Find companies:
White Spot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

White Spot Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and lots of advancement but poor wages
LINE COOK & PREP COOK (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCOctober 9, 2014
Pros: cheap staff meals, enjoyable staff and understanding management
Cons: short shifts, high stress environment and poor wages
A typical day at White Spot would consist of Line station set up, lunch/ dinner rush, then Line station close. Organization is crucial for success on the job. Management is fairly understanding but occasionally lackluster and slow to act. Wonderful people, very entertaining and very amusing characters in the work place. Hardest part about the job is – more... handling the stressful situations and hours that come with working in a kitchen. Most enjoyable part of the job is actually preparing dishes without the pressure of the dinner or lunch rush. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress work environment, Warm atmosphere for guests
Hostess (Former Employee), Chilliwack, BCJuly 30, 2014
Pros: 50% off food 30 minutes before and after a shift, short shifts
Cons: stressful atmosphere, management wasn't very helpful or understanding
A typical shift at white spot was very hectic and stressful. The duties were simple but the pace you had to do everything at was painfully fast. Tasks are often also stacked on top of each other and we are expected to do two or three all at once. When being a beginner, it was especially hard. I learned how to use seating sections, the appropriate attitude – more... to use towards the guests and also, I learned basic skills needed to work in a restaurant setting. Management had very high expectations for the newer workers and didn't seem to offer much motivation. They also didn't seem to be very professional to my understanding. My co-workers (fellow hostesses) were very warm and welcoming. The servers and managers weren't as much. The hardest part of the job was working all by myself in very stressful situations that I was not generally prepared for. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping guests and being around families. I have a sharp passion for helping people have a good time and being a part of that happy environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at White Spot
Various Positions (Former Employee), Richmond, BCMay 3, 2014
(Line Cook: plate dishes and deep fry foods (fish and chip, calamari, etc.)
(Fountain: make drinks/milkshakes, mini appetizers and desserts)
(Expediter: assemble and plate the dishes in an organized manner in correlation with the servers

Fast paced and exciting environment. Organized and we worked as a unit. Management was professional and smart. Co-workers – more... were disciplined and cooperative. Hardest part of the job was if mistakes were made, the kitchen is pushed back on timing; thus, affecting everyone. Most enjoyable part was that they promoted excitement and fun while being efficient in plating design. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes table tennis is nice
Hostess (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 28, 2014
Pros: 60% off in the meal
Cons: long hours standing
The work was very funny. I had good time.
The customers were always polite and the employee was very helpful.
I learned many new words and how to make drinks.
The hardest part of the job was when is not busy because we don't have customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
heard working
PREP COOK (Former Employee), vernonMarch 18, 2014
willing to learn and good at what i learn and fast pasty worker as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Head Server (Former Employee), Maple RidgeNovember 14, 2013
White Spot is a great place to work, A typical day at work was mainly spent serving guests and interacting with fellow staff, Management was excellent to work with. We worked great together and i would run shifts often on my own or with them, Co workers were great its like having a small family. The Hardest part of the job is when the Restaurant got – more... slammed and I would have to Multi task quickly and be precise, The most enjoyable part of the job was making customers happy all day long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Dishwasher & Food Prep (Former Employee), Victoria, BCNovember 7, 2013
Pros: got short brakes and could have a free lunch while sitting in a booth.
Cons: employee bathroom was broken for a bit and took longer than it should have to get fixed.
White Spot had a great working atmosphere, everyone communicated well. Potential dangers were always clearly stated to me such as hot dishes that i would have to clean. i learnt fast and safe cutting techniques. Keeping up with the steady flow of dirty dishes would get difficult but i would always pull through. The best part of the job was everyone – more... got along and would even hangout after work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee), Parksville, BCSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: not enough staff and incentive from the managers
A typical day at work was at times stressful but I tend to like that sort of environment as it causes people to work harder and faster to get the job done. All of my co workers were amazing to work with, management on the other hand could have been a bit more into their job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Im a cook in the kitchen.
(Fry) Cook in the kitchen (Current Employee), BurnabyJune 26, 2013
a typical day at work would be , I com in get dressed wash my hands and start setting up my station so that the shift runs smoothly.
for the shift to run smoothly I need to prep items and get ahead of clean up. also I always need to stay focused so I don't mess up the orders.
I've learned how to pay more attention to detail and to move quickly and get – more... things done efficiently.
the management is very helpful and understanding.
the co-workers are amazing and real fun to work with. some of the most funniest people I've come across.
the hardest parts are during rush hours, when I have to memorize orders in my head and get them done in time, but im good with it now.
the best part of the job is knowing that what I make and serve is being enjoyed by someone out there and it gives me satisfaction and makes me keep striving to do my best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and amazing owners
Waitress (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCMay 6, 2013
Pros: dealing with cheerful people
Cons: stress that comes when its crazy busy
I have worked at this location for about 10 years of my life. I started at a very young age. I started with cleaning tables, then moved to hostessing and then finally serving. I learned a lot at this job. I learned how to deal with customers, how to deal with complaints. This is where I got all my people skills from. I also learned a lot about teamwork – more... and taking control of situations. On a few occasions I did opening shifts so I was expected to lead my crew for the day and make sure everything runs smoothly. The hardest part of the job would be trying to deal with everything when we are busy in the early mornings when we don't have as much staff on. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with such amazing people and having regular customers and seeing the same friendly faces almost everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good serving job for a student
Server (Former Employee), Victoria, BCApril 15, 2013
Pros: discounted food
Cons: split shifts
You can make a a lot of money if you learn how to work quickly. However, sometimes it's a lot of work for for little pay off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work, the atmosphere and co-workers was always up beat.
Cook/kitchen manager (Former Employee), Vernon, BCFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: close to my house, boss was very reasonable and nice.
Cons: getting upset when people dont show up for work without or with little notice.
Lots of oppertunity for advancement through the company.
Liked getting up to go to work even if i knew it was going to be a rough or long day.
Can run a kitchen fully staffed likke clock work/
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers and we are all very productive
Cook (Current Employee), Vernon, BCJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: very friendly staff
Cons: n/a
Start by coming in 15 mins early everyday, checking to make everything is stocked for the rush to come, cleaning my work space as I go, overall cleanliness and safety, management there is great just needs some kinks to work out, co-workers are great to be around we all work as a great team, hardest part of my job would be timing with the food that comes – more... up so that everyone gets a hot fresh meal but to me that's pretty easy, what i most enjoy about going to work is knowing that i have friendly co-workers who are willing to help at anytime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive, and team atmosphere. Very fast paced.
Server (Current Employee), South Surrey, BCOctober 25, 2012
Pros: meeting alot of different people.
Cons: working nights and weekends
Typical day is multitasking, running around managing multiple tables. You learn alot about prioritizing and time managment. I would have to say the hardest part of the job is sore feet after a long day! The most enjoyable is sucessfully managing many things all at once and keeping customers happy.

In addition to serving I do teach fitness classes in – more... which I really enjoy sharing my passion for fitness and teaching. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there
2nd Cook (Former Employee), Mission, BCOctober 12, 2012
Good over-all working conditions. Enjoyed the people I worked with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Line Cook (Former Employee), Surrey, BCAugust 2, 2012
Pros: discount on lunches
Cons: transportation problem
make sure station was ready to go for dinner rushes
dinner rush usually last an hour or two depending on the day
after clean and stock up stations for morning crew
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prep cook
Cook (Former Employee), kelownaMarch 21, 2012
show my talent in work fast peaced enviornment, multitasking.