Westin Hotel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 April 2013
staff was great
I learned the follow: • Tracked receipt invoices
•Assisted in Account payables: entering expenses using customized database application
•Stamping, filing, faxing, photocopying and doing back up filing
Pros
free coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run company on all levels
Associate Engineer/Programmer (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON16 April 2013
The company bids for contracts and sells solutions that they have no experience implementing. Projects are poorly managed. The subject matter experts fail on implementation causing cascading failures to provide clients with desired project goals. Clients end up paying double or triple the original expected costs because they already committed a significant amount of money into the project already and have no other option than to agree to pay more. The company culture does not recognize the extra hours you put in. There is no training. Management leadership is poor and unfriendly.
Pros
free lunches on occasion
Cons
long hours, poorly run company, poor culture, poor leadership, poor project execution.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to work if you want to get somewhere in Hospitality
Banquet Office Coop Student (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 April 2013
Everyone is very kind, outgoing and unafraid to ask questions, theres no awkward prejudice inbetween sections. If you want to get somewhere else its as simple as managing your time and helping out and shadowing in other departements until you are recognised.
Pros
how nice everyone is!
Cons
if you're not the right type of person and you're not into it you're not going to have a good time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Accounting Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 February 2013
Great work enviroment, great work mates.Challenging and exciting .
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace everyone there treats you good.
Steward (Current Employee) –  vancouver bc31 January 2013
its a good place to work
very friendly staff
all managemnt is good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great core values
Guest Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 November 2012
One of the best companies I ever worked for.
Great associates, friendly environment. Opportunity of growth.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
hours not flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so fun work place to work
HOUSEKEEPING (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 September 2012
this hotel did not treat the employee equally, i would say this because this is my experience with that hotel, that is why i quit, and the management of this hotel they dont care about the employe, they are care only how to make big bucks without thingking about the employee, they are pushing too much people to do the job what its not supposed to be.....they are not fair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitality experience
Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton,AB10 July 2012
Management experience for different departments. Good work experience. World know chain.
Pros
good employees discounts
Cons
no management support
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere and friendly team
Room attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2012
I learned a lot from this job. First, the orientation for new emplyees was very good. It provided a lot of information to me. Second, I like the work atmosphere that everyone helped each other and everyone respected each other. Third, the educational plan for employees was wonderful. We had a meeting every month and employees had chances to do presentations or express their thoughts by talking to supervisors and managers. I think the team work in Westin Hotel inspired me the most.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning rooms and hallways and taking to some guest.
room attendant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 May 2012
the hardest job i ever had, but i learned to be strong, and i met various kind of people.
Pros
staff rate benefits
Cons
fair enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Blue, ON14 April 2012
I love working there...People there made you feel like family...was there to help when you needed it...time alway flew..never a dull moment.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the work enviroment Staff Very Friendly
Steward (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS11 April 2012
Good Work Place Nice Co-Workers Enjoyed my time There
Related work Kitchen Dishes pot pans etc
Banquets-night functions Weddings bookings etc
Fast pace work load have to be on the ball
Hardest job Cleaning Ovens
A high Standard of Cleanliness which is very Rewarding!!
Pros
free lunches
Cons
nights unsociable hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agreable
Part-Time Room attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 August 2017
Un journee de travail au Westin etait, normalement tres mouvemente mais tous se passait quand meme adequatement. L'equipe s'assure toujours du bien-etre des autres ce qui fais qu'on est jamais vraiment seul.
Pros
Repas gratuit certains jours, activites pour employe etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon cadre de travail
Préposée aux chambres (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 September 2013
J'ai un avis très favorable de cet hôtel, mes superviseurs sont des professionnels dévoués, l' aspect le plus difficile de mon poste c'est apprêter le chariot et l'aspect le plus agréable c'est quand j'ai fini de faire une chambre et que je la regarde, je la trouve très belle et je suis contente parce que je me dis que le client qui se couchera dessus sera satisfait de mon travail. Les opportunités de développement et de management sont nombreuses car au Westin la priorité est la satisfaction du client qui passe par le meilleur traitement donné aux employés ainsi qu'une formation adéquate permettant aux employés de pouvoir relever partout les défis de leurs rêves.
Pour ce qui est de ma journée de travail,Quand j'arrive le matin, je vais au vestiaire mettre ma tenue de travail, j'assiste au rassemblement de 10mn environ organisé par la gouvernante pour nous donner quelques directives d'usage pour l'accomplissement du travail dans la journée. Elle jazze un peu avec nous et nous souhaite une excellente journée de travail avant de nous remettre nos badgin, nos clé d'accès dans les chambres et lingerie ainsi que nos feuilles de rapport. Ensuite nous nous séparons et chacun se dirige à son poste de travail et prépare son chariot en y mettant tout le matériel nécessaire pour la chambre ( draps, taies d'oreiller,savons serviettes, robes de chambre, produits désinfectant, gants, etc....). Ensuite je me dirige dans ma chambre en départ d'abord je dresse les lits qui s'y trouvent, je vide les poubelles, j'époussette, je nettoie la salle de bain, j'y classe les serviettes, après je passe
  more... l'aspirateur, je code la chambre et je sors, dehors je coche la chambre faite sur ma feuille et me dirige vers une autre chambre occupée ou en check out.je prends ma pause quand c'est l'heure et quand je finis toutes mes chambres, je vais à la lingerie laisser le chariot, je descends au bureau remettre le badgin, la clé et la feuille de rapport, Je signe la feuille de présence, je vais au vestiaire me changer et je rentre chez moi.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Westin Hotel reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Westin Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,602 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0