Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35,677 reviews

Walmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amber's review
Footwear Department (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: was a good after school job.
Cons: non.
dealing with stock, cleaning the shoes off the floor, putting shoe back on the shelf, helping costumers find shoes or sizes. costumer service. working as a team member, meeting new people everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and fun place to work!
Photolab Technician (Former Employee), Oshawa, BellevilleSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: discounts and excellent managers/co-workers
Cons: we worked with outside companies that were very harsh with us
I don't know about other Walmarts, but when I worked in Oshawa was when I had my first, and best job experiences. My manager was excellent and thoroughly knowledgeable about camera's, products and the photolab, so it made the position incredibly easy to learn. Being inside the electronics department as well gave me a thorough understanding on how to – more... work there as well. I loved working with the printer the most, especially when it needed to be cleaned and fixed. The photolab was definitely my favourite job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work for
Baker (Former Employee), Woodstock OnSeptember 4, 2014
Good balance of different people to work with, always something new to see
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for first timers.
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: it's decent work for high schoolers.
Cons: customers can be harsh at times.
IT was my first part time job. I did well there, got along with most of my co-workers and most of the managers. Plenty of things to do there. It was pretty good for a high school student. Customers had a tendency to be hostile though, and should you even try to give your defend yourself when they yell at you they threaten to get you fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work. Just need to provide more hours to staff .
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: not enough hours. promised 20-25 am getting only 17.
Good working environment. Management just needs to provide more hours to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Cashier (Former Employee), Welland, ONSeptember 3, 2014
job didnt work out as i was pregant and going back to school it was a normal customer service job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People
Personnel Backup (Current Employee), Markham, ONSeptember 3, 2014
Most enjoyable part about this place is some of the associates. They are very willing to help in other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Photo lab Technician (Former Employee), Williams Lake, BCSeptember 3, 2014
Cons: concreet floor.
Most days are filled with customer service. On the rare slow days there is still lots to do, like cleaning and organizing.
I learned how to make specialty photo products and about the Electronics section of the store.
Management is nice and will meet with you if you have anything you need to discuss. Co-workers are very friendly and made the working – more... atmosphere enjoyable.
The hardest part of the job was trying to help the customers before they asked for your help. Being able to read them got easier over time.
The most enjoyable part was helping customers and seeing them walk away satisfied with there purchase. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Night Associate (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 3, 2014
I learned many new skill set at work. I had a great manager and co-worker to make work easy and enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Produce Associate- Full Time (Current Employee), Cambridge, ontarioSeptember 2, 2014
Once you hit the groove and learn your job its pretty predictable. I would recomend this as a first job.

It is customer service so you learn how to be diplomatic in dealing with people. Which is a great skill to have in life.

People you work with come from all walks of life there isnt one type of person youll encounter the most and its easy to make – more... friends there.

In seven years I have learned more than I can share here but I think its worth the experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walmart night mare
Brand Attendant (Former Employee), leliaSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: lack of group communication
this place is way too much work and stress for what you get paid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gander, NLSeptember 1, 2014
Hardest part of the job is trying to keep the shelves full. Most enjoyable part would be having McDonalds for a meal in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Down to skeleton staff
floor associate (Current Employee), OrleansSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: none - any incentive rewards have also disappeared
Cons: too many things to do in one day
Job descriptions are out the window. So many positions have been eliminated or combined that everybody is doing every job. When someone leaves, IF they fill the position it's changed from full time to part time.

With such few staff on the floor, customers can't find anyone to help them, and some leave. PEOPLE WILL STOP SHOPPING HERE IF THEY HAVE TO – more... WALK TO THE OTHER END OF THE STORE TO FIND SOMEONE TO HELP THEM.

Sometimes you have to spend money to make money. Start spending it again on more staff to have better customer service and better morale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming
Cashier/Customer Services (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 31, 2014
Pros: nice co workers, friendly managers
Cons: sometimes rude customers, csm sometimes are not available
It has a wonderful working environment, there is a lot to learn and to workers there are wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and appreciation of associate
Support Manager (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCAugust 31, 2014
Pros: profit share
Cons: politics
mainly working the freight, work safety , and making sure that the store is ready for the customer by 7 a.m. By working at walmart i learned about respect to fellow associate, respect for me is number one, if you earned the respect of a person, they look up to you and they follow your lead. my co-workers, i considered them as my second family. like – more... family we help each other. the challenges that i face, is how could you manage a day at work that you short of staff.how u could u be able to finish the job, when your shorthanded with associate , that when i learn to prioritized what is needed to be done. enjoyable part, when at the end of the day, i walk all through the store, and when i see that it is customer ready, and when management appreciate my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Cashier and sales associate (Former Employee), Surrey, BCAugust 30, 2014
the staff wasn't knowledgeable
did not praise good work
expected too much with little pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging
Vision Care Specialist (Former Employee), Chilliwack BCAugust 29, 2014
Learned the basics of optometry, and made finding glasses fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part time job
Part Time Meat Associate (Former Employee), Bradford, ONAugust 28, 2014
Pros: good hours
I worked at Walmart for most of my years I was in school. It was a great part time job. I enjoyed working here and all of my co workers to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere and sense of teamwork.
Sales Associate and Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONAugust 27, 2014
Pros: store discount
Cons: fluctuating hours
At walmart I would often stock shelves and make the department I was in look nice. On occasion I would have to fill as a cashier. I learned many new and interesting things working for walmart like how to operate a cash register, what to do during emergencies, excellent customer service as well as many other things. Both my management and co-workers – more... were easily to get along with and for the most part everyone worked as a well oiled machine. Hardest part of my job would probably have to be irate customers but in the end it was worth helping the customers that really appreciated the help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but no work family balance
Backroom Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONAugust 26, 2014
Pros: advancement, co-workers
Cons: 4 different shifts in 8 day span including midnights
Enjoyed my 17 years of working at Wal-Mart . They did a re-structuring,that did not have a great work-family balance .I worked my way up in the company, ending with being an inventory control specialist of a multi million dollar company .Managed 3 shifts including scheduling and evaluations .Responsible for maintaining that all associates followed all – more... safety procedures and SOP for truck unloads. – less

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more