Find companies:
Waste Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
983 reviews

Waste Management Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees are disposable
Driver (Former Employee), Northwest, PAJuly 23, 2014
Cons: everything
management is marginal,long hours for low pay.HR is a nightmare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair
Mechanic (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLJuly 22, 2014
long hours. hazardous conditions. learned principle of hydraulic systems. stressful at times. co workers were very knowledgeable .hardest part of job was biological hazards. enjoyed the family type environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people were great, the pay was better than others in the industry
Inside Sales (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 22, 2014
Pros: good pay, were somewhat considerate of employee's time away from work or when necessary to be away.
Cons: the percentage of health benefits the company paid declined, wall st made them greedy.
The corporate headquarters may have well been down a few blocks from Wall St. Although that is the job of the upper management to increase the worth of the stock for the stock holders many of us feel they had no problems sacrificing some to please Wall St investors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Field Engineer (Current Employee), Minden, LAJuly 21, 2014
A typical day included the oversight of construction related activities while constructing landfill cells.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very productive work place. It was so productive it could almost run itself
Lead driver (Former Employee), Pine Bluff, ARJuly 21, 2014
Pros: off almost every weekend and major holidays
Cons: make up for being off on holidays by working on weekends
Work day starts at 5:30 am. We receive a route sheet for the route that is to be completed that day. We have meetings regarding issues from the day before. 6:00 am we pre-trip our trucks. 6:15 we leave the site yard and start the trip to our routes. Cutoff time is when ever we finish. We go to the landfills and dump our trucks. We drive back to the – more... site to post trip and park our truck. We complete all paper work from DVIR book to route sheet. Then we turn these in to our dispatch. We clock out. At this job I've learn leadership skills and how to solve and fix problems. I've learned that some times i may have to pick up where other fail for the greater good of the company.
That is what being a lead/swing driver was about, picking up the slack where co-workers fail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very employee oriented
Plant Manager (Former Employee), Hadley, MAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: employee safety was # 1
Cons: pricing seemed higher than competitors.
Waste Management gave me the all the tools needed to do improvements and run the recycling facility the best it could be operated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste management was a good place at one time san antonio texas
Driver (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 19, 2014
Pros: nothing management sucks
Cons: nothing they are the cons
I work for wm for 3 yrs and when I started it was great then they started this new sdo wanting you to do everything military style. Then they went from being paid by the load to hourly wage they said they would go off your yearly gross but that was not the case they went off your net after they took out your medical 401 K stocks child support then then – more... they divided that into 40 hrs bs because I work my a## off I was making 120000 a yr then was given 20.00 a hr when I made 36 to 46 an hr don't work here – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of vision
Manager of Engineering (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 18, 2014
Pros: i was able to work on a lot of different projects
Cons: listening to their employees
For some reason they have a problem making money. The land fill side does well, but the other division have a hard time doing this. This is mainly due to upper management not prepared/listening to what the workers are telling them. Facts do not matter to upper management. They prefer to go off feelings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy Call Center
Customer Service (Former Employee), Tupelo, MSJuly 16, 2014
This was a great place to work. Great working atmosphere and caring co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement from within
Driver (Current Employee), Rochester, MNJuly 13, 2014
No raises for 3 yrars then when they did give a raise it was a laughable 25 cents an hour but cut benefits. they hired a college kid to be route manager who doesn't know a thing about whats it like to pick up trash for a living
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Residential Driver (Current Employee), Allentown, PAJuly 12, 2014
Pros: driving
Cons: weather
Most enjoyable for me is dealing with customers. Team work is important and at times enjoyable. Hard part of the job is the broken bags.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technician
Former loyal employee (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 12, 2014
Pros: nothing you can't get from other employers
Cons: hr operates on a shoot first and ask questions later mentality
Waste management treats everyone like just another number. They over charge the customer and tell there employees it's there fault operating cost are too high. There so called discounted rates they give employees for trash service is more expensive than there competitors. All around just smoke and mirrors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collections
Collections Specialist (Former Employee), El Paso, TexasJuly 11, 2014
Learned the principles of collections here. Was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant school summer job
Skip waste disposal operative (Former Employee), Preston, ENGJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: smell
free lunch, free stuff that people have thrown away, great boss, very friendly people to work with, got to drive large machinery
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
[___]
Director, Corporate Strategy (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 9, 2014
A typical day at work.
What you learned.
Management.
Your co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place and great people to work with, fun and enjoyed my position.
Enviromental Services (Former Employee), Aurora, ILJuly 8, 2014
I have a great personality and always kept my conduct professional with my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Boss to work with
Service Administrator (Former Employee), Gastonia, NCJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: compensation
Worked with Maintenance Manager on balancing budget, ordering parts for trucks, picked up parts, entered in work orders in to system, and helping maintain hours to stay in budget.

I had great co-workers and the best boss.

The only downfall was compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great benefits
Territory Manager (Current Employee), Austin, TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no room to advance
Great company and great benefits. Not a lot of room to advance if you do not want to move away from your home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Pewaukee, WIJuly 6, 2014
Management was great, we all worked together as a team.
A great place for moms to work, very supportive company of family life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Upper Management
OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT TRAINEE (Current Employee), Burnsville, MNJuly 4, 2014
Pros: job skill developement
Cons: local advancement opportunities
Strong Upper Management and a tremendous job skill, learning environment.

About Waste Management

Waste Management is the leading provider of comprehensive waste management and environmental services in North America. We are – Read more

Waste Management Photos