Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
810 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff and
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 14, 2014
Shifts were either between 6am-2 or 2-10. I would wash the previous dishes that were left over from the night before, and continue washing dishes and returning them to their proper location, occasionally helping chefs in the kitchen. I learned that everyone has their own way of doing things. Management was fantastic, they were very easy-going and understanding. – more... Co-workers were also easy-going and super friendly. The hardest part of the job was the hours and when problems such as power-outages occurred causing dishes to pile up. The most enjoyable part of the job was working independently and sometimes in a small group or team in a fast-paced environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training in customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 5, 2014
A great way to learn how to be a good customer service representative. Good work environment and healthy work relationships with co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission is Their Driving Force
Coordinator (Former Employee), Emeryville, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: strong brand!
Cons: oppressive culture
Overall, I give Whole Foods Market every bit of credit for elevating the value of sustainability. WFM changed the way we think about food; changed our buying habits and made some of us more conscientious about what we consume. Amazing!

Easy to do your job when every decision is measured against a strong company mission, quality standards and clear – more... values. I really liked that about WFM.

Enjoyed reporting to the Regional President at the time - very empowering and made work fun. But odd culture; couldn't put my finger on it. Corruption. Smart, passionate people but some a bit two-faced.

My passion for being a contributor to the company's vision made me blind to some of the internal obstacles. I started out loving it and left with a bad taste in my mouth. In spite of it all, came away with invaluable skills and life lessons. Also learned a good deal about my professional boundaries.

I keep in touch with a few ex-pats who feel the same way.

P.S. Make sure the benefits they offer fit your lifestyle. I found the non-traditional holiday/vac + health insurance offering extremely incompatible with my life - and expensive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and disciplined place to work.
Meat Department Team Member (Former Employee), Oakville, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: the salary, co-workers
Cons: long hours, strict management, arrogant customers
-An average day as a meat department team member consisted of constant watch for customers and providing good service. Later in the day, we could move to the back rooms and start taking apart meat grinders and cleaning equipment and the facility.
-I learned various cooking techniques for different meats (poultry, bovine etc...),differences in meat cuts – more... also how to clean meat grinders and smokehouses.
-The management was very strict, there was little to no room for error or laziness.
-The most difficult part of being a meat department team member was keeping up the Whole Foods standard (much higher than the average grocer).
-The most enjoyable part of being a meat department team member was meeting new co-workers. The staff at the store are very friendly and out-going. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment with great management
Customer Service Rep/Maintenance (Current Employee), Oakville, ONDecember 2, 2013
Pros: long breaks, freedom during work
Cons: long shifts, small environment
The environment was extremely positive as many employees, customers, and managers were always cheerful. My team and I worked very hard together at creating a positive experience for anyone and everyone just as everyone else seemed to do the same. The hardest part of the job remains to be working under pressure; certain times when you have more than – more... 3 or 4 things that need to be done in such a short amount of time. The most enjoyable part of the job was the feeling attached to collaborating with my team and overcoming the stress of all the rushed duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with healthy life style!!!
Sales associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 12, 2013
• Greeting every customer and potential customers in a pleasant and professional manner
• Giving every customer immediate and undivided attention
• Following proper procedures for customer check out, handling of tenders, use of tares
• Supporting global, regional, and store programs
• Responsible for answering phone calls of customer to provide all – more... the information regarding to products – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its sad
cashier (Former Employee), cambie stJune 11, 2013
Pros: there are none
Cons: its a sad company
I went to this place for a job even when I had another job in the same field and they say that you should go there prepared so I did I did some research on the company and brought it in thinking that they would like the fact I took the time to get to know how they run and that indeed I took interest in them and coming fourth and showing them that I – more... did have what it took to work for their company but they didn't like that I had so much on them ,the guy got up and had some one else interview me ?? any way if you go there for a job I guess you should show up and play the duck since I guess that's what maybe they are looking for ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is productive and fun working with each team member
Associate Team Leader (Current Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 4, 2013
Pros: team members 20% discount
Cons: good hours
Every day with different challenge
good management
helping team members
maintaing quality
helping costumers,training team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, helpful and enjoyable customers!
Customer Sales Rep (Former Employee), Penticton, BCJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: staff trainings, benefits and great department manager.
Cons: short staffed at times, no staff meetings and could not get enough hours.
A typical day at work would involve interacting with customers, setting up health programs that were best suited for that individual.
I was able to take advantage of on going training in this field, regarding product knowledge. Working together as a team at Whole Foods in my department, made work very enjoyable and having a good sense of humor always – more... is a plus in any work place. I got along very well with my co-workers, I enjoy people and could put a smile on any face at work at some point in the day. The hardest part of this job would have been loosing a customer to an illness. The most enjoyable part of this job was being able to assist in some one being able to attain better health.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Team Member (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 14, 2012
Pros: free samples
Cons: different shift
was very intresting to open store for the first time in Vancouver, learned how t do that, team working was very important, the hardest part was to promote for new position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Start
Specialty Team Member (Current Employee), Jericho, NYApril 16, 2014
Felt like a member of the team as soon as I began working at the company. Everyone is helpful and friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume and productive workplace with AWESOME team members
Catering Liaison (Current Employee), Houston, TexasApril 16, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: compensation
A typical day at work consisted of challenging and varying job duties that included anything from handling food to driving sales to operating company vehicles in order to make deliveries at catering events.
I learned many aspects of the implementation of corporate professionalism and the development of customer relationships.
In my professional opinion, – more... upper level management was smart and progressive, but the lower level management that I interacted with on a daily basis was constantly changing, which made it difficult to create and maintain a consistent work culture.
My team members were fun to work with and extremely diverse.
The hardest part of my job was being micro-managed.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the balance between work and life, which gave me enough time to enjoy my personal interests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Culture & Environment
Payroll & Benefits Processor (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 15, 2014
Pros: benefits are good for a retail job
Cons: increasing corporate environment
Lots of energy, excitement & enthusiasm. Truly a team environment where everyone is encouraged to work together efficiently, effectively, and strategically.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whole Foods for a better life
Bakery team educator & coffee/juice bar specialist (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAApril 15, 2014
Pros: constant flow of new product
Cons: space in our juice bar
- started out part-time & worked up to full time.
- learned a lot about healthy alternatives, alternative diets, & the benefits of investing in better eating habits for better lifestyles.
- management was better towards the end of my employment; inconsistency in communication, but eventually worked out for a positive movement for the company.
- co-workers – more... were "go-to-itive", hardworking, supportive, & great people to work alongside with.
- hardest part of the job: freezer trips during the holidays
- most enjoyable part of the job: learning something new about nutrition whether it was an ingredient, a technique, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work with very passionate people
TEAM MEMBER (Current Employee), Denver CoApril 15, 2014
Great place to work and start a career. There is ample opportunity to advance within the company. They tend to promote from within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
cashier (Current Employee), coral gables, FlApril 12, 2014
Pros: meet new people every day
Cons: dealing with upset customers
its a fun and family orientated place to work. benefits are great and you have awesome co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Produce Supervisor (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAApril 12, 2014
Great enviroment very political. move up into new positions with experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for, very considerate
Team Leader (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTApril 10, 2014
-Check and answer emails from my store team leader and my regional leaders. At the same time reviewing sales and making sure that all my team members were at work, say hi to everyone and become informed on the upcoming issues of the day.
-Check back rooms and inventory levels since I ran 3 department and many food venues. I also wrote the schedule for – more... over 50 team members which I led.
-My superior Team leaders and regional Team leaders were calm and well spoken no matter what issue may come up. They helped me grow as a Leader in ways that I could not imagine. The job required personal growth also, which helped me with my personal relationships.
-My co-workers were very insightful and helpful. We all worked together as team leaders to come up with a great creative ideas.
-The most difficult part of the job was trying to perform well in my role with many team members that had a tendency to call in sick. With such a large team they felt like there was anyone that could pick up their slack. But I also had outstanding team members that rose to the challenge in those situations. Those team members were inspirational. Made me want to work harder for them.
-The best part of the job was to be able to interact, lead and coach such a good large group of people and to see that my leadership led to those team members to get promoted and grow in personal ways and at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor at whole food's
Supervisor (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 9, 2014
Every third Friday in every month wholes holds there monthly meeting. we talked about sell and profit. I was the supervisor for the hot food bar. I meet new people day to day and show good customer service. Being the supervisor of that department I manage nine other people in the day to day operations. working there was amazing because my love of food – more... and working with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for college students
Team Member (Current Employee), Cupertino, CAApril 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches, team builds, and samples
Cons: micromanagement, dog eat dog mentality, lack of recognition
A typical day at work for me is an all-store face of departments. Then, a face of the aisles assigned. This varies highly due to the capricious nature of customer demand. I learned how manage my time wisely, how to face product, handle cash, help customers find their desired items. Management at this store leaves something to be desired. The co-workers – more... are usually college aged and lack responsibility. The hardest part of this job is the lack of recognition. The most enjoyable part of this job is talking to customers. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market owns and operates a chain of natural and organic foods supermarket. As of September 30, 2008, the Company operated – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos