Find companies:
Westeel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Westeel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Powder Coat Painter/ Team Lead (Former Employee), Olds, ABMarch 5, 2014
Pros: lots!
Cons: hot working conditions, some long hours
A typical day at work was quite normal, set up, wash and paint tanks, all the way to decaling and getting tanks ready to ship. I learned a great deal of things at westeel, to many to really recount. Management was excellent except for one, but last I heard he was removed from the company. The plant manager was very personable, he would do everything – more... in his power to help someone along. The hardest part of the job was the heat in the paint booth aside from that, the job was quite enjoyable. Had I not moved I would still be working there. The work/life balance was great, there was overtime or the occasional Saturday asked for. They always tried to make sure the employees were happy, from random BBQs to Christmas parties, golf tournaments and company matched RRSPs. Westeel was a great company to work for, I would highly recommend joining that team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment is a in need of overhaul
Painter (Former Employee), saskatoonFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: good people on floor
Cons: very poor managment team
good workers . poor managment from team leaders to plant managers acting like mafia members rather than integral parts of a well organized work orientated supportive and productive atmosphere watched too many good people quit due to frustration
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Sheer Operator (Former Employee), Winnipeg MBFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: the choice of shifts, mine was evening 4pm till 12am.
Cons: not enough overtime.
My position was to follow orders and make sure parts were made to blueprint specifications. I was able to learn how to use indoor over head cranes, forklifts, and to utilize my time for better part production. Always had a good relationship with other co-workers. The hardest part of the job for me was when the shears blades would get dull, it was always – more... the wait for them to be sharpened/replaced that would cost me valuable time off my machine. I loved my job, the thought of my parts being used in production made me feel proud. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee), Olds, ABDecember 18, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: longhours
good place ten hour days good pay do not pay for school years earned already pay tops out at 26 a hour which is low for welding.
There are premiums you can get which increase that but they can come and go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Welder (Former Employee), Regina, SKNovember 7, 2013
Pros: great starting wage
I learned many new welding techniques and more efficient ways of working throughout the day. I worked with many different coworkers and enjoyed working with them as they each had a unique way of doing something and each taught me something differently. The most enjoyable part of work was looking at a finished product and knowing you made that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was an alright place to work
Welder (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKJuly 16, 2013
it was production line work which isnt the most exciting. My opinions and suggestions were taken into consideration and i felt like i was appresciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, dirty atmosphere
General Labourer (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKJune 3, 2012
Pros: people were great
Cons: dirty and lacks job secutiry and advancement
Typical day consists of taking grain bins at the end of the assembly line and cleaning bin inside and out of weld spatter, rough welds and dirt. Job was very simple and dirty. Was promised welding advancements and job security that were never fulfilled. Job was very dirty however the people were great and they were fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Olds (Former Employee), welerNovember 7, 2011
i would work there again, a good atmosphere to work in