Find companies:
Westin Hotel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
243 reviews

Westin Hotel Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some Good, Some Bad..
Valet/Bellman (Current Employee), Tampa, FLApril 12, 2014
Pros: valet manager, valet staff
Cons: understaffed. cheap budget. old building.
the valet manager is awesome, the rest of the departments have high turnover rates. The Westin Tampa demands a lot from each position. They are always understaffed, unlike other locations. It's impossible to get fired from there so the understaffed workers are bad at times too. The guests are becoming lower end and the valets get stiffed a lot. You – more... get nice discounts on hotel rates through starwood. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Corporate Catering Account Executive (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 7, 2014
I loved my job here. The environment was productive and the Hotel was in a nice location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we need a customer satisfication & caring them
Shift Engineer (Electrical) (Current Employee), Chennai, TNApril 6, 2014
Pros: every two months got a service charge & free food at duty time also
Cons: less than a day hours
checked & differentiate the rating on daily basis,I learned about my professional side & interact the guest at all situations. The management has carrying the guests & staff has very well.The part our team has good supported and helpful to the each department vise. My joining time only i feel a very hard because of my previous carrier is project field.We – more... had a 6 teams of all department staffs if any function has a different collection of each teams won the prizes also.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classy
Banquets (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 4, 2014
Very much more of a classy calm working environment. Peaceful and quiet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun work place.
Industrial trainee (Former Employee), gurgaonMarch 31, 2014
Pros: night drop servce
i learned a lot @ westin gurgaon. my co workers is very good. they always support me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 24, 2014
Staff is friendly towards coworker team and guest. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Service Express Agent/Maintenance Worker (Current Employee), Itasca, ILMarch 23, 2014
the job is good the people are great. can get stressful with the guest. and not much of a work life balance. shifts are all over
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Fun
Guest Service Express (Former Employee), Westin HotelMarch 20, 2014
My position as guest service express was greeting and welcoming guests, introducing them to the hotel facilities and amenities. Assisting guest with car valeting, luggage and escorting them to their rooms. Also concierge responsibilities, making dinner, transport and activity reservations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with luxury environment
Room Service & Valet Attendant (Former Employee), melbourne australiaMarch 16, 2014
roster shift.
what I learned: dealing with people from all around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Engineer - Hotel maintenance (Former Employee), West Bay Road, Cayman IslandsMarch 16, 2014
Hard work but fun place. I learned a lot and the people were very friendly and outgoing. Pay during slow season was difficult but that's hotel business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Beach Attendant/ Guest service (Current Employee), Hollywood, FLMarch 9, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Would be able to write more If I am taken aside and asked and just so you know I am new to this property so there Is not much I know until I have been there A few months
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Union
cook III (Former Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: good union
Cons: bad management
The job was good but management wasnt the greatest. The union is very good if you like unions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the hotel ,because it makes me feel so a live .I get to meet and work with some of the most interesting people.
Service Express Agent (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: i get to meet people from all over the world
I enjoy working at the hotel,because I am a peoples person .I love to take care of people and help them with their needs.I like to make them feel special and at home .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing hotel, location and service culture
Director of Sales and Marketing (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: free parking
Cons: cream based soup in the cafeteria
Typical day in a 90%+ occupancy hotel, with 500 guests in and 500 guests checking out.

Convention, corporate business travel and weekend leisure in a hotel with a high touch environment.

Amazing sales team of which was recruited, trained and nurtured in an environment that was competitive while retaining the sense of purpose of working together.

The – more... most difficult part of my job was leaving.

The most enjoyable part of my job team building and celebrating the success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sous chef of cuisine (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: bad thing was some times had to work from 5 am to 10 pm
As morning shift person had to be at work as 5 am in the morning , work through dinner time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, Exciting workplace.
Front desk agent (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 1, 2014
Good co-workers, Great management, Meeting new guests, Fun workday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
im a good worker
banquest houseman (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 31, 2014
I learned how to put banquest room together an carry tray I learned a lot at the hotel I did different job workin at the hotel I like it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Server, Barista/Cashier, Bartender, Seating Host (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJanuary 30, 2014
i have worked there for many years and still enjoy the work that i do
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with fair compensation.
Bartender (Current Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch and dinner, union benefits
Cons: sometimes the bar isn't busy and the tips are low.
Shift selection is based on seniority, not performance which is fair in some ways but not others. The staff is made of people from all walks of life. The bar is always manageable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cordial, efficient, fast learner.
Guest Services Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: easy advancement
Cons: poor pay rate
a typical day at work Checking people in and out + daily operations
what you learned Guest service do's and don'ts
management was excellent.
your co-workers service oriented and friendly
the hardest part of the job not having rooms ready at checking time
the most enjoyable part of the job Meeting celebrities

About Westin Hotel

Host Hotels & Resorts will leave the chandelier on for you. One of the largest hospitality real estate investment trusts in the – Read more