Find companies:
Waste Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,203 reviews

Waste Management Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy productive environment
General Labourer (Former Employee), Brampton, ONApril 30, 2013
Pros: easy work
Cons: hard on the nose.
Standing for eight to ten hours doing repedative work. Masks optional, easy work no experience needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace with good salary/ benefits
Helper/Driver (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSApril 22, 2013
Pros: good salary, good benefits, good co-workers
Cons: lack of appreciation by management, mismanagement, long hours
the only place I ever worked where work comes before life, a severe lack of understanding of life's mishaps and unforseen events on management's part.

Arrive at work between 6:15 & 6:45 am, leave shop by 7 am work until all garbage/compost in area is collected, help other drivers finish their runs. Return to shop.

I learned that nobody is safe/ secure in their position there.

management is highly unorganised

No complaints about co-workers.

hardest part of the job: feeling the effects of management pulling trucks out of an already shorthanded area.

most enjoyable part of the job: appreciation by the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Older uncomfortable trucks
Driver (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 9, 2013
Pros: pay is ok
Cons: older trucks, condensed routes, lack of training
I worked for this company in Vancouver BC, even though they wanted a driver I got hired as a swamper. Work is extremely busy in residential areas and very condensed tight routes.

I always wondered why they keep advertising the job.Every few weeks I saw their ad on my email updates, and I realize the reason now since they it is extremely hard to find drivers who would get in and out 1000 times a day

Your knees after along 10hours shift will feel very stiff, and you might end up doing knee surgery down the road
Trucks are too old and frequently needs repairs, I was horrified to find most of their trucks mirrors are in desperate need for repair.

Most of older drivers are on sick leave or recovering or even injured
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disappointing
Senior Sales Coordinator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: the people are great, activities during the holidays were fun, customer service week was fun
Cons: low pay, poor decisions, backstabbing, no advancement, brainwashed managers
At the end of my short career at Waste Management I found it hard to come to work everyday. The company had a odd way of operating and not making it easy on the employees. Decisions were made to "better" the team however that back fired for the lack of moral. Although I did move on from the call centre I still find that the management style was the same. Managers seemed to care about you as person and as an employee however their actions suggested different.I have made some lasting friendship from working at WM, find out I can work in a very fast paced environment, and that I can sell and be good at it. It is just not a fair company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a smooth running ship
Truck Driver/Blue Box Collector (Former Employee), vancouverDecember 31, 2012
I am glad I left there, was not happy, treat their employees with little respect
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of chanllenges and changes
District Operations Manager (Current Employee), Brockville, ONOctober 19, 2012
Pros: freedom to run the business
Cons: long hours can be encountered
The nice part of this career is the ever changing environment in which I work. No two days are ever the same. The challenges are to adapt to the changes that you face almost daily. We have an outstanding safety culture and everyone works toward a goal of zero incidents and injuries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Scale House Attendant (Former Employee), Brockville, ONSeptember 6, 2012
I liked meeting new people all the time, I wish i could of got hired on. I was working for a agency for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Team
Town Of Whitby, Garbage Collection (Former Employee), Whitby, ONAugust 13, 2012
Pros: just a good place to work.
Cons: hard to get on full time.
From the on the ground managment , to the co-workers of everyday, a great place to work if you can get the chance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste Management
Professional Driver (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 18, 2012
Pre/post check of vehicle
Route planning
Pick-up/dump-out of recycle
Fueling of truck
Safe driving
co-workers were supportive
Enjoyed the physical work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
painter/welder (Former Employee), Dartmouth Nova ScotiaJuly 6, 2012
typical day of work started by cleaning out shop bay. then bringing bins in that needed welding and paint. i learned how to safely weld and do so at a productive pace. all my co-workers were very easy to get along with and made my job alot easier. the hardest part of my job was learning how to get in a routine at first to ensure my work was at 100% but also to be very productive as well. i enjoyed every aspect of with waste management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job/challenge
Safety and Compliance manager (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCJune 30, 2012
Pros: flexible hours. upper management support
Cons: office politics
Good job. Excellent opportunities for advancement. Unfortunately tremendous corporate turmoil and office 'politics' near the end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Operation Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 28, 2012
Pros: occassional lunch
Cons: long hours-poor management
Good people to work with. Company as a whole is going through challenges as several companies are. They have a great ambition to green the world.
Typical day was from 9-6:30 mon-friday.
Learned roles roles as an Administrator focusing on drivers and thier needs.
Most enjoable part of the job was the drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste Management- Fast Paced environment
Recycle Sorter-Labourer (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONApril 23, 2012
Pros: company was great, fast paced environment
Cons: location would get very hot in the summer.
Work at waste management was fun and very fast paced, which I thoroughly enjoyed. The team that I worked in was enjoyable and I developed a great relationship with my manager, since I was willing to do some work that other team members were reluctant to complete.

I enjoyed my time at Waste Management, but when the plant closed I had to relocate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck driver
truck driver (Former Employee), st.catharinesDecember 6, 2011
Pros: great pay
Cons: long days
excellent place to work along with great benefits. Good salary.
It is a union company .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avis
Gerant de la Maintenance (Former Employee), Gatineau, QCApril 24, 2014
•une journée de travail typique
•les opportunités de développement
•le management
•vos collaborateurs
•l'aspect le plus difficile de votre poste
•l'aspect le plus agréable de votre poste

NE PAS inclure d'informations personnelles, telles que des noms.

Veuillez noter que votre avis peut être publié sur Indeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Chauffeur de camion à benne basculante (Former Employee), Montréal et les environsDecember 20, 2012
Pros: beaucoup d'heures de travail
Cons: sécurité d'emploi
Le travail consistait a déservir des entreprises en ramassant les bacs de vidanges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environement tres agréable
receptioniste (Former Employee), hullJune 14, 2012
Pros: horaire stable et bon salaire
cette entreprise ma permie dexploré quelque chose que je navais jamais fais, il mont donné ma chance de montré se que je valais.

About Waste Management

Waste Management is the leading provider of comprehensive waste management and environmental services in North America. We are – Read more

Waste Management Photos