Find companies:
Waste Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,062 reviews

Waste Management Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste Management
Professional Driver (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 18, 2012
Pre/post check of vehicle
Route planning
Pick-up/dump-out of recycle
Fueling of truck
Safe driving
co-workers were supportive
Enjoyed the physical work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
painter/welder (Former Employee), Dartmouth Nova ScotiaJuly 6, 2012
typical day of work started by cleaning out shop bay. then bringing bins in that needed welding and paint. i learned how to safely weld and do so at a productive pace. all my co-workers were very easy to get along with and made my job alot easier. the hardest part of my job was learning how to get in a routine at first to ensure my work was at 100% – more... but also to be very productive as well. i enjoyed every aspect of with waste management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job/challenge
Safety and Compliance manager (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCJune 30, 2012
Pros: flexible hours. upper management support
Cons: office politics
Good job. Excellent opportunities for advancement. Unfortunately tremendous corporate turmoil and office 'politics' near the end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Operation Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 28, 2012
Pros: occassional lunch
Cons: long hours-poor management
Good people to work with. Company as a whole is going through challenges as several companies are. They have a great ambition to green the world.
Typical day was from 9-6:30 mon-friday.
Learned roles roles as an Administrator focusing on drivers and thier needs.
Most enjoable part of the job was the drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste Management- Fast Paced environment
Recycle Sorter-Labourer (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONApril 23, 2012
Pros: company was great, fast paced environment
Cons: location would get very hot in the summer.
Work at waste management was fun and very fast paced, which I thoroughly enjoyed. The team that I worked in was enjoyable and I developed a great relationship with my manager, since I was willing to do some work that other team members were reluctant to complete.

I enjoyed my time at Waste Management, but when the plant closed I had to relocate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck driver
truck driver (Former Employee), st.catharinesDecember 6, 2011
Pros: great pay
Cons: long days
excellent place to work along with great benefits. Good salary.
It is a union company .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something differen
Dispatch Combo/ Scale Clerk (Former Employee), Slidell, La and McNeill, MsOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits, always busy
Cons: the drive to both office were long
My day would start off checking to make sure we didn't have any open tickets that the call center might have entered the night before. I would stay in touch with all of the drivers to make sure they didnt need anything. Closer to the end of the day I would get all route sheets printed and put together or the next business day. Answering the phone, made – more... all orders for the office. All clerical duties I proformed.

At the landfill I would open the gate for the start of business. I would open the office and get the scales on. I would weigh all vehciles that came across the scale and all commerical vehicle that came across the scales. I did all errands for the office and all clerical duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Account Manager (Former Employee), boston maOctober 20, 2014
Large company in a mature market so constantly looking to cut costs. Survived 3 major layoff/reorganizations in 10 years and countless small ones. I was able to work in several different areas and advancement was possible until most recent layoff. I did not get laid off but opportunities dried up so went elsewhere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good money
Garbage Truck Driver (Former Employee), Harrison, MIOctober 19, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: never know when you will get home
the job is not bad. the biggest problem is the mgt. and your truck will brake down almost everyday. this happens to everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and healthy work place
Runner (Current Employee), Loveland, COOctober 17, 2014
Co-workers are an fun group of people. They are sociable, easy to get along with, and very helpful. It is a fairly difficult work environment with fair management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Accounts Receivable Senior Specialist III (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 17, 2014
Pros: jeans on fridays
Cons: working on saturdays
Cash Applications
Posting cash manually
Customer servcie
Manuel key refunds back to customer credit cards/ACH/Online payments
Find missing payments
10 Key
Handles request for payments
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Area Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 16, 2014
Its your average work place. Provides benefits, pay is decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty cool place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Commerce, CAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: customer service week and random contests in the call center
Cons: short lunches and short breaks
From the time you clock in to the time you leave there is something to be done. This was a fast paced call center that required a lot of follow up on calls and attention to detail. I enjoyed working with all of my team members and overall everyone got along so that makes it an easy day. If anyone had a quick question anyone on our team was happy to – more... assist. If the call needed to be escalated to a supervisor, that was a little harder, supervisors were often busy and sometimes hard to track down. I learned how to be quick witted and think outside the box. If a customer called in needed to dispose of something you had to ask detailed questions to find the right way for that customer to have it disposed of properly. the hardest part about the job was explaining to a customer that we are out of containers and we don't know when they would be back in stock. A trash company out of containers! Crazy. I enjoyed my overall experience at Waste Management, I enjoyed training and coaching newbies and seeing them get hired! It proved to me that I did a great job of training them! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent but stressful place to work
Front Load Driver (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 15, 2014
Pros: good pay, plenty of o/t, cool co-workers
Cons: never happy customers, rain, truck breakdowns
Start times for front load drivers was anywhere from 2:30 to 4:00 am. Sometimes this was tough on drivers. Operating the truck was fun in my opinion especially when dumping containers in front of kids....they would just watch in amazement. Having to back out of every single container was both challenging and stressful. Servicing 75 to 160 customers – more... you learn to back really quick. The people I worked with were cool but like any place you have that one or two that seem to be lost in left field all day long. Management? Oh man don't get me started. For the most part immediate supers were cool upper management sometimes they just didn't have a clue. In my opinion the hardest part of the job was cleaning out the back of the truck at the landfill while it is raining...Rrrrrrr not good. The best part of the job was the "Thank You" we would get from a customer when we picked up their container. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding job
Residential Driver (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COOctober 15, 2014
Pros: rewarding service...free goodies once in awhile, and easily approchable managers
Cons: dispatch communications
Work starts at 6:30am with a group safety meeting and then Pre-trip on the trucks (as a group) Routes are then followed with a help of a computer. Dump at a disposal facility as needed and continue until the end of route. The end of day consists of Post-trip. and end of day paperwork.

Learning to drive a stand up right hand drive was the hardest thing – more... to learn

Management could use a little bump in the communications area

Enjoyed serving the soldiers on FT Carson the most – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Maintenance Technician and supervisor (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYOctober 14, 2014
Pros: learning experience
All our days were not typical, we worked in a harsh and very agitated environment. I never regret working for this company we were all like family..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Retention Specialist (Former Employee), Moved to MuchiganOctober 14, 2014
Pros: vacation time every first of the year.
Cons: bad weather backs up trucks
Lots of calls waiting, especially when there was a snow day of the road conditions were bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Shipping/Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Tucson, AZOctober 14, 2014
Every morning I would open the gates for inbound and outbound trucks. log into computer check in inbound and outbound vehicles. I did different office duties. write memos translate memos make phone calls set up appointments for pickups etc. I had a variety of tasks each day kept busy all day. Management and co-workers were great to work with. Hardest – more... part of my job was to deal with rude people. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with and for the people at the syracuse location
Driver (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYOctober 14, 2014
Pros: good pay benafits
Cons: to many changes that are negative and unproductive
I have enjoyed the past eighteen years that I have worked for Waste Management and I do not want to give all the years I have put in back but I do not see myself going any farther in this company and I am not comfortable with the direction the company is going but over all I like my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Logistics Engineer (Current Employee), Houston, TexasOctober 14, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: layoffs every 2-3 years
Great people and benefits. I traveled extensively and met and worked with great people throughout the organization.

About Waste Management

Waste Management is the leading provider of comprehensive waste management and environmental services in North America. We are – Read more

Waste Management Photos