Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
956 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Learning a lot while testing all kinds of fruits especialy if organic
Produce Team Member (Current Employee), Kitsilano, Vancouver, BCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: in a month we have at least free lunch and some gift card if we get the target sales
Cons: long hours
Productive and fun workplace with co-team members.I learned a lot about what the quality of fruits and vegetables..and also to communicate to the costumers and how we give their satisfaction.The hardest part of the job was the schedule.The most enjoyable part of the Job was while im refilling the rack and the Isle and do the value add products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company felt bigger than its image
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), West Vancouver, BCMay 28, 2014
Not the fondest of this job, West Van had some of the hardest customers to deal with and there was no benefit for being hardworking and biking to work every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working there
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2014
Cons: i didn't like working alone.
I liked working with others.

Some co-workers were not helpful enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff and
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 14, 2014
Shifts were either between 6am-2 or 2-10. I would wash the previous dishes that were left over from the night before, and continue washing dishes and returning them to their proper location, occasionally helping chefs in the kitchen. I learned that everyone has their own way of doing things. Management was fantastic, they were very easy-going and understanding. – more... Co-workers were also easy-going and super friendly. The hardest part of the job was the hours and when problems such as power-outages occurred causing dishes to pile up. The most enjoyable part of the job was working independently and sometimes in a small group or team in a fast-paced environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training in customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 5, 2014
A great way to learn how to be a good customer service representative. Good work environment and healthy work relationships with co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission is Their Driving Force
Coordinator (Former Employee), Emeryville, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: strong brand!
Cons: oppressive culture
Overall, I give Whole Foods Market every bit of credit for elevating the value of sustainability. WFM changed the way we think about food; changed our buying habits and made some of us more conscientious about what we consume. Amazing!

Easy to do your job when every decision is measured against a strong company mission, quality standards and clear – more... values. I really liked that about WFM.

Enjoyed reporting to the Regional President at the time - very empowering and made work fun. But odd culture; couldn't put my finger on it. Corruption. Smart, passionate people but some a bit two-faced.

My passion for being a contributor to the company's vision made me blind to some of the internal obstacles. I started out loving it and left with a bad taste in my mouth. In spite of it all, came away with invaluable skills and life lessons. Also learned a good deal about my professional boundaries.

I keep in touch with a few ex-pats who feel the same way.

P.S. Make sure the benefits they offer fit your lifestyle. I found the non-traditional holiday/vac + health insurance offering extremely incompatible with my life - and expensive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and disciplined place to work.
Meat Department Team Member (Former Employee), Oakville, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: the salary, co-workers
Cons: long hours, strict management, arrogant customers
-An average day as a meat department team member consisted of constant watch for customers and providing good service. Later in the day, we could move to the back rooms and start taking apart meat grinders and cleaning equipment and the facility.
-I learned various cooking techniques for different meats (poultry, bovine etc...),differences in meat cuts – more... also how to clean meat grinders and smokehouses.
-The management was very strict, there was little to no room for error or laziness.
-The most difficult part of being a meat department team member was keeping up the Whole Foods standard (much higher than the average grocer).
-The most enjoyable part of being a meat department team member was meeting new co-workers. The staff at the store are very friendly and out-going. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment with great management
Customer Service Rep/Maintenance (Current Employee), Oakville, ONDecember 2, 2013
Pros: long breaks, freedom during work
Cons: long shifts, small environment
The environment was extremely positive as many employees, customers, and managers were always cheerful. My team and I worked very hard together at creating a positive experience for anyone and everyone just as everyone else seemed to do the same. The hardest part of the job remains to be working under pressure; certain times when you have more than – more... 3 or 4 things that need to be done in such a short amount of time. The most enjoyable part of the job was the feeling attached to collaborating with my team and overcoming the stress of all the rushed duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Purchasing Specialist (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 23, 2013
This is a good company to work for however that doesn't always mean that management will be good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with healthy life style!!!
Sales associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 12, 2013
• Greeting every customer and potential customers in a pleasant and professional manner
• Giving every customer immediate and undivided attention
• Following proper procedures for customer check out, handling of tenders, use of tares
• Supporting global, regional, and store programs
• Responsible for answering phone calls of customer to provide all – more... the information regarding to products – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its sad
cashier (Former Employee), cambie stJune 11, 2013
Pros: there are none
Cons: its a sad company
I went to this place for a job even when I had another job in the same field and they say that you should go there prepared so I did I did some research on the company and brought it in thinking that they would like the fact I took the time to get to know how they run and that indeed I took interest in them and coming fourth and showing them that I – more... did have what it took to work for their company but they didn't like that I had so much on them ,the guy got up and had some one else interview me ?? any way if you go there for a job I guess you should show up and play the duck since I guess that's what maybe they are looking for ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is productive and fun working with each team member
Associate Team Leader (Current Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 4, 2013
Pros: team members 20% discount
Cons: good hours
Every day with different challenge
good management
helping team members
maintaing quality
helping costumers,training team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Team Member (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 14, 2012
Pros: free samples
Cons: different shift
was very intresting to open store for the first time in Vancouver, learned how t do that, team working was very important, the hardest part was to promote for new position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my customers
Health advisor; Nutrition/Sales (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 28, 2014
A fun place to work. My customers loved me. I enjoyed my 4 1/2 years working in nutrition and supplements.

Schedule was never consistent and did not receive it till Friday for the following week. Therefore, it was impossible to plan anything including doctor, dental visits or time with my son.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Selector (Former Employee), cheshire-CTJuly 28, 2014
great co-workers, fast pace environment, need to be real hands on to be affective. attention to detail is a must. the harder you work the better results you welcome with your employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with excellent benefits.
Butcher (Former Employee), Cincinnati,OHJuly 28, 2014
Pros: everything
Great company part of the fortune 500. Very flexible, and even allowed my partner and I to be covered on the same insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLJuly 28, 2014
All depends on what region you work in. Typical customer service job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Comfortable work place
Team member (Former Employee), Madison, NJJuly 28, 2014
Pros: learn to expand and live better
Cons: learning to coop with others ways and attitude when things are hected
While working at Whole Foods Market I learned how to to live an healthier life. I akso expanded my knowledge in foods and supplements as well. A typical day at work will be a 9 hour shift on my feet but the day usually passes by quick when we are busy. The hardest part of the job is dealing with different customers attitude and needs. The most enjoyable – more... part is you learn how to grow and share the love of food with everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Customer Service Team (Former Employee), Jackson, MSJuly 26, 2014
Whole Foods Market is a great place to work. I was immediately nominated for Supervisory position days after starting employment. I enjoyed my co-workers and the time spent with getting to know the customers. There was no hard part about this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast work pace
Order Selector (Former Employee), Munster, INJuly 26, 2014
pulling orders, shipping product, riding pallet jacks, forklifts, and reach trucks

1 2 3 4 5

About Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market owns and operates a chain of natural and organic foods supermarket. As of September 30, 2008, the Company operated – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos