Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38,042 reviews

Walmart Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of bad talk
Shoes Sale Associate (Former Employee), Wetaskiwin, ABOctober 29, 2014
A lot of people talk about each other, I don't find it a very suitable enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of stuff
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Trail, BCOctober 28, 2014
Pros: learn lots
Cons: not enough money
I have learned alot of stuff to use in my future jobs. i just listen to the bosses and have enjoyed my time with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and good atmosphere for the most part.
Manager, of deli and meats (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 27, 2014
Cons: asking for more and more and not very good pay
i have learned a lot at walmart in the past year i went from a sales associate to a manger of meats and deli from all my hard work. my typical day is sorting, stocking, making sure everything is in the right place paper work, and order inventory. the hardest part of my job would be the non communication between staff and store mangers. but the most – more... enjoyable part of my day is to see all my regular customer who come in just to see me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain new and different experiences.
Midland Dept Manager and Sales Floor Rep (Former Employee), Midland, OnOctober 27, 2014
Pros: lots of experience
Cons: mostly part time work and wished more hours
During my time working for Walmart, I have worked in multiple departments. Every department I worked in gave me more experience of the retail industry such as cashier, stock management, ordering, customer relations and how management works in a large business such as Walmart. I enjoyed working with my co-workers at flexible hours that suited my needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Associates bond and work as a team environment
Claims & DSD Processor/Receiver (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 26, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: not enough management communication
A fast pace environment that keeps you on your toes and moving from one corner to the next. You get cross train in other department to help out when needed and when inventory rolls around. Management is always changing, it seems Walmart changes its management team every 6 months. Co-workers are family, we help each other out and keep each other happy – more... and with a smile on our face. We will always lend a hand to help to keep everything up-to-date and on the sales floor. The hardest part of the job is not enough workers, we do our best to fill the gap to keep customers happy. The enjoyable part of the job is to work with awesome co-workers, as we treat each others as family, its what makes us go to work each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and new experience
renovation crew member (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 25, 2014
Renovation of the Walmart to include food isles and other new merchandise isles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sylvan Lake, AB - Poor Management and Pay!!
FT Dairy Associate (Former Employee), Sylvan Lake, ABOctober 24, 2014
Cons: everything
This location boasts the worst management I have ever worked for and I have been in retail for 19yrs and apart of Walmart twice.... They do not care about the employees and only care about covering up poor decisions on their part by blaming the staff below them. They will never offer more than minimum wage as the manager feels minimum is more than anyone – more... needs and in Alberta... this is not the case. as a dept manager you make the same as a cashier in the larger city stores which is unacceptable. Walmart preys on the people of this community thinking they have no other option in life... Hans and the rest of the management team should be fired and replaced so this Walmart can actually thrive and be a true part of this community. Also on a side note they never have the products needed and always have empty shelves which means for the underpaid staff customers who are rude and ignorant all of which could be avoided by proper management and a staff who are paid to care. If you have another option take it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service representative
Customer service representative (Former Employee), Windsor, ONOctober 24, 2014
Pros: stable job
Cons: grueling hours
Wal-Mart Canada, Windsor ON
• Worked at organizing inventory and offered customer assistance.
• Helped customers with returns and exchanges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional productive company to work for.
Customer service Management. (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 24, 2014
Pros: working with clientele in a mangagent position.
Cons: getting people not coming in to work and having client upset for long wait at tills
I typical day a work as a Head Cashier , Handled money far all cashiers on duties and department. Training co workers on use of equipment and products . Customers complaints. collect and deposit money of all cashier on duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok but short
Sales associate and cashier (Former Employee), Victoria, BCOctober 24, 2014
Pros: nice environment, flexible hours, good training
Cons: short term
I found working at walmart to be a good job, not an awesome over the top, but not a down in the dirt either. my one big complaint about walmart is how they like a lot of other big retail companies do the whole hire you for three months then let you go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment, high standards, room for growth
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 24, 2014
Pros: good team environment, challenges every day.
Working with associates to ensure store was ready for opening.
Time sensitive merchandising changes.
Spending time with Dept. Managers daily, in their departments.
Ensuring proper customer service. Dealing with issues daily.
Hiring and training of new associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of WalMart
Cashier and Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Prince George, BCOctober 24, 2014
Pros: half my lunch is paid for on sunday, i work with some wonderful people
Cons: no full-time, no benefits, scattered hours, no set schedule, disorganized workplace, poor management, poor pay, little ability of advancement
A typical day for me consists of signing into my till, checking a communication binder. Dealing with customers through phone or person. If by phone, I am parking calls, transferring calls, speaking over a PA system answering questions & giving general information. If in person, I am returning, exchanging or selling items through my till. I am ordering – more... money for my till, doing international money transfers, directing to whom-ever, answering questions & giving general information. If I am not at my main till, I am covering a cashier's break on till, putting stock back to the salesfloor, or I am doing misc jobs.
At WalMart, I have learned to deal with large amounts of money through transfers or till work. I have become much better at simple math. I have learned to deal with a large variety of people and to take the time to listen and respond carefully. I have learned that in order to give the best service, I have to learn about my workplace.
I have come to find that the most enjoyable part of my job is dealing with people, aside from announcing things over a PA system. I love how every person is an individual and I constantly learn new and amazing things from them. However, I would say the hardest part of my job is when I don't have the service for a customer. When I don't have the information to give them or if my hands are tied, so to say, in a situation my job isn't easiest – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), North VancouverOctober 22, 2014
The typical day simply involved assisting customers in the store, and manning the till.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
HR Manager (Current Employee), ABOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great culture, people are treated with respect.
Cons: learning and development for hr professional is not the greatest.
-Great culture to work in
-High job security
-Good work life balance

But not too much opportunities for learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Cashier (Former Employee), St.CatharinesOctober 21, 2014
Pros: casual fridays
Cons: low staff count
Everyone is nice and friendly always willing to help new people out when they are in over their heads.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive place to work
overnight associate (Former Employee), Fort Saskatchewan, ABOctober 21, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: days were sometime 15 hr days
pull and unload pallets from trucks

stock shelfs with products from pallets

team work when and where ever needed

learned how to use power jacks and how to use a cardboard bailor

management was great they also joined the team in stocking shelfs and also helped solve typical problems and as well as team lifts

co-workers were great everyone pulled – more... their weight and gave 100% every day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Photolab / Cashier /Jewlery (Former Employee), Terrace, BCOctober 21, 2014
Pros: seeing everyone
Cons: less money
Meeting new people enjoying each day. Loved every coworker ive worked with. Hardest part of this job would be dealing with customers who are unhappy and not being able to make their day better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Efficiant and Fun.
Cashier (Former Employee), Peace River, ABOctober 20, 2014
Most days, the days I like best that seem to go by faster and keep me busy are the ones that make it seem metaphorically speaking I feel I'm running around like a chicken with it's head cut off. Those crazy insane busy days are the best and it gets better when the people you're working with have a good attitude about their work and the customers aren't – more... all snooty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payday meeting and game for the all staff
Food Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaOctober 20, 2014
Pros: free breakfast at payday
Cons: good system
* Inventory night was typical work
* Teamwork with management team, culture, system of managerial operations
* Management team is so nice and cooperative
* Co-workers are helpful willingly
* Maintain other departments work in the same time was hardest part sometime
* Working environment is so nice and friendly and enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always something to do
Backroom Stock (Former Employee), Prince Albert, SKOctober 19, 2014
Pros: $1 extra for working nights
Cons: no life sleep the days away
There were good people working there when I was an employee they had a good time. there was always something to be done

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more