Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 5,349 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible with balancing school hours
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON20 April 2017
Manager was terrible, would book over my availability and would be demanded to work when I had college classes at that time. Would not suggest working there. Busy around christmas hours, overwhelming if you're not good with fast pace working. Lots of memorization. You have to "sell" people on the mastercard and they get mad if you don't reach their standards.
Pros
set lunch break
Cons
just about everything
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all smiles.
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC20 April 2017
Poor management made for a toxic work environment where the demands of the job became increasingly difficult because other shifts refused to do their part to make the whole store work efficiently
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enviroment
Department manager (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON20 April 2017
A good place to work, very busy. I was able to apply for different positions in store. They hire on your merits instead of employee rankings of when they were hired.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Not enough employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Associates, Terrible Management
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 April 2017
Second job I've ever had and I've applied to the job about a year or so ago until I got the job. Couple of months now and I thought Walmart was really somewhat of a decent store until I started working for them. Associates are given barely any tools to work with, store is also understaffed, wages are definitely not worth to what you're working for. I feel bad for people who have a five year, ten year, fifteen year badge from Walmart because it's NOT something to be proud of.
Pros
Live close, long hours
Cons
LP is terrible. Management wont work with you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All associates are co-operative and i enjoy working with them
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON19 April 2017
I like working at walmart. My manager and all the coworkers are very understanding and fun to work with. When the customers are satisfied i feel like i am doing my job well. All the associates in my department work as a team and get the work done in proper time.
The only thing i don't like is less hours. Mostly they give 12hrs/week only.
Pros
meet lots of people
Cons
less hours and long lunch hour
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all not a bad place to work
Night Commercial Cleaner (Contract Holder) (Current Employee) –  Corner Brook, NL19 April 2017
don't work for walmart I was a clear that was there for a new new complay over it was good place to work and it was very under staff at night it was lot of work some nights
Pros
great staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
cashier (Current Employee) –  Stettler, AB18 April 2017
been there for two years have had a great time working there employees are friendly and nice sometimes i am excited to go to work to see my customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fast pace job, good team work both from associates and mangers
Store Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 April 2017
Walmart is face pace environment, both in term of customer service and inventory management.

Meeting sale targets by skill full management.

Inventory controls

Training and motivating associates.
to work
Pros
Discount card, Good environment to work
Cons
Long and extended hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start.
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Sylvan Lake, AB18 April 2017
The work place has a friendly environment. The job is done in an orderly manner. Management is caring for their employees especially when you are just starting your working career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun place to work
Baker (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB17 April 2017
it was open and perfect to work. I got a lot of customer communication with the customers and the people around me were good people. so I had a great time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was fun, Management has some problems that needs sorting
Bakery Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON17 April 2017
6-8 hour work shifts
learned stocking, customer appreciation and customer responsibility.
management needs some improvements but was still good
hardest part was the fast pace environment
enjoyable part are the co-workers
Pros
flexible times
Cons
lots of work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
Lead Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  BC17 April 2017
Although I like the work and the people I work with the wages are just not right for the work I do. The most enjoyable thing about the job is the people I work with. The hardest part is having to deal with other peoples messes and the fact that I'm doing the work of more then one person.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC17 April 2017
Typical day was good, everything was great. The management and staff were awesome. Hardest part of the job was the holiday rush but it was manageable.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company's benefit is good.
Sales associate/overnight stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 April 2017
The company very coordinate in their employees. Every employees can express whatever ideas they can share for the company's benefit. And the immediate superior is nice.
Pros
Good
Cons
Good
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first time job or student job but little else
Stock Associate (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON17 April 2017
Relatively easy work with heavy lifting and demanding customers. Very buracratic company with little idea on how to properly operate or manage stores. Promotions will almost always be given to the least qualified and/or most incompetent.
Pros
Hours are flexible, discount card, starting wage above minimum
Cons
Poorly run with a focus on making money that has no concern for employes
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work because of the people
Store Standards Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 April 2017
Walmart is a great place to work for if you love to talk to people. I just go around with my carts talking to all the cashiers and backroom members like a giant family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good company to work with
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK16 April 2017
processing transactions, helping customers find the products needed, cleaning and filling stock. The staff fun to work with. Customers can be difficult at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to work, unfriendly workers
Deli Department Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB16 April 2017
the job was for the most part i consider easy, but my co-workers were not enjoyable to work with, the people who were supposed to train me rarely showed up, and there was no one to take over to teach me what to do. After a couple weeks I learned how to do everything myself, working alone most of the time.
Pros
simple job
Cons
unfriendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
DAIRY/FROZEN/DRY GROCERY/RECEIVING ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 April 2017
The workplace was fun with lots of socializing with customers. Not too strenuous. Managers were lenient and caring except for a select few. A typical day was stocking dairy prodects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON16 April 2017
I worked at Walmart for a year. I found that my co-workers were great to be around but the supervisors and managers were not so friendly at times and they took a long time to answer a page from a cashier. Also if you booked time off or had to change your availability they scheduled in on the days you couldn't.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
work schedules, long waits for supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 91,901 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4