Weatherford Employee Reviews

Found 95 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Dead-End Job
Apprentice mechanic (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB22 February 2017
Workplace was noisy, dirty and dangerous; no regard given to worker safety. Shift supervisor spent all day on his Blackberry, occasionally arriving to ask, "Are you done yet?" Co-worker allegiances are very necessary to survive in this disorganized jungle. Very easy to get injured. Changing room facility is cramped and dirty. Distrust of low-level employees by management. No opportunity for advancement.
Pros
No overtime hours required
Cons
No praise offered, ever
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to hang your hat.
Plant Manufacturing Manager/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2016
This oil company is not stable at this time. Management is fickle and can not be counted on during tough economic conditions. Stay away from this company.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Unreliable
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and Machine Operator
Production Technician 1 (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 October 2016
Continuously Learning
Right on Time
Present of mind before hand
Safety (JHA,L.O.T.O, WHMIS,Toolbox meeting)
Co-workers are nice and friendly
The most enjoyable part of my job is, I perfectly made my production in good quality as our customer wanted for the products.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor business culture.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Canada, Alberta16 June 2016
The environment is very disorganized and quite mismanaged. The majority of management lacks basic understanding of values of business processes. Politically challenged environment. Poor business culture. All major decisions are driven by politics and careers. "The ladder is very crowded" at the top. Teams at the bottom of the "food chain" are pleasure to work with. A lot of talented people.
Pros
Good Benefits. There are many tallented people
Cons
Politcally challenged and is not looking forward environment. Mismanaged.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Rig asstante (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB20 August 2016
Worked there for 12 years excletent place too wor great safety culture.fast past willing to learn and corporate with others.willing to work in remote areas with out supervision
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Slow on work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyday learning with great people
Inventory/Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB & Gibbons, AB4 January 2017
i have been lucky to have great managers that helped me learn and continued to challenge me.
going to work was not a chore, i enjoyed my time with Weatherford learning new skills and seeing different application's of the industry.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
allways under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Training
Global Training and Development (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 February 2017
Very good onboarding program; Competency Training was a key aspect along with an excellent safety record. Unfortunately, upper management was lacking or unable to overcome the massive growth thereby assuming a very large debt that will be their undoing.
Pros
Good Training
Cons
This industry moves with the tides, up and down.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun loving team
Software Tester/Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 May 2016
Challenging work along with fun. The team was so helpful. Learned better way of doing things. Company was awesome. Good salary and benefits. The management understood their employees values and problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and new
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB7 April 2016
Good company to work for. very freindly good benefits. not one complaint about weatherford at all. when the oil was doing good all the hours you could ask for. i learned a lot of new things that i never thought i would learn in my life.
Pros
free lunches and benifits
Cons
when oil was good super long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and good place to work.
Journeyman Machinist (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB6 October 2016
Worked for Weatherford for 14 years. Changed so many locations to work with in Weatherford in 14 years. Learnt so much and got a really good experience being a lead hand and supervisor. Management in the end of my period was not good. I enjoyed working here a lot when I had good and friendly management and bosses.
Pros
Free lunches. Safety rewards
Cons
Poor management in year 2013-2014
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a big company
Engineering Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 March 2017
As it is common knowledge that a lot of politics is involved in the mechanisms in such big organizations. As such the challenges are large in numbers and highly divers so luck plays a major role
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a nice clean place to work
cnc operaror (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 December 2016
wok days were good learned many different jobs and processes over the 16 years management changed to often the hardest part off the job was nowing what the new management wanted
Pros
good benenfits
Cons
management changes
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good company but been away 10 years so a lot has changed
Regional Manager (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB27 February 2017
was a fast growing company that was exciting to be part of.
they have had lots of changes in last 10 years and what I know about it now is only through media and heresy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to be and to work for
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 October 2016
In my previous company called weatheford i worked as a machinist, i learned a lot of different things in machining area as well as fabrication. The management was awesome a great way managing stuff , the co-workers were more friendly like a family and it was an honour to work for weatherford canada.
Pros
NO
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with exeptional benifit program
Service Labourer (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie17 August 2015
Very safety orientated company with low acceptance of hazardous employees. Pay was more than reasonable. Medical was very easy to deal with. Most shops allowed a family orientated life style. Management on a large scale seems poor and quick to react to failures in a employee negative way. Too many times in a year were employees asked what the company could to do improve and it appeared as though their comments or concerns were ignored or swept away. Shop manegemnt was organized and fair more often than not. Overall with the right coworkers it was an enjoyable atmosphere to work in and if something seemed unsafe or could be done more efficient your concerns were brought up prompt.
Pros
Great benifits, safety concious
Cons
lack of higher organization
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greta company
Production Control Group Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 December 2016
Weatherford provided me with the ability to learn and gain knowledge in many different areas within the company in order to succeed in my roles. The day to day work loads were managed and completed within a team environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned so much from this job in the 4 years I was there.
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB29 December 2016
A very awesome place to work everyone was there to help you if needed. Loved going to work there.Learned so much from this job in the 4 years I was there.
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Salary but poor leadership
HR (Former Employee) –  Alberta16 November 2015
Salary was competitive but the work environment was poor. Management not concerned with development of non-managerial employees.
Policies and procedures not documented well.
Very few team building events
Poor communication
Pros
Salary
Cons
Benefits, Uninterested Management, Poor documentation of Policies and Procedures, Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management team!
Field Sales and Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB16 June 2016
Some short days, and some really long days. You could go out in the morning, release a packer, and be home by noon. Other days you go out on a Monday and return on a Wednesday with no sleep. Hardest part of the job would be long strenuous hours, however on the flip side you could be out on location for a day before you were even needed. Great group of people in both the field and the office.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Long hours, and stressful work at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Service Coordinator
Technical Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 April 2014
This was my first job in the Drilling Industry. I really enjoyed the exposure to new technology and challenges to maintain good client relations. I learned a lot about mechanical, hydraulic and motion control systems. The work environment was great. While there were challenges between different departments everyone worked together to solve the challenges of the company. The hardest part of the job was troubleshooting equipment failures (this was also one of the most enjoyable parts of the job). Extremely long hours in remote locations with not overtime compensation. With Electrical, Mechanical, Control System, Hydraulic, Programming and Telecommunication all wrapped up into on piece of equipment. The experience I gained from the troubleshooting was impeccable.
Pros
Troubleshooting
Cons
long hours and no overtime compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes26No10Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Weatherford. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,433 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6