Waste Management Employee Reviews

Found 156 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 February 2017
Hi, it's money but did not enjoy. Would not go back. Coworkers were good. Management needs to improve. In the end you are just a number. Work somewhere else
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All true, the review are to my thinking
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON24 February 2017
This company was great to work for, unfortunately it was contract work, if I could go back, I would go there in a heartbeat..you would be happy in here
Pros
Lots of overtime if u need it, great company to work for.
Cons
When u have to switch to other line of work you don't have experience in
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright job
Thrower/Loader (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 February 2017
Decent money if not working through a temp agency. It was a pretty decent job besides having to work in all weather conditions. It was straining at first but yolo
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
Sore back
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Throughly Enjoyed.
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON14 February 2017
Was a really enjoyable job, you got to see a lot of interesting things such as raccoons and needles coming down the belts.

They had really good management systems in place, wasn't a hard job throughly enjoyed the experience. The best part about the job would be seeing the wildlife coming down the line and having to pull them off the belt before they went through the chopping blocks.
Pros
Every day was Different
Cons
Have to have a strong stomach
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Training Program
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 February 2017
The experience at this company is extensive as there is room to move through the ladders. The training is very extensive but very productive.
Pros
Training Program very extensive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Edmonton wate managemen is a horrible place becauseof managers
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 January 2017
Avoid at all cost. Trucks should not be allowed on road. I should take my pictures to Dot . Wish I could upload the pictures for you to see and reconsider your choice to join waste management Edmonton. They trip over dollars to pick up nickles.trucks are always broke down and should not be in the roadbut when you refuse they become very snake like. Stay away
Pros
The drivers are extremly easy to get along with
Cons
Awful management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced, hard work
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON29 January 2017
very physical job. have to be able to lift up to fifty pounds. cold in the winter. great coworkers. location is out of town so its a bit of a walk without a car or bus.
Pros
friendly
Cons
cold in the winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst sales job ever.. Stay away
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON19 January 2017
I worked as an Outside Sales Rep. The management do not know what they are doing and demand 100 business cards a week. There is a lot of politics. A handful of reps get favoured and sales are handed to them. All other reps do not hit their targets. Management then puts the reps that are not hitting target on 90 day improvement plan and then they fire you. The director for ECA is the worst. She is the most uneducated person and all the managers are her minions.
Pros
none
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety
Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Petrolia, ON26 December 2016
This company links corporate and local attitudes. Can be contradictory at times but makes for a challenging and rewarding career.
Pros
Meet lots of new people
Cons
Long days/Weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly envirnoment
Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 December 2016
Love coming into Work each day, co workers are always friendly and upbeat!
Each day brings new challenges, and the drivers make the days go fast!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste operator
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 December 2016
Work was hot and heavy in the summer months and cold and boring in the winter. things have changed so much since i worked there that i really should not be reviewing this branch of the city
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Residential Recycling Driver (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON26 November 2016
Great job, great people. Company didn't get contract with The City and I was laid off. Would definitely consider working there again.
Very hard work but rewarding. talking to customers was the highlight of my day.
Pros
Get in shape while you work
Cons
very hard physical work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is no good
Lead hand mechanic (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 November 2016
Nothing good to say about the company. My co-workers were great for the most part. One of the mechanics thinks he knows everything and is the biggest drama queen and will run to management to get u written up
Pros
Wages
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Fast paced and multi-cultural environment
Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2016
Work with persons of various ethnically diverse backgrounds and physical disabilities.Environment is positive and is where safety comes first. All treated equal.
Office is fast paced with data recovery & entry for 3 mrfs (material recovery facilities). Communication thru email, fax and telephone. Contact border crossings for logistics and various N American facilities for sea cans (train containers for logistics).
Hardest part of the job was during take-over and position was eliminated, many people were let go.
Working with diverse persons on a daily basis.
Pros
Full benefits, free training & upgrading
Cons
long hours 6 days / week
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all day everyday work shift during stampede
Night Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 November 2016
great team atmosphere fun to do,
pick up trash on the grounds cleaned around rides and spilt food also we switched out trash cans around the grounds insuring all grounds were clean.
Pros
money
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company with a high expectation on job safety and very good training processes
Driver/equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC3 October 2016
Good place to work with friendly people. I learned to operate front end, roll off,residential garbage trucks and gained experience in wheel loader/ forklift training.The hardest part of the job was chaining up roll off trucks in the snow and the most enjoyable part of the job was having a clear understanding of what needed to be done and what was expected the next day.
Pros
Very good stat pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail agreable
Chauffeur camion déchets (Current Employee) –  Gatineau27 September 2016
J'aime faire beaucoup d'heure j'ai pas peur de travailler et apprendre de nouvelles chose
Pros
Bon salaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 September 2016
At waste management the people are really nice and helpful
Its a fastpace environment and it's quick and easy
You have to have a string gut to work at waste management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, poor management
Parts Person (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB12 September 2016
Worked at WM as Parts Manager, had a positive relationship with other staff and mechanics. Only problem I had was with my supervisor. The supervisor was angry, hot tempered and mean. He bullied the mechanics and myself daily. I was able to do my job and shoulder the burnt of his 'dictatorship attitude' for over a year. Unfortunately, head-office sent down a layoff notice and three people were let go, one mechanic, one welder and myself. I was not upset by the layoff, rather relived that I wouldn't have to work with RM again.
Pros
Great staff, good solid company
Cons
Poor supervision and hostile work enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting point
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON26 August 2016
Learned the basics here, have nothing bad to say. I was afforded the opportunity to learn a little about every facet of operations from the plant to on the road.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waste Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,415 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3