Find companies:
West Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
716 reviews

West Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Assistant Manager/Cashier (Former Employee), tarboroJune 12, 2014
I love to work with people, I love to try new things, im always on time for a job,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and routine
Call center tech (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 11, 2014
I answered 150+ calls daily. With an array of reasons for the calls. I learned better ways of communicating and explaining things to customers. Management was helpful in my training to assist customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJune 9, 2014
Cons: management
Enjoyed the job itself, I love helping people. Management on the other hand was terrible. There were statutes in place by the client that were only observed when the client was physically present in the facility. If you weren't up to par they would terminate you no questions asked. You wouldn't get a chance to come up to par as the statutes that were – more... supposed to be enforced never were. Other than that I really enjoyed the position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large sporting goods retailer / wholesaler with a small town feel.
Credit & Collection Manager (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 9, 2014
Family owned sporting goods retailer / wholesaler that grew its sales revenue tremendously in the late 80's then again in the mid 90's while maintaining a small, local business feel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great at being able to provide over-time when or if needed
SiriusXm Agent (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: not very well organized
Working as a SiriusXm Saves Agent I had the opportunity to retain customers who decided to close their accounts for any reasons. I also assisted customers with questions regarding their account and some trouble shooting issues. Although retention based jobs are not my best skill, I have learned the importance of probing a customer to better help resolve – more... a situation. I have also learned that retention based on sales is not my strongest skill. The most enjoyable part of this job was working with managers and co-workers that were honesty and easygoing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and fun to work
Customer service representative (Former Employee), rockymount NCJune 3, 2014
overall great place to work. just doesn't care about your personal life outside of west.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at West was Horrible
Customer Service (Former Employee), Spokane, WAJune 2, 2014
Pros: i made some good friends due to our bonding over the horrible circumstance there.
Cons: policy, short breaks, it sucks, management is not fair and plays into favor-ism, hard to promote up. equipment is awful.
I worked here for 2 years and in that time due to their policies, poor training and poor management I always wondered when the job would end. No one who works there is happy. It's hard to promote up and no one will give a valid reason. The computers are old and don't work very well. The IT department is so bad that frequent crashes are the norm. When – more... the crashes happen the employee is held responsible instead of management. The rules change frequently and you may or may not be notified. When you ask for help very few in management will make the time to help. They are sarcastic. The management in the Supervalu program promotes their friends. They make employees do special projects that take extra time but do not give them raises for the work. The management implements new ideas into the programs and punish employees for not knowing what to do or if they take extra time to learn the new idea or program. Instead of building their employees up they routinely tear them down, even raising their voices to employees for simple questions. There is no additional relevant training. It's a very negative environment. The clients, Albertson's LLC, NAI and Supervalu, are not told about the problems in management and with the hardware and software, instead the management at Supervalu throw the untrained employees under the bus instead.
This job is awful because of mismanagement. I don't know anyone who is happy to work there. When a customer compliments an operator they are not notified. Even their PR attempts in the department fall short of being relevant, fun or encouraging. This is more about the Supervalu program at West. But West in general is very hard to work for. You have to pay parking and if you EARN a parking pass it is usually about a half mile from there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Business
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Middleton, WIJune 2, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunity
Cons: corporate setting, high client expectations
West is an excellent place to build a career in sales. The training you receive is extremely supportive and if given the right management team you can grow amazingly quick.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West is conveniently located
Sales/customer service (Former Employee), San AntonioMay 30, 2014
Pros: good hours available
Cons: low pay
I liked the project I was on...surveys
but like all of their projects they have an end date (client's decision)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Operations Manager - Coverage Review Department (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMay 30, 2014
Busy work week, 45 - 55 hour work weeks. It was a nonstop environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Appleton, WIMay 30, 2014
Pros: monlthy bonuses, and good benefits
Cons: management could of been a little better
Good atmosphere, and co-workers, very team oriented, Benefits were good,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 29, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: healthcare
Answering incoming phones calls from customers for ordering a variety of products, and resolving complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with a team oriented environment.
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 26, 2014
Great starting pay with a great work atmosphere and schedule flexibility. West Corp. hires within and has fair expectations for all employees. Co-workers are wonderful and provide for a team oriented environment. Depending on the department, work life balance is excellent with opportunity to work from home as needed. They are using more recent technologies – more... in various areas and always looking to improve processes. For some of the more technical jobs, there has been some turnover as the pay at West for some of these positions is below market. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
postive work enviorment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Niles, OHMay 22, 2014
Pros: talking on the phone helping customers
Cons: the commute
I took calls for at&t wireless, I enjoyed helping customers with their wireless needs like ordering a new phone, paying their bill adding a line and things in that sort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was fun.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Huntsville,ALMay 19, 2014
Pros: time off from work
Cons: no good medical health benefits
work day would be fast pace. Learned how to listen and type at same time. Management need more people skills. Loved my co-workers. Job is not hard at all just mangement was not always together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesomw Work At Home Company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Riverdale, GAMay 17, 2014
Want to make your own schedule and enjoy life as intended to be? Go to westathome.com to make a life change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 16, 2014
answering inbound call, handled all customer service inquires. i learned how to always have a smile in your voice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCMay 16, 2014
a typical workday would just mean being on the phone for the entire shift. everything was computer based so there was a specific time we would have breaks and lunches which was scheduled electronically and also varied daily. being able to assist customers with ordering their prescriptions was always exciting no matter what type of mood they were in. – more... as a customer service agent I always strived to go above and beyond for customers. my co-workers were friendly and it was a nice environment. some managers were helpful and some were degrading and judgmental at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tolerable, but not stable
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Pasco, WAMay 14, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: lack of job stability
I didn't want to, but I started to kind of enjoy working for this company. Telemarketing is not all that enjoyable in and of itself, since you have to talk to people you don't know and try to sell them on a product they don't know that they need and are mostly affirmative that they absolutely don't want it. And yet, it's your job to try and sell it. – more... It almost becomes like a game after a while. The fact that it's 100% verbatim helps you take yourself out of the equation, making it less personal when people get upset at you for just doing your job and trying to make the sale through trying to relay the information on the script. Some people are more empathetic than others about this.

However, there seemed little to no empathy from the corporation when they chose to lay off employees and shut down the center. It was just business as usual, nothing personal. And while it may not be personal per se, the lay offs do effect employees personally, such as losing their main income that helped them pay their bills and have some life to look forward to. People that had been in the company for a while, moved up the ranks, and were starting to settle into the community lost that, and those that were just starting lost any potential to have job stability. While I enjoyed my bosses at the center, who were helpful and sought the help in training and improvement, the layoffs took away from the positives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very controlled environment, no room for growth
Care Associate (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCMay 13, 2014
Pros: you post hours from your schedule that can be picked up by other people.
Cons: short breaks, unorganized, rude leadership
Call Center environment. I personally did not like how controlled it was. 10 minute breaks. Anything over would result in disciplinary action. Repetitive calls. In a nutshell, I say that West Corporation is self serving. They have clients that hire them and they will do whatever is in the best interest for the client with little consideration for the – more... employees. Not my type of place to work at all. – less

About West Corporation

Spoken every day, in every way. To many of the top companies in nearly every industry, West provides the technology and customized – Read more

West Corporation Photos