Find companies:
Welch Allyn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Welch Allyn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Credit Analyst/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Skaneateles, NYApril 6, 2014
Great people, advancement, good benefits, a gym!!! Busy work days
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Team Work
Software Test and Validation Engineer (Former Employee), Skaneateles Falls, NYMarch 13, 2014
Pros: team work
I was placed into the testing team and working with my team everyday for a year was a great experience. It really opened me up to group work. Management for the most part kept us busy with tasks, but when there were no official tasks to be done, we performed adhoc testing or lab maintenance. The culture was pretty relaxed, but still demanded you to – more... complete work in an appropriate amount of time. Overall, it was a very good experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Embedded Software Engineer (Current Employee), Skaneateles, NYMarch 3, 2014
Excellent co-workers, good fitness club and fun activities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Privatly owened family company
Technician III / Department Maint. Coord. (Former Employee), San Diego, CA , Skaneateles Falls, NY.February 28, 2014
Pros: new gym & lunch room. nice bonus at the end of the year. supports education.
Cons: moving to many jobs to mexico.
Attended daily department morning market meeting. Prioritize work schedules and assign task. Performed daily Calibration and Preventive Maintenance on department equipment. Maintained and updated master spread sheet for PM's, Conducted evaluations, repairs, and overhauls on customer’s equipment and automated testers to ensure proper operation. Covered – more... as Supervisor when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Operator
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Skaneatles, NYFebruary 16, 2014
Did not enjoy this job. It was very difficult cuz the machines always kept breaking down and it slowed down my progress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Manufacturing Operator II (Former Employee), Skaneateles Falls, NYJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: benefits, enjoyed the job
Cons: need to move away from manufacturing and go to administrative and they do not have part time work
I assembled medical products, packaged them, shipped them, trained Kelly Service And CPS employees to do the jobs I was proficient in. I helped with Kaizens and engineer builds. I interacted with process changes and help pass FDA audits. I was successful at Quality and effective in time management. I illustrated great communication skills and am a flexible – more... co-worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and motivate place
Customer Service Rep for Latin-American (Former Employee), Doral, FLDecember 11, 2013
A typical day on Welch Allyn start with meetings with the Sales Rep, then meeting with the Team, and the rest of the day working and contact with the customer all the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Manufacturing Operator II (Former Employee), Beaverton oregonNovember 5, 2013
Great company to work for. Wonderful people. Atmosphere is nice and great supervisiors
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lay Offs, Low Pay, No Advancement
Production Worker, Kelly Temp (Former Employee), Skaneateles, NYNovember 4, 2013
Pros: out of work by 3 pm
Cons: management, lay offs, backstabbing coworkers
For a reputable company like Welch Allyn, they are one of the lowest paying entry level factory jobs around. They work with employment agencies and you can only work 11 month stretches at a time then must take a mandatory 3 month lay off. However, most of us don't make it 11 months before a layoff occurs.

Top officials do not forecast the future very – more... well. We were told how we were going to have job security and overtime opportunities for the next three months and two weeks later, we were told the future was grim and layoffs were likely to occur soon. And they did.

When you are a production worker at Welch Allyn, you are subjected to wearing a "blue coat". All non-production workers do not wear a coat. At breaktime, we go to the same cafeteria and stand in the same line to order food. The "no-coats" ignore the coat-wearing workers, budge in line, and treat them like they do not exist.

The work, itself, came in varying levels of difficulty. Either it was 8 hours of putting three screws in a bag and sealing it, or running one of the positions on the line that took days/weeks to learn and master. Some supervisors expected unreasonable amounts of output.

There is a lot of back-stabbing that takes place among the factory workers. There is a definite disconnect between the temp workers and the WA employees. It's cut-throat to save your job. Everyone is related to someone, it's best you don't speak at all to anyone. I have not felt so low about myself and my place of employment in my entire life. It is worse than being in an over-managed high school full of rules, ridiculous regulations, and video surveillance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High tech but relaxed environment
Assembler and testing (Former Employee), Beaverton, OROctober 19, 2013
Had to be on my feet a lot but everyone was great to work with. fast paced assembly, lean manufacturing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and people!
Customer Service Trainer (Former Employee), Beaverton, ORSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: people and helping out in the local community
Cons: company downsizing
What I liked best about working at Welch Allyn was the people and business culture. Good benefits and pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean place to work,friendly and fun place to work as well.
Medical Device Assembler (Former Employee), Auburn, NYJuly 28, 2013
Pros: paid lunch
Cons: no smoking on their property
I loved working at Welch Allyn. I was a temp. so I was laid off or would have continued working there. Everyone was nice and helpful until I got to know what I was doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welch Allyn is a well respected company in the global medical industry
Director, Employee Relations (Former Employee), Skaneateles, New YorkJuly 23, 2013
Pros: positive employee relations environment and a dedicated work force
Cons: minimal
The Company is privately held and strives to maintain the personal touch while recognizing the challenges of competing in a rapidly changing industry. The Company is fortunate to have a dedicated work force who will assure the company will be successful in the coming years
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lay offs
Shipper (Former Employee), Skaneateles, NYApril 28, 2013
Most of the employees are temps and layoffs are frequent. The supervisor lied and said that no one would be laid off then two weeks later at least half a dozen of us were laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
manufaturing (Former Employee), Skaneateles, NYMarch 12, 2013
got boring sitting in one place for 8 hours straight, but have wounderful co-workers made it more exciting to go to work. very clean. the most hardest part of the job was to make sure the machine was at the lright messurement. the most enjoyable part of work was doing the accual work i was assigned to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Serving as Quality Engineer (Current Employee), Beaverton, ORDecember 26, 2012
A typical day at work is about 9-10 hours. I learn a lot about Lean process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Machine Operator II (Former Employee), cuff fabricationNovember 29, 2012
Pros: free coffee or juice before start of shift
Cons: short breaks
very fast paced in some departments, good people to work with, good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Warehouse lead in building 1 &2 (Former Employee), Skaneateles Falls, NYAugust 8, 2012
Pros: example: free lunches, etc.
Cons: example: short breaks, healthcare, etc.
The company started out as Trimline Medical in Branchburg, NJ which was bought by Welch Allyn, so my entire experience was with Trimline and was very dissapointed in the sale. I learned quit a bit to help another company in my experience in safety and machine operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work, and to have fun too.
Sales Account Representative (Former Employee), Skaneateles Falls, NYJuly 27, 2012
Pros: great benefits, great pay, excellent opportunites for growth
Cons: too many mergers, got too big, lost personal touch with employees.
Very good place to work, and to have fun too. Cutting edge products, and excellent customer focus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Sr. Global Quality System Manager (Current Employee), Skaneateles, NYJuly 1, 2012
Pros: excellent company
Cons: location
• Developed and implemented regulatory affairs and quality assurance strategies, programs, and compliance
• Trained staff and provided operational consulting to general management
• Built effective relationships with FDA
• Competently prepared and submitted a PMA and several 510 (k)’s
• Translated technical information and presented it in a manner that – more... is easy to understand
• Developed CAPA, complaint, and nonconformance systems that encompass risk techniques (FMEA and FTA)
• Developed design control system that enables the company to expedite product to market
• Developed an in-house internal auditing program to ensure regulatory compliance
• Executed an electronic oral complaint tracking system
• Successfully set up a class 10,000 clean room to meet the environmental requirements for an implantable device
• Prepared and presented to the FDA the DMR for the company.
• Analyzed and implemented contractual obligations pertaining to regulatory requirements, international and domestic
• Ensured the adequacy of equipment and process validation requirements for sterilization
• Coordinated Calibration and Maintenance program
• Put into operation a system that monitors products and processes for compliance, documentation and performance
• Advised senior management pertaining to proposed and newly finalized regulations and legislation
• Developed and performed shelf life testing for the company’s products – less

About Welch Allyn

Headquartered in Skaneateles Falls, N.Y., Welch Allyn is a privately-held, global manufacturer of innovative medical diagnostic – Read more