Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 4,397 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intresting workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 November 2016
Great work environment however as part time worker other benefits like health care sick pay or holiday pay etc are restricted.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Store Standards (Former Employee) –  Store Standards17 November 2016
Nothing to say say about the company, its a walmart. The company was okay to their workers and I have very little complaints about them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for walmart
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 November 2016
It was an ok job, not bad pay. I worked the night shifts there it was not really something for me. As well as I worked the front as a cashier and I enjoyed that position alot more. I'd recommend working for walmart.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned working at Wal-mart
Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 November 2016
I learned how to open up and engage with customers. I also learned a lot about developing and printing 35mm film. I was taught how to troubleshoot broken machines and furthered my education on current technology, such as using cellphones to upload pictures onto kiosks
Pros
co-workers, hours, and line of work
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, Positive environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Stratford, ON16 November 2016
Honestly one of the best places i have worked at. i love my job there they give out decent amount of hours. great if your a student or an adult, if you have a problem they will help you solve it. the salary is on the lower side but its not supposed to be a high paying job, overall its a great job for hours and pay if your a person trying to make some money and i would definitely recommend them.

The typical day at work is serving customers,working with other employees, and keeping a clean work space

co workers there are extremely friendly and amazing to work with, they will be there when you need help and they are lots of fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with many advancement opportunities
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON16 November 2016
helpful kind management
learned how to deal with customers and meet their needs
a lot of customers not enough employees to assist creates long lines
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good temp job to have but difficult to have a career
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee) –  Brandon, MB15 November 2016
good for students and part time work, building a career at Walmart does not pay the bills. pay is low and does not increase very quickly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So so place to work
Maintenance/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC15 November 2016
Would be a great place to work if management listened more & communicated with each other & staff. Working with fellow associates was mainly enjoyable.
Pros
Fellow workers
Cons
No communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't go there
undisclosed (Former Employee) –  Quebec15 November 2016
Unorganized company, bad HR representatives, unprofessional and questionable ethics. Managers don't listen, employees always complaining for nothing, bad pay for the work you do.
Pros
Discount
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good college job
Order Filler / Reach Driver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 November 2016
i worked here for 4 years while i saved up for and while i went to college. i quit because new management came in and lowered my pay almost 4$/hour because of changed policies. its a good job if youre willing to work weekends to pay for school. would not recommend as a career.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
weekend work mostly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very organized
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert15 November 2016
I have worked there last year and it was a fast paced job something I was looking for and it was fairly organized. I recently moved so wasn't able to work the job anymore
Pros
Close to food stores so I didn't have to go far for lunch.
Cons
Too far from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place to learn new communication skills
Cashier / Customer service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 November 2016
Walmart has helped me achieve excellent customer service skills as well as how to work in a fast paced environment. It has helped me realize my potential in working with and caring for people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Job, Not Enough Pay
Overnight Stocker (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON15 November 2016
You must be a really strong and determined person to work here. Management could care less about you and your co workers might probably be the only think keeping you there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB15 November 2016
Not much for advancement, unless favored by management. Work hard to get not very far sadly. They did for the most part, accomodate a schedule with having a child
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment.
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON14 November 2016
-Customer flow can be very intense, but also very slow.
-Management team is a hit or miss. One can say that sometimes they make smart decisions, other times not so smart.
-Too many associates that 'slack' and get away with it.
-On the other hand, good associates aren't appreciated enough.
-Scheduling is very flexible. Management can be very lenient and understanding of your situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but hard
ics (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB14 November 2016
the grunts at walmart like i was are funny and awesome to be around but the work was always hard and they pushed you to do more and more i would never want to put any of my friends or family in that work place
Pros
none
Cons
longer hours and no thanks for those long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Instock Associate (Former Employee) –  Pincher Creek, AB14 November 2016
wal mart was a great working experience, there was a lot of people interaction and helped me with my social skills. this job dealt with a lot of trust, working with the merchandise in the warehouse as well as keeping counts. helped me to become an more independent young adult
Pros
happy work enviroment, very team oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
2nd Shift Instock Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 November 2016
The job isn't worth the wage they pay. They we're cutting job left and right to add them to other job description thus making it feel like you had two job yet only one and still paid minimum wage. The manager WILL write you up for the slight miss step and don't you dare take a sick day they'll write you up regardless that you are sick or not. You don't get benifits and have to fight to get hours.

The only enjoyable part of the job I had was I was able to talk to a lot of people and had team to work with otherwise the job gets repetitive real quick
Pros
Team, Social
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool and welcome place. CSMS and coworkers are friendly.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 November 2016
Good place to work. Salary is good. Specially it being my first job. Just slight problem with shifts. As morning shifts are too early. Like 6.00. But still very nice place.

Most enjoyable part is consumers.
Pros
Schedule can still be adjusted with the CSM.
Cons
Standing for long. Would love it if there was a tall stool. 😊
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an excellent organization for work and growth
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON13 November 2016
it was a great work experience working with walmart. a very nice organization to be with. good benefits and very coordial management.management was very supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 76,078 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4