Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,151 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, inclusive environment
Specialty Dept., Barista/Wine&Cheese Specialist (Former Employee), MarkhamDecember 10, 2014
Pros: set hours
Cons: dealing with angry customers
Whole Foods Market has taught me the skill that i find to be the most important in the workplace: teamwork. Everything about Whole Foods is team oriented, from upper management to storefront employees. My co-workers were great, and we all mesched together as a team with little to no arguments. Management was superior and made each day go by quickly. – more... I loved the fact that i could provide customers with the best service of any grocery store and also being able to represent a company that is recognized globally for their global outlook. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and friendly people to worked with.
Customer Service Cashier (Former Employee), Oakville, ONDecember 8, 2014
Pros: free courses.free samples
Cons: worked for 8hours
Whole Foods Market from Oakville Ontario that I worked for 3 years as a Customer Service Cashier is a very unique and challenging working place. The schedule is very flexible. Typical of work is exciting and can test your customer service skills. They also gave us training and give new information about all the products that we have in store. As a team – more... member we worked as a team and we helped as a team,this is what we called in our store Team Member. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It really is great
Customer Service (Current Employee), Oakville, ONAugust 25, 2014
Pros: team members, fun events, discount, benefits, food, education
Whole Foods Market is not your typical store. You've meet all kinds of people. You hear all kinds of things. Everyday is unique to say the least. I have to say that I am completely blessed to work with the people that I work with. It's a family. How could it not be? You spend most of your life there. If you're comfortable going to work then you will – more... enjoy going to work. That's always important. Creating a good relationship with a person you work with is so very important. Something I will always try to do.
I've been through absolutely everything that you can imagine.
Thanksgiving - all registers shut down. Can't be fixed. 500 people staring at you. What do you do? Whatever you can do. Sample, apologize, run around and accommodate as many people the best that you can. Pray that someone, somewhere is fixing the issue asap! We made it through that day somehow. I have to admit it was one of the best days of working there.
I've learned a lot about people, retail, management and myself. There's so much I feel like I can do in the world because not one person I have ever worked with in this company has ever told me I couldn't do it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Learning a lot while testing all kinds of fruits especialy if organic
Produce Team Member (Current Employee), Kitsilano, Vancouver, BCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: in a month we have at least free lunch and some gift card if we get the target sales
Cons: long hours
Productive and fun workplace with co-team members.I learned a lot about what the quality of fruits and vegetables..and also to communicate to the costumers and how we give their satisfaction.The hardest part of the job was the schedule.The most enjoyable part of the Job was while im refilling the rack and the Isle and do the value add products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company felt bigger than its image
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), West Vancouver, BCMay 28, 2014
Not the fondest of this job, West Van had some of the hardest customers to deal with and there was no benefit for being hardworking and biking to work every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working there
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2014
Cons: i didn't like working alone.
I liked working with others.

Some co-workers were not helpful enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff and
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 14, 2014
Shifts were either between 6am-2 or 2-10. I would wash the previous dishes that were left over from the night before, and continue washing dishes and returning them to their proper location, occasionally helping chefs in the kitchen. I learned that everyone has their own way of doing things. Management was fantastic, they were very easy-going and understanding. – more... Co-workers were also easy-going and super friendly. The hardest part of the job was the hours and when problems such as power-outages occurred causing dishes to pile up. The most enjoyable part of the job was working independently and sometimes in a small group or team in a fast-paced environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced workplace
Team Member (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 17, 2014
Pros: 20% off everything in store
Cons: 1 half hour break 1 15 break
Fast paced work place
Amazing team members
Good leadership
Enjoyable hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training in customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 5, 2014
A great way to learn how to be a good customer service representative. Good work environment and healthy work relationships with co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission is Their Driving Force
Coordinator (Former Employee), Emeryville, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: strong brand!
Cons: oppressive culture
Overall, I give Whole Foods Market every bit of credit for elevating the value of sustainability. WFM changed the way we think about food; changed our buying habits and made some of us more conscientious about what we consume. Amazing!

Easy to do your job when every decision is measured against a strong company mission, quality standards and clear – more... values. I really liked that about WFM.

Enjoyed reporting to the Regional President at the time - very empowering and made work fun. But odd culture; couldn't put my finger on it. Corruption. Smart, passionate people but some a bit two-faced.

My passion for being a contributor to the company's vision made me blind to some of the internal obstacles. I started out loving it and left with a bad taste in my mouth. In spite of it all, came away with invaluable skills and life lessons. Also learned a good deal about my professional boundaries.

I keep in touch with a few ex-pats who feel the same way.

P.S. Make sure the benefits they offer fit your lifestyle. I found the non-traditional holiday/vac + health insurance offering extremely incompatible with my life - and expensive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and disciplined place to work.
Meat Department Team Member (Former Employee), Oakville, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: the salary, co-workers
Cons: long hours, strict management, arrogant customers
-An average day as a meat department team member consisted of constant watch for customers and providing good service. Later in the day, we could move to the back rooms and start taking apart meat grinders and cleaning equipment and the facility.
-I learned various cooking techniques for different meats (poultry, bovine etc...),differences in meat cuts – more... also how to clean meat grinders and smokehouses.
-The management was very strict, there was little to no room for error or laziness.
-The most difficult part of being a meat department team member was keeping up the Whole Foods standard (much higher than the average grocer).
-The most enjoyable part of being a meat department team member was meeting new co-workers. The staff at the store are very friendly and out-going. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment with great management
Customer Service Rep/Maintenance (Current Employee), Oakville, ONDecember 2, 2013
Pros: long breaks, freedom during work
Cons: long shifts, small environment
The environment was extremely positive as many employees, customers, and managers were always cheerful. My team and I worked very hard together at creating a positive experience for anyone and everyone just as everyone else seemed to do the same. The hardest part of the job remains to be working under pressure; certain times when you have more than – more... 3 or 4 things that need to be done in such a short amount of time. The most enjoyable part of the job was the feeling attached to collaborating with my team and overcoming the stress of all the rushed duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Purchasing Specialist (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 23, 2013
This is a good company to work for however that doesn't always mean that management will be good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with healthy life style!!!
Sales associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 12, 2013
• Greeting every customer and potential customers in a pleasant and professional manner
• Giving every customer immediate and undivided attention
• Following proper procedures for customer check out, handling of tenders, use of tares
• Supporting global, regional, and store programs
• Responsible for answering phone calls of customer to provide all – more... the information regarding to products – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its sad
cashier (Former Employee), cambie stJune 11, 2013
Pros: there are none
Cons: its a sad company
I went to this place for a job even when I had another job in the same field and they say that you should go there prepared so I did I did some research on the company and brought it in thinking that they would like the fact I took the time to get to know how they run and that indeed I took interest in them and coming fourth and showing them that I – more... did have what it took to work for their company but they didn't like that I had so much on them ,the guy got up and had some one else interview me ?? any way if you go there for a job I guess you should show up and play the duck since I guess that's what maybe they are looking for ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is productive and fun working with each team member
Associate Team Leader (Current Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 4, 2013
Pros: team members 20% discount
Cons: good hours
Every day with different challenge
good management
helping team members
maintaing quality
helping costumers,training team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, helpful and enjoyable customers!
Customer Sales Rep (Former Employee), Penticton, BCJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: staff trainings, benefits and great department manager.
Cons: short staffed at times, no staff meetings and could not get enough hours.
A typical day at work would involve interacting with customers, setting up health programs that were best suited for that individual.
I was able to take advantage of on going training in this field, regarding product knowledge. Working together as a team at Whole Foods in my department, made work very enjoyable and having a good sense of humor always – more... is a plus in any work place. I got along very well with my co-workers, I enjoy people and could put a smile on any face at work at some point in the day. The hardest part of this job would have been loosing a customer to an illness. The most enjoyable part of this job was being able to assist in some one being able to attain better health.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Team Member (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 14, 2012
Pros: free samples
Cons: different shift
was very intresting to open store for the first time in Vancouver, learned how t do that, team working was very important, the hardest part was to promote for new position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodcutive and fun work place
Front -Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 18, 2014
gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Work
Cashier Team Member (Former Employee), Wayland, MADecember 17, 2014
Pros: great team members on our team
Cons: the point system they have going on for calling out or if your late is a bummer.
What I like about Whole Foods was the people I've worked with. They were very friendly and we all worked as a team. We all got to know one another in the slowest part of the year which was during the summer. It brought us closer to understand one another and worked as a team a lot quicker.

I loved how challenging it was to identify all the produce – more... in the produce department. It was definitely a fun part of my job. It was pretty hard, but I've learned a lot about the different kinds of produce and remembered each and one of their PLU #'s.

For the most part everything in the front end at the register was easy to manage. I've been in retail since I got my first job and I'm very great at customer service. I also love to make sure my station is clean at all times, draws a lot of customers attention. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Whole Foods Market

•Austin, Texas-based Whole Foods Market (NASDAQ: WFM) is the leading natural and organic food retailer, and one of the most – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos