Western University Employee Reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and lively place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON3 October 2016
Working at the bookstore was a great experience. I loved my coworkers and the management was amazing and always helped with any problems that I came across. The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting many new people and being able to work with people who were fun and interesting. The days went by quickly and it made me sad that it was only a temporary job for the rush season. The hardest part of my job was how busy it would get, even though it was more fun to be busy than not, it was still hard some days to keep up with the craziness of rush season at the university.
Pros
Fun work environment
Cons
Long lines during rush season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace with skilled mentors
Technical Specialist (Current Employee) –  London, ON28 July 2016
Western's university is an excellent workplace and an ideal employer for individuals looking for work life balance. The campus is beautiful, co workers are friendly, and the organization is a place of innovation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanical Projects
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 July 2016
• Reverse Engineering included 3D scan of ergonomic objects, Build up CAD file from Mesh points & Generate G codes
• Light weighting Design of 3 Axis stabilize platforms by Calculating Gyroscopic effects in Matlab
• Simulation of Mechanical vibrations in automotive manufacturing with MATLAB
• Defect recognizing base on Theory of plasticity
• Heating and Cooling Calculation, Duct, Ventilation & HVAC design for Commercial Building in London
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy retail store
Western University Student Services - Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, ON2 December 2016
Unloaded trucks, move merchandise to different departments. Placed product onto shelves and into the stock room, high attention to detail.
Pros
always busy
Cons
slow at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced and very demanding.
Spanish Instructor (Former Employee) –  London, ON15 September 2015
Working at Western University is a wonderful experience. I was teaching a class and the students motivated me to be a better language instructor.
Job ethics at Western is high, I enjoy the stable environment and being part of a very selective group of workers.
Western University has shaped me into a better professional.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Heavy work load
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment with a multitude of resources
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON9 March 2016
As a graduate student at Western, there was always the ability to learn as well as multiple opportunities to advance personal growth and knowledge in areas such as health and illness, migration, and also in qualitative and quantitative work. At Western I learned independence as well as the importance of working as a team and learning your resources in other academics. To conduct good research requires a solid foundation in ethics and methods, and Western offers these resources through other employees or programs on-campus or through affiliations with other Institutions. The most difficult part of the position is ensuring proper balance and creating your own timeline to do work efficiently; however, this challenge is also what makes being a part of the Western community enjoyable. There is always room for growth and expansion if you choose to pursue those options yourself.
Pros
Interconnectedness with colleagues, resources, support
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Understanding Work Environment
Part-time Hospitality Service Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON3 June 2016
Management was excellent, they helped me learn the job quickly and understood I was a full-time student.
Co-workers were friendly and helpful.
Pros
50 % off meals
Cons
long bus ride there
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall experience
Marketing team (Current Employee) –  London, ON17 April 2016
Job offers flexibility and work-life balance.
Supervisors are understanding, and are always there to offer support in addition to work training.
Great opportunity to network with other students of the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace, learning-oriented
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee) –  London, ON20 May 2016
- teaching students, running labs and seminars
- learned a great deal about patience, organization
- hardest part was keeping on top of my own knowledge in order to best assist students
- most enjoyed working with students with different backgrounds, knowledge, experience, learning methods
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn a lot
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  London, ON26 June 2016
A part time job which is a part of the Western Graduate Research Scholarship
Allocated tasks by Academic Coordinator
Coworkers are students and faculties at Western University
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraged advancement as well as further education while employed
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Ontario15 May 2014
I learned a lot working for Western and enjoyed my co-workers and management. I was given opportunities to grow within each department and salary/benefits were excellent.
Pros
Salary;Benefits; work/life balance; encouraged academic advancement
Cons
Degree/Academic required for all positions
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Student (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 May 2016
offered a good learning environment and complete teaching facilities;
Beautiful school buildings and opening space for students to organize activities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
event staff
Event Staff (Former Employee) –  London, ON26 April 2016
concession
ticket sales
manage crowds
- Not enough hours in the week, but the work was enjoyable and fun
- Co workers were also students, good selection
Pros
fun
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A comfortable and fun place to work
Research assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON10 April 2015
I enjoy the time at Western University. It is a place that not only allows the employee to show their talent and help them to learn more, but also takes care of their families.
Pros
Nice and telant people
Cons
Low salary to support family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities- if you can get them
Biomechanics Laboratory Coordinator (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 March 2016
Very supportive environment for instructors
Difficult to get a assigned a course
Provided challenges and growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op at Western University
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  London, ON2 September 2014
Working at Western University was a great co-op experience.

I gave Salary/Benefits and Job Security/Advancement only 2 stars because as co-op my pay was low and had no benefits and I knew when co-op completed I would no longer be working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy with teaching
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 January 2016
I felt very busy with my teaching. I had to prepare slide for each lecture, 5 class tests, marked the test and posted the marks online promptly. I had to finish almost all the works in limited time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Community Outreach Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  London, ON31 January 2013
- love my job, I love my co-workers, we work very well together as a team
- very open work environment, managers are just as involved as everyone else - open door policy
- I really benefited from flexible hours as I am attending school
- fine-tuned my time management skills and my work-life balance as well
- enjoyed the tedious tasks, such as, making phone calls, writing e-mails, writing up reports and making connections with the community for Western that many people try to avoid
Pros
flexible work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people that I worked with
Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, ON3 July 2014
The people that I worked with were great I got along with all of them including the management in the office. However the only person that I did not get along with was my manager he was truly unfair. But that is my opinion because he would say one thing to you and the opposite to someone else. I even got along with the housekeeping staff in all the residence buildings that I worked in, and some of the trades people that worked for the university. I loved my job I think the best part was the students that came every year. Every year was different but certainly a lot of fun. I will certainly miss that and all the friends that I made well working there I will certainly cherish my years there.
Pros
the people
Cons
overnight hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to work flexible hours and have time to train
Work Study (Former Employee) –  London, ON13 April 2015
Great working for my team, visiting elementary schools all across London, talking to them about health, fitness, keeping up with schoolwork, and then most fun of all running around outside. Also had the duty of keeping Westerns Athletic facilities (Kirkley) clean and presentable to the public. Co-workers were my coaches and teammates so it was a family like environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 45 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Western University Reviews by Location