Westin Hotel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like a fast paced job then this is for you.
Banquet House Person (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 October 2017
Fun and fast paced work environment. Thou could be challenging sometimes due to lack of people when doing set ups but if you are a non complainer type of guy then you should be fine. All in all I'm satisfied working here so far.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great palce to be great staff
Food and Beverage Director (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 September 2017
enjoy the staff gusts and a great brand to be with. there are opportunity's with the Starwood brand for growth and movement, great learning experience.
Pros
love hospitality
Cons
moving forward
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agreable
Part-Time Room attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 August 2017
Un journee de travail au Westin etait, normalement tres mouvemente mais tous se passait quand meme adequatement. L'equipe s'assure toujours du bien-etre des autres ce qui fais qu'on est jamais vraiment seul.
Pros
Repas gratuit certains jours, activites pour employe etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Customer Oriented.
Building Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 August 2017
Taking care of guest needs and concerns in relation to HVAC, pool operations and room electronics, room readiness. Everyday was a look forward to going to work day.
Pros
Great team to work for.
Cons
none come to mind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my manager was my best friend
JANITOR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 August 2017
it was amazing working with janitor hotels the most good things is the manager was my best friend he was always good man i was his closest though he was a good friend to all of us i cant forget that beautiful days easily
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace that strives to accommodate employees needs
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS27 June 2017
The Westin is a great place to work if you're looking for fun, friendly, and accommodating employers who strive to meet your needs. The staff at The Westin really try to reward their employees and keep them happy.
Pros
Free lunches, flexible schedules, friendly staff, great salary
Cons
Disorganized, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay but thats about it.
Commis 1 (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 June 2017
worked here for 8 years. I had to beg for time off. Management team had more ego than leadership skills. Didn't even get a Thank You from HR when i resigned. Everyone is over worked and miserable.
Pros
good pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
House Person (Former Employee) –  Blue Mountains, ON20 April 2017
It was alright had a good time didnt make enough money thought if the hourly wage was $7 more an hour then the job would be tolerable but since i couldnt
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, great employer to work for
BANQUET SERVER (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 April 2017
It is a really good workplace that values and appreciates its employees. The work can be tough physically and schedules change often based on guests demand, just like all hospitality businesses, but overall, the pay and benefits makes it all worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright, if you can sidestep the drama with coworkers and management
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC9 March 2017
You could say this was a decent job to get started in the area, but the perks aren't nearly as good as some of the other companies around, and they care a lot more about money then they will about you. You'll do well if you're let into the clique, but otherwise you'll find yourself up against some unfair situations.

I wouldn't recommend this job but that's just based on some of my experiences, and I was offered a great position with the mountain afterwards.

Note: I was kicked out of staff accommodation without any notice or reason other than they hired new staff and I was being replaced. I was given 2 hours to pack up and move out of staff accommodation, if I didn't have good friends in the area it would have been a really tough time, I wouldn't trust this company. My advice is just look for a job on the mountain and know you'll have a great time!
Cons
No mountain pass - you have to pay for it, unpredictable hours, some staff and coworkers are difficult to get along with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Housekeeping Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 March 2017
The Westin Ottawa was generally a good place to work. As a manager the expectation was to work long hours which is hard on family. Management is friendly but the is a lot of politics involved.
Pros
Very nice hotel
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and Ever Changing Work Atmosphere
Pool Attendant (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC2 March 2017
When going in to work at the Westin I was in for a different set of circumstances every day. I learned how to effectively communicate with guests, effectively troubleshoot, and work well both independently and as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Banqueting Experience
Assistant Banquet Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
Great team and Hotel to work with. Really enjoyed my experience at Westin Harbor Castle.

Larger banqueting venues but we executed every event with a personal touch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Colors Representative (Current Employee) –  Bradford West Gwillimbury, ON23 January 2017
Westin Homes is a wonderful company to work for with both head office and sales centre locations. All staff and upper management are great to work with.

The décor centre has the most up to date interior finishes for new builds and one aspect I loved was pairing porcelain tile with quartz countertops within the homes. Also, I really enjoyed dealing with puchaser's who bought the new homes both in the décor and sales centre.
Pros
Great group of people
Cons
there wasn't any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 January 2017
As a lifeguard associate, I am not very involved in the hotel's benefits for employees and events. However, as a student, working at the Westin is a great a part-time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
westin turtle bay is good (Y)
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Balaclava, ON19 January 2017
all staff are friendly..they collaborate..i learn many thing about starwood etc...
its a good hotel indeed...
........................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union environment
Food Management and Preparation (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 January 2017
No growth, promotion based on seniority as it was a union environment. Shifts changed on a daily basis and work was available only during peak season
Pros
Good 5 star hotel
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2017
assigned 16 rooms
stretch and warm up before going up onto the floors
clean bathrooms
bedrooms
change all dirty towels
change bed sheets
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization for Development
Director of Rooms (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 November 2016
Lots of training opportunities, SMEs (subject matter experts) Coaching and Mentoring. Great guests who love the revitalization of the waterfront. The challenges will be rectified through a full renovation. Difficult to access the hotel for accessible individuals as the hotel is not fully accessible. New Chefs table wonderful but not accessible.
Pros
Wonderful associates
Cons
Lack of life/work balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, always busy, enjoyed interaction with customers
Third Cook (Former Employee) –  Hollis street, Halifax N.S.26 November 2016
Days began at 5 am and typically ended at 2pm. There was no
time to fool around. I enjoyed the heavy load of work and the
different details involved. The interaction with the chef and
co-workers was great.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours, hard of the back
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Westin Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,640 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0