Waste Management Employee Reviews

Found 134 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Driver/Loader (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON25 March 2016
fast pace job and long hours! Team play a must to be done and have to do managements work for them.Co workers are great but company is just going rock bottom
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life work balance
INSIDE COMMERCIAL REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON10 July 2016
Treated more like a number than a valued employee.

Toxic work environment and poorly managed.

No real opportunities to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard and good work
driver loader (Former Employee) –  missisauga18 July 2013
the job was good and i enjoyed the actual work
the management was very good but the upper management was very military and had no idea what the workers did
as a matter of fact the president was fired when he appeared on a tv show
Pros
good job good benefits
Cons
long hours and poor comunication
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable to work for
Driver (Former Employee) –  Longueuil, QC10 July 2015
Management takes very good care of their employees, very supportive and understanding. A family oriented company, The drivers are very important to them, we are not just a number.
Pros
hourly rate, work benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY
Sanitation Engineer/Driver Trainer/Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  MELBOURNE FL18 September 2015
GREAT COMPANY TO WORK FOR. WELL ORGANIZED AND STRUCTURED COMPANY.Great benifits ,proper work tools top of the line safety policies.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
smelled nasty
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON19 April 2016
made people feel sick work long hours there
needles and other ojects and animals being sort in the garbage. wasnt something anyone would be happy doing
Pros
needed a job
Cons
not this one
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment with great management
Driver (Current Employee) –  Waterloo24 June 2015
Great company to work for with great benefits. Drivers get compensated well. The job in itself is incredibly physical but rewarding at the end of the day.
Pros
Pay, benefits, work environment
Cons
Physical, rain or shine work outside
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON23 March 2016
Working on a convener Belt sorting through garbage. most enjoyable part was cleanup at 230pm. and fridays were shorter. hardest part is reaching the pick count that you have to do.
Pros
Very Understanding
Cons
Long Hours, Let you go for not reaching pick counts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disrespectful place to work
Recycle Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  West Hants20 January 2014
Decent pay and benifits but emploees are treated very poor.On a daily basis you are bullied,put down and accused of things before there is any proof.Management i feel get off on suspending and firing employees no matter what the outcome.Would never recommend Waste Management to my worse enemy.
Was this review helpful?Yes28No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but satisfying.
Garbage Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON11 February 2016
A typical day at work from start to finish was basically driving the truck and pitching garbage, switching with my partner every half hour or so when not working with a TO. I learned to be a team player and work professionally in safely picking up and disposing of garbage.

Working with co-workers was sometimes challenging especially if their work ethic wasn't quite up to mine. The hardest part of the job was repeatedly get up and down the truck and working in areas of heavy garbage.

The most enjoyable part of the job was at the end of the day when my route got cleared without the need of extra help ... a very satisfying feeling.
Pros
4 day workweek (Monday to Thursday)
Cons
Being sent out to pick up renovation materials when not supposed to.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the staff
lead maintenance technician (Current Employee) –  Petrolia, ON29 March 2015
Small staff at our site.. So generally everyone works well together.
In the maintenance shop there is just two of us.... we have lots in common so we are very compatible in our work and personal life
and learn for each other
Pros
good wages and benefits...good guys to work with
Cons
afternoon shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good company to work for
Sanitation Employee (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB12 August 2013
This company offers a excellent safety run business.The Management have always been helpful.Benefits ,rrsp and ect are top notch.
Pros
safety oriented
Cons
very physical job
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Senior Programmer / Analyst (Former Employee) –  brampton on11 March 2015
a good place to work, good benefits, work environment. Managers were helpful. allow you to work independently. friendly and professional co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Decent Company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC18 February 2016
Safety Practices were good. Pay was good.

Company will overwork you in some ways.

Management is questionable.

Overtime was readily available.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well managed.
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  ON8 September 2014
I learned a lot of work skills at this job and still use them to this day.
Pros
I learned while I worked.
Cons
Healthcare and Benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disappointing
Senior Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 January 2013
At the end of my short career at Waste Management I found it hard to come to work everyday. The company had a odd way of operating and not making it easy on the employees. Decisions were made to "better" the team however that back fired for the lack of moral. Although I did move on from the call centre I still find that the management style was the same. Managers seemed to care about you as person and as an employee however their actions suggested different.I have made some lasting friendship from working at WM, find out I can work in a very fast paced environment, and that I can sell and be good at it. It is just not a fair company to work for.
Pros
the people are great, activities during the holidays were fun, customer service week was fun
Cons
low pay, poor decisions, backstabbing, no advancement, brainwashed managers
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent overall company
SR Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON24 June 2013
I really enjoy the company and the people. I miss working outside and with others.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Technician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 April 2016
Room for improvements with Managers.

Providing employee performance reviews for Unionized members would be beneficial.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC21 January 2014
Not much to say as they were very professional but not forgiving at all
Pros
benefits
Cons
not forgiving at all
Was this review helpful?Yes15No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck driver
truck driver (Former Employee) –  st.catharines6 December 2011
excellent place to work along with great benefits. Good salary.
It is a union company .
Pros
great pay
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,003 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3