Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 5,701 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work .. has upper management problems
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC9 June 2017
lots to learn with the chance to improve yourself and grow in your skill set .
as a manager work weeks are 50 to 70 hours a week
work schedule doesn't leave room for family life
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 June 2017
Regular major department retail type environment.
Management style will depend on department and even location of store.
Poor management will result in poor moral among staff.
Required to remain at post, regardless of customer needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and fun workplace
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 June 2017
working in a big company is challenging , working with different nationalities is inspiring, learning with them and sharing ideas and opinion. Serving customer is enjoyable , there is no hardest part if everybody work as a team.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Maximum
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC8 June 2017
it is good working at Walmart, but it does not provide job security to any of the employee. In last month Walmart Canada laid down around 500 of their managers. If managers are not secured there so it is hard to expect job security there.
Pros
Great workplace to work
Cons
No job security and not even 40 hours for full time workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we get profit share check one a year
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB8 June 2017
Productive , busy always something to do never enough hours in a day to get everything done. Pleasant place to work good benefits and enjoy helping customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a joke
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON8 June 2017
Not a good place to work....Do not feel valued. With a "Management" position paid $0.40 more than current minimum wage. Sometimes working 12-13 hour shift because upper managements poor scheduling. Upper management will never take responsibility for lack of staffing. And when CSM arent responding to cashier action codes fast enough or validating the many things CSM are required to validate its because the CSM is on a cash register for 90% of their shift. ITS A JOKE
Pros
if you are scheduled for 8 hours you fet to 15's and an hour lunch
Cons
wage, upper management gets paid far to much to sit on their rear ends
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON8 June 2017
Cashier
Built customer skills
handled large amounts of cash
trusted
Worked late hours
Rotated to different positions
Exceeded customers requests for help
Pros
Customer Service
Cons
Late shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
out of touch with their employee
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB8 June 2017
I have alot to thank Walmart for but the way they treat their employees who actually work is disgusting and intolerable. The company talks about being there for the customer yet their actions state they are just there for the profit.
Pros
wonderful co-workers
Cons
terrible upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome teamwork
pharmacist relief (Former Employee) –  baseline,Carlton blace ,bank ST8 June 2017
I like the teamwork in Walmart. they deal well with the patients and health care provider. I learn there how to deal with the others in professional way
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON8 June 2017
Fun place to work at, alot of lazy coworkers and managers though. Did not get paid wnough for all the work that was required and extras added on. Benefits are great
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun for the right person, just not for me.
Store Standards Associate (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC8 June 2017
While I had some fun the hours were terrible and not very flexible at all. They had me working just under the amount of hours that would classify me as full time and would entitle me to benefits and more. They refused to hire me as a full time associate in my position even though they were in desperate need of one.
Pros
2 paid 15 minute breaks and 1 hour break that isn't paid
Cons
Long hours, Hours not flexible, Poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment for growth
Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 June 2017
Great staff and treatment by fellow employees and managers. Walmart offered a very friendly environment which allowed it's employees to have a fun, safe, lovable environment.
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Store was very disorganized based on shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job that kept me on my feet.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2017
The best part of the job was being able to handle and help customers around the store and find them what they were looking for. I really enjoyed this job because it kept me very busy and I really enjoy being fast paced and finishing every task that is put in front of me appropriately
Pros
Enjoyed the people i worked with.
Cons
Not very good wages involved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
j aime bien travaillé chez walmart une bonne compagné respecteuse enver leurs emploié(es)sé
Walmart Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC7 June 2017
Walmart c est un très bonne entreprise qu il as beaucoup de potentiel et c est très plaisent de travaillé dans un domaine ou surtout ou ont se sent bien et aussi respecté c est très importent qu an ont parle de Walmart les gens sont très emballé qui ne vas pas chez Walmart moi je connais personne hihi a bientôt mes amies xx
Pros
le respect
Cons
j en connais pas désolé!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced work place
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Kirkland, QC7 June 2017
I've been at Walmart for almost three years, it has taught me a lot. How to be patient and how to deal with customers in the appropriate manner. As well as how to deal with how fast paced Walmart can be. I learned how to multi-task and do everything from cash, customer service and self-checkout. I was the last person that they saw before they left the store so i had to make it memorable so that they would come again. The hardest part of the job was definitely the fact that it was fast paced and always busy, so you had to be on top of your game at all times. There's never a time where you can just relax and talk, you are always doing something. Which is good, because the time goes by very quickly. I met some of my best friends at Walmart which was definitely the best part about it.
Pros
Co-Workers were amazing
Cons
A lot of time on your feet/Very tiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 June 2017
worked for these guys for 7 years or so and they always left me alone and let me work on my own... before that i never had a job that i didnt need to be supervised
Pros
Backshift pays an extra $1 an hour
Cons
Sometimes you can get a mean manager as they rotate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON7 June 2017
During my time at Walmart I connected with the staff and made many new friends. Overall I would say my time at Walmart was very good and I would recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ON7 June 2017
unfortunately although they say you can advance to other departments it's not as easy as that> have been requesting to be transferred to fashion or health and beauty where my experience of over 12 years justifies they always have an excuse why they cant! The girls at the front end all know its because they dont wont to lose me on cash since I'm in the top 10% for scans per hours
Pros
Discount and profit sharing
Cons
stress from management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
reciever and stock person (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON7 June 2017
good work and time goes by fast
ive learned nothing
management sucks
they always need people and don't hire anyone
very multicultural
nothing hard about it
going home at the end of the shift
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Counter attendant (Former Employee) –  Halifax Regional Municipality, NS7 June 2017
great place to work great environment friendly staff and great employees.fun tims i had there. would like to get the job back any day, i would love to go back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 99,410 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4