Westin Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 75 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, great place to meet good people
Lead Houseman (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 October 2014
Typical work week duties:

• Handled all guest requests
• Assisted in equipment inventory as scheduled
• Assisted in record keeping and filing
• Maintained adequate level of security to safeguard equipment inventory
• Stock bus carts and emptied trash as needed
• Ensured that all storerooms were clean, organized and secured
• Ensured proper maintenance (cleaning and repair)
• Ensured that all unused rooms were set to departments standards
• Maintained constant awareness of services, promotions and events offered at the facility, and informed guests.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Ontario, ON7 September 2014
A typical day included starting the shift at 0700hours and getting straight to work cleaning the common areas. Through out the day the work included ensuring that the cleanliness of the overall hotel was maintained while at the same time multitasking with client customer service in a fast paced environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with clients and ensuring that there wishes have been satisfied.
Pros
Friendly enviroment
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starwood Rocks!
Executive Sous Chef (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 June 2014
Been in Hotels for the majority of my career. Have been an Executive Chef with the Westin Edmonton for 2 years, before transitioning to The Westin Harbour Castle to gain experience in a large scale Convention Center, boasting 77,000 sq.ft of meeting and Banquet space. Looking forward to getting back to the Executive Chef role in the next 6-8 month.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpaced but enjoyable work environment
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 June 2014
Meet and greet with various clients teaching them the benefits of what AV can bring to there meeting. Balancing meetings and mentoring a team of associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great property with a outstanding team
SERVICE EXPRESS ATTENDANT (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 June 2014
The service express department is responsible for any internal or external calls that are received within the hotel. As an attendant it is my job to provide outstanding customer service to our guest by anticipating and exceeding their expectations.

The duties as an Attendant are:

In-room Dining
Luggage handling
Bus tours
Package deliveries
Concierge type work
Guest request
Bellman duties

The service express department is very team orientated and it takes excellent communication and problem solving skills to ensure that the guest feel valued and appreciated. Preparation and organization is crucial to make sure that the daily operations run smooth.

Being in this company for almost two years now I have become more confident and developed strong leadership skills, understanding what it takes to work in a high paced atmosphere and delivering positive connections with our guest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work place
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 April 2014
Good workplace environment. busy workforce and deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aplies to Kitchen only
Pastry cook (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS13 March 2014
The management in the Kitchen at the Westin Nova Scotian is just plain bad. Mostly due to lack of communication and I think part of that is a language barrier. If that was it that would not be so bad, if there are issues that need to be resolved through the manager they refused to do anything to help. They would basically just shrug it off and leave you in a bad position. I would not recommend working int the Kitchen.
Pros
Free lunch, get to nibble on what you are making
Cons
Sporatic hours, (can work between 2-12hrs whether posted or not), hot and cold working conditions, loud work area
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Practicum
Guest Services Agent/Service Express Attendant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 March 2014
I really enjoyed working at the Westin Grand Vancouver. The staff and management were very welcoming, and eager to help one another out. The team was great and the guests were always happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Coat Check Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 February 2014
had fun working here, nice people. great pay! long hours but was worth it. met a lot of cool people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to earn
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 January 2014
Its a great hotel to work but needs to build up as the staff and management are having low co-ordination.
You can make a lot of money but in the long run you would be quit frustrated.
Facilities and services provided are also excellent though the culture followed here is been followed from ages which is quiet hard to accept for new comers, need to develop a more motivating culture to reduce the staff turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work driven in a exciting atmosphere
Concierge (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 January 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job is the people interactions and the challenges that arise on a daily basis. There are never two days the same. Guest always require assistance from a simple task of organizing transportation to and from the airport to everyday task of locating luggage to the more challenging events of locating a wedding guarder in less than an hour.
These can be challenging tasks but they have taught me how to "think outside the box." There is generally always a solution to a problem it is how I look at the problem and how create I the solution.
Pros
Health Benefits, Travel discounts, always a learning curve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work.
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  BLUE MOUNTAIN, ONTARIO12 November 2013
one good workplace, good colleagues, a pleasant environment, good benefits to the village, a big and comfortable hotel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Catering Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, on3 October 2013
This hotel is very busy so day goes by quickly.
Company has great benefits.
Pros
Busy
Cons
Busy and money
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon cadre de travail
Préposée aux chambres (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 September 2013
J'ai un avis très favorable de cet hôtel, mes superviseurs sont des professionnels dévoués, l' aspect le plus difficile de mon poste c'est apprêter le chariot et l'aspect le plus agréable c'est quand j'ai fini de faire une chambre et que je la regarde, je la trouve très belle et je suis contente parce que je me dis que le client qui se couchera dessus sera satisfait de mon travail. Les opportunités de développement et de management sont nombreuses car au Westin la priorité est la satisfaction du client qui passe par le meilleur traitement donné aux employés ainsi qu'une formation adéquate permettant aux employés de pouvoir relever partout les défis de leurs rêves.
Pour ce qui est de ma journée de travail,Quand j'arrive le matin, je vais au vestiaire mettre ma tenue de travail, j'assiste au rassemblement de 10mn environ organisé par la gouvernante pour nous donner quelques directives d'usage pour l'accomplissement du travail dans la journée. Elle jazze un peu avec nous et nous souhaite une excellente journée de travail avant de nous remettre nos badgin, nos clé d'accès dans les chambres et lingerie ainsi que nos feuilles de rapport. Ensuite nous nous séparons et chacun se dirige à son poste de travail et prépare son chariot en y mettant tout le matériel nécessaire pour la chambre ( draps, taies d'oreiller,savons serviettes, robes de chambre, produits désinfectant, gants, etc....). Ensuite je me dirige dans ma chambre en départ d'abord je dresse les lits qui s'y trouvent, je vide les poubelles, j'époussette, je nettoie la salle de bain, j'y classe les serviettes, après je passe
  more... l'aspirateur, je code la chambre et je sors, dehors je coche la chambre faite sur ma feuille et me dirige vers une autre chambre occupée ou en check out.je prends ma pause quand c'est l'heure et quand je finis toutes mes chambres, je vais à la lingerie laisser le chariot, je descends au bureau remettre le badgin, la clé et la feuille de rapport, Je signe la feuille de présence, je vais au vestiaire me changer et je rentre chez moi.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Spirit
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Toronto, On19 August 2013
Their is work always being done and excess multi tasking. The company pays well and staff are sometimes stress and left to do all the work alone while waitress place item in the wrong place. I am always being left alone working while others refused to help out.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Longs hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented with a strong focus on developing lasting relationships with guests and co-workers:
Building Operator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 June 2013
Customer service oriented with a strong focus on developing lasting relationships with guests and co-workers:
- Able to monitor and manage HVAC system to maintain comfort levels
- Proactive thinker as it relates to trouble shooting building issues
- Ability to train co-workers and share personal knowledge
- Strong communication and interpersonal skills

Pros
great work team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work
Guest Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 June 2013
The team work at the Westin is really great and all my co workers are nice and helpfull.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel
Health Club Supervisor & HR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 May 2013
A typical day at work would be greeting people and dealing with employee issues. Management was excellent and co-workers were great to be around. Hardest part of the job was leaving the job because it was really enjoyable. The enjoyable part of the job was that I got discounts on hotels around the world. I enjoyed all of my past experience from working there.
Pros
Hotel discounts
Cons
Transportaion and parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they have separate room called as REVIVE where employees can enjoy there break by watching TV or surfing internet
Kitchen Steward ,Banquet Runner  (Current Employee) –  Ottawa1 May 2013
working here is fun in it own way I have worked here for months and the support I get from the management is awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment in work place
Finance Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 April 2013
*Monday is the heavy workload day for accounting staffs
*I have learned A/P, preparing daily sales promo & income statement, preparing vendors cheques through SAP, Income auditing
*Management is very friendly
*My co-workers were very helpful
*Shorting sales promo cheques
*Working on the Excel and Preparing cheques with the help of SAP
Pros
Beautiful work place environment and lots of things to learn about accounting
Cons
Too much work pressure due to employee shortage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Westin Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,522 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0

CEO Approval

87%
436 ratings
Add your rating