Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38,945 reviews

Walmart Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with
instock (Former Employee), calgary abNovember 10, 2014
Pros: amazing co-workers
Cons: manager
typical day at work would be in the back room stocking,
I learned a lot at Walmart, how to work with others, how to do in stock, use the pdas.
The management was awful, disrespectful and made me hate working there.
My co-workers were amazing, kind fun people
Hardest part was being in the back room, with only two other people trying to get a lot of work – more... done that was impossible.
Most enjoyable was the pay, and the people and I also loved working nights! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work for very little pay.
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Bolton, ONNovember 9, 2014
Pros: 10% discount at walmart stores.
Cons: long hours, little pay, strenuous work
A night at Walmart consisted of unloading 7-8 skids of product while managing a clean work environment and having the store prepped and ready for customers upon opening. There was however very little opportunity to climb the ladder and the work was very strenuous for the amount I was being paid. As well as being a very sexist work environment, the men – more... were relied upon to do any and all heavy lifting or strenuous work, even when women were more than capable of handling the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co workers
Inventory Control Specialist Associate (Former Employee), Albany Edmonton,ABNovember 6, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: poor management
no management leadership take stock out, put it back, never any headway made.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A vast array of products for sale to all masses of people
Cashier (Current Employee), Penticton, BCNovember 6, 2014
Pros: dealing with the public
Cons: cashier tills not set-up ergonomically
Maintain the customer service and checkout area for prompt & accurate processing of customer orders in a fast-paced environment.
Ensure loss prevention systems & procedures are performed according to guidelines.
When assistance is required management is present to give support.
Thoroughly enjoy the comradely with fellow associates and the meeting of – more... customers.
The hardest part is dealing with the processing of heavy items. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Enviroment
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Markham, ONNovember 6, 2014
Pros: free snacks on fridays, casual fridays
Cons: unorganized, disfucnctional
Dealing with customers all day, trying to help them to get what they are looking for or concerned with.
I've learned how to deal with customers on the daily, whatever mood they are in, and how to deal with them.
Most of the management team is good with helping around, but some of them are lazy and could care less.
Co-workers are nice and friendly, some – more... are lazy as well and don't go above and beyond for customer service.
The hardest part of my job is to try an get everything done and make everyone happy. This can be hard because I feel like I have so much responsibility and I do more then one thing at a time. I am a hard worker and like to get everything done properly and efficiently.
The most enjoyable part of my job is feeling satisfied when I go above and beyond for a customer and how grateful they are when I have helped them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unvalued Labourers
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee), Halifax, NSNovember 6, 2014
Pros: employee discount at the store.
Cons: management-employee communication disconnect
Job was fun and easy, I had independence within my role to work as part of a team to complete the tasks required.
I learned that managers often do no form full lines of communication with their employees which leads to the manager making performance reviews and other decisions based on assumptions instead of facts.
Good co-workers in the same role come – more... together to exploit the strengths of each team member to split task responsibilities such that all assigned tasks will be completed quickly and in good quality. Also learned some co-workers value only their own selves and not teamwork and will simply need to be worked around. I learned that when a co-worker is of a different department that sometimes they can or can not help you and vice-versa.
I enjoyed that my job had both structure, and that I was also responsible for tasks assigned spontaneously such as carrying out items for customers or tasks assigned by supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for this company
Department Manager (Former Employee), Duncan B.CNovember 5, 2014
I really enjoyed working with my co-workers. I also got to work in all area's of the store to learn why things are done the way they are which helps in inventory control and customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walmart was a great place to work
Night Stocker (Former Employee), Dawson Creek, BCNovember 5, 2014
Pros: we took turns buying lunches
Cons: i would have worked any hours
we had a great crew that was great to work with...I learned how to work every depament in the store. the hardest part was the first few days get used to staying up all night. The most enjoyable was everyone got along well and we all worked hard to get everything done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart is a good company treats associates with respect
Shelf stocker (Former Employee), Penticton, BCNovember 4, 2014
Pros: feel that you have done something
Cons: lunch is to long
I got along with my co-workers i like customers You do your job and no one bugs you
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Enviorment
Back-Room Stock (Former Employee), Georgetown, ONNovember 4, 2014
Cons: long hours, didn't understand the physical requiremnts to work in the back room
Co workers were friendly, easy to get along with.
Management did not understand that employees have a life outside of work (i.e Family, School)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Brampton, ONNovember 4, 2014
very good management but late night shifts not suitable for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Environment
cashier (Former Employee), WoodstockNovember 4, 2014
Every day was busy. We learned new skills often, management was helpful. The co-workers were amazing. every one got along very well. The hardest part of the job was training new customers, as they would get frustrated easy. I loved working with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity for myriads of work experience.
CUSTOMER SERVICE SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Campbell River, BCNovember 4, 2014
Pros: left overs from bakery and deli, flexible hours, plenty of departments to learn.
Cons: repetitive work, low staff, low pay.
Day began with typical maintenance, turned on T.V's, dusted shelves and made sure merchandise is neat and accessible.

Learned how to interact with people in an enjoyable way, valuable counting skills, building pallets in an efficient manner, proficient computer skills.

Management dealt with problems quickly and effectively and are willing to help – more... with job related and personal issues.

The hardest part of the job is repetitive actions and sometimes troublesome customers.

I enjoyed helping people and making sure they found and were satisfied with what they were looking for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult Environment
Management of a large team of staff (Former Employee), Claremont, NHNovember 2, 2014
Pros: great group of team members
Cons: contiuous change of management and expectations
I worked as a Customer Service manager and managed over 20+ employees. I was very well liked by my team. I was involved in the hiring of new employees and managed compliance and company policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive salary
Administrative Manager (Former Employee), Fredericton, NBNovember 2, 2014
Good benefits package
advancement opportunity
competitive salary
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overwork you & management is terrible
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee), bramptonNovember 2, 2014
Just a terrible place to work, if you do get hired there be prepared to quit in a month or so
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No sense of accompishment
Manager Mid-Level -Customer relations (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 2, 2014
At the end of the day I need to feel that something was done...at this company I never felt that to many obstacles to complete anything. Too much work not enough day or money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Dry Grocery (Former Employee), Orangeville, ONNovember 1, 2014
Pros: stock sharing, open door policy
Cons: scattered management
Working at Walmart was a great experience for me. I was able to work with, and help a variety of different people from all cultures and backgrounds. Unlike other places I've been employed, I was always busy at Walmart, which is what I've been looking for. I was able to work independently when I came in for my shift, with some instruction and little – more... guidance. When it came to working with my co-workers, majority of our interactions were pleasant. It was a growing experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nearly perfect place to work
Cashier/Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Halifax, NSNovember 1, 2014
Walmart has a better salary than most entry level jobs. Good benefits, especially if you get hired full time. Surprisingly great advancement opportunities. Generally friendly management as long as you are doing your job. The only complaint I have is the pressure to upsell Mastercards. That is not necessarily the companies fault however, there may not – more... be another cost feasible way to advertise their Mastercards to customers without the upselling. I just didn't like doing it. In fact, I'm pretty sure I heard nearly ever other employee complain about it at one time or another as well. Cashiers are the only ones required to upsell though. Just a heads up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great time working with Walmart
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Swift Current, SKOctober 31, 2014
Pros: 10 % employee discount on all purchases!!!
Cons: changing work hours
Although I worked at Walmart for short period of time, it was great experience for me. Co-workers were very friendly and supportive. Flexible and accommodative schedules.

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more