Find companies:
WATCO COMPANIES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

WATCO COMPANIES Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
EHS Coordinator (Former Employee), All overSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: no room for your ideas, must be a robot and not expect anything to get done
Cons: the operators for the most part are great
Typical days at work are ruled by what the customers want from you. Management never makes their own decisions about anything. I have learned that being a contractor is not a good position to be in and will never take a job like this again. Management is a joke but the operators for the most part are great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management and if i could rate in the negative i would
Crewleader/Switchman/Engineer (Former Employee), Pasadena, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: steady work
Cons: management and politics/racism
the management never came around except on payday and was only favorable to people of same skin color. when i put my two weeks notice in and was very professional the same was not given to me. i was constantly harrassed and berated based on skin color and because i was not in the "click" of friends with management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, but difficult and inexperienced management
OPERATOR (Current Employee), Fryburg, NDAugust 1, 2014
Pros: good hourly wage, health and dental insurance is excellent
Cons: management does not take responsibility when they should
Loading crude oil into tank cars is fairly easy work, compared to other oilfield jobs.
Pay is excellent, but management is inexperienced and there is an 'inner circle' of favorites that have existed since the place opened.
Supervisors are picked from among these people, and then their friends fill the rosters and are allowed preferential access to other – more... jobs or responsibilities.
Sounds like a typical workplace, but Watco at Fryburg is already at 63% turnover for the year and will hit 100% by end of year, according to corporate.
They think that there is no legitimate reason to leave this job; and that something is wrong with every one of them who has. They are "just quitters".
Watco just keeps replacing employees,
some good ones, some not so good- It doesn't matter who it is or why... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorry place to work
operator (Former Employee), Houston tx greensportMarch 8, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: sorry bunch of individuals
Stay away that's all I have to stay a bunch of lazy people wanting you to do all of the work why they sit down and watch they have a long way to go
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
car insp
Car Inspector (Current Employee), east peoria ilOctober 8, 2013
Pros: employment
Cons: contract is expired
walk and repair rail cars weld certified safety is always important co workers are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideas are good, not practiced
Accounting (Current Employee), Pittsburg, KSJune 11, 2013
Pros: able to come and go when necessary
Cons: pay
The ideas and philosophies of this company are good but they are not put into practice as needed. Management is not well within this company. Secrets are kept and it's all on the "buddy-buddy" system for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in all a great company to work for. Strong in customer service and safety.
Conductor,Engineer,Trainmaster (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 2, 2012
Pros: family based company
Cons: poor management at some locations
Typical Day at Work: Something new everyday.

What I Learned: I've learned meany things at Watco. Customer service,Safety,Team Leadership.

Management: There is no support from upper management.

Coworkers: A great group of guys to work with.

Hardest part of the job: Having to deal with managers that did not have an open mind or listen to there team – more... members.

Most enjoyable part of the job: Working with all the great customers and team members. – less

October 30, 2012

bad ,trainmaster has his brother working as a conductor,.the G M has his son working as a conductor different last names ,they say they are a safty oreinted co. i was dischared after i took a train that was out of complaince ( 9 emptys ahead of more than 5,500ton of loads ) told my eighteen yr. old conductor who did not catch it but then called the asst GM who said under no circumstance put it into complance, fearful for my job i did as instructed.got it to destination derailed 2 wheels on a frog moved 450ft was discharged i had some other write ups as well but were unjust, trainmaster derailed while operating a train whithout conductor and dragged cars over 8 miles no displine, another engineer did same while speeding ten mph over limit dragging cars 9 miles 15 days off but still working................ if you have no other options and dont mind unsafe operating pratice this is the place . oh i do have doc.backing my statements

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Western RegionMarch 27, 2012
Pros: positive culture
Positive team member culture. Always someone to help or answer questions.

January 27, 2013

watco companies are ran by a bunch unprofessional young adults who no experience in railroading.

About WATCO COMPANIES

Watco Companies (WCI) offers a wide-range of railcar services. Subsidiary Watco Transportation Services (WTS) runs 20-plus short-line – Read more