Westin Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 75 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, kitchen is a stress place to work.
1st Cook (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2016
always short of staff, stress place to work in a kitchen,not proper place to work in banquets, ala carte kitchen is guud. working hours are not good. money is good according to job, no advacement to growth specially in kitchen.
Pros
just a brand
Cons
short of staff, stress in banquet kitchen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding
Front Office Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2016
Everything about this experience is fascinating. I have had the opportunity to utilize my skills and education and also had the opportunity to learn, grow and evolve in different positions and departments. It was a real experience which I learned plenty of it.
Pros
Opportunities
Cons
Nothing I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Service Express Agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2016
Work with amazing co workers and they have the most respectable management team in the hospitality industry. I been here for 3 years and i have gained knowledge of the hospitality industry and still growing as a person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ample space to learn and grow
ASSISTANT RESERVATIONS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  GOREGAON, MUMBAI, INDIA9 May 2016
I have had the opportunity to work with the best director of revenue and revenue manager who trained me and gave me in-depth knowledge of hotel revenue management.
I have 3 employees working under me for reservations department. And they are ardent learners and very cooperative.
Overall management is very cooperative and they listen to my problems and provide amicable solutions.
Pros
Free uniform, Free lunch, Hotel discounts, We have a gymnasium which is well equipped, We get performance bonus every year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience, Enjoyable Environment
Massage Therapist (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC2 May 2016
A typical work day I would provide massages for guests. I learned how to deal with all kinds of different characters and personalities. Management was awesome, and so was the co-workers. The hardest part was when I didn't have a massage, I wasn't earning anything. Seeing the satisfied look and appreciation in the guests I helped.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not friendly to student's available hours
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 February 2016
Management is not understanding to the needs of students or parents. Requires that you put work above all else. Expect to be called in on your days off.
Cons
Long Hours, Always on call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Lead Steward/Casual Server (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2016
not bad to work, easy, union, close from all the major highway is so close you can come any time and go back any time using your vehicle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place but out of the law protection
Server (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC26 February 2016
It's good. They support you for the winter pass and housing but you do not have break while you are working(straight 8 hours) you are asked to leave when it becomes quiet. One of my friend left there because his supervisor was seriously yelling at him.
If you are server you are getting only minimum wage + tip.
I think the place is only good for managers or people working in the office. Since it's tourist place and lots of people come and go, they do not really provide better job environment for the front or back of the house employess
Pros
spirit pass
Cons
working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Westin Culture but great compensation
Restaurant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town city centre11 December 2015
Great five star environment with a very strong focus on attention to detail. Empowerment comes by force. Great exposure to connected people.
Pros
Employee appreciation
Cons
Long working hours for management which creates an imbalance in life style.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
physical job, lots of physical activity, indoor and outdoor
Customer Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON3 November 2015
always on your feet, physical job, gets lots of exercise, fun people to work with, in the village of blue mountain, get to be outdoors and park all sorts of different cars
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional colleagues and flexible work atmosphere.
Shift engineer (Building Operator) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 September 2015
A very professional workplace with supportive work staff and colleagues. Availability of overtime . Flexibility in shift hours and change of duties. In service training opportunities.
Pros
Shift flexibility
Cons
Long travel distance to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Experience
Housekeeping Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 September 2015
During my time at The Westin Harbour Castle as a Housekeeping Office Administrator I have been exposed to a different aspect within the hotel industry that has expanding my knowledge even further. I have learned new things that I was able to apply to my daily responsibilities which has progressed my hospitality expertise.
Pros
No day is the same
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaos
Pastry Cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa1 September 2015
Not knowing what has been done about functions ahead of time. Little time to react to errors made by others. unnecessary stress. Disappointed after years of service. Lack of understanding of the value of my dedication for the work done.
Pros
Everyone is still trying in the company.
Cons
Inability to modify circumstance and comp nay policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Banquet Server and Bartender (Current Employee) –  Edmonton24 August 2015
Physically demanding but every day is different. Fun environment. Not for everyone. Involves long hours, late nights. Management is fine and the benefits are great. Discounts on hotels around the world.
Pros
Food, discounts
Cons
long hours, unstable work weeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Account Receivable Agent (Internship) (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC29 April 2015
Very open and welcome atmosphere
Motivated colleague
Many internal events organized to motivate employees
No over work
Professional behavior required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top 50 Employers in Canada
Human Resources Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton24 April 2015
Starwood Hotels and Resorts is a great company to work for and they offer a great incentive and benefits package.

Hours can be long but all the associates are great people.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Guest Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 April 2015
Everyday I get to meet new people. Check in and out guest that stay with us. Ask about their stay and make sure to always welcome them back to the property.
Pros
Great employee benefits
Cons
Always working on weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good point to start my first Engineering job in Canada
Shift Engineer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC18 March 2015
It was good learning experience, but the shift work wasn't good.

The job security was really bad, they were keep laying off people all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of my job was
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON16 November 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to keep people and costumers happy.
Pros
long lunch breaks
Cons
10 days at a time one day off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Business analyst/manager assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 October 2014
Good working environment
Good benefits
Unexpected changes
too much politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Westin Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,525 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0