Find companies:
Waste Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,088 reviews

Waste Management Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent but stressful place to work
Front Load Driver (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 15, 2014
Pros: good pay, plenty of o/t, cool co-workers
Cons: never happy customers, rain, truck breakdowns
Start times for front load drivers was anywhere from 2:30 to 4:00 am. Sometimes this was tough on drivers. Operating the truck was fun in my opinion especially when dumping containers in front of kids....they would just watch in amazement. Having to back out of every single container was both challenging and stressful. Servicing 75 to 160 customers – more... you learn to back really quick. The people I worked with were cool but like any place you have that one or two that seem to be lost in left field all day long. Management? Oh man don't get me started. For the most part immediate supers were cool upper management sometimes they just didn't have a clue. In my opinion the hardest part of the job was cleaning out the back of the truck at the landfill while it is raining...Rrrrrrr not good. The best part of the job was the "Thank You" we would get from a customer when we picked up their container. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding job
Residential Driver (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COOctober 15, 2014
Pros: rewarding service...free goodies once in awhile, and easily approchable managers
Cons: dispatch communications
Work starts at 6:30am with a group safety meeting and then Pre-trip on the trucks (as a group) Routes are then followed with a help of a computer. Dump at a disposal facility as needed and continue until the end of route. The end of day consists of Post-trip. and end of day paperwork.

Learning to drive a stand up right hand drive was the hardest thing – more... to learn

Management could use a little bump in the communications area

Enjoyed serving the soldiers on FT Carson the most – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Maintenance Technician and supervisor (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYOctober 14, 2014
Pros: learning experience
All our days were not typical, we worked in a harsh and very agitated environment. I never regret working for this company we were all like family..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Retention Specialist (Former Employee), Moved to MuchiganOctober 14, 2014
Pros: vacation time every first of the year.
Cons: bad weather backs up trucks
Lots of calls waiting, especially when there was a snow day of the road conditions were bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Shipping/Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Tucson, AZOctober 14, 2014
Every morning I would open the gates for inbound and outbound trucks. log into computer check in inbound and outbound vehicles. I did different office duties. write memos translate memos make phone calls set up appointments for pickups etc. I had a variety of tasks each day kept busy all day. Management and co-workers were great to work with. Hardest – more... part of my job was to deal with rude people. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with and for the people at the syracuse location
Driver (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYOctober 14, 2014
Pros: good pay benafits
Cons: to many changes that are negative and unproductive
I have enjoyed the past eighteen years that I have worked for Waste Management and I do not want to give all the years I have put in back but I do not see myself going any farther in this company and I am not comfortable with the direction the company is going but over all I like my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Logistics Engineer (Current Employee), Houston, TexasOctober 14, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: layoffs every 2-3 years
Great people and benefits. I traveled extensively and met and worked with great people throughout the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for a position with longevity and advancment
Driver (Former Employee), mobile, azOctober 13, 2014
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: poor management
my typical day at work was showing up on time, meeting in the break room with other employees and discussing what we were going to do to make that day as safe or safer that other days. we then left with a nugget from that meeting to focus on for that day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Freedom to do your job
Construction Sales Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 12, 2014
Great place to work. Freedom to do your job. Great management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Meridian, MSOctober 10, 2014
Pros: new cities, new places, u. s. bound
Cons: tickets are higher
Get Her Done was the number one rule. Always being on time was a plus. The view of mountains and fields under the open skies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the environment
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Portland, INOctober 10, 2014
Loved working to help the environment but the company needs some help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard
Residential Helper (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 9, 2014
The hours are good but the work is extremely hard. I hated going to this job everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Account Mgr (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 8, 2014
Pros: employees / team enviroment
Cons: commission structure
Service Industry
Strong team environment
Identifying customers true issues
Resolving customer issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only accept job if your desperate!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Wixom, MIOctober 8, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: the worst management in the wixom call center office
Working at this company was a horrible experience, I cried every day driving into work. If you were trained correctly and given the reaources the job would have been tolerable. My coworkers were nice and the office building was nice but the management treated you like a child. The supervisors were not properly trained. All they cared about was being – more... left alone at their desk and if you had a question they would act busy but they were doing personal business. One supervisor would sit at her desk putting on makeup even while you were asking for help! Another call center supervisor yelled at an agent (who was on a call helping a client) across the office floor because they were standing up to relieve a leg cramp! Told them they had to sit down to work! Then they installed a card swipper on the bathroom so they could monitor who and how many times the bathroom was used! Totally insane. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work experience
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Oakland, CAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: fantastic benefits
Cons: long work hours
WM taught me a great deal about engaging employees and building teams. I enjoyed much support and development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Preventive Maintenance (Former Employee), Dunmore, PAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: all employees were very close
Cons: i had to move
All employees were fun and it was a great place to work. It didn't feel like you was at work. Lunch and break time was like you were on holiday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A enjoyable place to work.
5th Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Union Grove, WIOctober 8, 2014
Hazardous Waste
Forklift
Fire Training
CPR
Confined Space
Lockout Tagout
Respirator Full Face to Supplied Air
J-Rig
Man Lift
Evacuation Plan
Scuba Training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
admin assistant
Admin assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 6, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: distance
very busy day production always a joy to work with great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Work Life Balance
Route Manager (Current Employee), Mason City, IAOctober 5, 2014
50 hour per week job quickly becomes 60-70 hours per week. Ever increasing workload, poor site management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Company
Bilingual Collections Leader (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 3, 2014
This company will always be here. I answer phones and process accounts in between calls. You learn a lot on the job and the co workers are very knowledgeable.

About Waste Management

Waste Management is the leading provider of comprehensive waste management and environmental services in North America. We are – Read more

Waste Management Photos