Weston Bakeries Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lean Management
Materials Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 9, 2016
Manufacturing food products

GMP , health n safety

Excellent team to be part of

Solve daily challenges and get job satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is good but once you go so far these are dead end jobs. Promotions are not done on qualifications all of the time.
Management (Current Employee) –  Amherst, NSFebruary 24, 2016
A good starting point for some careers.
Hard physically demanding.
Some workers skate by as the work force is weak right now also long term workers skate by.
The heat in the summer is very bad.
Most employees are a pleasure to work with.
Upper management is numbers driven and it shows.
Pros
An average wage with good benefits.
Cons
Long hours and plenty of favourtism.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 17, 2016
I've learned how to use a cash register and keep track of money, with the help of great co-workers. A typical day is slow in the morning but fast paced in the afternoon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Production / Sanitation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 28, 2016
Good place to work. Great employee with management's support. Worked all shifts inincluding Holidays and Week-End and all worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONSeptember 17, 2015
Busy day every day, Lots of things to learn from Production,shipping, Hiring/Firing, sanitation, quality, maintenance budgeting etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
driver (Former Employee) –  etobicoke ontarioSeptember 7, 2015
I enjoyed working with customers and other co workers, meeting new people working hard learning new things and gaining experience for the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay long hours
Oven operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJuly 23, 2015
the pay is accurate for the job but the hours expected for the job and the environment is uncomfortable at times learned about qulity controls and HACCP coworkers are good as well as the management
hardest part are the 15-16 hour shifts
Pros
good pay
Cons
Long unpredictable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is really fun working over there.
Line Operator (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONJuly 5, 2015
Really fun working over there. If sometimes any problem occurs in any line everybody helps each other to balance it. I have been acting as an active members but I am not satisfied with the pay which is paid to me.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  calgary, abMay 11, 2015
Enjoyed my time with this employer. Typical day would be to operate baking machinery, completed daily set-up of bakery and put away all bakery trays. In charge of keeping your own workplace clean and sterile, including all of the equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job for those who want to advance in the company.
Jr. Route Audit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONOctober 31, 2014
Fast paced so day goes by quickly. Learned how to be a Jr. Route Audit Clerk. Management was quick to recognize skills and assets and reward me for them. Co-workers were professional, friendly, hardworking, and helpful. Hardest part of the job was upper management's need to micro manage, and the distance to travel to work (4hrs/day). The most enjoyable part was the ability to adjust work hours by an hr or two, as long as 8 hrs were put in per day. Also the manager and my department were a pleasure to work with. Benefits package, and room for advancement in terms of salary and incentives was a huge motivator and a bonus.
Pros
ability to break up breaks i.e 15 min break divided into 2 or work through lunch and go home early.
Cons
distance, upper management's need to micro manage
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work
Merchandiser/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NBOctober 17, 2014
Wait for delivery of product. Place product up and check all dates on other products on shelf. Mark down products if any to be marked down. I have a great boss and is willing to help if need be with special mark downs. All members form a great team. Waiting for the arrival of delivery of products would be the hardiest because the time may vary. The customers are great and the store locations are ideal as they are in my district.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first secretary job I think I had
ORDER DESK CLERK (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 28, 2014
Wow, I learned alot about the oil well pressure survey business.
My boss Marv, has past, but he was very patient with me, and taught me how to order parts, and do orders, answer phones.
Pros
telephone skills
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace.
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ONMay 18, 2014
Everyday at the factory was different, we would have different jobs everyday, especially for me knowing that I was a new employee, they wanted to test me what I was good at, so I would have a different job everyday. I didn't really learn that much because of the fact that I knew pretty much everything when I started. My co-workers were very nice, very easy to work with. There wasn't really a hard part in the job, it was mostly very easy work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay cheques and work monday till friday
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  toronto onMarch 21, 2013
Its an alright place to work at.
Some people there don't know that they are there to work and not play.
supervisors was alright
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive working environment
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 6, 2013
working in a production area is fun but safety procedures have to be a major priority as operating machines needs assistance from workers. keeping an eye on the surrounding area and making sure management is under control.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company went out of business
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ONFebruary 18, 2013
very fast pasted work,
unsafe conditions with machinery,
management was ignorant to employees needs and safety,
transferred to sister company
Pros
the workers
Cons
unsafe work
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chang e was slow
Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 20, 2012
Shift work changing every week or so. Challenge to change production quality standards
Pros
wages exceptional
Cons
long hours, hot working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7