Find companies:
Waste Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,111 reviews

Waste Management Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a smooth running ship
Truck Driver/Blue Box Collector (Former Employee), vancouverDecember 31, 2012
I am glad I left there, was not happy, treat their employees with little respect
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of chanllenges and changes
District Operations Manager (Current Employee), Brockville, ONOctober 19, 2012
Pros: freedom to run the business
Cons: long hours can be encountered
The nice part of this career is the ever changing environment in which I work. No two days are ever the same. The challenges are to adapt to the changes that you face almost daily. We have an outstanding safety culture and everyone works toward a goal of zero incidents and injuries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Scale House Attendant (Former Employee), Brockville, ONSeptember 6, 2012
I liked meeting new people all the time, I wish i could of got hired on. I was working for a agency for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Team
Town Of Whitby, Garbage Collection (Former Employee), Whitby, ONAugust 13, 2012
Pros: just a good place to work.
Cons: hard to get on full time.
From the on the ground managment , to the co-workers of everyday, a great place to work if you can get the chance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste Management
Professional Driver (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 18, 2012
Pre/post check of vehicle
Route planning
Pick-up/dump-out of recycle
Fueling of truck
Safe driving
co-workers were supportive
Enjoyed the physical work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
painter/welder (Former Employee), Dartmouth Nova ScotiaJuly 6, 2012
typical day of work started by cleaning out shop bay. then bringing bins in that needed welding and paint. i learned how to safely weld and do so at a productive pace. all my co-workers were very easy to get along with and made my job alot easier. the hardest part of my job was learning how to get in a routine at first to ensure my work was at 100% – more... but also to be very productive as well. i enjoyed every aspect of with waste management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job/challenge
Safety and Compliance manager (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCJune 30, 2012
Pros: flexible hours. upper management support
Cons: office politics
Good job. Excellent opportunities for advancement. Unfortunately tremendous corporate turmoil and office 'politics' near the end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Operation Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 28, 2012
Pros: occassional lunch
Cons: long hours-poor management
Good people to work with. Company as a whole is going through challenges as several companies are. They have a great ambition to green the world.
Typical day was from 9-6:30 mon-friday.
Learned roles roles as an Administrator focusing on drivers and thier needs.
Most enjoable part of the job was the drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste Management- Fast Paced environment
Recycle Sorter-Labourer (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONApril 23, 2012
Pros: company was great, fast paced environment
Cons: location would get very hot in the summer.
Work at waste management was fun and very fast paced, which I thoroughly enjoyed. The team that I worked in was enjoyable and I developed a great relationship with my manager, since I was willing to do some work that other team members were reluctant to complete.

I enjoyed my time at Waste Management, but when the plant closed I had to relocate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck driver
truck driver (Former Employee), st.catharinesDecember 6, 2011
Pros: great pay
Cons: long days
excellent place to work along with great benefits. Good salary.
It is a union company .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work Ever
Sr. Tech (Former Employee), Wooster, OHDecember 18, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: management
The mana

Worst place to work. Fleet Management in Canton and Wooster is incompetent. Do not know how to treat employees fairly. Pay was decent, but not worth all the politics that go with the job. My opinion, do not work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and demanding job
Leaf vacuum driver (Former Employee), Antioch, ILDecember 15, 2014
Pros: joining the union and making good money
Cons: the trucks were poorly maintained and broke down often.
I drove a leaf vacuum truck on a daily assigned route while a helper vacuumed up leaf piles. I learned team work and how to work within a strict timeline. The manager gave compliments to employees when warranted, which I have not often seen done. The hardest part of the job was driving the truck while watching the helper as well as watching for other – more... vehicles on the road, mailboxes, low hanging wires and other hazards. I loved the pay and that time flew by so quickly because we were continually on the go and busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated staff and Flexible environment.
Supervisor-Customer Service (Former Employee), Windsor, CTDecember 15, 2014
Pros: benefits, shift, rapport with staff
Cons: turnover, morale
Enjoyed the staff management aspect of the position. Due to excessive staff turnover, much of the time is spent putting out fires and handling escalated calls from customers. Employee Morale was a significant and continuous challenge. What I enjoyed the most was the feedback from the associate population, simply for listening and being there to answer – more... questions, even when I did not have an immediate answer. Being new to the waste removal industry, I learned quite a bit about removal, re-cycle functions, etc. The call center in CT was struggling due to the staff instability. Some Managers were supportive, especially my direct Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small site: 24/7 operation
Supervisor (Current Employee), Vickery, OHDecember 13, 2014
This site is a 24/7 operation. Hazardous waste facility within a small town. Many employees have been employed for 25 or more years. Small turn-over rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place To Work
General Laborer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 12, 2014
Walking To The Back And Front Of The Yard Picking Up All Garbage , Cleaning Offices , Co-Workers Were Friendly And Respectful . The Hardest Part About The Job Was That If The Wind Was Blowing Real Hard It Would A Difficult Task To Keep The YArd Clean But It Wasn't Hard For Me To Do .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Billing Analyst (Former Employee), Wixom, MIDecember 12, 2014
Daily set up contracts and managed collection activities such as sending follow-up inquiries, negotiating with past due accounts, keeping track of cash receipts and referring accounts to collection agencies, and processed monthly statements, maintains accurate records, created financial reports relating to account receivable function and status of accounts. – more... Implemented audits methods and procedures of accounts receivable function to improve efficiency collecting revenue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great company to work for
Environmental Specialist (Former Employee), Vickery, OHDecember 10, 2014
Great balance of work and life. They are concerned with the quality of life you have while employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training
Internal Customer Service Representative Lead (Former Employee), Oak Harbor, WADecember 8, 2014
The tribe sent me to the police academy to help build a police department. It was a long process and the job ultimately became a security department. I built that program from the ground up and it was challenging but quite rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much potential, but management was awful
CSR and Sales Rep (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 5, 2014
Pros: stable company
Cons: management, dirty offices, no tuition reimbursement, lack of drive towards green initiative
This company has the size and political presence to really change the waste cycle, and how we can help to preserve our planet through green initiatives etc. True giants of commerce and industry (Apple, google, etc.) understand that old-school sales tactics are a short-term solution, but by providing high-quality products/services that actually help – more... make life on this earth better the revenue will come in ten-fold. Unfortunately, waste management has a dilemma in their sales/marketing team (by the way the entire marketing dept. was cut by 75% in 2014) in that cold-calling and high pressure sales are a priority over being a sustainable environmental leader. Example: a direct manager of mine was a former insurance salesman, and literally had no interest in sustainability, green initiatives etc. With a 30% mark-up and people in command that do not care about the environment, I can not in good conscience give this company a positive review. Sad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
special accounts
Collections Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 5, 2014
Pros: enjoyed working with many different customers
Cons: lots of overtime and many saturdays
worked on special accounts from Windsor, CT
called and asked for payment status of all open invoices
dispute resolution
creation of invoices
spreadsheets
any other duties required to get job done

About Waste Management

Waste Management is the leading provider of comprehensive waste management and environmental services in North America. We are – Read more

Waste Management Photos