Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34,045 reviews

Walmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Co Workers, Great Work, Terrible Management
1st Shift In-Stock Associate (Former Employee), St. John's, NLJuly 23, 2014
Pros: awesome co workers
Cons: terrible management
Everyday I went to work, I knew I'd be with co workers who I also called friends. They treated me like an equal (most of the time) and the job itself was easy and manageable if you knew how to do it correctly.
However, the management at this location was terrible. I was blatantly lied to about a position change, lied about being full time, lied about – more... gaining benefits, pay increase and hours, the job itself, etc. The management (most of them) were incredibly lazy and would rather get other people to do their job or not do it at all. I would have to wait forever for a manager to answer a page or help me with something, in which they would get angry with me when the job wasn't done, yet it was 100% their fault. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work
Overnight Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Cobourg, ONJuly 22, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: poor compensation for amount of work
Midnight is a very hard shift to do, Many different personalities within management makes it very difficult for fair environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible managment
cashier (Former Employee), vaudreuil- dorionJuly 22, 2014
not organized , no formal training.
employees were not very friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good at interacting with the customer
cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 22, 2014
I enjoy interacting with the customer. i learn that we have to work as a team to get the job done. and I most enjoyable come to work all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the social aspect of the job.
Cashier (Former Employee), Peace River, ABJuly 21, 2014
Management was supportive and accommodated my schedule.
Co-workers were supportive, helpful and fun to be around.
Hardest part of the job was standing for long periods of time.
I learned that good customer service is the key and how you treat someone definitely can make for a good day.
Typical day at work was working for 4 hours and then a break and – more... then working another 4 hours and home I would go.
The most enjoyable part was dealing with the customers and supporting other co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmasphere, great co-workers
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Westbank, BCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: long lunch hors, flexible hours, great people.
Cons: understaffed
I worked in the Westbank Wal-Mart 1093 for 2 years, I had a great time with my co-workers, the best part of working there was the flexible hours and knowing that the people you worked with actually cared about you, everyone there was caring and compassionate, although the downfall to working there was that it was almost run like a high school, very – more... 'clicky'. but an over-all great place to work. I definitely recommend it for anyone to have as their first job or even just for something to do if you don't need to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN, RUN FAST!
Customer Service Manger/ Cashier (Former Employee), torontoJuly 21, 2014
Cons: everything, the store, co-workers no closeness, horrible pay, no union
worst job ever! took me three years to figure out. Horrible customers, horrible management including HR, and cash office. Many opportunities if you wish to continue on in the company any times hours are constant and you do get a yearly bonus depending on store location and how well sales were. Build backbone, if you can work here you can handle anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of tasks
Commis d'entrepôt (Former Employee), Lachute, QCJuly 21, 2014
i've learn a lot about organizing my tasks about my time and breaks. Being mostly of the time alone in the backstore was the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONJuly 20, 2014
usually I would bring in carts, carry heavy objects and change garbages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to networking
Marketing Manager (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 20, 2014
Pros: good culture
Cons: long hours, difficult to obtain permanent positions
Management level is generally friendly and approachable; depending on area, expect to be long hours and change management skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, good location, community oriented.
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee), St. John's, NLJuly 18, 2014
Cons: working all overnight shifts, working when short staffed, low pay scale.
Safe frienly environment in which to work. I worked overnight maintenance. Worked well with the managers and my co-workers. Good benefits and vacation time. The pay scale was low with very little advance in pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), North Battleford, SKJuly 17, 2014
Pros: staff lunches(subs, pizza and steak) for non-accident days
Cons: right now-all the construction happening because of the supercentre addition
a typical day at Walmart is fast paced, exciting and goes really fast
What I have learned working there is how to be a team player
The management is very fair, giving you the days off that you need.
The co-workers there are very helpful and give you tips on how to get through orders in a quick and easy manner.
The hardest part of the job is the up to – more... 13-people lineups
The most enjoyable part of the job is the friendliness of the workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Loss Prevention Associate (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONJuly 17, 2014
Nice company, nice people. One of the best parts of the job was my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wal-Mart
Shoe Sales Associate (Former Employee), Red DeerJuly 17, 2014
Learned lots from managers and co-workers, great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are nice that I work with
Customer Service Associate/ Courtesy Desk (Current Employee), Carbonear, NLJuly 16, 2014
Pros: friends, free lunches
Cons: not enough hours
most enjoyable dealing with the customers, moving up into different departments in only a few months
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 15, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at work is cashing customers out. I learned how to use my communication skills my managers were okay there were some coworkers that got on my nerve but work comes before anything and my enjoyable times were the compliments from the customers. CUSTOMERS ARE ALWAYS RIGHT!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op job
Co-op Student (Former Employee), MississaugaJuly 15, 2014
it was just a co-op job that was it, didn't work there after! i would like to work there, but it was too much work for me when i was in high school to take on, the people who worked there before with me weren't so good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my personal review
Assistant Manager, Front End Manager (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 15, 2014
Pros: enjoying what i do and having a positive additude
Cons: sometimes missing out on family time
open store have a meeting in morning with all employees on days to give the goals for the day and review with night crew all new product and any store changes , what we learned on a daily basices we share with staff to keep them always in the loop of things going on working as a front end manager you are on floor with your people and coaching and improving – more... there skills daily , work with so many wonderful people , every day was enjoyable you have all different people and every day is a adventure – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with, but a bit stressful
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 15, 2014
Pros: great people, and fairly easy work (most of the time)
Cons: frustrating customers, and overly demanding managers
The job is not a difficult one, but some of the customers you have to deal with are amazingly frustrating. As well the Managers sometimes expect for you to do more than is physically possible, such as look after the entire back corner of the store by your self, helping customers, and run a cash register. but the people I work with there make it a fun – more... experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
live close by
Cashier / cosmetics / assistant (Former Employee), north edmontonJuly 15, 2014
realy interested in working with rexall, have lots of experience and just love seeing people

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more