Walmart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management makes all the difference
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Orleans, ON23 November 2017
Loved my job at the beginning, however when management changed, hours got cut, employees weren't happy anymore.
Good job if you need a flexible work schedule.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
Not enough hours, not a lot of staff on at one time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Cochrane, AB23 November 2017
A very good experience and a fun place to work at, the staff are really friendly and they do their best in trying to help co-workers and the customers who shop at their store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter job
sales (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON22 November 2017
was very hard to balance personal life with work life. manager was not understand and would always try to get me to pick between my sport or work when he knew the only way i could do the sports were if i had a job,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Inventory and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC22 November 2017
Work was relaxed but needed a fast pace when busy. Hour long lunches mad you look forward to breaks and not rushed compared to the regular 30 minute breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Fulfillment Associate (Current Employee) –  Weyburn, SK22 November 2017
Very fun workplace. Good team members. Need to improve the way they do the routine jobs but its always fun to work here. The management is always helpful with our concerns,
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
non-optimized job routines
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An area that has potential for greatness
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Stettler, AB21 November 2017
A typical day for work consisted of having my manager oversee every little task I did. She would quite often request that I redo tasks, not because they were done properly but because she'd changed her mind on how a display should look
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work, good people
Overnight maintenance (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB21 November 2017
wal mart was not my favourite place to work, found some management hard to communicate with, others were fine, long hours, hard work for not much recognition, wasn't for me. hate to say bad things and not all people find it a hard place to work,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced yet fun
Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Bradford, ON21 November 2017
Most of the management team was personable and took pride staff relations. Never a dull moment between experiences with both fellow staff and customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB21 November 2017
Great and fun staff to have a job at! Managers are understandable, learned a lot through them. Dealt with challenging customers and in the end we had a compromise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON21 November 2017
At WalMart, I was continuously able to express myself and further my skills and knowledge. It was a fun and welcoming environment, where I felt comfortable knowing I was in a safe environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place
mail order clerk (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL21 November 2017
I truly enjoyed my job here.Being able to be given the chance to shop for others and being thanked for doing so was simply amazing.The only down fall was the lack of hrs
Pros
shopping for others
Cons
lack of hrs avaliable
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommended place to work for students and people without Canadian work experience
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ontario21 November 2017
Salary is not commensurate to the job responsibilities; more responsibilities but low salary. My co-workers are nice to work with, and some managers if not all, give equal treatments to their subordinates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s bad
Produce Associate (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON21 November 2017
Location is great and easy to get to however management is awful, overworked to the max. Managers schedule hours sometimes not within the availability given. Produce gets new employees and loses half of them within two weeks, it’s always understaffed and hard to start at a fast pace like that for some. They do give good hours if you ask or if you pick up shifts in other departments which you can always do. There’s an almost unrealistic expectation of perfection to be met so if you can’t deal with constant criticism or being told what needs to be done every 10 seconds I really would not recommend working here. There’s a couple of problematic employees but every workplace has those.
Pros
Good hours, fair breaks, mostly agreeable staff
Cons
Certain management, bias problems, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 November 2017
It's been 4 years, the place changed since and the employees too.
The management was not so good back then but I did really like to work with my co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt to handle customers and gained skills.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON21 November 2017
Walmart is one of the biggest retail industry in North America. There was a lot of skills gained during this work period.
Customer experience
Communication skills and leadership skills.
Good Workplace
Handling customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Technician (Current Employee) –  Ontario21 November 2017
Busy store and very stressful to serve customer in time. Overall it is good place to learn and aqure knowlege. There is less chance to get inter position in walmart
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Senior Infrastructure Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 November 2017
Fast pace energetic, is a fun place where you get to learn so many different areas of the business, workplace culture is great everyone is really friendly willing to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Tire & Lube Associate (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB20 November 2017
Team Setting
no one gets centered out
everyone stays involved
team meetings
always moving
consistant tasks
never stationary
always being asked to perform different tasks in other depts
room to grow
Pros
Growth Opp
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Fun work space with friendly people
Store Standards Associate/Cash (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NS20 November 2017
Most of my day is pushing carts I have to push at least 20 to 40 carts with the pusher plus carry outs where I help older people with large items. It is a fun job full of friendly people who are always willing to help anyone at anytime.
Pros
The discount
Cons
None that I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Gander, NL20 November 2017
treat their workers poorly, severely under paid. you are not recognised for the work you do and there is very little room for growth within the company
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 120,505 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4