Western University Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanical Projects
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ONJuly 17, 2016
• Reverse Engineering included 3D scan of ergonomic objects, Build up CAD file from Mesh points & Generate G codes
• Light weighting Design of 3 Axis stabilize platforms by Calculating Gyroscopic effects in Matlab
• Simulation of Mechanical vibrations in automotive manufacturing with MATLAB
• Defect recognizing base on Theory of plasticity
• Heating and Cooling Calculation, Duct, Ventilation & HVAC design for Commercial Building in London
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn a lot
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  London, ONJune 26, 2016
A part time job which is a part of the Western Graduate Research Scholarship
Allocated tasks by Academic Coordinator
Coworkers are students and faculties at Western University
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Understanding Work Environment
Part-time Hospitality Service Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ONJune 3, 2016
Management was excellent, they helped me learn the job quickly and understood I was a full-time student.
Co-workers were friendly and helpful.
Pros
50 % off meals
Cons
long bus ride there
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace, learning-oriented
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee) –  London, ONMay 20, 2016
- teaching students, running labs and seminars
- learned a great deal about patience, organization
- hardest part was keeping on top of my own knowledge in order to best assist students
- most enjoyed working with students with different backgrounds, knowledge, experience, learning methods
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Student (Former Employee) –  London, ONMay 11, 2016
offered a good learning environment and complete teaching facilities;
Beautiful school buildings and opening space for students to organize activities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
event staff
Event Staff (Former Employee) –  London, ONApril 26, 2016
concession
ticket sales
manage crowds
- Not enough hours in the week, but the work was enjoyable and fun
- Co workers were also students, good selection
Pros
fun
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall experience
Marketing team (Current Employee) –  London, ONApril 17, 2016
Job offers flexibility and work-life balance.
Supervisors are understanding, and are always there to offer support in addition to work training.
Great opportunity to network with other students of the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities- if you can get them
Biomechanics Laboratory Coordinator (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 10, 2016
Very supportive environment for instructors
Difficult to get a assigned a course
Provided challenges and growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment with a multitude of resources
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 9, 2016
As a graduate student at Western, there was always the ability to learn as well as multiple opportunities to advance personal growth and knowledge in areas such as health and illness, migration, and also in qualitative and quantitative work. At Western I learned independence as well as the importance of working as a team and learning your resources in other academics. To conduct good research requires a solid foundation in ethics and methods, and Western offers these resources through other employees or programs on-campus or through affiliations with other Institutions. The most difficult part of the position is ensuring proper balance and creating your own timeline to do work efficiently; however, this challenge is also what makes being a part of the Western community enjoyable. There is always room for growth and expansion if you choose to pursue those options yourself.
Pros
Interconnectedness with colleagues, resources, support
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy with teaching
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  London, ONJanuary 10, 2016
I felt very busy with my teaching. I had to prepare slide for each lecture, 5 class tests, marked the test and posted the marks online promptly. I had to finish almost all the works in limited time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced and very demanding.
Spanish Instructor (Former Employee) –  London, ONSeptember 15, 2015
Working at Western University is a wonderful experience. I was teaching a class and the students motivated me to be a better language instructor.
Job ethics at Western is high, I enjoy the stable environment and being part of a very selective group of workers.
Western University has shaped me into a better professional.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Heavy work load
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing experience
English writing skills assistant (Former Employee) –  londonJune 22, 2015
A diverse learning environment, with supportive workers and administrators. Considerate working hours for students, helps students develop a good work ethic. I would highly recommend western as a part time employer for students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  London, OntarioMay 4, 2015
Great place to work and learn. I'm happy I had a chance to work at Western, I met some great people and did some awesome work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to work flexible hours and have time to train
Work Study (Former Employee) –  London, ONApril 13, 2015
Great working for my team, visiting elementary schools all across London, talking to them about health, fitness, keeping up with schoolwork, and then most fun of all running around outside. Also had the duty of keeping Westerns Athletic facilities (Kirkley) clean and presentable to the public. Co-workers were my coaches and teammates so it was a family like environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A comfortable and fun place to work
Research assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ONApril 10, 2015
I enjoy the time at Western University. It is a place that not only allows the employee to show their talent and help them to learn more, but also takes care of their families.
Pros
Nice and telant people
Cons
Low salary to support family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Review
Learning Resource Mentor & Staff Support (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 30, 2015
The people and students were awesome people to work for and I would recommend anyone to work there.

If I could return to work there, I would be most happy to marry my job there and nurture it to the end.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ONFebruary 24, 2015
There is a great balance of working hard and learning to relax while at school. The professors are very knowledgeable and find interesting ways to teach the material. I've made a ton of friends both in my program and out of it which definitely makes the experience for enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ONFebruary 24, 2015
There is a great balance of working hard and learning to relax while at school. The professors are very knowledgeable and find interesting ways to teach the material. I've made a ton of friends both in my program and out of it which definitely makes the experience for enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence in Work-Life Balance.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ONOctober 22, 2014
Various tasks of research and analysis.
Developed better understandings of data analysis and successfully improved in research skills.
Built familiarity with different search engines and database engines.
Hardest part of the tasks involved organizing the researched data, however it is also the feat that I have now become familiar with.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op at Western University
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  London, ONSeptember 2, 2014
Working at Western University was a great co-op experience.

I gave Salary/Benefits and Job Security/Advancement only 2 stars because as co-op my pay was low and had no benefits and I knew when co-op completed I would no longer be working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

Western University Reviews by Location