Waste Management Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable days as a team of two, out in the city, to finish at own pace, but in good reasonable time.
Garbage collector (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON21 September 2017
Quality Connect is the temporary agency that paired me up for this job, but once I showed reliability to the WM workforce, I had little contact with Quality connect and was expected to show up for WM work. Variety of employees that I was paired up with as a temp worker, but enjoyed the changes in people and routes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Roll-off Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 September 2017
Pre and post trip inspections on commercial roll off trucks. completing and assigned route. Ability to read traffic to avoid traffic delays such as accidents, construction and heavy traffic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Residential Route Manager (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON18 September 2017
Enjoyed my employment there. Salary and benefits are excellent and the work is hard but easy enough depending on what you are doing. Unless you're in dispatch, women have a more difficult time moving up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a Waste
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Watford, ON11 September 2017
Management is not consistent with the standard rules they created. It's based on whether the boss likes you or out the door! They won't give you time to learn and trainwithin the period. Boss always says i have no time and if you make an honest mistake then they walk you out the door with out due process/1st warning! It was a waste of time working their thinking to have a better future! The management nor the union stewarts can not be trusted! So new applicants be very careful and leery in taking a position in WM especially in the Watford, Ontario landfill!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative/stressful work enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 August 2017
At first WM was a great place to work but unless you are friends with management you are never going to move up in the company. It has a high turnover rate, it is a negative work environment and expect to work lots of overtime.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Bad management, negative work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne compagnie
Chauffeur (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC8 August 2017
Bonne compagnie mais un environnement de travail peu joyeux
Pros
Bien remunere
Cons
Environnement pas fait pour tous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Management
Operations Specialist (Multifamily/Commercial) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 August 2017
This company could be a good place to work, however the management is very poor quality and not employee friendly, unless you are a union employee. I would never recommend working for this company in Edmonton, AB. I have no idea what it is like elsewhere but in Edmonton it's all about the money. Employee's mean nothing.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet day in the office
Scalehouse Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2017
A typical day is sitting in front of the computer. Checking emails. Trucks come in hour by hour and you log in their information to dispose of the garbage then print them a completion ticket for all their hard work. Some transaction through credit and sitting the whole day waiting for trucks to come by.
Pros
Quiet, chill
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and dedicated to safety
Equipment Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Elkford, BC8 July 2017
Great guys, co-workers and management, really generous company, they outfit you with any PPE you need for the job along with training. The management was very helpful and collaberative about potential safety hazards in the work areas.
Pros
more PPE than you know what to do with.
Cons
Not alot of hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
trash from recycling system (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 June 2017
No comment, I do not have much to comment,that's all but is very dirty but people are working there are very nice this work please is very cold so if you want you can go
Pros
Good management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Waste Management?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent Management
Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC25 June 2017
The Coquitlam office at Waste Management has potential to be a great place to work, however, the local management team is beyond incompetent. There is no accountability so the employees do whatever they would like with no repercussions from their managers. The managers also try to pass off all of their work to the admin team so they can sit around all day and not have to face the music. It is a unionized environment but it seems as if the union has full control and do as they please
Pros
Stable paycheck
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monthly Accounting workload
Senior Accountant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 June 2017
As an accountant, we work on a monthly workload, first 6 days is month end close and the remaining time is Reconciling and other assignments. It is long hours during close but after close, the workload lightens up. No weekend works which is great. No micromanagement as you know what needs to get done and very deadline driven so as long as you hit the deadline, you are good.
Pros
Stable, decent pay
Cons
long hours during close
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welcome to 1985
Driver (Former Employee) –  Manitoba12 June 2017
Sadly,the garbage industry,at least the companies i have worked for,are in a perpetual struggle with the employees,who they view as untrustworthy adversaries,and droids who will work as hard and as long as the management demands they will.There is a huge push in the last few years to be safe on the job,unfortunately this does not mean you will be allowed to have a short enough work day to facilitate being safe on the road.Pay is very good,as are the benefits,but expect to work 10to 12 hour days endlessly and many saturdays as well. If a good work/Life balance is what you are after,this industry is likely not for you,sorry.
Pros
Pay Benefits
Cons
See above
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste disposal company
Shop Foreman (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB11 June 2017
I never noticed the smell till i stopped working for them. Almost like being self-employed as I worked alone out of 3 different shop. Got to plan and organize my days. I loved that noone looking over my shoulder once I built trust with the bosses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would go back if they called
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON11 June 2017
This job was great nice hours great pay, boss is great interacts with the employees. Monthly give a ways, a great incentive program and they play music the majority of your shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Garbage Thrower (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON30 May 2017
I loved working at waste management. The people were so welcoming and helped me get use to the job fast. Its an amazing job for someone who loves to be outdoors in all working conditions and not in a warehouse or a factory all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
generally good enviroment
Loader (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON16 May 2017
typical work day was hard, long shifts hard work and you have the grull the environment. typically the managers and drivers were nice and accommodated your needs. most of the driver/loaders got along. hardest part of the job would be the grind of filling a truck. most enjoyable would be going to dump the truck.
Pros
at times many breaks
Cons
bursty work...alot at once then little.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Route Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 April 2017
Waste Management is a forefront company. A leader in the waste services sector. Work life balance is tough in management, but salary and benefits are adequate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect
Heavy Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON19 April 2017
If you want a job where all you do is preventative maintenance, management doesn't notice when you put in long hours to make sure trucks are road worthy, promise training but you can't because there is none, tell you there is room for advancement when there really isn't, work on new trucks that are already having major issues, feel like you're in prison because you're monitored by the computers and cameras, then this is the job for you. Good luck and Don't say you weren't warned. Wish I was.
Pros
The guys you work with are amazing
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work at ur own risk of mental health
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Mount Forest, ON12 April 2017
smelly job coworkers fought alot blaming each other for missing product oin the line kept head down very stressful fast p[ace which i loved hour were nice 7 am to 3 pm and pay was min wage
Pros
experience with fast pace enviroments
Cons
smelly stressful coworkers arguing alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Waste Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,570 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3