Find companies:
White House Black Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
135 reviews

White House Black Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Sales/Support Manager (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, OHAugust 25, 2014
Pros: helping others
Cons: moving up in company is harder
Open store, count all drawers do change orders. Open all registers put up correct signs around store. Process receiving and shipment. Customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Troy, MIAugust 21, 2014
Pros: small team made it a more comfortable and familiar work place
Cons: not enough hours, last minute calls telling me i don't have work
My day started off with clocking in and then talking to a manager about the goals for that day. I would then use my skills to make sure that the sales goals are met along with complete customer satisfaction. There were short periods in between the work day when the boutique was empty. During those brief moments, I made sure I kept myself busy by replenishing – more... sold merchandise, keeping the store looking clean and appealing, putting back items that weren't sold, and sizing the clothes. In all honesty, my job would have been tedious and boring if it weren't for my amazing co-workers and customers. They made the day go by so fast and smoothly. Of course there were days when I had to deal with cranky customers. I'd say that was probably the hardest part of my job. Sometimes it didn't even matter how kind I was or how sincere my apology was for any inconvenience they may have suffered. Eventually, I figured out that the best way to handle situations like that is to keep calm and do my job in the most efficient way I can. I can't please everyone, but that shouldn't stop me from doing my best. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with my customers and listening to countless stories about their families, their jobs, even their outlooks on life. I must admit some of them were definitely unforgettable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an amazing place to work learn and grow
Store Manager (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: selling bonuses, fun environment
Cons: healthcare, schedule, commute
I quickly learned how to run and manage my own store. I learned everything from business acumen, hiring and staffing, scheduling, sales behaviors, visual merchandising and everything in between! A typical day consisted of teaching and coaching my associates, hitting sales goals and exceeding store's sales plan each day. I loved my co-workers at white – more... house black market, we were all able to openly communicate and give constructive criticism. The hardest part of the job was being able to delegate out tasks instead of taking them all on myself. The most enjoyable part of the job was making customers feel beautiful each and every day, it made me (and them) feel amazing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blah
Sales/Support Associate (Former Employee), Owings Mills, MDAugust 4, 2014
Cons: no breaks, cut hours
unfriendly environment. rude managers. unequal opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly people
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Broomfield, COAugust 3, 2014
Love working at this place. It is a constantly changing environment that keeps you on your toes. Every customer is a new experience and challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company great, Upper Management horrible.
Store Management (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAAugust 1, 2014
Great overall company but horrible district management. Very unprofessional and demeaning to associates. Never a mentor, only a "boss".
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Palm Desert, CAJuly 26, 2014
I learn a lot with customer service. I enjoyed working with the people there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the coworkers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZJuly 22, 2014
Great place, but unreliable hours. Worked 5 hours per week at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job, but very competiveve
Sales associate/Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 21, 2014
Pros: great pay with amamzing learning opporntunity
This was one of my first jobs, it was a great opportunity and taught me a lot about styling customers, zone selling and help me developed my cashiering skills. the best thing about this job is that is you love to style people this would be a great job for you. The pay is amazing they paid you hourly and commission, but the commission is once a moth – more... and is up to you how much you make. The management team are very pleasant and so is the staff – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Hanover, MdJuly 17, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: managers
The store I worked at as been closed for a long time. But it was ok working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Sales and Fashion Consultant (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 14, 2014
N/A would not like to review this company. Was a good place to work a part time summer job after graduation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and learning experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Glen Mills, PAJuly 9, 2014
Great staff to work with. I have learned a lot about different selling strategies. I have learned that its all about the numbers if you are a hard working honest employee that goes unnoticed and that is the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job is the discount employees receive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Livonia, MIJuly 8, 2014
A typical day at work would include constant interaction with customers. Customers are always my first priority and also, keeping the store clean and presentable. Over the past year, I have been obtaining communication skills and always learn something new about sales and clothing. All of my co-workers are friendly and nice; they make my job enjoyable. – more... The only down side of this job is that I don't have a fixed schedule and sometimes do not get enough hours to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJuly 8, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is making women feel beautiful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most enjoyable part of the job
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Arlington, VAJuly 2, 2014
I love the new program we just rolled out 'Feel Beautiful' program. It is geared towards making our clients have an exceptional experience in the stores. My clients really make my job pleasurable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent customer service boutique
Sales associate/Personal Stylist (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJune 30, 2014
Pros: great discounts
Cons: lack of healthcare for part-timers
I learned to initiate customer contact and to maintain my own client database using a profile book and the company's incredible software system. The hardest part of my job was meeting sales goals. The most enjoyable was being the first to see the new clothes and putting together a great outfit for clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for a married mom that wants extra money
Retail Salesperson (Current Employee), Reno, NVJune 10, 2014
Pros: great employee discounts, paycheck bonuses, nice fellow employees
Cons: short breaks, no breaks at all, under stafffed, bad managment, bad scheuduling
I am a single mom trying to improve my career. I am a sales associate at White House Black Market. It is hard for me to find a babysitter or afford a babysitter at all with this job, I do not make enough money to make a living or to pay for a babysitter, but if your kids are in school and can get your manager to let you have the weekends off, and you – more... need some extra money, this job might be perfect for you. The more you sale the more bonuses you get on your paycheck. On an average day you are greeting customers, doing returns on the computer or helping people find an outfit for a special occasion.. suggestive selling is all about this job! you have to sell sell sell! Tell your customers all about promotions that might benefit your sales goals.. for instance, if there is a sale on something that is Buy one get one half off, I would show the customer every style so they can get the best deal possible and also it will improve your Units per transaction which we call UPT. I enjoy all of the people that I work with, the hours are a bit off with the person who schedules my shifts because it doesn't work out with my lifestyle. Most days I will never get a break at all to use the bathroom or eat a snack on my 4 hour to 5 hour shift. We have always been understaffed. This is why I am looking for a fulltime Monday - Friday job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Stanford, CAJune 9, 2014
Open store, manage appearance, help customers, fill store.
The hardest part of the job is it is unrewarding. The co workers are wonderful, which is the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and caring people, but low salary.
Sale Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TxJune 6, 2014
I like working in the kind and friendly atmosphere, they manager is nice too.
The salary is not that good and besides I need a fulltime job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much back stabbing and cheating to win .
Assistant (Current Employee), snellville GAJune 5, 2014
Pros: earned time off
Cons: very competitive
I would not recommend working here unless you are very
competitive and willing to do whatever it takes to make it.

1 2 3 4 5