Find companies:
West Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
713 reviews

West Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job but too many politics
Customer service (Former Employee), Central Saanich BCApril 22, 2014
west was a company that would stand out from the rest but for the most part, not in a good way.

they had it right as far as the wage with the performance based incentive bonuses (something i was a strong supporter of). the downside to that was the bar was set so ridiculously high for the incentives the only people that earned the top bonus were the – more... ones that cheated at their jobs (ie: blind transfers, resetting a clients cell phone knowing they were on it resulting in dropped calls etc, etc).

in my opinion management for the bulk of my time there was a joke but there were a few team leads and supervisors there that could EASILY offset the bad parts. when one would threaten to PIN (performance improvement notice) someone out of their job daily, another would HELP that employee improve their work.

the working in teams aspect of the job was awesome as it would inspire competitiveness and also teamwork at one time resulting in many fun days interacting with co-workers. the people that worked there along side me were awesome and i have made MANY lasting friendships thru West Corp.

On the downside because of their poor management and HR the reputation of the employer soon became well known throughout Victoria. they had gone thru 10,000 employees in the 3 years the location was open and announced it closure here citing "the low exchange rate on the dollar" when anyone who had left there knew it was because they couldnt keep their staff. if it WAS the dollar, they also would have closed the other office they had just opened elsewhere in Canada too, which they didnt.

as i see it the place was average at best and the pros and cons of the job were very balanced. had there not been such power tripping by team leads and underhanded tactics from the head office for west to its employees im sure they would still be around. overall it was a decent place to be all the same – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unpleasant atmosphere and work ethics
Customer Health Care Support Services (Former Employee), kingston, OnJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: gratifying to be able to assist those with diabetes.
Cons: continuous changes in your shift
Management will criticize your every move - three passwords to log in and out required morning, lunch and end of day. You have to send an instant message requesting permission to use the washroom. If you receive a call a minute before your shift ends thus causing overtime, you are sent emails asking why you didn't service that caller quicker yet expect – more... you to have empathy and 110% customer service. The employees take calls before they are trained to do so properly. Very repetitive. If you are taking only Canadian calls in the bilingual sue, sometimes you have to sit and stare at your computer and receive a call every 2 hrs or so. Very stressful, would not recommend working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly technical, energetic workplace atmosphere!
Customer and Technical Service Representative (Former Employee), Victoria, BCDecember 7, 2012
Pros: great training!
Cons: long hours and deductions for bathroom breaks.
Typical day began at 5AM - 2PM. I learned the practice of focus, through logging in and out, including breaks, which was a valuable lesson in efficiency! Management did the very best they could with the huge number of personnel and personalities on the floor. Friendly upbeat co-workers were engaged and always willing to help. We were encouraged through – more... stat performance.
The most difficult part of the job was being 'tethered' to our workspace for the entire time.
Most enjoyable was the incredible training sessions and dealing with the inbound customers! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome co-workers
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), BCAugust 2, 2012
Pros: can get overtime easily if available.
Cons: short lunch break and yelling irate customers.
Come to work on time and log in, begin to take calls, deal with calls and document them.
Learned how to do a team manager's job.
Inconsistent, depending on who you end up under with.
Awesome co-workers and very friendly.
Hardest part is being yelled at for issues that other departments in a huge company are responsible for, so no direct fault of yours.
Most – more... enjoyable part is going home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job with no security
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Reno, NVAugust 17, 2014
Pros: good bonus program
Cons: performance is key 95% would never cut it here
I loved the work the money could have been better but the time you are there there is like a threat of if you don't do well they will fire you in a hot second so it just adds to the stress. My personal team supervisor was one of the most supportive hard working supervisors there but most of the sups are very young and I'm in my mid 20s and some were – more... younger than me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Loves Park, ILAugust 15, 2014
Good Job. Good amount of work and helpful teammates. Enjoyed working for this company for the most part. The job was kind of tedious and was pretty boring but the pay was really good for what you were doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Niles, OHAugust 14, 2014
They work around your schedule as much as they can. The people there are amazing. Great co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very difficult and high stress place
Inside Sales (Former Employee), Reno, NVAugust 13, 2014
Pros: honestly, there really were none
Cons: exceptionally high pressure and no benefits, different bosses would say competely different things, so i never knew what was expected from day to day
I went into work and grabbed a headset and a cubicle and started taking incoming calls. I was to upsell every person that called even though very few were calling to buy the AT&T product. I learned how to sell on the phone and more about the products AT&T sold.
I really enjoyed my co-workers even though every person was under a tremendous amount of – more... stress, we kept each other engaged. The hardest part of the job was trying to meet the matrix which changed sometimes hourly and the fact the call times kept being reduced. Reduced to a point, that by the time you got a potential customer's basic information, you had to end it. No where near enough time to make the sale. The most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers as we all built some great relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment with high energy
Inbound Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), 9910 Maple Street, Omaha NE 68134August 12, 2014
Pros: job opportunities and fast paced environment
Cons: very little organization and lack of cohesiveness
A typical work day consisted of talking to clients, assessing billing issues, capturing the clients commitment to continue services, and achieve customer satisfaction. I learned that there are a number of obstacles involved in business structure as well as the mission of company in relation to meeting the needs of the client. The management team seemed – more... very frantic and disorganized. The overall culture of the business environment seemed to weigh heavily on the co-workers. The hardest part of the job seemed to be the cohesiveness of the group. The most enjoyable part of the job was the full time employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal issues
CCP (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALAugust 12, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
To be a company that does customer services, they have too many internal issues when it comes to management and staff interacting with the people on the phones
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast paced
Customer Service (Former Employee), Spokane, WAAugust 11, 2014
Cons: no advancement
A typical day included getting plugged into your slot. Getting on the phone immediately. I learned what a call center job was like, I never worked at one before. The management was good overall. The co-workers were great, we kept together, helped each other as needed. There were no hard parts of the job, it was pretty easy. The most enjoyable was the – more... independence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love It
Human Resource Assistant (Current Employee), Rocky Mount,NCAugust 11, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: n a
Love the enviroment and people that I work with in human resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love It
Human Resource Assistant (Current Employee), Rocky Mount,NCAugust 11, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: n a
Love the enviroment and people that I work with in human resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West review
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Niles, OHAugust 11, 2014
Pros: people, job over view
Cons: hours
took calls for at&t help customers with trouble shooting. Is a great place if you get a good schedule such as mornings the night schedules drag.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Niles, OHAugust 10, 2014
Pros: easy schedule management, helpful management team
Cons: not all the rules are clearly spelled out, repetitive
One of the first things you learn at West is how to multitask between listening to the customer for helpful words to resolve their issue, responding to them and working through the computer to get where you need to. The Team Leads are usually more than willing to help if you have a question or come across a problem.
Because it's a call center you can – more... expect a great deal of repetitiveness. If you've taken one payment you've taken them all and the flow of calls isn't all that different throughout your work shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALAugust 9, 2014
Pros: multi cultural
Cons: extended shifts
A day at West is very fast pace. The information changes while working line groups. I have learned that people in certain fields have a love for their product. Management always equip everyone with the information that is needed to produce daily. Co workers come to work with a must do will. The hardest part of the day is when information isnt available – more... to do your job. The best part of the day is when you are used by staff to complete tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee), Universal City, TXAugust 9, 2014
Far commute and micro mnage bad place to work..............................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not for everyone
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), New YorkAugust 8, 2014
I have nothing positive or negative to say. when management changes, sometimes the employees change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee), Wausau, WIAugust 6, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prescriptions
CARE/TECHNICAL ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCAugust 5, 2014
Pros: pay is good
I enjoyed answering calls helping customers with their mail order prescriptions. I learned about different types of medications.

1 2 3 4 5

About West Corporation

Spoken every day, in every way. To many of the top companies in nearly every industry, West provides the technology and customized – Read more

West Corporation Photos