Westin Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Westin Experience Specialist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 November 2016
We work as a family, with respect and nice environment The people you work with are usually very nice. Many learning sessions. Good work life balance.
Pros
flexible with time offs
Cons
no free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, kitchen is a stress place to work.
1st Cook (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2016
always short of staff, stress place to work in a kitchen,not proper place to work in banquets, ala carte kitchen is guud. working hours are not good. money is good according to job, no advacement to growth specially in kitchen.
Pros
just a brand
Cons
short of staff, stress in banquet kitchen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding
Front Office Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2016
Everything about this experience is fascinating. I have had the opportunity to utilize my skills and education and also had the opportunity to learn, grow and evolve in different positions and departments. It was a real experience which I learned plenty of it.
Pros
Opportunities
Cons
Nothing I can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Lead Steward/Casual Server (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2016
not bad to work, easy, union, close from all the major highway is so close you can come any time and go back any time using your vehicle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Experience
Housekeeping Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 September 2015
During my time at The Westin Harbour Castle as a Housekeeping Office Administrator I have been exposed to a different aspect within the hotel industry that has expanding my knowledge even further. I have learned new things that I was able to apply to my daily responsibilities which has progressed my hospitality expertise.
Pros
No day is the same
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaos
Pastry Cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa1 September 2015
Not knowing what has been done about functions ahead of time. Little time to react to errors made by others. unnecessary stress. Disappointed after years of service. Lack of understanding of the value of my dedication for the work done.
Pros
Everyone is still trying in the company.
Cons
Inability to modify circumstance and comp nay policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of my job was
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON16 November 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to keep people and costumers happy.
Pros
long lunch breaks
Cons
10 days at a time one day off
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Business analyst/manager assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 October 2014
Good working environment
Good benefits
Unexpected changes
too much politics
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, great place to meet good people
Lead Houseman (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 October 2014
Typical work week duties:

• Handled all guest requests
• Assisted in equipment inventory as scheduled
• Assisted in record keeping and filing
• Maintained adequate level of security to safeguard equipment inventory
• Stock bus carts and emptied trash as needed
• Ensured that all storerooms were clean, organized and secured
• Ensured proper maintenance (cleaning and repair)
• Ensured that all unused rooms were set to departments standards
• Maintained constant awareness of services, promotions and events offered at the facility, and informed guests.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work place
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 April 2014
Good workplace environment. busy workforce and deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aplies to Kitchen only
Pastry cook (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS13 March 2014
The management in the Kitchen at the Westin Nova Scotian is just plain bad. Mostly due to lack of communication and I think part of that is a language barrier. If that was it that would not be so bad, if there are issues that need to be resolved through the manager they refused to do anything to help. They would basically just shrug it off and leave you in a bad position. I would not recommend working int the Kitchen.
Pros
Free lunch, get to nibble on what you are making
Cons
Sporatic hours, (can work between 2-12hrs whether posted or not), hot and cold working conditions, loud work area
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work.
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  BLUE MOUNTAIN, ONTARIO12 November 2013
one good workplace, good colleagues, a pleasant environment, good benefits to the village, a big and comfortable hotel.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Catering Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, on3 October 2013
This hotel is very busy so day goes by quickly.
Company has great benefits.
Pros
Busy
Cons
Busy and money
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment in work place
Finance Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 April 2013
*Monday is the heavy workload day for accounting staffs
*I have learned A/P, preparing daily sales promo & income statement, preparing vendors cheques through SAP, Income auditing
*Management is very friendly
*My co-workers were very helpful
*Shorting sales promo cheques
*Working on the Excel and Preparing cheques with the help of SAP
Pros
Beautiful work place environment and lots of things to learn about accounting
Cons
Too much work pressure due to employee shortage
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Accounting Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 February 2013
Great work enviroment, great work mates.Challenging and exciting .
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitality experience
Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton,AB10 July 2012
Management experience for different departments. Good work experience. World know chain.
Pros
good employees discounts
Cons
no management support
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report

See more Westin Hotel reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 430 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

Westin Hotel Reviews by Location