Find companies:
Westin Hotel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
240 reviews

Westin Hotel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We have 2 crew parties per year. The staff is aknowledged for their hard with quarterly awards luncheons. We are provided with lunch and dinner
Banuet Captain (Current Employee), Banquet DepartmentSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: an amazing professional environment. i feel appreciated and cared for at my job.
Cons: i have a 130 mile commute. this averages 3-4 hours driving per day.
My job is high pressure most days, but I love it. I have been a part of some amazing events and seen incredible galas. My management team has helped to continue my education in hospitality and leadership.
Working for The Westin has been an exciting journey for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee), los angeles CASeptember 18, 2014
Steady place with a very good environment, that taught me first hand the responsibilities of being receptionist. Manager takes time to make sure all employees are fully trained and comfortable with their job to bring excellent customer service. Any customer complaint is handled immediately with the proper care. Most enjoyable part of this job was the – more... environment and the company's customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company really takes care of the employees
Receptionist / Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Detroit, MISeptember 6, 2014
This is a very busy hotel but the company really does a great job of showing the employees they are appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very profitable and confortable,workplace clean and attractive.l personally appreciate this hotel, lux and services.
Laundry Attendant (Current Employee), Portland, MEAugust 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch, bonus, profitrelated bonus...
Cons: few times of break and the company don't give the annual vacation
I prefer the daily work from 7:00 am to 3:00 pm and from Monday to Friday.
l learned that Westin Hotel is among the highest hotels of Portland and make the pride of infrastructures of Maine.
About management is well.
My co-workers must be devoted, concientous and very workers.
The hardest part of the job is technical part like computers, kitchen, laundry,public – more... relation and security services.
The most enjoyable parts are game part, tasking food and drinking, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
accomodation. banquet services.buffet services
Steward (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: also offer a good benifet
Cons: short breaks also
also employs different culture of people.a nice place held a meeting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hotel for Leadership and Growth
Coordinator/Assistant Catering Sales Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 13, 2014
• Responsible for managing all previous coordinator duties
• Book, detail and service all social functions: Weddings, Birthday, Anniversary, Holiday etc…
• Book, detail and service all small corporate catering groups 10 rooms and under
• Respond to prospective business in lead base management systems including ACVB, StarCite and Cvent
• Maintain an – more... entrepreneurial and proactive mindset to exceed catering sales goals
• Analyze historical data to develop quality business cases for top producing and new accounts
• Consistently develop and strengthen client relationships through the coordination of client events, promotions, and incentive programs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintain order and safety inspections.
Hotel Security Guard (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: most repsoncible, exciting, fun, active position in the private sector.
Cons: exterior walks had no back up or surveillence.
Depending on your post for the 3rd shift you must never neglect those duties for the safety of the guests and employees.

Conduct hourly walk though of the 32 story hotel stairwells, sub-levels, lounges, elevators and guest halls. Submitting daily reports
of activities to the Management.

If in the guard shack, you must control employee entrance and – more... key control. Maintain a constant view of all monitors and notify guards of suspicious actives.

Escort dignitaries or high profile persons to necessary location.

All guards reported his or her shift activities and recapped to the relief guard and supervisor.

The key to success is to be aware of your surroundings and never get comfortable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 6, 2014
Working for this company was a great experience. I couldn't have asked for better managers or co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company culture
Guest Relations (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 1, 2014
Nice company to work for and the pay is a low compared to other hotel industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
condusive place t work
Receiving Agent (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 17, 2014
I have worked as storeroom attendant, banquet attendant as well as receiving ckerk for sometme.
Its a very condusive place of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exccelent hotel and managment
Server (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 16, 2014
Pros: always free food for the employess
Cons: greta benefits
this is the best work experience i have ever had in my hospitality work experience

great team work
great co workers
always well informed

most enjoyable is that i always happy coming to work with out thinking anything negative about my managers or coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Front Desk & Guest Services Operator (Former Employee), Atlanta GaJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great discounts good lunch
Cons: insurance is high
A typcial work day consists of meeting alot of new people. Making sure that rooms are clean and up to status. Always making notes of wake up calls, and setting up romantic rooms for guest wanting to do something special.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Audit
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 11, 2014
Coworkers were like a bunch of high schoolers. They had cliques which included managers. I learned alot from this job, because we were always understaffed and employees were under trained. The people who learned quickly had to hold the rest of the department up.
HR was Terrible, always on vacation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Room Attendant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 1, 2014
Pros: discount meals
Cons: short breaks
The staff was always on point making sure work was finish in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy and lots to learn
Lead Front Desk Agent (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CAJune 30, 2014
Pros: benefits, co-workers, company atmosphere, fast paced, complimentary food
Cons: stressful
Good company to work for, have great benefits, and great opportunity to move into higher level positions. Managment always looking to assist with your next oportunity to learn something.

Love my co-workers and everyone I work with, i have learned so much about the hospitality industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not the worst
Sous Chef (Former Employee), Morristown, NJJune 24, 2014
Pros: you get paid every two weeks
Cons: union hotel
Overall the staff is lazy. It's a union hotel. Upper Management is useless. There is a lot of turn over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
cook 2 (Current Employee), 12marina biew #32-01 singaporeJune 14, 2014
Pros: medical, learn some kind of work
Cons: isolation in cafeworking. less people
since work in westin hotel, i wake at 5:00am
i'm working in cold kitchen. i haven't seen many kind of cheese, and dry fruit, lot of recipes
and now i know how to make a la carte.
my co-workers have enthusiation of work
they teached me how to deal with stress. and give an advice how to make a salad.
the hardest part of the job is working cafe in hotel. – more... cause i working alone and do my thing is felt isolation.
but the most enjoyable part of the job is now i know how to do sandwich. and take care of my place – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun to work
Guest Service Associate (Former Employee), Gurgaon,June 11, 2014
Pros: positive attitude and always work as a team, i had learned alot there
Cons: no
that was a great place to work
. only one day in two year, i had to do double shift.. but that was ffine as my colleague was in emergency
. My communication skill improved alot
. More confident Now
. That was great Management
. We all worked as a team.
. That was the first property i learnt alot
.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place,
Food & Beverage Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Mumbai, MHJune 7, 2014
Great employees. Hotel has an amazing cliental base. The sales team is above par. Management is helpful in working with employees to further their careers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management fosters a great culture
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 5, 2014
Great place to work the management team is great and everyone is friendly,

About Westin Hotel

Host Hotels & Resorts will leave the chandelier on for you. One of the largest hospitality real estate investment trusts in the – Read more