Weatherford Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Senior Supervisor (Former Employee) –  West Virginia13 March 2016
Really good company to work for. Looks after there worker and makes sure there worker are well trained and informed about work related information.
Pros
excellent equipment
Cons
lack of management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Field Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 March 2016
The day usually starts off with a meeting reviewing the details of the previous shift after which a walk round is done to make sure all equipment's are in good working order. During the day, maintenance on equipment's are done as necessary.

During the job, i learn to be time conscious and also pay attention to details. the co-workers are very helpful and they do not hesitate to answer or ask questions if need be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Rod Pump Technician (Former Employee) –  Estevan, SK8 March 2016
Weatherford was probably one of the best jobs I had,
Unfortunately due to unforeseeable circumstances I had to cancel employment with the company as there was no positions available where I had to relocate.
Pros
free lunches, excellent pay, great co workers and management, Great benefits
Cons
Long hours, Had to work weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to make new wiring diagrams for each customer we had and then teach other employees
Engine Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB8 March 2016
We were a new design setup, each customer had there on setup for what they wanted on there engines and what they wanted for the field.
Pros
Easy to deal with magangement
Cons
Not much room for advancement, was older than the management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB10 February 2016
Very busy work place, competent co-workers, friendly staff. Revenue driven by shareholders but very little appreciation shown toward hard working people.
Pros
Company bonding
Cons
Old building
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competetive salary, great benefits, little appreciation
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB10 February 2016
Management support is lacking in some areas, co-workers were good for the most part but too much belittling happens behind the scenes making working together impossible.
Overall a good company if you enjoy working for a larger corporation which is global.
Pros
Excellent working hours
Cons
No appreciation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salaries, safety orientated and a good place to work
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 February 2016
In general a good place to work. as a Millwright a typical day I will check that everything is working properly, check for work orders and apply maintenance and repairs to what is needed, good people as co-workers and management.
Pros
Great salaries, safety orientated and a good place to work
Cons
dealing whit the up's and down's of the oil prices affecting job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group
Drilling Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 January 2016
This was a fun company to work for, with a great team.
I learned how to design well plans for many different well types.
It was a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer County, AB16 January 2016
worked there for 5 years got passed up for a promotion 4 of those five years to people who were hired long after i had worked there, only reason was my manager said i was to young for the position. Even though eveyone else in the shop vouched for me saying i was better at the job than anyone else. lowest paying wireline company compared to any other employees from other companies i talked to. no loyalty all you are is just a number to them. no issues laying off people the first sign of work slowing down.
Pros
one time they gave us a safeway gift card for christmas.
Cons
horrible managers, worn down equipment, talk a big safety game but as soon as its expensive or inconvienent safety goes away really fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 January 2016
Management was awesome, great people to work with. The salary and benefits were amazing. And the support I got when I had family illnesses was amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report

Want to know more about Weatherford?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
MWD Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Various locations8 January 2016
Productive and fun place to work. Get to see a lot of different places. The hardest part of the job is being away from home almost always.
Pros
Can make lots of money
Cons
Long hours. Always away from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with great people
Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 January 2016
I have worked most of career for Weatherford and i found great friends and experience from this company. The company allowed me to do many different jobs in various fields and allowed me to see parts of the world I never expected to see.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They'll Run you to your bones
Wireline Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Estevan, SK26 December 2015
Crooked company proven to be corrupted
Only focused on investors
They'll expect you to be able to work after days without sleep
They'll never take responsibility on their actions
I fired the company for their low ethics and profesionalism
Pros
Good mates
Cons
Money
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst wireline manager in the oil patch, hands down.
Former field employee (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB11 December 2015
Open hole manager only likes and plays favorites to whomever laughs at his humor. Has faithfull followers but they do it to keep their jobs not out of respect or honour. Old manager should of never left, current one is an incompetent clown.
Pros
N/a
Cons
OH Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. great guys to work with
Shop technician (Former Employee) –  AB26 November 2015
service drill equipment ,put tools away, unload and return tools from customers. Fill orders keep the shop clean. pick up parts do a bit of welding some days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 years in the bush
Operator (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB19 November 2015
i worked for 3 years straight for this company, i knew before hand that the oil and gas industry was going to take a hit so i switched it up a little bit so i could actually have relations with my girlfriend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Salary but poor leadership
HR (Former Employee) –  Alberta16 November 2015
Salary was competitive but the work environment was poor. Management not concerned with development of non-managerial employees.
Policies and procedures not documented well.
Very few team building events
Poor communication
Pros
Salary
Cons
Benefits, Uninterested Management, Poor documentation of Policies and Procedures, Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn.
Senior Applications Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 November 2015
Great place to work if you are new in the industry and a great opportunity to learn. Politics is relatively high. Salary is not competitive although benefits packages are decent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place...
Blend/Production/QHSE Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2015
Can't really say much since the place shut down.The workers were horrible and the boss ain't nice.No free lunches either.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Evil employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was drilling atmosphere
Directional drilling superviser (Former Employee) –  Western Canada22 October 2015
Its good when it's good and horrible when it's bad.Good benefits, unreliable work. No appreciation for a good job and when work got slow they would let you go based on numbers not performance.
Pros
paid KM
Cons
unconsistant work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Weatherford. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,719 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7