Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
985 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Learning a lot while testing all kinds of fruits especialy if organic
Produce Team Member (Current Employee), Kitsilano, Vancouver, BCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: in a month we have at least free lunch and some gift card if we get the target sales
Cons: long hours
Productive and fun workplace with co-team members.I learned a lot about what the quality of fruits and vegetables..and also to communicate to the costumers and how we give their satisfaction.The hardest part of the job was the schedule.The most enjoyable part of the Job was while im refilling the rack and the Isle and do the value add products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company felt bigger than its image
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), West Vancouver, BCMay 28, 2014
Not the fondest of this job, West Van had some of the hardest customers to deal with and there was no benefit for being hardworking and biking to work every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working there
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2014
Cons: i didn't like working alone.
I liked working with others.

Some co-workers were not helpful enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff and
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 14, 2014
Shifts were either between 6am-2 or 2-10. I would wash the previous dishes that were left over from the night before, and continue washing dishes and returning them to their proper location, occasionally helping chefs in the kitchen. I learned that everyone has their own way of doing things. Management was fantastic, they were very easy-going and understanding. – more... Co-workers were also easy-going and super friendly. The hardest part of the job was the hours and when problems such as power-outages occurred causing dishes to pile up. The most enjoyable part of the job was working independently and sometimes in a small group or team in a fast-paced environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced workplace
Team Member (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 17, 2014
Pros: 20% off everything in store
Cons: 1 half hour break 1 15 break
Fast paced work place
Amazing team members
Good leadership
Enjoyable hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training in customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 5, 2014
A great way to learn how to be a good customer service representative. Good work environment and healthy work relationships with co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission is Their Driving Force
Coordinator (Former Employee), Emeryville, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: strong brand!
Cons: oppressive culture
Overall, I give Whole Foods Market every bit of credit for elevating the value of sustainability. WFM changed the way we think about food; changed our buying habits and made some of us more conscientious about what we consume. Amazing!

Easy to do your job when every decision is measured against a strong company mission, quality standards and clear – more... values. I really liked that about WFM.

Enjoyed reporting to the Regional President at the time - very empowering and made work fun. But odd culture; couldn't put my finger on it. Corruption. Smart, passionate people but some a bit two-faced.

My passion for being a contributor to the company's vision made me blind to some of the internal obstacles. I started out loving it and left with a bad taste in my mouth. In spite of it all, came away with invaluable skills and life lessons. Also learned a good deal about my professional boundaries.

I keep in touch with a few ex-pats who feel the same way.

P.S. Make sure the benefits they offer fit your lifestyle. I found the non-traditional holiday/vac + health insurance offering extremely incompatible with my life - and expensive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and disciplined place to work.
Meat Department Team Member (Former Employee), Oakville, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: the salary, co-workers
Cons: long hours, strict management, arrogant customers
-An average day as a meat department team member consisted of constant watch for customers and providing good service. Later in the day, we could move to the back rooms and start taking apart meat grinders and cleaning equipment and the facility.
-I learned various cooking techniques for different meats (poultry, bovine etc...),differences in meat cuts – more... also how to clean meat grinders and smokehouses.
-The management was very strict, there was little to no room for error or laziness.
-The most difficult part of being a meat department team member was keeping up the Whole Foods standard (much higher than the average grocer).
-The most enjoyable part of being a meat department team member was meeting new co-workers. The staff at the store are very friendly and out-going. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment with great management
Customer Service Rep/Maintenance (Current Employee), Oakville, ONDecember 2, 2013
Pros: long breaks, freedom during work
Cons: long shifts, small environment
The environment was extremely positive as many employees, customers, and managers were always cheerful. My team and I worked very hard together at creating a positive experience for anyone and everyone just as everyone else seemed to do the same. The hardest part of the job remains to be working under pressure; certain times when you have more than – more... 3 or 4 things that need to be done in such a short amount of time. The most enjoyable part of the job was the feeling attached to collaborating with my team and overcoming the stress of all the rushed duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Purchasing Specialist (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 23, 2013
This is a good company to work for however that doesn't always mean that management will be good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with healthy life style!!!
Sales associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 12, 2013
• Greeting every customer and potential customers in a pleasant and professional manner
• Giving every customer immediate and undivided attention
• Following proper procedures for customer check out, handling of tenders, use of tares
• Supporting global, regional, and store programs
• Responsible for answering phone calls of customer to provide all – more... the information regarding to products – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its sad
cashier (Former Employee), cambie stJune 11, 2013
Pros: there are none
Cons: its a sad company
I went to this place for a job even when I had another job in the same field and they say that you should go there prepared so I did I did some research on the company and brought it in thinking that they would like the fact I took the time to get to know how they run and that indeed I took interest in them and coming fourth and showing them that I – more... did have what it took to work for their company but they didn't like that I had so much on them ,the guy got up and had some one else interview me ?? any way if you go there for a job I guess you should show up and play the duck since I guess that's what maybe they are looking for ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is productive and fun working with each team member
Associate Team Leader (Current Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 4, 2013
Pros: team members 20% discount
Cons: good hours
Every day with different challenge
good management
helping team members
maintaing quality
helping costumers,training team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, helpful and enjoyable customers!
Customer Sales Rep (Former Employee), Penticton, BCJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: staff trainings, benefits and great department manager.
Cons: short staffed at times, no staff meetings and could not get enough hours.
A typical day at work would involve interacting with customers, setting up health programs that were best suited for that individual.
I was able to take advantage of on going training in this field, regarding product knowledge. Working together as a team at Whole Foods in my department, made work very enjoyable and having a good sense of humor always – more... is a plus in any work place. I got along very well with my co-workers, I enjoy people and could put a smile on any face at work at some point in the day. The hardest part of this job would have been loosing a customer to an illness. The most enjoyable part of this job was being able to assist in some one being able to attain better health.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Team Member (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 14, 2012
Pros: free samples
Cons: different shift
was very intresting to open store for the first time in Vancouver, learned how t do that, team working was very important, the hardest part was to promote for new position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Ideals don't necessarily apply to the average worker
Cashier (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 19, 2014
Pros: perks, good benefits
Cons: store management, busy times, customers at times
A typical day involves dealing with many different types of people and overlapping duties that may or may not have been a part of your original job description. I learned that I have a vast amount of patience and that this may not be a good fit for me in the long run. Management is in a constant state of flux. It's best not to get used to seeing anyone – more... in the top tier of management stay too long. With the constant management change comes a constant store policy change which can be hard to get used to especially when there is little notice or reason given as to why these policy changes have been instituted. There is little support for the workers when it comes to enforcing store policy. It seems that catering to the wealthy is more important than following established and effective store policy. Co-workers are good to work with for the most part, although there seems to be a strong culture of favoritism when it comes to promoting individuals. Also senoirity tends to count for more than it should in some instances, especially when workers who have been there longer get away with slacking off and other offenses. The hardest part of the job is staying motivated. As I have stated before, the constant leadership and policy changes, the lack of recognition for accomplishments and the profits over people atmosphere makes it a demoralizing and energy draining environment. The most enjoyable part are the coworkers and the customers that are not pretentious. The benefits are very good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management team sucks!
Cashier (Former Employee), West OrangeAugust 19, 2014
Pros: discounts, food, co workers and customers
Cons: management team and lack of hours
I worked this job for about a year and because I wasn't under team leaders butt kissing it they gave me no hours! They claimed it was because I wasn't "smiling" much lol. Great pay buhh no hours! Whole Foods only cares for their dollar and the customers that keep bringing their money in. Great co workers and customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and supportive work environment
Bakery & Coffee Bar Buyer (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COAugust 16, 2014
Responsible for ordering over 500 different bakery products and ingredients from nearly 15 vendors
Managed a back up purchaser that ordered in my absence
Researched aging purchase orders and followed up on credit requests when needed
Helped achieve an honorable mention for best executed bakery in the Rocky Mountain Region in 2014
Unloaded and organized – more... products daily as they arrived
Pallet jack certified
Purchased for the coffee and juice bar venue temporarily and trained as a barista
Trained the coffee and juice bar supervisor to take over purchasing
Managed inventory by transitioning 50 items to truck to shelf status which lowered back stock inventory and increased efficiency and the inventory turn-over ratio
Controlled spoilage by implementing systems to track the amount of product produced, how many were spoiled and if and when the product became out of stock
Investigated and reported cost, retail price, ingredient and minimum weight discrepancies
Created new order boards to include cost and case count to more accurately purchase
Submitted weekly explanations for purchase to sales ratios, spoilage and forecast variances
Adjusted sales forecasts daily to achieve an accurate open to buy
Participated in over 40 monthly inventories including physically counting product and entering amounts of both bakery and coffee bar items into a spreadsheet for accurate reporting
Produced and distributed individual product unit sales each week to all venues and adjusted all pars as necessary
Communicated daily sales, out-of-stock products, merchandising changes and any other relevant information in a daily update that was placed in the department's communication log, emailed to the department and store leadership and discussed in morning and evening team meetings
Addressed trends and purchased products to meet the changing demands of the community
Assisted in any are of the department that was in need such as customer service, baking, mixing and merchandising – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Housekeeping (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: small budget
Answering calls and questions of students and professors. Ordering books and creating a booklist. set up conference rooms for professors and helping students with their major and minors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co worker but terrible mangement
Baker/Pastry Chef (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 13, 2014
Pros: none!
Cons: lack of leadership
Rude customer and rude management.
unsafe work environment.
disliked management a kindergarten class has better Leadership qualities.

1 2 3 4 5

About Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market owns and operates a chain of natural and organic foods supermarket. As of September 30, 2008, the Company operated – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos