Waste Management Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
DISPATCHER (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK23 November 2017
Very enjoyable place to work. Typical work days. Learned lots about the garbage industry. Relaxed work place culture. Most enjoyable part of job knowing your making a difference.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving great place to work
Market Area Sales Manager for Eastern Canada (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 November 2017
Great company to work for. Excellent people and support.
Work and personal life balance is a bit off. Lots of travel.
Very decentralized in the ontario and quebec markets.
Pros
Training
Cons
too much travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
ROUTE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB18 November 2017
Be prepared for 14 hour days and weekends. Good pay and benefits but no time at home. Need to micro manage in order to meet the metrics. Upper management needs to understand challenges on the ground
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety if the first priority
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 October 2017
Prepared engineering recommendation initiatives such as maintenance support, Preventive Maintenance (PM)
equipment breakdown diagnosis and predictive maintenance (PdM). Test and modification control circuit system on simulator board and recorded then analyzed test result, Prepared
integrity, and quality test procedures, and operation instruction preparation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WM was a great place to work
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB12 October 2017
Enjoyed my time at WM. Employee education is at high levels and the company approves all schooling that will increase value to an employee. Very organized and well placed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable days as a team of two, out in the city, to finish at own pace, but in good reasonable time.
Garbage collector (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON21 September 2017
Quality Connect is the temporary agency that paired me up for this job, but once I showed reliability to the WM workforce, I had little contact with Quality connect and was expected to show up for WM work. Variety of employees that I was paired up with as a temp worker, but enjoyed the changes in people and routes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Roll-off Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 September 2017
Pre and post trip inspections on commercial roll off trucks. completing and assigned route. Ability to read traffic to avoid traffic delays such as accidents, construction and heavy traffic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Residential Route Manager (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON18 September 2017
Enjoyed my employment there. Salary and benefits are excellent and the work is hard but easy enough depending on what you are doing. Unless you're in dispatch, women have a more difficult time moving up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a Waste
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Watford, ON11 September 2017
Management is not consistent with the standard rules they created. It's based on whether the boss likes you or out the door! They won't give you time to learn and trainwithin the period. Boss always says i have no time and if you make an honest mistake then they walk you out the door with out due process/1st warning! It was a waste of time working their thinking to have a better future! The management nor the union stewarts can not be trusted! So new applicants be very careful and leery in taking a position in WM especially in the Watford, Ontario landfill!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative/stressful work enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 August 2017
At first WM was a great place to work but unless you are friends with management you are never going to move up in the company. It has a high turnover rate, it is a negative work environment and expect to work lots of overtime.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Bad management, negative work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Management
Operations Specialist (Multifamily/Commercial) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 August 2017
This company could be a good place to work, however the management is very poor quality and not employee friendly, unless you are a union employee. I would never recommend working for this company in Edmonton, AB. I have no idea what it is like elsewhere but in Edmonton it's all about the money. Employee's mean nothing.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet day in the office
Scalehouse Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2017
A typical day is sitting in front of the computer. Checking emails. Trucks come in hour by hour and you log in their information to dispose of the garbage then print them a completion ticket for all their hard work. Some transaction through credit and sitting the whole day waiting for trucks to come by.
Pros
Quiet, chill
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and dedicated to safety
Equipment Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Elkford, BC8 July 2017
Great guys, co-workers and management, really generous company, they outfit you with any PPE you need for the job along with training. The management was very helpful and collaberative about potential safety hazards in the work areas.
Pros
more PPE than you know what to do with.
Cons
Not alot of hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
trash from recycling system (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 June 2017
No comment, I do not have much to comment,that's all but is very dirty but people are working there are very nice this work please is very cold so if you want you can go
Pros
Good management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent Management
Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC25 June 2017
The Coquitlam office at Waste Management has potential to be a great place to work, however, the local management team is beyond incompetent. There is no accountability so the employees do whatever they would like with no repercussions from their managers. The managers also try to pass off all of their work to the admin team so they can sit around all day and not have to face the music. It is a unionized environment but it seems as if the union has full control and do as they please
Pros
Stable paycheck
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monthly Accounting workload
Senior Accountant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 June 2017
As an accountant, we work on a monthly workload, first 6 days is month end close and the remaining time is Reconciling and other assignments. It is long hours during close but after close, the workload lightens up. No weekend works which is great. No micromanagement as you know what needs to get done and very deadline driven so as long as you hit the deadline, you are good.
Pros
Stable, decent pay
Cons
long hours during close
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welcome to 1985
Driver (Former Employee) –  Manitoba12 June 2017
Sadly,the garbage industry,at least the companies i have worked for,are in a perpetual struggle with the employees,who they view as untrustworthy adversaries,and droids who will work as hard and as long as the management demands they will.There is a huge push in the last few years to be safe on the job,unfortunately this does not mean you will be allowed to have a short enough work day to facilitate being safe on the road.Pay is very good,as are the benefits,but expect to work 10to 12 hour days endlessly and many saturdays as well. If a good work/Life balance is what you are after,this industry is likely not for you,sorry.
Pros
Pay Benefits
Cons
See above
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste disposal company
Shop Foreman (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB11 June 2017
I never noticed the smell till i stopped working for them. Almost like being self-employed as I worked alone out of 3 different shop. Got to plan and organize my days. I loved that noone looking over my shoulder once I built trust with the bosses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would go back if they called
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON11 June 2017
This job was great nice hours great pay, boss is great interacts with the employees. Monthly give a ways, a great incentive program and they play music the majority of your shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Garbage Thrower (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON30 May 2017
I loved working at waste management. The people were so welcoming and helped me get use to the job fast. Its an amazing job for someone who loves to be outdoors in all working conditions and not in a warehouse or a factory all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waste Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,855 reviews
5790
4804
3683
2299
1279

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture