Find companies:
West Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
692 reviews

West Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job but too many politics
Customer service (Former Employee), Central Saanich BCApril 22, 2014
west was a company that would stand out from the rest but for the most part, not in a good way.

they had it right as far as the wage with the performance based incentive bonuses (something i was a strong supporter of). the downside to that was the bar was set so ridiculously high for the incentives the only people that earned the top bonus were the – more... ones that cheated at their jobs (ie: blind transfers, resetting a clients cell phone knowing they were on it resulting in dropped calls etc, etc).

in my opinion management for the bulk of my time there was a joke but there were a few team leads and supervisors there that could EASILY offset the bad parts. when one would threaten to PIN (performance improvement notice) someone out of their job daily, another would HELP that employee improve their work.

the working in teams aspect of the job was awesome as it would inspire competitiveness and also teamwork at one time resulting in many fun days interacting with co-workers. the people that worked there along side me were awesome and i have made MANY lasting friendships thru West Corp.

On the downside because of their poor management and HR the reputation of the employer soon became well known throughout Victoria. they had gone thru 10,000 employees in the 3 years the location was open and announced it closure here citing "the low exchange rate on the dollar" when anyone who had left there knew it was because they couldnt keep their staff. if it WAS the dollar, they also would have closed the other office they had just opened elsewhere in Canada too, which they didnt.

as i see it the place was average at best and the pros and cons of the job were very balanced. had there not been such power tripping by team leads and underhanded tactics from the head office for west to its employees im sure they would still be around. overall it was a decent place to be all the same – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Tele-sales Representative (Current Employee), Portmore JamaicaAugust 26, 2013
Pros: free lunches, health insurance
Cons: salary
At typical day at work is to ensure i'm at work early for pre shift meeting to get update, ensure i log on time to start taking calls and ensure I produce good sounding phone calls, by trying to assistance customer if I can not then I will escalate the issue as well as meeting my daily sale target,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unpleasant atmosphere and work ethics
Customer Health Care Support Services (Former Employee), kingston, OnJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: gratifying to be able to assist those with diabetes.
Cons: continuous changes in your shift
Management will criticize your every move - three passwords to log in and out required morning, lunch and end of day. You have to send an instant message requesting permission to use the washroom. If you receive a call a minute before your shift ends thus causing overtime, you are sent emails asking why you didn't service that caller quicker yet expect – more... you to have empathy and 110% customer service. The employees take calls before they are trained to do so properly. Very repetitive. If you are taking only Canadian calls in the bilingual sue, sometimes you have to sit and stare at your computer and receive a call every 2 hrs or so. Very stressful, would not recommend working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly technical, energetic workplace atmosphere!
Customer and Technical Service Representative (Former Employee), Victoria, BCDecember 7, 2012
Pros: great training!
Cons: long hours and deductions for bathroom breaks.
Typical day began at 5AM - 2PM. I learned the practice of focus, through logging in and out, including breaks, which was a valuable lesson in efficiency! Management did the very best they could with the huge number of personnel and personalities on the floor. Friendly upbeat co-workers were engaged and always willing to help. We were encouraged through – more... stat performance.
The most difficult part of the job was being 'tethered' to our workspace for the entire time.
Most enjoyable was the incredible training sessions and dealing with the inbound customers! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Newport News, VaJuly 30, 2014
This was a good job. i like customer service. good training. and good pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family oriented
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJuly 30, 2014
The job in itself was an awesome job. The people in management ran employees out. They were rude and not open to speak with employees. The turnaround rate was extremely high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth working for
Short Sale Support Agent (Former Employee), Spokane Valley, WAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: no comment
Cons: everything
The management was terrible. We were told to lie to customers. If customers were angry, our managers would keep them on hold longer than needed. Customers had committed suicide while on the phone with them, because we were the bearer of bad news about there Short Sale Mortgage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Environment
Account Management Specialist (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKlahomaJuly 27, 2014
Pros: occasional bonus
Cons: healthcare benefits
Mostly computer work for the 8 hour shift.
Spoke to partners, sales teams, and clients that were assigned to me under a certain region.
Management changed regularly.
Hardest part of day was when Sales Teams couldn't understand why the Bell Companies couldn't build the circuits on time or install the fiber network on time.
Most enjoyable part of the – more... job was working with the Partners and the Customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers, Poor Employee Longevity
Programmer Analyst / IVR Application Developer (Current Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 26, 2014
Pros: team managers, close groups
Cons: compensation, pto
Software development mostly focusing on proprietary languages or IDEs. Work is not too challenging, but pay is far below regional average. Poor equipment for software developers with expectations that are unrealistic for the salary a worker receives. Co-workers and local management are compassionate and great to work with. Company provides many chances – more... to take breaks daily and is understanding to their workers personal obligations. Good starting company, but not a place to retire from. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Tech Support & Soft Sales (Current Employee), Reno, NVJuly 23, 2014
Pros: endless ot
Cons: none flexable shifts.
fun place to work a lot of over time and a lot of fun people to meet and work with .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee), Wausau, WIJuly 22, 2014
Amazing place to work. Attitudes are genuine. Best job I have ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Care Associate (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCJuly 21, 2014
Great place to work. Only cons are the people are so nosey they will make shift a living nightmare all the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to grow your career
Medical Device Sales Manager (Current Employee), Middleton, WIJuly 17, 2014
An excellent place to grow your career. Many options for contracts to work on, with opportunity to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace environment
Technical Support Specialist (Current Employee), Reno, NVJuly 16, 2014
Pros: friends, unlimited overtime, open enviromnent
Cons: constant changing managment, high turn over
Going into work you immediately get onto the phone lines, you take calls from customers having issues with their devices and you proceed with all of the necessary trouble shooting steps and get a confirmed resolution before letting the customer off the phone. It is a great job due to the closeness of employees but also very stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced work environment.
Communications agent (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 16, 2014
A typical day would include helping customers to place orders.
I learned to be patient and listen carefully to people.
I didn't have co-workers, it was a home based business and allowed me to be home with my kids and work when I needed to.
The hardest part of the job was when customers were irate, but like I said, I learned to be patient and listen.
The – more... most enjoyable part of the job was hearing stories from customers and helping them get the things they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs help
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCJuly 14, 2014
West was decent, the professionalism overall needs to improve
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West Corp
Dominion Gas Agent (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJuly 12, 2014
Pros: wonderful pay and hours
Cons: treat you like a number and there is no security.
West was a great job and experience. With wonderful pay and hours even flexbility. However there is very little job security and you are nothing but a number. There is no abuse phone call procedure so if someone wants to curse you out for 40mins they can and you can attempt to defuse the situation but you can not refer them to a supervisor or threaten – more... to disconnect the call if they do not stop. It takes a mental toll on you after a while. My particular job dealt with Gas Billing. So most people called for payment plans, service orders and analyzing there bills. A lot of the procedures of this company make it difficult for both the employee and the customer. Overall while the hours and pay are wonderful with great flexbility and there is no security so the turn over rate for this company is exceedingly high. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Answering calls to help solve customer problems with prepaid phones
customer service Rep (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJuly 11, 2014
While working with customers to help solve problems and making payments for their phone, I have learned to deal with difficult customers. Friendly co-workers. The most hardest part was to deal with customers that were hard to tell directions but still at the end was still able to solve the problem. The most enjoyable part of the job was to work with – more... my friendly co-workers, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee), Rocky Mount NCJuly 10, 2014
Pros: plenty of over time
Cons: unorganized, unprofessional
take calls and customer complaints, handled customer issues, setup new services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can make extra money
Recovery Associate (Former Employee), Hampton, VAJuly 10, 2014
I was not to impressed with the work atmosphere or the management but the ability to make money in overtime was the appealing part that kept me working there

1 2 3 4 5

About West Corporation

Spoken every day, in every way. To many of the top companies in nearly every industry, West provides the technology and customized – Read more

West Corporation Photos