Find companies:
WestJet Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

WestJet Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but fast paced
Senior Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 7, 2014
Pros: flight benifits
Cons: not all managers are good leaders.
Lots of challenging work to keep you interested. Great flight benefits. Great technology and no lack of work. Fast paced and very reactive most of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 28, 2014
Operating Sabre system for travel reservations
Resolving customer complaints and escalating to supervisor
Providing customer service support
Great Company, Great staff, Great Manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced work place
Flight attendant (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: benefits, room for growth.
Cons: too busy at times. stressful.
over the years I found working at WestJet really enjoyable. People and the culture are amazing. Benefits are great, pay is average for an airline. Hours can be everywhere but you can choose weather you would like to work in the am or pm. Meeting new people and helping others is a big part, so you really have to be a people person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Analyst (Former Employee), calgaryJanuary 15, 2014
Cons: like joining a cult with an enforced sense of happiness
Manager was not suited to her job. Promoted cos of her race and gender. Lefter after 2 weeks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, happy place to work. Amazing co-workers with a passion for their job and company
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 9, 2014
Creating exceptional customer experiences. Take my job seriously but not always myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with a great team
Senior Recruiter (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 3, 2013
Pros: travel!!
Cons: long hours
My typical day consisted of doing job analysis, meeting with clients ie: hiring managers or directors, creating interview guides, resume searches, conducting pre-screen interviews, one on one interviews, reference checking. I could easily do all or just some of this in a day. I also notified non hires as well as doing job offers and negotiating salaries. – more... Worked very closely with compensation and benefits team to create a fair compensation package for new hires. I learned how to put a comp and ben package together as well as how to look and hire the right person for each position I hired for. I loved working with my clients and meeting new people. I also loved the fact that I was able to travel throughout Canada doing on site interviews and job fairs. The people on my team were always willing to lend a hand and were just a great bunch of people to work with. I had a fantastic management team that allowed me to grow, learn and pursue my education. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Super Agent (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 17, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: low salary
Great Employer and co-workers
Positive environment
Great benefits and flight benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's true what they say
Flight Attendant Onboard Mentor (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMay 24, 2013
Working for Westjet is like working with family. Salary is fair and benefits are a bonus
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job
Baggage Recovery Agent (Former Employee), Mount Hope, ONMay 23, 2013
Pros: cheap flights
Cons: long hours
This is a terrific job for someone who doesn't have a family. I would totally go back and work here if I was single.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best decision I ever made
CSA (Current Employee), ontarioMarch 10, 2013
I have spent nearly my entire adult life working for WestJet and I have loved it. The culture is strong and positive. There is always something to learn and I feel respected everyday when I show up for work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WestJet is a fun, friendly, caring Company with priority to safety for both Guests and Employees
Multiple Positions (Former Employee), Calgary,AMFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: friendly people, cheap airfare and hotels.
Cons: being away from home so much and many times minimum crew rests.
Greeting Guests and helping them with luggage tags
Helping and caring for our Guests from Departure to Destination.
Applying First Aid at 40,000 feet in the air.
I have learned to be positive and passionate in everything I do.
Management had the open door policy always approachable.
As co-workers we worked as a team helping one another at all times.
The – more... 2 hardest parts of my work, was caring for a terminialy sick guest in flight.
The other was leaving such a wonderful group of people.
The most enjoyable part of my job was going to work everyday, as everyday was a new and different day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely wonderful work place environment and team/family oriented place to go
Sales Super Agent (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 15, 2012
Sincerely enjoyed showing up for work every day. Was encouraged and coached and directed in positive ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something that keeps your brain going
Ambassador/Service Representative (Former Employee), Thunder Bay, ONAugust 22, 2012
Pros: interacting with many people
Cons: down time
I enjoyed working with different people and having the chance to interact with all the customers that wanted to fly with that company. If I could work for them again I'd do it in a heartbeat
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, but advancement is hard to come by
Bilingual Super Sales Agent (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 30, 2012
Pros: profit share, flight benefits
Cons: micro managed
The flight benefits alone give this company a huge boost. Sadly, it doesn't fully even out the extreme difficulty with which to find advancement, both career and otherwise. It was also unbelievably micro-managed, to the point where an unfortunately timed bathroom trip could lead to reprimand
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Flight Attendant (Current Employee), Calgary, AlbertaMay 14, 2012
Fun workplace, good culture. I enjoy going to work and I like my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for even Seniors
Technical Coordinator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 12, 2012
Pros: bbq's, stampede party, upgrade courses
Cons: no base in nanaimo
I worked for WestJet for 11.5 years and it has to be the best company I have ever worked for.

My morning generally started off with greeting my co- workers with a Tims Coffee.

My job discription was ensuring all the Flight Operations manuals are updated and all Maintenance personnel have access to the Boeing Fleet on the computer. My job is very unique – more... and not a common field.

The hardest part of my job is making sure all the bases within WestJet have all their manuals on line or in paper are all current according to Transport Canda Regulations.

As for the most enjoyable part, well just having a job that when I woke up in the morning I didn't regret going out in the cold to go to work as I really enjoy my job. After 11.5 years of doing the same job just having it computerized made it even more enjoyable

WestJet gave me the opportunity to take courses to help make my job easier with all the new programs I was encuring

My feelings of WestJet is they treat every employee like family because that is what WestJet is all about, family.

My only reason for retiring from WestJet was due to a medical problem (cancer) but now that I'm cured I would be more then happy to work for WestJet again if the opportuinity ever arose. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Aircraft Materials Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 23, 2013
Pros: great people, incredible company
Manage day to day operations. Train and disciple staff. Ensure that the operation was doing its part in supporting maintenance. Worked very closely with other department heads to ensure on time departures.

About WestJet Airlines

WestJet Airlines Ltd. is a Canadian low-cost carrier that provides scheduled and charter air service to 88 destinations in Canada, – Read more