Find companies:
Waste Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,012 reviews

Waste Management Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When is early too early?
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Burnsville, MNAugust 15, 2014
Have you worked overnights? This is not that, but you could say it is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an interesting place to work.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 14, 2014
Pros: nice atmosphere and comfortable setting
Cons: there was favoritisms with management.
I never knew people could get so upset about garbage. I handle incoming calls from customers about there garbage service. Customer complaints and trouble shooting. Had to do it in a timely fashion. Inputed customer information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expectations change daily without communicating with employees
Inside Commercial Rep (Former Employee), Franklin, TNAugust 14, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: little to no training
Lack of training made it hard to excel. Rules and regulations change daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, friendly environment
Scale Operator (Former Employee), Gary, INAugust 13, 2014
Cons: no lunch break
Opening from 7:30 to 4:00 weighting trucks on scale, getting reports together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers were great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 12, 2014
This company was great to work for, until they closed down the call center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it, at first
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great coworkers; pay; benefits; free soda machine
Cons: call center was called "cost center" and shut down
I worked here for over 8 years and loved it up until I got laid off. Things did change a lot while I was there from the start to the end but I was good at my job and was proud to be a part of the team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Work/Life Balance, but Great Benefits
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 12, 2014
They'll work you into the ground if you're at the manager level or above, expecting you to be "always on" with email, etc. (nights/weekends/holidays.)

There is flexability in working remotely, etc. & they have an excellent 401(k) matching, ESPP & med/dental program - but it's almost not worth it the way you're worked like a dog.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Payroll Clerk (Former Employee), Houston, TexasAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: contract assignment ended
Enjoyed work environment, also the experience and knowledge I gained.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 12, 2014
on a daily basis, I would go in get a box with envelopes of receipts and document them in the computer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great supervisor
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kirkland, WAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: monday through friday call center
Cons: co-workers who did not do their job
I had the best supervisor. Everyday began the same sign on systems and phone taking calls back to back from 8 am to 5 pm. Most co-workers had a great job ethic however there were "super stars" who had great metrics or stats but the did not do the work which made my job harder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
landfill at work
lead operator (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 10, 2014
Pros: got to be a team player and perform daily tasks.
Cons: always very very busy..
i had to push trash and build slopes to a 4 to 1. as well as build and maintian roads and daily gps. also perform randoms and perfom timed oil changes to equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job with good pay
Roll off driver (Current Employee), ault,coAugust 7, 2014
Pros: good benefits decent work environment
Cons: only 30 minute lunch even with 12 hour shift or more, too much supervision
safety is the most important part of everyday opperations at waste management with a safety meeting every morning and cameras in the trucks to monitor that you are performing your job safely
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work.
Operations Specialist (Current Employee), LewisvilleAugust 7, 2014
Pros: a lot of hours
Cons: short lunches and very little home life
Not a bad place to work if you are looking for plenty of hours and a management that is willing to give you all the overtime you would want.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company
Collections Department Manager (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAAugust 6, 2014
Large Company with large company issues, great salary and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing work environment
Transportation Coordinator/Administrator II (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 6, 2014
Waste Management acquires a lot of smaller companies, so lay-offs are high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 4, 2014
Pros: all good
Cons: no cons
Great Mon-Fri Job with night, weekends and some holidays off. Pay rate is good unless you need Medical Insurance. Medical insurance was very expensive in my opinion but hey, its your choice to have Medical or not. Overall, I would definitely come work here again.

The only cons I have are the fact that agents are very limited on what they can and cant – more... do with services offered. Due to this limitation, agent QA's were very poor almost 95% of the time. The best QA I had ever seen there was a 76% – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and an environment of structured freedom
Major Account Representative (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 4, 2014
Pros: create your own schedule and control monetary goals
Cons: my interest in marketing is stronger than my interest in sales
The Major Account Representative – position generates new account revenue in new accounts and revenue growth in existing accounts utilizing a consultative selling approach in the sale of Waste Management recycling services to large, complex accounts. The MAR is responsible for prospecting and closing sales to new customers to achieve budgeted sales – more... goals. The MAR develops and implements sound selling strategies that ensure revenue growth at target or greater profitability levels by selling to new customers only. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed this job but I wanted to advance in my career.
Route Driver (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COAugust 3, 2014
I really enjoyed this job but after months of working I realized I wanted to advance my career so I quit and attended a truck driving school to obtain a Class A CDL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but demanding and challenging
Call Center, Agent (Current Employee), Germantown, WIAugust 2, 2014
Good employer with good benefits. Demanding and challenging
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and demanding with limited opportunites
Route Manager (Current Employee), White Plains, MDJuly 31, 2014
WM is a good job with excellent benifits. In my experience, once you are comfortable with the job and able to do everything that is expected of you, the work life balance is not bad. New programs are being put into action to help drive efficiency and drive out lag time that is putting a lot on the plates of the Route Mangers. Due to a corporate resturce, – more... many of the opportunites have been cut in half. So if you are not willing to move and uproot your family, advancement is limited. – less

About Waste Management

Waste Management is the leading provider of comprehensive waste management and environmental services in North America. We are – Read more

Waste Management Photos