Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
947 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basically one of the best work experiences I've had overall
Buyer/Supervisor-Specialty Coffee (Former Employee), Annapolis, MDJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good pay, excellent benefits, chance for advancement
Cons: physically intense, high stress
What I liked best about my job at WF was that every day was different. While I had assigned tasks to accomplish every day/week, there was always a new wrinkle or issue that came up which forced adjustment--but that was ok, because it was all interesting. Overall, both management and co-workers were excellent, and once one managed the culture (WF has – more... a distinct business "culture"), it was possible to really experience being a unique individual contributing to a team effort. Most of the difficulties of the job were related to the generally consuming nature of grocery retail---it's very physical, can be high stress, and never ending (tasks always repeat themselves in another form). But the enjoyable parts far outweighed the negativity--decent pay, flexible hours and good benefits as well as the very real possibility of job advancement. At least that was the WF I inhabited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like my job and i am very proud to work at whole foods
Produce Supervisor (Current Employee), Sonoma, CAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: i get to learn about the court values
Cons: the team leaders are unfair
a typical day at work would be trying to finish the sandwiches before we start to get busy, then I have to make sure that all the tempters and dates are done, and to complete all the logs. what I learned is that if I ever have a problem with one of my team members I have to let the supper visor know. I try to have good communication with my team members. – more... the hard part of my job is when a certain team member complains a lot. the most enjoyable part of my job is when a customer comes to me and says "thank you for the sandwich it was so good" it makes me feel like they appreciate my hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work place employment
Cashier (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 3, 2014
Operated cash register and greeted customers. I learned about different products in the grocery store business. I loved working with my team leader and coworkers. The hardest part of my job was keeping up with ring speed after a while I caught on and became really well. Enjoyable part was the work atmosphere itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Specialty Team Member (Former Employee), Somerville, MAJuly 3, 2014
The work was rather easy, labor intensive but I like that. The benefits were great paid time off, decent health insurance at an affordable cost. I like most of my co-workers, all types of different people. However the management takes it very personal if you decide to take a second job, or decide to change your hours to better your own life, major downfall – more... in my opinion. Its one of their core values to keep their employees happy in that aspect the fail miserably. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work with great food and people!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Lakewood, COJuly 2, 2014
Pros: sampling any product any time and great customer satisfaction
Cons: not a steady schedule
A wonderful place where you can take your love of being a foodie to the next level. Lots of room for advancement!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informing Patrons of Product and Interacting with people
Orderly Displays/Reciever/Unload Pallets/Stocking (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: working with geat team members
Receive pallets from warehouse, use the electric jack to guide the product down tight hallways to my department (the cooler [Dairy Department]). Organize Cooler and finding ways to fit all product as I unload pallets. Keep Shelves stocked, faced and looking full at all times. Customers were never shy of asking where certain products where and I'd always – more... take the patrons to the product which would also help me learn where everything in that huge store was! I loved, loved, loved my job there! I learned more and more everyday about healthy foods and people's diets and restrictions, and that helped me understand more about celiac disease, lactose intolerance, saturated fats (along with good lypids, such as omega 3's) and so much more!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team members
Specialty Team Member (Former Employee), CTJuly 2, 2014
Had to be able to work in a fast paste environment and pack bags. I was a cashier and had to accurately count money and make sure all transactions were correct and went through.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and great customers to interact with
Cook (Former Employee), Evanston, ILJune 30, 2014
Pros: great benefits from the job
Cons: they wouldn't wash our aprons until like a week later
My typical day at work I would be behind the food display cooking chicken. I learned that cooking chicken each day could get tiring and sooner or later you stop having the urge to each chicken. The way it was managed was very well everything was organized, like the spicy chicken was in one area and the non spicy regular chicken was on the other.The – more... hardest part of the job was probably coming home smelling like chicken and taking a shower to try and get the smell off of you but it wouldn't work. The enjoyable part was when it was closing time, the chicken that was made already and that wasn't taken the we would have the first privileges to take it home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are open to learning there is a wealth of information and learning to be had at Whole Foods Grocery
Demo Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 30, 2014
Pros: varied hours, full/part time positions, excellent benefits, variety of people
Cons: there are no real cons here. you have choices. so become informed.
I got this job in a time of grave need. The pay was very low but I quickly moved up in salary. Whole Foods recognizes their employees and if you do an excellent job you will be rewarded. However, you take initiative and do what is needed with being told Whole Foods values you even more. The benefit packages are excellent and you can make a career for – more... yourself in this venue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Customer Service Team Member (Former Employee), Darien, CTJune 30, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: job work leaves no room for life balance
was a productive workplace, was able to meet great people in this fast pace work enviornment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and people, but dead end for abilities to move up
Team Member (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJune 30, 2014
Pros: pb&j thursday, benefits, pto, gainsharing
Cons: leadership hierarchy, budget cuts, labor, margins
I loved working at Whole Foods. The benefits were incredible, the team members were amazing and the atmosphere is very different from your regular grocery store. But when they would pay raise all the new people, they wouldn't grandfather everyone in, so the people doing twice the work would not get compensated for their hard work. It also meant that – more... people who slacked off were getting a free raise to do nothing.

I also learned that if you're a simple team member, the team leaders have the ultimate say so you cannot defend yourself. I understand the hierarchy of teams and team leaders, but if a team leader lies you cannot object to it, you just have to take the punishment.

I worked with many teams. I was a cashier/trainer on the Front End, a Demo Team Member for the Marketing Team, and a Prepared Foods asst. I am glad I got to work in all these sections of the stores because everyone in the store is so different and nice. You just feel under appreciated when not being compensated. I helped them win Pride Parade 2 years in a row, pull off promotional events, and build displays for conventions.

All in all, great company, but insanely impossible to move up with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Kitchen Supervisor (Current Employee), London, ENGJune 29, 2014
Pros: good quality of product
very good benefit , discount card , pay care ,gain sharing , paid time off , holiday .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whole food
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Providence, RIJune 29, 2014
Great company to work for a very friendly place to work at.
Very hard working people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is very nice place to work.
Team Member (Current Employee), Gaithersburg, MDJune 29, 2014
Pros: nice people and very well management team .
Cons: backroom is very small and a lot of products so it makes diffult to work.
Since it is a grocery store and I do work only weekends so it is always very busy in weekends and time run so fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very fun workplace
Bakery team member (Former Employee), Bend, ORJune 28, 2014
Pros: employees were very well taken care of.
Cons: i didnt get full time hours.
a typical day would include, stocking/decorating for the case.
packaging products, making espresso drinks for customers, as well as helping/assisting customers with questions, products and direction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The right place, at the right time!
Human Resources Employee Training and Education (Former Employee), Austin, TX.June 27, 2014
Pros: positive leadership role. opportunities around every corner!
Cons: long work days.
I was hired by Whole Foods Corporate Office during the huge Grand Opening hiring event. Very quickly, I was placed in a management position, working with Human Resources as an employee trainer.
I helped design and implement training workshops, and spent most of my daily routine communicating with employees about their work environment, administering – more... orientation to new employees, and ensuring employees received continuing education, in regards to WFM code of ethics, and Quality Assurance. I also assessed employees for advancement.

I loved being in this leadership role, because I was able to play a positive role in employees work lives. I was viewed as a "teacher", and participated in their career as guidance, rather than disciplinarian.

There were some very long days involved, and that did interfere with personal goals, at times.
However, the employee benefits package and opportunity for advancement were amazing!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic benefits and pay
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), La Jolla, CAJune 27, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great team members, great environment to work in
Cons: tough for meatitarians sometimes :p
By far the best place I've ever worked. Only downfall is some management, But that differs at every store. Inspiring place to work, Everyone cares about what they're doing and what affect they have on the environment. I learned how to appreciate people with different dietary needs, Both Medical and ethical. The hardest part is occasionally getting scolded – more... for eating meat :P It's really just a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My co workers
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJune 27, 2014
Pros: i was paid on time and the food was great.
Cons: too laid back
I worked with white team members and management who thought it was funny to make fun of blacks and latino.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great in Theory, Inconsistent in Practive
Bulk Buyer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 26, 2014
Pros: secure employment, good pay, frequent raises
Cons: biased and intimidating promotion structure
Great Pay

Teaching and growth oriented employment

however there is a tendency towards politics over merit when promotions are considered
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If youre not one of thr favorites or a certain culture dont expect respect
Seafood Specialist (Former Employee), Winter Park, FLJune 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management, lack of communication with workers
Management is only concerned when the safety or food inspector comes in.

About Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market owns and operates a chain of natural and organic foods supermarket. As of September 30, 2008, the Company operated – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos