Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
943 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Learning a lot while testing all kinds of fruits especialy if organic
Produce Team Member (Current Employee), Kitsilano, Vancouver, BCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: in a month we have at least free lunch and some gift card if we get the target sales
Cons: long hours
Productive and fun workplace with co-team members.I learned a lot about what the quality of fruits and vegetables..and also to communicate to the costumers and how we give their satisfaction.The hardest part of the job was the schedule.The most enjoyable part of the Job was while im refilling the rack and the Isle and do the value add products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company felt bigger than its image
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), West Vancouver, BCMay 28, 2014
Not the fondest of this job, West Van had some of the hardest customers to deal with and there was no benefit for being hardworking and biking to work every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working there
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2014
Cons: i didn't like working alone.
I liked working with others.

Some co-workers were not helpful enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff and
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 14, 2014
Shifts were either between 6am-2 or 2-10. I would wash the previous dishes that were left over from the night before, and continue washing dishes and returning them to their proper location, occasionally helping chefs in the kitchen. I learned that everyone has their own way of doing things. Management was fantastic, they were very easy-going and understanding. – more... Co-workers were also easy-going and super friendly. The hardest part of the job was the hours and when problems such as power-outages occurred causing dishes to pile up. The most enjoyable part of the job was working independently and sometimes in a small group or team in a fast-paced environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training in customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 5, 2014
A great way to learn how to be a good customer service representative. Good work environment and healthy work relationships with co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission is Their Driving Force
Coordinator (Former Employee), Emeryville, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: strong brand!
Cons: oppressive culture
Overall, I give Whole Foods Market every bit of credit for elevating the value of sustainability. WFM changed the way we think about food; changed our buying habits and made some of us more conscientious about what we consume. Amazing!

Easy to do your job when every decision is measured against a strong company mission, quality standards and clear – more... values. I really liked that about WFM.

Enjoyed reporting to the Regional President at the time - very empowering and made work fun. But odd culture; couldn't put my finger on it. Corruption. Smart, passionate people but some a bit two-faced.

My passion for being a contributor to the company's vision made me blind to some of the internal obstacles. I started out loving it and left with a bad taste in my mouth. In spite of it all, came away with invaluable skills and life lessons. Also learned a good deal about my professional boundaries.

I keep in touch with a few ex-pats who feel the same way.

P.S. Make sure the benefits they offer fit your lifestyle. I found the non-traditional holiday/vac + health insurance offering extremely incompatible with my life - and expensive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and disciplined place to work.
Meat Department Team Member (Former Employee), Oakville, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: the salary, co-workers
Cons: long hours, strict management, arrogant customers
-An average day as a meat department team member consisted of constant watch for customers and providing good service. Later in the day, we could move to the back rooms and start taking apart meat grinders and cleaning equipment and the facility.
-I learned various cooking techniques for different meats (poultry, bovine etc...),differences in meat cuts – more... also how to clean meat grinders and smokehouses.
-The management was very strict, there was little to no room for error or laziness.
-The most difficult part of being a meat department team member was keeping up the Whole Foods standard (much higher than the average grocer).
-The most enjoyable part of being a meat department team member was meeting new co-workers. The staff at the store are very friendly and out-going. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment with great management
Customer Service Rep/Maintenance (Current Employee), Oakville, ONDecember 2, 2013
Pros: long breaks, freedom during work
Cons: long shifts, small environment
The environment was extremely positive as many employees, customers, and managers were always cheerful. My team and I worked very hard together at creating a positive experience for anyone and everyone just as everyone else seemed to do the same. The hardest part of the job remains to be working under pressure; certain times when you have more than – more... 3 or 4 things that need to be done in such a short amount of time. The most enjoyable part of the job was the feeling attached to collaborating with my team and overcoming the stress of all the rushed duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with healthy life style!!!
Sales associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 12, 2013
• Greeting every customer and potential customers in a pleasant and professional manner
• Giving every customer immediate and undivided attention
• Following proper procedures for customer check out, handling of tenders, use of tares
• Supporting global, regional, and store programs
• Responsible for answering phone calls of customer to provide all – more... the information regarding to products – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its sad
cashier (Former Employee), cambie stJune 11, 2013
Pros: there are none
Cons: its a sad company
I went to this place for a job even when I had another job in the same field and they say that you should go there prepared so I did I did some research on the company and brought it in thinking that they would like the fact I took the time to get to know how they run and that indeed I took interest in them and coming fourth and showing them that I – more... did have what it took to work for their company but they didn't like that I had so much on them ,the guy got up and had some one else interview me ?? any way if you go there for a job I guess you should show up and play the duck since I guess that's what maybe they are looking for ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is productive and fun working with each team member
Associate Team Leader (Current Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 4, 2013
Pros: team members 20% discount
Cons: good hours
Every day with different challenge
good management
helping team members
maintaing quality
helping costumers,training team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, helpful and enjoyable customers!
Customer Sales Rep (Former Employee), Penticton, BCJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: staff trainings, benefits and great department manager.
Cons: short staffed at times, no staff meetings and could not get enough hours.
A typical day at work would involve interacting with customers, setting up health programs that were best suited for that individual.
I was able to take advantage of on going training in this field, regarding product knowledge. Working together as a team at Whole Foods in my department, made work very enjoyable and having a good sense of humor always – more... is a plus in any work place. I got along very well with my co-workers, I enjoy people and could put a smile on any face at work at some point in the day. The hardest part of this job would have been loosing a customer to an illness. The most enjoyable part of this job was being able to assist in some one being able to attain better health.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Team Member (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 14, 2012
Pros: free samples
Cons: different shift
was very intresting to open store for the first time in Vancouver, learned how t do that, team working was very important, the hardest part was to promote for new position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great healthcare, a few drawbacks however.
Produce Buyer/Specialist (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJuly 22, 2014
Pros: freedom to order product and take risks!
Cons: life outside of work didn't really exist.
Typical day at work started at 5 am. Responsible for setting up the floor, delegating work out to team members, writing the orders among other administrative work, and ensuring the p.m. crew was set up for success. I learned a lot about time management, critical thinking, and working with many different personalities. The hardest part of the job wasn't – more... the physical labor, nor the administrative work; but the people and working with many different attitudes and motivation levels. The most enjoyable part of this job was being able to put a plan together, order for it, motivate the team about my vision, and of course MERCHANDISE IT!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, multitasking, overall busy
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 21, 2014
Pros: sometimes free food
Cons: strict breaks
The environment definitely helps to cope with fast-paced work speeds. I learned more about food than I ever have meanwhile working with many coworkers at once in a very friendly environment. What mattered the most to me was staying busy as it helped balance my focus on priorities in a non-stop fast-paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Produce Team Member (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 21, 2014
good company to work for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced and fun, great company culture and core values.
Prepared Foods Team Member (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJuly 20, 2014
Pros: stable, fast-paced, very positive, great pay/benefits/advancement opportunities.
Cons: limited part time hours.
Whole Foods Market embraces not just the people who shop there, but also the people working there. The job entails lots of hard work and dedication, as well as product knowledge, ability to work under pressure, and flexibility in areas (bouncing from chef case to deli to panini area, to pizza in a single shift if needed). The associates hired are all – more... hired under the same qualifications: knowledge of core values, ability to perform tasks with outstanding ability, and personalities that encourage others and allow customers to experience personal interactions and even establish friendships. The environment is positive, and I completely love it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, Good Benefits, Great Team members
Supervisor (Former Employee), Newtonville, MAJuly 19, 2014
Pros: good benefits and gainsharing
Cons: travel distance
The Whole Foods Market organization is a good place to work, it can be stressful dealing with the public but if you can handle taking on the needs of others before your self while on the clock then you have most of the job down pact. the hardest part of the job is the travel distance as i live 60 miles from my current store and make just enough to cover – more... my bills and gas, What i enjoy most is the people, between team members from all sorts of backgrounds and even the customers who on a good day will have a joke to tell or a story we may enjoy the people make the job what it is. I have learned that working as a team is the only way we can succeed not only in this industry but in life itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe working environment
Cashier (Current Employee), Redmond, WAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: best people to work with
Working at Whole Foods is enjoyable from the people you work with to the customers who come in to shop. I learned a lot about my own skills and abilities from working with this company. The management is very supporting and try to keep the team members best interests at heart. The hardest part of the job is saying goodbye to team members who move on – more... to other careers. The most enjoyable part of the job is learning new skills and being given more responsibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environent.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 17, 2014
Whole Foods Market is a great company to work for. I have learned a lot about being a team player and working together in order to satisfy any client inquiries.

1 2 3 4 5

About Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market owns and operates a chain of natural and organic foods supermarket. As of September 30, 2008, the Company operated – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos