Bar,Marketing (Current Employee), Danbury, CTAugust 17, 2014
Pros: gain sharing, fun events, fun people.
Cons: rude customers, annoying co-workers, being on your feet all day.
A typical day at work would be interacting with customers. Some days are better than others just like any other job. You meet rude people, you meet nice people, you even meet people that have an impact on your life. The management I have is great. My Team Leader is awesome. He makes everyone feel comfortable and appreciated. He is there at all times. – more... Very open. My co-workers are my co-workers. I wish I can pick my own but you work with them for a reason. You learn things not to do from one another or you'll meet that co-worker that is great. It works both ways at any job. The hardest part of the job would be standing on your feet 8 hours a day for 5 days a week. Especially when work is slow. The most enjoyable part of work for me would have to be meeting new customers that you have great conversations with and you can relate too. People that you remember next time their around. Having a good relationship with your customers is always a plus. Whole Foods Market is a great company. They treat their employees the right way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and supportive work environment
Bakery & Coffee Bar Buyer (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COAugust 16, 2014
Responsible for ordering over 500 different bakery products and ingredients from nearly 15 vendors
Managed a back up purchaser that ordered in my absence
Researched aging purchase orders and followed up on credit requests when needed
Helped achieve an honorable mention for best executed bakery in the Rocky Mountain Region in 2014
Unloaded and organized – more... products daily as they arrived
Pallet jack certified
Purchased for the coffee and juice bar venue temporarily and trained as a barista
Trained the coffee and juice bar supervisor to take over purchasing
Managed inventory by transitioning 50 items to truck to shelf status which lowered back stock inventory and increased efficiency and the inventory turn-over ratio
Controlled spoilage by implementing systems to track the amount of product produced, how many were spoiled and if and when the product became out of stock
Investigated and reported cost, retail price, ingredient and minimum weight discrepancies
Created new order boards to include cost and case count to more accurately purchase
Submitted weekly explanations for purchase to sales ratios, spoilage and forecast variances
Adjusted sales forecasts daily to achieve an accurate open to buy
Participated in over 40 monthly inventories including physically counting product and entering amounts of both bakery and coffee bar items into a spreadsheet for accurate reporting
Produced and distributed individual product unit sales each week to all venues and adjusted all pars as necessary
Communicated daily sales, out-of-stock products, merchandising changes and any other relevant information in a daily update that was placed in the department's communication log, emailed to the department and store leadership and discussed in morning and evening team meetings
Addressed trends and purchased products to meet the changing demands of the community
Assisted in any are of the department that was in need such as customer service, baking, mixing and merchandising – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Housekeeping (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: small budget
Answering calls and questions of students and professors. Ordering books and creating a booklist. set up conference rooms for professors and helping students with their major and minors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co worker but terrible mangement
Baker/Pastry Chef (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 13, 2014
Pros: none!
Cons: lack of leadership
Rude customer and rude management.
unsafe work environment.
disliked management a kindergarten class has better Leadership qualities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Overall
Associate Team Leader (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: employee discount, healthy eating initiative, education opportunities
Cons: like many places, one or two bad apples in key positions
The Company from the top down is amazing. Positive Enforcement of views, education opportunities, sampling programs, each team member is empowered to do what is needed to assist the Customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great break room
Assistant Baker (Current Employee), Woburn, MAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: rough commute
great place to work people are great, and so is atmosphere. great knowledgeable staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great store
Cashier (Former Employee), Newtonville, MAAugust 11, 2014
Employees are well paid compare to other stores and the store has a good working environment. The customer service manager Nadine is one of the best manager I ever had in my life !
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term employer - steady workload
Sales Associate & Cashier (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 9, 2014
Always busy, great co workers, and opportunity to advance in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Maintenance/Janitorial Lead/Boss Night Shift (Former Employee), Vista, CAAugust 8, 2014
-Take Trash out, Vacuum & Change carpets

-Use Chemicals to clean.

-Clean windows and mirrors.

-Use Machine to clean floor.

- Sweep and mop.

-Use buffer machine to shine the floor

-Clean bathrooms, refill paper, soap, etc.

-Do store walk to check if area is clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at!
Full-Time Cashier Assistant (Current Employee), Paramus, NJAugust 8, 2014
Pros: team member discount
Cons: rude customers, long shifts
Everyone is very nice and very easy to get along with. It is definitely an enjoyable experience working for a successful company like Whole Foods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Body Care Buyer (Current Employee), Providence, RIAugust 7, 2014
I love Wholefoods Market. Great environment. Great people. Great Pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume store, very busy. They have lots of perks, and fun programs to participate in.
Customer Service Front end Supervisor (Former Employee), Chandler, AZAugust 7, 2014
Pros: lots of program incentives. they offer great health coverage, along with other types of benefits.
Cons: must have open availability not ideal for mothers, you need a good support system for child care, you have to stay late or fill in for a call out, the benefits have a large deductible and only a small percentage of the prescriptions are covered, you must be in good standing to move up in any position and to participate in any programs.
On a typical day, whole foods is very busy. You are coming into contact with hundreds of customers a day. Always have to make sure you are giving quality customer service because, with out that whole foods wouldn't be what the are today. It take dedication and hard work to maintain employment, not to mention pay close attention to time and attendance. – more... I have learned a lot about customer service and team member happiness. If your team members are happy then so are your customers. Its great to be on a team where everyone knows what their job description is and does the work appropriately and quickly. I think that the management needs some work. Communication is a big issue. I think that the hardest part of the job is getting the communication going needed between the team leaders and the team members. I loved working for the customers. Seeing them smile after helping them can be very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and growth opportunity
Cashier Supervisor (Current Employee), Suwanee, GAAugust 6, 2014
Pros: benefits for long time dedication and work ethic
Cons: is growing very quickly and thus becoming a more pt based company.
THis is a great company to work for if you want to grow and learn. The Team members are generally like a family and have a good positive outlook which makes work and customer service successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open and friendly work environment, slight weak management, great benefits, too much gossip and drama.
Bakery Team Member (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAAugust 6, 2014
Pros: good benefits, supportive management, open to creativity.
Cons: negative co-workers.
- A typical day at work included decorating cakes for the pastry case and customer orders, and preparing other pastries and desserts for the day.
- I learned essential cake decorating techniques, and important information about healthy alternatives, such as gluten-free and vegan products.
- The management, though weak at times, was supportive and positive.
- – more... My co-workers could be a little overdramatic, and let themselves get involved in workplace gossip and negativity.
- The hardest part of the job was maintaining a positive attitude amidst the gossip and drama.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was the ability to express my creativity through cake decorating and seeing the customer satisfied with my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
self driven work enviroment
Production Cook/Specialty Team Member (Current Employee), Kildeer, ILAugust 5, 2014
My work included writing weekly menus for the hotbar. Also organic standards are pretty high

About Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market owns and operates a chain of natural and organic foods supermarket. As of September 30, 2008, the Company operated – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos