Wawanesa Insurance Employee Reviews

Found 43 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suitable workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 May 2017
Suitable workplace for beginners starting out their career. Continual training is provided, and they have a casual workplace with opportunity for fun bonding activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace for steady career
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 May 2017
I found Wawanesa to be a good employer, company culture is good, management is helpful. No extra hours work required.
Catastrophe season could be stressful, wish they had more staff. But due to nature of industry there are always people leaving.

Lots of changes happen and sometimes you are confused about the correct processes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Movement
Inside Claims Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 April 2017
Currently there is not a lot of chances for movement up to other positions.

The pay is good for the amount of work that is excepted from you.

They have great benefits and have a good work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telephone claims adjuster
Auto Telephone Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 February 2017
Great company to work with
Benefits were amazing
Management made for a great work environment
Employee appreciation was key and was great for moral
Great team work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with great people
Liability Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 November 2016
I learned all of my insurance experience at Wawanesa, so I'm thankful to them for that. The company was very good to their employees and made a lot of friends that I still see.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Accountant 1 (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 August 2016
Best place to work
I am glad and blessed to work here. I like everything the company offers. From salary, hours, co-workers to job it self.

The bad thing is just the location. I have to take the bus to work
Pros
flexibility
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent mentoring and employee benifits
Intermediate Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge Alberta10 August 2016
Wawanesa Insurance is a very good company to grow in with an insurance career. I was sad to leave however I had to relocate across the country.
Pros
Pot luck lunches, Summer BBQ's, Employee Games days
Cons
TIme management when a Catastrophe happens
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Application Developer II (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 July 2016
Every day is very stressfull due to tight project schedule. I have to do self study for new software. I have learned lot of new programming language because of new training provided. Some of co-worker always discriminate me. The most enjoyable part of my job is learning new things everyday.
Pros
Learn a lot about IT
Cons
Long hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was poor
Telephone Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 June 2016
It was a great company overall. Training was not enough because I wanted to learn more about the position before I start. Management was very poor also and that is why most people quit.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Inspiring
Claims Adjuster Automobile (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 June 2016
Would recommend to anyone who is seeking a career in insurance to work at Wawawanesa. Great staff and learned so much. Surrounded by very knowledgable and supporting staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Work Environment
Auto Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Calgary5 January 2016
- Unrealistic expectations
- Poor Morale
- Poor Management
- Unable to discuss problems with HR, no support
- No socialization allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent work experience
Personal Lines Underwriter (Former Employee) –  North York, ON15 August 2015
Working for Wawanesa Mutual has been wonderful. The only reason I am considering leaving the company is to relocate to the Grey-Bruce area to be near family and live in a new area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A confused and confounded business model
IS Support (Former Employee) –  Winnpeg22 June 2015
Management doesn't know what they want and don't want to hear where there is a problem. To voice a problem is to admit there is one. There are no problems... say it over and over again to yourself and you will be fine at this company.

Be prepared to tell your manager in 20 pages or more every year why they should not fire you. It is a requirement to justify your existence. Be prepared for your manager to come up with a reason why they should fire you and surprise you with that on your annual review. What the manager says in your review can not be challenged.

There will be no training. No accolades for a job well done. You will always be "meeting expectations" and any increase in pay will be 1-3% of what you are making at start up. Be cheerful with that and thank your manager profusely.
Cons
Management scare tactics
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, Too Much Office Politics,
Senior Support Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 June 2015
Poor Management, too much politics, clicks, .
Busy days at work, hardest part of job was the politics couldn't trust anyone to much back stabbing to get up in the company. I enjoyed my pay cheque every two weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you don't care, work in this department
Information Services (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg Corporate18 May 2015
Management in IS is only concerned with their pet projects, not the rest of the company. As an insurer, one would think that the day to day operations of the company would be paramount, but this isn't so. It's all about making management look good and not about the clients, brokers, underwriters or adjusters. You are not allowed to escalate problems to other management (those that are affected by the failure of the systems) and are required to lie to various stake holders. Basically if you can suck up and don't care about the quality of work you do and have the capability to lie to the CEO on down, you'll fit right in.
Pros
Education, Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and busy environment
Senior Claims Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 March 2015
- Inputting claims into claim centre
- attaching documents to claims
- processing payments
- learned how to use Excel
- Pleasant and helpful co-worker
Pros
Free activites for employees twice a year
Cons
Insufficent personal days
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Tight-knit Company
HUMAN RESOURCES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 March 2015
I complete projects for the HR manager, to prepare for audits, and to keep electronic copies of records. I find missing information in employee files and complete all employee files.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wawanesa was a great company to work for when I was there.
Executive Assistant to the President and CEO (Former Employee) –  191 Broadway, Winnipeg14 December 2014
I retired from Wawanesa in October, 2013 after a very reward career of 17 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance
Insurance Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 November 2014
Contact center environment
• Verify and code new auto policies
• Process various endorsements
• Assist brokers with policy inquires and policy changes
• Apply payments
Pros
hours
Cons
Distance from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company - Needs To Modernize
Property Claims Adjuster I (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 November 2014
Decent company to work for with good benefits and hours, however company does need to modernize to be competitive with other insurers. Often caseloads are unreasonable and the time given to complete files was not even realistic. Very very poor training methods, for the most part is up to the adjuster to research on there own what is required of them .
Pros
Benefits, Hours
Cons
Long Hours with no pay due to salary, company only offers overtime to attend claims, not to complete paperwork which is the real time consumer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wawanesa Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 78 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

72%
22 ratings
Add your rating