Find companies:
Waste Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
843 reviews

Waste Management Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with two other women was fun and we got the job done too!
Dispatch Assistant (Former Employee), Regina, Sk.April 10, 2014
Pros: staff lunches
Cons: toxic (mould) in the office environment
A typical day at work consisted of phone answering, job entering and scheduling and then dispatching to drivers. When the run sheets were finalized, they were printed and I collated and stapled them. The hardest part of the job was when we were slow, it was hard to keep busy. All the staff at the time were interesting and respectful-the most enjoyable – more... part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Container Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), 550 Bowes Rd. Concord ONFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: great company and team
managers are professional and helpful
always new challenges
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Worker (Former Employee), New Toronto, ONJanuary 27, 2014
Cons: long hours
It is a learning process, always on the lookout for your co-worker and yourself safety. A typical day is like not stop work, whether it be on the production line, cleaning and shovelling debris. The morning is the hardest time, because for some reason the time drags on. We all work as a team, always helping and watching each other back. Management is – more... always on the go. The most enjoyable part of the job is where we can have a laugh and break the tension, it helps make the time past faster. Some days we all know when to start, but at the end of the day, it can end up any time after 5/6pm or more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job
Driver/Operator (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: not forgiving at all
Not much to say as they were very professional but not forgiving at all
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disrespectful place to work
Recycle Truck Driver (Former Employee), West HantsJanuary 20, 2014
Decent pay and benifits but emploees are treated very poor.On a daily basis you are bullied,put down and accused of things before there is any proof.Management i feel get off on suspending and firing employees no matter what the outcome.Would never recommend Waste Management to my worse enemy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced
Labourer (Former Employee), Walkerton onJanuary 16, 2014
yes it was a great learning exspearance and they wear all a great bunch of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place To Work
Route Manager (Former Employee), Maidstone, ONJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: enjoyed coming to work, treated with dignity & respect
Cons: keeping up with new developments!
I started with the company in 2005, as a front line Manager, and progressed over the 7 years I was employed, to District Manager. The company sold up and left town back in 2012, but my time, overall was one of the best - very stressful at times, but the support network was second to none, and the structure and systems were light years ahead of the competition. – more... There were tough times, but I can honestly say I have nothing negative to say about this employer - fantastic family atmosphere & great safety culture. In my last 2 to 3 years at the District, I had the honour to work with a great team, and fantastic group of professional drivers & support employees & staff. I believe one of my lowest seniority employees had 10 years seniority - that speaks for itself. From the bottom to the top, your opinion counted, and regular employee surveys were carried out by external (confidential) bodies, and all findings acted upon. Where else can you find that? Also, they continually asked their customers (with surveys) what they thought about WM. If you get the call, it will be the best decision you can make .... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of experience in different areas
Driver (Former Employee), EdmontonDecember 18, 2013
If you would like to have room to expand in a company; this is it. Waste has a lot of work available, and you can learn port-a-potties too!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best of the Waste
Contractor/Data Entry Admin Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONDecember 12, 2013
Waste Management was unfortunetly a contract based position, but such a great company to work for. Everyone is so nice and welcoming, and incredibly appreciative of the work I do. It is a shame it was only for a short period of time, I would have really enjoyed to stay as an employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enjoyable work
Sorter (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONNovember 18, 2013
hot, messy, undesirable
not rewarding
not much chance for full-time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic day to day
Commercial Sales (Current Employee), Waterloo OntarioAugust 26, 2013
Waste Management is a decent company. Work week is Monday to Friday 8:30 to 5:00
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work Environment with Opportunities for Equipment Improvement
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 24, 2013
Pros: free cofffee and tea
Cons: sometimes we have longer hours of work
The design of mechanical equipment used in waste management operations offer our team with the possibility express new ideas for equipment enhancement.
We work as a team, we are expose to the resolution of technical issues, but in general everyone cooperates for the finding of appropriate solutions.
This is a 5-day job that allows us to relax on week-ends, – more... and makes our work more enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good company to work for
Sanitation Employee (Former Employee), Saint John, NBAugust 12, 2013
Pros: safety oriented
Cons: very physical job
This company offers a excellent safety run business.The Management have always been helpful.Benefits ,rrsp and ect are top notch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Driver/Recycler (Former Employee), coquitlamJuly 29, 2013
Pros: everthing
great company to wrk...highly emphasized on safety of employees... best management and great training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard and good work
driver loader (Former Employee), missisaugaJuly 18, 2013
Pros: good job good benefits
Cons: long hours and poor comunication
the job was good and i enjoyed the actual work
the management was very good but the upper management was very military and had no idea what the workers did
as a matter of fact the president was fired when he appeared on a tv show
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs I ever had!
ScaleOperator/Clerical (Former Employee), Maidstone, OntarioJuly 9, 2013
Pros: pro was getting along well with co workers
Cons: the only con i can think of is if there were no trucks coming into the scale
My work day started at 6:30 am and I was the first one in the office, besides the drivers whom had their own room. I weighed in trucks daily, I dealt with cash customers needing to dump their personal trash, all clerical duties, many different types of reports using computer skills I've acquired throughout the years and use of CB radio and surveillance – more... cameras. The people I worked with were some of the best people I've ever met. Each driver who worked for the company and the outside people needing to empty their trash, were always so nice to me. There was no hard part of the job. Unfortunately it was only a temporary job and they were bought out by a different company, they didn't want to let me go and gave me a good bye party when I did have to leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
geat experiance working there
Store clerk, Student Coop program (Former Employee), kanata,ONJuly 4, 2013
it a good company there give you free lunch (the times a was there)if people throw away stuff you can keep whatever you like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent overall company
SR Dispatcher (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONJune 24, 2013
Pros: benifits
Cons: stress
I really enjoy the company and the people. I miss working outside and with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste Management is a great place to work
Account Manager (Former Employee), CoquitlamJune 13, 2013
Cons: long hours
At Waste Management, your hours are somewhat flexable. Customer needs are always at the top of my priorty list. The hardest part of my job was not being able to meet my customers needs, due to services we could not provide. I made good friends at Waste Management. A great place to work and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive outdoor workplace
Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONMay 13, 2013
Pros: payed lunch and get to meet a lot of new people
Cons: long hours sometimes on weekends
Jobs are by appointment travelling one place to another some days there is a lot of work other days are slow. I learned lots about demolition on office spaces and how to setup a crew for the teardown.

1 2 3 4 5

About Waste Management

Waste Management is the leading provider of comprehensive waste management and environmental services in North America. We are – Read more

Waste Management Photos