Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 5,985 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworker
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 August 2017
It is not to bad it has its ups and downs but amazing people to work with that can help you with your job and it is a pretty good starting job and if you like working on your feet all day
Pros
Good engery
Cons
Weird hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail très intéressant et enrichissant, mais trop exigeant pour le salaire accordé
Gérante de département (Former Employee) –  Sylvan Lake, AB7 August 2017
Suite à un grave accident sur place (magasin), j'ai dû quitté et avoir une longue convalescence.
Pros
Expériences, réunions, heures, compréhension
Cons
Manque de sécurité applicable au travailleur et un manque de reconnaissance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart needs to be unionized!!!!
Bakery (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ON7 August 2017
Working at this company is an eye opener. Total train wreck. You have people in departments making out on shift while working. Disappearing Management when waiting for a final check at night sometimes waiting 45 minutes. All about sales and getting people to apply for mastercards. I worked here for a month and left. This walmart puts the fun in dysFUNctional. Wow
Pros
Leaving for the day.
Cons
Returning for next shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Receiver (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON7 August 2017
Good places to work.closeto my home.raise in pay every year.very relax atmosphere with high ups open to suggestions from employees.always keep you informed with meeting everyday.
Pros
Payed holidays
Cons
Long hour for lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
moitit moitie
Chef du personnel (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 August 2017
l'aspect difficile au travailler il y a beaucoup de travail pour une seule personne mais le gérant ne fait rien
Pros
il ya rien
Cons
pas assurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy Assistant Enjoyment
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB6 August 2017
During my time at walmart I had a great group of coworkrs and pharmacists. Everyone was kind and the pay was acceptable. Consistent treatment and payment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmat is fine as long as you bleed Walmart blue.
Service Writer (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 August 2017
A piece of advice for anyone considering employment at Walmart: don't EVER suggest improvements to the way the company operates. To do so will be viewed as criticism and that is never tolerated. Everything is perfect at the world's largest retailer and your role is to do as you are told and smile. If you can do that and leave your brain at the door, you'll go far at Walmart.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
EMC STOCK ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON5 August 2017
No A/C in summer months, no heat in winter months for night staff. Employee's treated horribly by upper management. Fast paced work environment. Lots of work needing to be completed and small staff to complete expectations. Very minimal time for family and social life. Most of your time is spent at Walmart. Stock, merchandising and inventory for night crew.
Pros
Lots of hours
Cons
No personal family time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly enviroment
Second Shift Stock Associate (Current Employee) –  Cochrane, AB5 August 2017
Wal Mart is a very good experience to work in which allows you to learn vast skills in different sections of the store.

The staff and employees are always willing to help when you need those extra hands to finish a task.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Courtesy Desk (Customer Service), Cashier (Current Employee) –  Steinbach, MB5 August 2017
This was my very first job, I remained there throughout my three years as a high school student. The store manager is exceptional in every way possible. Very kind, very encouraging, and very active in his store - always went out of his way to check in with you and have a genuine conversation. Retail was an excellent way to learn how to deal with customers professionally, as well as learn to be punctual, reliable, and a good team player.
Pros
Friendly Environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 August 2017
Wal-Mart was a place where i was able to balance school and work. It was an easy going experience, making sure I was providing quality customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Retail
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  West Kelowna, BC5 August 2017
Walmarts been good to me even thou i dont agree the way things are done we are very under staffed and some managers are very impersonal..buts it a secure job which is hard to come by and getting benifits is a huge plus ...and yearly profit sharing plus a deferred profit share for retirement as well as a staff discount helps its not alot but better than nothing and i work with a great bunch of poeple..and the option to buy stocks and walmart put a extra 15% in for you..
Pros
Great people, benifits, steady work
Cons
Under staffed .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay workplace, good for a first job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Selkirk, MB4 August 2017
Management sucks, hours are either way too much or you don't get any. Never a good balance. Cashiers forced to sell Mastercards or you get treated poorly for it (put on long tills, cashiers who sell Mastercards get put on short tills because they're easier). People you work with are generally okay people. Customers sucked.
Pros
Above minimum wage to start
Cons
Odd hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 August 2017
walmart is a terrible company to work for, i cant believe that i work there for so long if i was you i suggest that you dont work there at all for your own sake
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Oriented
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Pincher Creek, AB4 August 2017
Good place to work when there is enough associates to cover every piece of work that needs to be done. Sometimes has issues with keeping employees and is slow to hire replacements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment , supportive managers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC4 August 2017
It was a great chance for me to learn about customer service quality in canada , work on my soft skills through short conversations with so many customers every single day. The hardest part was long standing hours. The fun part was slowly making friends with familiar faces of returning frequent shoppers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodective
QA Automation Developer (Current Employee) –  Ontario3 August 2017
Felt supported by managers and co-workers in my role. Lots of opportunities for learning, and personal development. I felt I had meaningful projects to work on without excess pressure.
Work life balance is great and the company is highly supportive of agile working methods.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Fashion floor associate (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC3 August 2017
Honestly, Walmart is a mess, the way staff is treated poorly... the way the poorly made schedule is. I hated working there, there was few staff who actually enjoy being there, I by far was not one of them
Pros
going home
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pased and ever changing.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Wainwright, AB3 August 2017
Opportunitys to easily build a career are always coming up. Deep team involvement and communication is key. Over all the culture is customer driven and easy to become engaged with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its overall good company
Associate (Former Employee) –  South common Mall3 August 2017
Its overall good company,environment is very friendly only salary package is not worth ,long working hours and schedule is almost different every day and every week so it's difficult routine you cant schedule yourself with all time changing schedule
Pros
Medical coverage
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 106,684 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

71%
35,980 ratings
Add your rating