WESCO International Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 April 2017
Great physical work. great way to make friends and the people are friendly. over all I had a great time working there but it was time for me to move so I had to let the job go
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like Drama, Wesco Saskatoon has it for you. Management has no clue.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK28 February 2017
If you work in the warehouse, its always your fault. There is no support from management. Run run run run run.........................................away
Pros
Mon- friday
Cons
Drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked there for 35 years
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 February 2017
a typical day at work when I left was dealing with customers at the front counter and product training is ongoing. management was friendly and workplace culture to me seemed like its not what you know, its who you know. the hardest part of the job was leaving after 35 years and the most enjoyable were the benefits I gained over the years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary and benefits
Warehouse Associate-Shipper Receiver (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 February 2017
It can be a fast paced work environment but there is a good support network from fellow staff and management.
All necessary training on internal operating system to safety to forklift is provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace culture
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON21 January 2017
I Have not experienced such a lack of professionalism and management in a workplace since my days working in odd jobs for college.
No direction or structure to the workplace. Everybody just does their own thing, so good luck if you're new. I ended up having a good contact in another Wesco branch that I could rely on if I needed to know something. Asking anyone in the office was an exercise in futility.
High turnover and many stories of past employees being let go or just leaving. Luckily, I have a good sense of humour and found the whole experience somewhat amusing. Comforting to know that Wesco keeps all their idiots assembled in one branch.
Pros
Not there anymore
Cons
Hostile employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and alot of good times.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 September 2016
It is a fast pace job and a place you can grow within the company. Sometimes you have to make choices and think outside the box and you are able to work as a team to accomplish the task you are given.
Pros
positive input from your supervisors and upper management.
Cons
If you don't work hard you fail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 September 2016
Good organization with a decent culture. Being a private company has its challenges and general Wesco does well. American versus Canadian culture can be a challenge but the Canadian team does a good job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like challenge
Warehouse Receiver (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 July 2016
It's too bad the economy is tanking, I really liked working for WESCO.

Management actually appeared to care about what was going on.

I would arrive, clean up whatever I couldn't do the previous day, then do cycle counts. When cycle counts were done, typically that's when stock would come in. I'd do that, then process A/H tickets, pick tickets, then put away stock, and clean up if I had time.

I would also assist in measuring and cutting cable and wire if need be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 July 2016
Wesco was a good workplace to work for with great people who help out, which was good because there isn't much for training.
Pros
hour lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team
Project Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 July 2016
Good local team. Bad corporate decisions. Great benefits, salary is decent. Lack of skilled employees and layoffs make it harder to do your own job.
Pros
good team
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport

Want to know more about WESCO International?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncertainty of Tenure
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 June 2016
The day starts with answering emails and review status of current projects documentation submittals and deliveries

I have learn valuable use of product knowledge in problem solving and project coordination.

Most enjoyable part and hardest of the job is problem solving needs from claims resolution, documentation, submittal reviews.
Pros
I have learned to work independently and develop my own system of online collaboration.
Cons
Lack of rewards, recognition and appreciation for efforts. Too much micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Inventory Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 May 2016
Process orientated company. I learned about inventory management and software. I had good people there, those always ready to support and help you.
Pros
Systematic and process orientated
Cons
limited growth options
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remplacement de maternité et je n'aurais pas fait plus longremps.
Commis-Comptable - Réceptionniste (Former Employee) –  Ville St Laurent, QC29 March 2016
La direction était de mauvaise foie, aucune flexibilité travail-famille. Le respect des employés n'était pas très bonne.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Unit consolidation
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 January 2016
Worked on business unit consolidation. Included daily accounting functions. dealing with vendors, customer and sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Directeur de site (Former Employee) –  Saguenay4 September 2015
I loved worked with Wesco, unfortunatly, the lost the contract with big Customer in my area

I recomend freind to work at Wesco
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
A Worker (Former Employee) –  Canada13 May 2015
When you have some kid who is high on his ego running the place, doesn't respect anyone who isn't making more than he is, there is no respect.

Don't expect to advance to another role unless someone leaves.

Fortune 500 company that doesn't know how to treat their employees well. Other companies have things like free lunch on Friday or 50% off that the company covers, but not this company. They are too cheap for that.

Also, they don't do really care about the community. No community involvement, they love to keep every penny.

Also expect to pay for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People to work with
Office Administration (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC27 April 2015
Busy days and always learning new things.
Not too stressful
Co-workers are fun
Best part of the job is learning and advancing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Langley, B.C.10 December 2014
It was a great place to start your working experience. They were patient and helpful. It was great family of co-workers. I have learnt a lot of valuable things.
Pros
good experience, great company to work for
Cons
They have promised contract and they failed to comply with their promises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff work moral, after work activities always
Accounts Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 November 2014
Great company and people to work with. The job requirements were great . Compensations was always going to be the main complain, however because of the varying dimensions of this job and the interesting aspects of it it was worth all of my efforts and commitments. It was mainly a out of the office job most times , requiring a lot of travel to various locations. It provided me with the ability of share my own ideas, recommendation and abilities at these locations. Its always a good feeling when your own ideas and recommendations are adopted by these stores and helps to save the company and protect both staff and customers. Whether it is an audit check or the regular inventory counts
Pros
freedom to roam, not office bond
Cons
Long hours and weekendless most times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very demanding place to work
Accounting / Purchaser (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK1 May 2014
Typical day at work consists of:

Doing all the accounting, paying payables, doing the nightly cash out, making purchase orders or sales staff, doing inventory, tracking down product that was purchased, helping customer with billing problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WESCO International. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 269 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9

WESCO International Reviews by Location