Find companies:
Westin Hotel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
253 reviews

Westin Hotel Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of my job was
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Collingwood, ONNovember 16, 2014
Pros: long lunch breaks
Cons: 10 days at a time one day off
The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to keep people and costumers happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Business analyst/manager assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 20, 2014
Good working environment
Good benefits
Unexpected changes
too much politics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, great place to meet good people
Lead Houseman (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 7, 2014
Typical work week duties:

• Handled all guest requests
• Assisted in equipment inventory as scheduled
• Assisted in record keeping and filing
• Maintained adequate level of security to safeguard equipment inventory
• Stock bus carts and emptied trash as needed
• Ensured that all storerooms were clean, organized and secured
• Ensured proper maintenance – more... (cleaning and repair)
• Ensured that all unused rooms were set to departments standards
• Maintained constant awareness of services, promotions and events offered at the facility, and informed guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work place
Room Attendant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 21, 2014
Good workplace environment. busy workforce and deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aplies to Kitchen only
Pastry cook (Former Employee), Halifax, NSMarch 13, 2014
Pros: free lunch, get to nibble on what you are making
Cons: sporatic hours, (can work between 2-12hrs whether posted or not), hot and cold working conditions, loud work area
The management in the Kitchen at the Westin Nova Scotian is just plain bad. Mostly due to lack of communication and I think part of that is a language barrier. If that was it that would not be so bad, if there are issues that need to be resolved through the manager they refused to do anything to help. They would basically just shrug it off and leave – more... you in a bad position. I would not recommend working int the Kitchen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work.
Room Attendant (Former Employee), BLUE MOUNTAIN, ONTARIONovember 12, 2013
one good workplace, good colleagues, a pleasant environment, good benefits to the village, a big and comfortable hotel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Catering Sales Manager (Current Employee), Ottawa, onOctober 3, 2013
Pros: busy
Cons: busy and money
This hotel is very busy so day goes by quickly.
Company has great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment in work place
Finance Intern (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 27, 2013
Pros: beautiful work place environment and lots of things to learn about accounting
Cons: too much work pressure due to employee shortage
*Monday is the heavy workload day for accounting staffs
*I have learned A/P, preparing daily sales promo & income statement, preparing vendors cheques through SAP, Income auditing
*Management is very friendly
*My co-workers were very helpful
*Shorting sales promo cheques
*Working on the Excel and Preparing cheques with the help of SAP
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Accounting Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Great work enviroment, great work mates.Challenging and exciting .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitality experience
Front Office Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton,ABJuly 10, 2012
Pros: good employees discounts
Cons: no management support
Management experience for different departments. Good work experience. World know chain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the hotel was helpful in progressing my career.
Prep Chef (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 16, 2014
I liked working at the hotel. It helped me learn a lot about my career and how I would like to progress. I learned about banquets and restaurant cooking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to get some knowledge.
Lead Engineer M1 (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 8, 2014
Pros: hotel discount
Cons: long hour. hotels is a 24/7 365 days.
I Learned alot about the hotel buisness here.I became a great michanic at this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace atmosphere
Guest Services Specialist (Current Employee), All throughout the hotelNovember 3, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: long pm hours
A typical day on the job requires me to be in contact with all guests staying at the hotel in an often busy atmosphere.
Most co-workers are friendly and easy to speak to.
The most difficult part of the job is when most of our guests are checking in or out at the same time, and there is long list of people who request assistance. Although it is the most – more... difficult, it motivates me to give all guests exceptional service.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when a guest is so satisfied with my assistance that they contact my supervisors or write an online review and express their overall satisfaction with my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working and life is not balance
Restaurant hostess (Former Employee), Dubai, DUNovember 2, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: long hours
I worked in the very busy restaurant which is there is no time for you to relax. I learned a lot about the menu, Italian food and wine selection. Management not really understand with what you need. The people who work are not helping each other as a team. The most enjoyable at work when we have event in the hotel, which we can participation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Mmmphis, TNOctober 30, 2014
Cons: they need to pay more
Keep everything to your self.
Noisy people.
The most enjoyable part was they were very strict but It was an easy to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petty Stressful Workplace
Room Service Agent (Current Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 30, 2014
Pros: meet a lot of people in and out the hotel.
Cons: stressful working environments in the mornigs.
On the night shifts the work place is cool and laid back and no one is nagging and clouding on anyone. But morning shift its different have so many people watching and trying to correct and tattle and nag you for no reason, no matter how long you been working or how good you do your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed going to work
Executive Concierge/Front Desk Agent (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 28, 2014
Nothing beats the WESTIN. The people the perks the location. So much room to grow!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westin
Host (Former Employee), WilmingtonOctober 26, 2014
Pros: benefits, full time, meeting great people
Cons: dealing with day to day inconsistency of management
Great place to work however management is not consistent or properly structured. I learned that standing up for what you believe in makes a huge impact. Co-workers were like family, we genuinely cared for each other. Hardest part of the job was taking orders from certain managers who I lost respect for. Most enjoyable part of my job was keeping a smile – more... on guest faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Senior Bartender (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 23, 2014
Basically good place to work. Most of management empathic. Great place to meet all walks of life. Guest flow choppy at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High standard,busy environment, high professionalism
Kitchen Hand/Assistant (Former Employee), Sydney CBD, NswOctober 20, 2014
Pros: the experience
Cons: some chefs were not friendly
Working here was part of my work placement therefore i was not paid. I had to opportunity to work in three different kitchens which was great experience. Due to the clash of different personalities the warm and welcoming environment was not there. However as its a high star hotel and constantly busy its understandable.

1 2 3 4 5

About Westin Hotel

Host Hotels & Resorts will leave the chandelier on for you. One of the largest hospitality real estate investment trusts in the – Read more