Find companies:
West Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
797 reviews

West Corporation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistency seems to be a recurring theme at West Corp.
CSR for Frontier Communications (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALNovember 24, 2014
Pros: make relatively acceptable wages fast.
Cons: you'll lose your soul in the process and you will be exploited by so-called "upper management."
I can't speak to the quality of other West call centers located throughout the US, but I can tell you without hesitation that the West call center in Huntsville, AL is an absolute joke. You will NEVER have consistent contact with your bosses, and you will NEVER hear the same thing twice, where workplace practices are concerned. One person will tell – more... you one thing, the next person will tell you something else.

From what I've read online, some call centers tend to be far superior to others, but I would avoid the Huntsville location like the plague. You will NEVER have consistent contact with the upper management of your line group. Got an issue? Need help? Having trouble with a truly unruly customer? Tough stuff. You're better off writing your parents for help with issues at your workplace.

This place is atrocious and I will never, ever, ever work there again. Don't come to work at West Corp. in Huntsville unless you desperately need easy money fast. That's literally the only thing West Corp. has going for it in Huntsville. You can make a lot of money very quickly and without many hoops to jump through in the process (at least that's the case after you get hired). If you come to work at West, just be ready to be made into a human toilet, especially if you work for the Frontier Communications line group. I doubt that line group will be going for much longer than a few more months but either way, avoid it like the plague. The Frontier Communications line group at West in Huntsville is like the call center equivalent of work at McDonald's. You'd be better of taking the McDonald's job. At least if you work there, you can have some sort of remote semblance of fallout when something goes wrong on the corporate level and the consumers start coming back in droves with nothing but complaints. At West in Huntsville, you're nothing more than a shield for upper management. You catch all of the **** that the consumers of your line group's product give off so that upper management doesn't have to.

This is an awful company and I would truly only recommend it to the worst of my enemies. ****, I'd probably have an ethical issue with recommending it to even them. Steer clear unless you've got a masochistic spot in your heart or a desperate need to make a (relatively) decent amount of money quickly. This company is not worth your time, otherwise. If you choose to go to work at West Corp. in Huntsville, please just be pay attention to your surroundings. Don't take anything that your trainers teach you too seriously. Don't mistake artificial kindness for sincerity. Otherwise, you're doomed to get screwed over by this company.

West Corporation should be ashamed of themselves for the way that they blatantly exploit young people of color and young pregnant women. This company has no scruples whatsoever. Avoid it unless you've got no other choice. You'd literally be better off taking a job at a higher-quality fast-food chain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard call center
ATT Customer Care (Current Employee), Niles, OHNovember 23, 2014
att mobility customer care and billing questions.constant calls fast paced
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun/flexible company
Subject Matter Expert (Current Employee), el paso txNovember 22, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, job security
I've worked for this company for 3 years and the flexibilty is endless. They are always willing to work with you and job security is great. There is always room for advancement here at West. Management is great and strive to help you do better. Co workers are a good time, everyone is friendly. The most enjoyable part is the monthly calendar's, West – more... is always making the environment we work in fun and worth returning to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALNovember 20, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: frequent system issues
I really enjoyed this job working at a call center. The people were very proffesional and I felt like I was gaining priceless experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer Service skills
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), College Station, TXNovember 17, 2014
• Confer with customers by telephone or in person to provide information about products or services, take or enter orders, cancel accounts, or obtain details of complaints.
• Check to ensure that appropriate changes were made to resolve customers' problems.
• Keep records of customer interactions or transactions, recording details of inquiries, complaints, – more... or comments, as well as actions taken. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stress to the max
Tier 2 Technical Service Representative (Former Employee), Spokane, WANovember 16, 2014
Cons: stress to the max
If you really need a fast income and think you can handle the stress....this is the job for you...would not recommend it tho...GOOD LUCK
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun place to work
Telemarketer (Former Employee), Valley, WANovember 14, 2014
Pros: good bonus
Cons: high stress
A typical day at west would be taking phone calls from all over the united states. I learned how to read customers bills, resolve any issues they might have had in the beginning of the call and upsell all it 7 minutes. The management at west are all supportive and encouraging. They really do everything to help you succeed in your job. The hardest part – more... of the job is angry customers, sometimes you cant please everyone. The most enjoyable part of my job was the sales bonus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCNovember 13, 2014
vaction pay
flexible hours
good management
love working with cleints
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), El Paso, TXNovember 13, 2014
Pros: lots of growth opportunities
Cons: not much to say
loved it, i learned how to help people while they were learning the product, something i developed at West was the love for customer service for both internal and external customers, great coworkers, you can find not only friends but a family there, the difficult part would be to receive calls from very difficult customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Customer service oppertunitity
customer service represenative (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLNovember 11, 2014
Pros: learning something new everyday
Cons: hard to go to school
A typical day at West is going in and answering questions for customers about either their bills, cell phones, upgrades, insurance, etc. for AT&T. I have learned a lot from this job, such as patience, more customer service skills, how to read cell phone bills, problem solving skills, and looking into accounts to make sure we were doing the right thing – more... for the customers. My co-workers at West are great. We all help each other out when we need to and everyone there is very pleasant. I would have to say that the hardest part of working at West, is trying to go to school at the same time. I love a set schedule, but I need to be taking an early class and my current work schedule does not match up for what I need. The most enjoyable part of my job at West is helping out the customers. I feel so great when someone calls in confused, and I can help them out by eliminating their confusion and stress by simply doing my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible atmosphere.
Reimbursement (Former Employee), Tinley park, illinoisNovember 6, 2014
Cons: micro managers, expectations too high for little pay
Felt like a robot working in a factory. Everyone on their cell phones at break. Management is definitely micro managing and don't look forward to getting up to that every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management & Dead End
CSR (Former Employee), Wausau, WINovember 6, 2014
Pros: dental insurance
Cons: management, refuse to increase bonus levels
Reminds me of a circus! The company rarely makes changes to better any program, and when they do make changes it is usually for the worse. For most programs you sound like a robot, and have little room to show personality on the phone. Management is a shame. They treat you as though you are a child, discipline you for performance even though you are – more... making bonus, talk freely and negatively about their employees to other co-workers on the work floor, spread more gossip than most of the regular employees, and act as though they are better than everyone. If you want to advance in the company you better enjoy gossiping about everyone with your supervisor, talking down to others and be good friends with management prior to applying for a promotion. They do not give advancements to those who truly deserve it, but rather their friends. You see a lot of business mixed with pleasure between supervisors/employees. The only part I did enjoy was my coworkers. They made the day worth while, otherwise the place was a joke. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West is not the best
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLNovember 5, 2014
I've learned that the West Corporation is ran by people that have no concept of what true leadership and productive structure are about and how beneficial they would be to the overall atmosphere and morale of employees. Turn over is high due to lack of direction from management and poor working conditions..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was not what I thought it would be at all.
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCNovember 3, 2014
I really despised going to work for the simple fact that one one including management was on the same page. I like organization and rules that remain the same for the most part. Everyday was something different. Very frustrating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at Work
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Rocky Mount, NCOctober 30, 2014
• Provide customer service
• Billing and collections
• Prepares for customer inquiries by studying products, services, and customer service processes
• Responds to customer inquiries by understanding inquiry, reviewing previous inquires and responses
• Records customer inquiries by documenting in customer account
• Trouble shoot
• Order refill of medications – more... and ship them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers, Kitchen
Operations Team Supervisor, CSR, Team Lead (Former Employee), Spokane, WAOctober 30, 2014
I feel they do not care about there employees. They adviertise they are flexable and they are not at all. Hard work gets no appriciation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day was busy.
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLOctober 30, 2014
Pros: we were paid regularly.
Cons: not always able to help the customer.
Days were busy with back to back calls. The hardest part was sometimes could not resolve customers issues. The best part of job was co-workers who kept the job interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work Day
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALOctober 30, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: management was not available for support
Management was poor and they did not care about their employees . I love doing my job but certain things prohibited me from doing such. As in systems never working properly, mistreatment of employees for deviations for things that were completely out of employees control. Management was lazy , overall co-workers were OK. the most enjoyable part of the – more... job was being able to satisfy a customer even though i never could find help or when you asked for it their were not answers provided. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for work at home moms.
VIRTUAL CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT (Former Employee), Omaha, NEOctober 29, 2014
Pros: set own schedule
Cons: no social life.
Good job for work at home moms. Can save on lunches, fuel etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at West
Customer Service Rep for Frontier Communications (Former Employee), HuntsvilleOctober 23, 2014
Pros: pay, hours
Cons: short breaks, long hours on the phone
West was an ok job. I was able to pick up as much overtime as I wanted. The pay was also pretty decent and that's what I liked about it. It was easiest to deal with when there were calls back to back otherwise you would be bored out your mind. My co-workers were ok but there were a lot of them who were immature and unprofessional and the same goes for – more... the management. I dreaded going a lot of times but who doesn't dread going to work though? – less

About West Corporation

Spoken every day, in every way. To many of the top companies in nearly every industry, West provides the technology and customized – Read more

West Corporation Photos