Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
920 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company felt bigger than its image
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), West Vancouver, BCMay 28, 2014
Not the fondest of this job, West Van had some of the hardest customers to deal with and there was no benefit for being hardworking and biking to work every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working there
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2014
Cons: i didn't like working alone.
I liked working with others.

Some co-workers were not helpful enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff and
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 14, 2014
Shifts were either between 6am-2 or 2-10. I would wash the previous dishes that were left over from the night before, and continue washing dishes and returning them to their proper location, occasionally helping chefs in the kitchen. I learned that everyone has their own way of doing things. Management was fantastic, they were very easy-going and understanding. – more... Co-workers were also easy-going and super friendly. The hardest part of the job was the hours and when problems such as power-outages occurred causing dishes to pile up. The most enjoyable part of the job was working independently and sometimes in a small group or team in a fast-paced environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training in customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 5, 2014
A great way to learn how to be a good customer service representative. Good work environment and healthy work relationships with co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission is Their Driving Force
Coordinator (Former Employee), Emeryville, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: strong brand!
Cons: oppressive culture
Overall, I give Whole Foods Market every bit of credit for elevating the value of sustainability. WFM changed the way we think about food; changed our buying habits and made some of us more conscientious about what we consume. Amazing!

Easy to do your job when every decision is measured against a strong company mission, quality standards and clear – more... values. I really liked that about WFM.

Enjoyed reporting to the Regional President at the time - very empowering and made work fun. But odd culture; couldn't put my finger on it. Corruption. Smart, passionate people but some a bit two-faced.

My passion for being a contributor to the company's vision made me blind to some of the internal obstacles. I started out loving it and left with a bad taste in my mouth. In spite of it all, came away with invaluable skills and life lessons. Also learned a good deal about my professional boundaries.

I keep in touch with a few ex-pats who feel the same way.

P.S. Make sure the benefits they offer fit your lifestyle. I found the non-traditional holiday/vac + health insurance offering extremely incompatible with my life - and expensive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and disciplined place to work.
Meat Department Team Member (Former Employee), Oakville, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: the salary, co-workers
Cons: long hours, strict management, arrogant customers
-An average day as a meat department team member consisted of constant watch for customers and providing good service. Later in the day, we could move to the back rooms and start taking apart meat grinders and cleaning equipment and the facility.
-I learned various cooking techniques for different meats (poultry, bovine etc...),differences in meat cuts – more... also how to clean meat grinders and smokehouses.
-The management was very strict, there was little to no room for error or laziness.
-The most difficult part of being a meat department team member was keeping up the Whole Foods standard (much higher than the average grocer).
-The most enjoyable part of being a meat department team member was meeting new co-workers. The staff at the store are very friendly and out-going. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment with great management
Customer Service Rep/Maintenance (Current Employee), Oakville, ONDecember 2, 2013
Pros: long breaks, freedom during work
Cons: long shifts, small environment
The environment was extremely positive as many employees, customers, and managers were always cheerful. My team and I worked very hard together at creating a positive experience for anyone and everyone just as everyone else seemed to do the same. The hardest part of the job remains to be working under pressure; certain times when you have more than – more... 3 or 4 things that need to be done in such a short amount of time. The most enjoyable part of the job was the feeling attached to collaborating with my team and overcoming the stress of all the rushed duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Purchasing Specialist (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 23, 2013
This is a good company to work for however that doesn't always mean that management will be good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its sad
cashier (Former Employee), cambie stJune 11, 2013
Pros: there are none
Cons: its a sad company
I went to this place for a job even when I had another job in the same field and they say that you should go there prepared so I did I did some research on the company and brought it in thinking that they would like the fact I took the time to get to know how they run and that indeed I took interest in them and coming fourth and showing them that I – more... did have what it took to work for their company but they didn't like that I had so much on them ,the guy got up and had some one else interview me ?? any way if you go there for a job I guess you should show up and play the duck since I guess that's what maybe they are looking for ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is productive and fun working with each team member
Associate Team Leader (Current Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 4, 2013
Pros: team members 20% discount
Cons: good hours
Every day with different challenge
good management
helping team members
maintaing quality
helping costumers,training team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, helpful and enjoyable customers!
Customer Sales Rep (Former Employee), Penticton, BCJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: staff trainings, benefits and great department manager.
Cons: short staffed at times, no staff meetings and could not get enough hours.
A typical day at work would involve interacting with customers, setting up health programs that were best suited for that individual.
I was able to take advantage of on going training in this field, regarding product knowledge. Working together as a team at Whole Foods in my department, made work very enjoyable and having a good sense of humor always – more... is a plus in any work place. I got along very well with my co-workers, I enjoy people and could put a smile on any face at work at some point in the day. The hardest part of this job would have been loosing a customer to an illness. The most enjoyable part of this job was being able to assist in some one being able to attain better health.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Team Member (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 14, 2012
Pros: free samples
Cons: different shift
was very intresting to open store for the first time in Vancouver, learned how t do that, team working was very important, the hardest part was to promote for new position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basically one of the best work experiences I've had overall
Buyer/Supervisor-Specialty Coffee (Former Employee), Annapolis, MDJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good pay, excellent benefits, chance for advancement
Cons: physically intense, high stress
What I liked best about my job at WF was that every day was different. While I had assigned tasks to accomplish every day/week, there was always a new wrinkle or issue that came up which forced adjustment--but that was ok, because it was all interesting. Overall, both management and co-workers were excellent, and once one managed the culture (WF has – more... a distinct business "culture"), it was possible to really experience being a unique individual contributing to a team effort. Most of the difficulties of the job were related to the generally consuming nature of grocery retail---it's very physical, can be high stress, and never ending (tasks always repeat themselves in another form). But the enjoyable parts far outweighed the negativity--decent pay, flexible hours and good benefits as well as the very real possibility of job advancement. At least that was the WF I inhabited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like my job and i am very proud to work at whole foods
Produce Supervisor (Current Employee), Sonoma, CAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: i get to learn about the court values
Cons: the team leaders are unfair
a typical day at work would be trying to finish the sandwiches before we start to get busy, then I have to make sure that all the tempters and dates are done, and to complete all the logs. what I learned is that if I ever have a problem with one of my team members I have to let the supper visor know. I try to have good communication with my team members. – more... the hard part of my job is when a certain team member complains a lot. the most enjoyable part of my job is when a customer comes to me and says "thank you for the sandwich it was so good" it makes me feel like they appreciate my hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work place employment
Cashier (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 3, 2014
Operated cash register and greeted customers. I learned about different products in the grocery store business. I loved working with my team leader and coworkers. The hardest part of my job was keeping up with ring speed after a while I caught on and became really well. Enjoyable part was the work atmosphere itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Specialty Team Member (Former Employee), Somerville, MAJuly 3, 2014
The work was rather easy, labor intensive but I like that. The benefits were great paid time off, decent health insurance at an affordable cost. I like most of my co-workers, all types of different people. However the management takes it very personal if you decide to take a second job, or decide to change your hours to better your own life, major downfall – more... in my opinion. Its one of their core values to keep their employees happy in that aspect the fail miserably. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work with great food and people!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Lakewood, COJuly 2, 2014
Pros: sampling any product any time and great customer satisfaction
Cons: not a steady schedule
A wonderful place where you can take your love of being a foodie to the next level. Lots of room for advancement!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informing Patrons of Product and Interacting with people
Orderly Displays/Reciever/Unload Pallets/Stocking (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: working with geat team members
Receive pallets from warehouse, use the electric jack to guide the product down tight hallways to my department (the cooler [Dairy Department]). Organize Cooler and finding ways to fit all product as I unload pallets. Keep Shelves stocked, faced and looking full at all times. Customers were never shy of asking where certain products where and I'd always – more... take the patrons to the product which would also help me learn where everything in that huge store was! I loved, loved, loved my job there! I learned more and more everyday about healthy foods and people's diets and restrictions, and that helped me understand more about celiac disease, lactose intolerance, saturated fats (along with good lypids, such as omega 3's) and so much more!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team members
Specialty Team Member (Former Employee), CTJuly 2, 2014
Had to be able to work in a fast paste environment and pack bags. I was a cashier and had to accurately count money and make sure all transactions were correct and went through.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and great customers to interact with
Cook (Former Employee), Evanston, ILJune 30, 2014
Pros: great benefits from the job
Cons: they wouldn't wash our aprons until like a week later
My typical day at work I would be behind the food display cooking chicken. I learned that cooking chicken each day could get tiring and sooner or later you stop having the urge to each chicken. The way it was managed was very well everything was organized, like the spicy chicken was in one area and the non spicy regular chicken was on the other.The – more... hardest part of the job was probably coming home smelling like chicken and taking a shower to try and get the smell off of you but it wouldn't work. The enjoyable part was when it was closing time, the chicken that was made already and that wasn't taken the we would have the first privileges to take it home. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market owns and operates a chain of natural and organic foods supermarket. As of September 30, 2008, the Company operated – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos