Walmart Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 4,047 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sub-Par work experience
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 7, 2016
I took on a part time job with Walmart, as an opportunity to experience a retail work environment. The Walmart culture pretends to be employee driven, when it is clearly sales and profit driven, at least at the local store level. Managers were inefficient, contradictory and lacked many key abilities for leadership. Store was routinely understaffed, instructions were very poor. I worked for three weeks without meeting my direct manager. In-fighting and personal issues interfered with tasks.
Pros
Possibility for advancement IF you don't question poor practices
Cons
Poor management, poor scheduling, understaffed, bad work culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Sales executive/cas (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BCAugust 7, 2016
It was fun to work at the is place. I got to see the winter games too. It was quite a valuable experience that I learnt by working there since I will definitely be using that experience in my other workplaces in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt many new skills
Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Lougheed mallAugust 6, 2016
I learnt many thing at walmart especially how to deal with different types of customers, gained more knowledge about other products in the industry.
Pros
Discount after 3 months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization with lots of potential for growth.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 6, 2016
10+ years progressive experience working in a retail environment. Proficient in overseeing store operations and achieving set goals, understanding marketplace needs and strategies needed to drive sales and ensuring proper merchandise presentation. Successful track record of controlling store expenses to maximize profitability. Effective skills in payroll planning and scheduling. Hands on experience in change management within growing retail landscape.


WORK EXPERIENCE
• Demonstrated ability to motivate and lead employees

• Proven ability to hire, select and train the right candidates

• Able to meet retail sales goals

• Excellent communication skills

• Results driven approach

• Good organizational skills and the ability to multitask
Pros
compensation
Cons
no worklife balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BCAugust 5, 2016
Walmart Kamloops is a great company to work with and i can boldly say i have really gained a lot of Canadian experience working in Walmart. I have been able to improve on how to interact and deal diligently with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs a return to the founders ideals
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Langford, BCAugust 5, 2016
The overal view in regards to Walmart as a work environment is that employees have become little more than numbers in the overal system, having lost the sence of family that it had when I first started with the company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workers treat one another like family
CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Antigonish, NSAugust 4, 2016
A nice place to work. Excellent teamwork. People respect one another and are always willing to help whenever needed. Customers have positive feedback.
Pros
Weekly friday brunches. Appreciation pizza parties.
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 4, 2016
I enjoyed working at walmart. I got as many hours and i wanted and the employees were very friendly, i made friends there right away.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Campbellton, NBAugust 4, 2016
Working at Wal-Mart was nice and I would recommend it to others. Although there was a lot of favouritism that other employees noticed as well, as well as double standards for managers compared to hourly employees. But the pay was good and usually you were treated fairly and with respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Stouffville, ONAugust 3, 2016
amazing environment to gain experience in customer service. excellent team to worth with. management is very understanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Kosik Construction Labourer (Former Employee) –  Wabamun, ABAugust 3, 2016
First job, pretty basic, labour. wheelbarrow use as well as some small equipment such as a packing machine and drills and saws.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Williams Lake, BCAugust 3, 2016
long days , learned patience, my manager was ok, but my supervisor was amazing. Loved my coworkers, made a few lasting friendships. Hardest part of job was when it got so busy and we were short cashiers. Lineups were long and customers had little patience. Most enjoyable part was the few fellow cashiers that we could joke around with and loved talking to and getting to know.
Pros
Flex able hours
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed and welcoming
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 3, 2016
its a great place to work and shop

customer service is outstanding

helpful and understanding managment

team players

family oriented

work well with your needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work is answering phone cleaning and helping customers
Sales Associate Sault Ste Marie (Current Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ONAugust 3, 2016
when I first started working for Walmart 12 yrs ago it was awesome. now its brutal no staff hardly on the floor to help customers and its dirty. I wouldn't personally recommend this job to other people I know.
Pros
the co workers
Cons
not enough hours to survive
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work here!
Department Manager/ Customer service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONAugust 3, 2016
horrible experience while I worked here, management lie to you and give broken promises and when you face them about their lies they try to bully you and demote you.
Pros
customers
Cons
lies and low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Sudbury, ONAugust 3, 2016
Honestly don't see how people work there for so long. I find it the worst place to work. Management picks favorite, and if someone they like does wrong they laugh about it with them.
I will never promote people to work here, the CSM'S are down right rude and don't give a s**t if they do something wrong. They all have their heads so far up their butts it's unreal.
I feel bad for the people that work there, they need a job but hate life because of this place.
Cons
Stupid hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace working enviroment
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ONAugust 2, 2016
Walmart is a fast paced working environment that focuses their attention cost cutting and increasing efficiency. They have shifts that run 24 hours a day 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 1, 2016
Overall no complain about the place. Well organized for all level of employees.
Management- Well understanding
Salary-Good enough
Hours- Balanced
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with international foods and treats
Costumer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 31, 2016
In a tipical day at work I was doing around 9 carts of recovery;
Cleaning the work place;
Organizing the merchandise;
Guiding and giving relations yo costumers.
The management was tough but good.
I had good co-workers. whenever one or another wanted any help, we were helping each other.
the hardeswt part of the job was to work without enough staff available.
the most enjoyable part of the job was to see the result of a job well done.
Pros
1 Bonus in Marchs
Cons
less staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my position as a cashier
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BCJuly 31, 2016
The work was pretty straight froward, but found the tasks repetitive. Could have used more constructive criticism from management vs the methods I encountered. Overall was not satisfied and is the reason I left....
Pros
Opportunities to advance
Cons
Too much negativity from management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 70,644 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4