Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 5,704 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok for students
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario15 June 2017
great place for students but not so great if you are looking to advance within a company. you bust your butt off only to get kicked back down again and many broken promises
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work with interesting and nice people
Greeter and, cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 June 2017
i worked with people who made the day go by nicely and fast while still making sure all the customers were always happy and satisfied while working my shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milk
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Quesnel, BC14 June 2017
I stocked dairy aisle, cleaned the dairy line, and received milk from truck. I worked for walmart for just over 3 month and all i saw was a general state of apathy from management and staff.. an example is going to management with solution and the management would give you more problems... i do not think i will work for walmart again.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agréable
Hôte d'accueil (Former Employee) –  Dieppe, NB14 June 2017
Ce que j'avais aimé dans mon expérience, c'était d'avoir accueilli des visages familiers (membres de famille, ancien professeurs).
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed and hectic work environment
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL14 June 2017
A typical day at work was hectic and unreliable. Horribly understaffed to the point that customers could not be served to the best of our ability, as there were simply not enough workers to help. Management was flawed, and was hard to contact for means to serve customers. Beneficial as an entry level job and to gain experience in customer service, however.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON14 June 2017
Walmart would be an amazing first time job for someone looking to start out fresh, the team is so friendly and everyone is so welcoming, training is a breeze and it is a very stress free loving environment!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workingng place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC14 June 2017
Quite stressful. I learnt a lot being my first job in Canada. It is a good place to start building your experience from. Friendly co-workers and also good associates in General
Pros
occasional treats from managers
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC14 June 2017
A typical day they expect you to do get everything done at a certain time with little help. I have learned how to pace myself with my work and not injurining myself. The management is not what I expected. They are misleading due to the lack of training. I feel like I have to do everything on my own. The workplace culture is disappointing. The hardest part of the job are the sleepless nights. The most enjoyable part of the job is that my shifts go by quick.
Pros
Quick shifts
Cons
Sleepless nights
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 June 2017
Walmart was a great place to work. I had a lot of fun. co-workers are great. easy to get along with. flexible hours.clean environment.it is a fast past surrounding
Pros
good management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail productif mais horaire très difficile.
Gérant Adjoint (Former Employee) –  Lanaudière, QC13 June 2017
Journée de travail bien remplis, ne manque jamais de travail. J'ai appris à géré plusieurs employés à la fois et aussi géré beaucoup de marchandise.

De bonnes équipes de gestions en magasin.

Poste intéressant pour l'apprentissage mais manque d’avancement interne. Les postes importants sont trop souvent comblés par des personnes externes sans connaissances de le compagnie.

Très difficile de concilier la famille et le travail si nous sommes monoparentale. Horaire comportant plusieurs soirs et aussi presque tout les fins de semaine.
Pros
Apprentissage et responsabilisation.
Cons
Très difficile de concilier la famille et le travail
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environment de traville
Commis à la pharmacie (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC13 June 2017
really nice work environnement and great costumer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable associates
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC12 June 2017
great place to make new friends
customers were challenging
managers cared
workplace was friendly
I learned how o cared for customers and make them priority
Pros
discount
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC12 June 2017
The people are great to work with and helping customers is great. If you want a part-time job just for fun or a little extra cash. This is a good job.
Pros
Able to increase hours voluntarily
Cons
Shift changes to much. No room to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Dept. Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 June 2017
At Walmart Canada Corp.You can apply your knowledge and utilize your skills with this four basic beliefs- Respect for Individuals, Services to customers, Striving for Excellence and Act with Integrity.
After my several years in my last position, I am looking for a new company where I can contribute and grow in a team oriented company, I am interested in a new challenge and an opportunity to use my technical skills and experience in a different capacity than I have in the past.
Pros
Discount cards
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON11 June 2017
Dont really remeber cause it was a summer postion but I do refer i loved the product and the people I worked with always easy going and fun to.work with .
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough pay for the amount of work
Electronic Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NS11 June 2017
This job is good for short term employment. The pay is not enough for the amount of work you do and for the amount of hours you work. If you are seeking a part time job where you can enjoy every shift, this is not the job for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an ok place to work at
Cashier/Photo Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 June 2017
A typical day at work:


What you learned:


Management:


Workplace culture:


The hardest part of the job:


The most enjoyable part of the job:
Pros
Some of the employees were a joy to be around!
Cons
Some of the management and employees didn't act professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for benefits and hard working associates
Manager (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON10 June 2017
worked very hard to make sure jobs were completed on time, trucks were unloaded as required. Work was piled on the managers to complete if associates failed to do so. Being Manager had its benefits for example being able to assist associates with work and making sure they knew what was expected from them. The hardest part of the job was budget cuts while work loads kept getting bigger. The most enjoyable part of the job was celebrating bonus outcomes from profit increase year after year.
Pros
Well taken care of in the benefit aspect
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart Canada
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON10 June 2017
my store location had lots of potential to serve a larger amount of the general population. Prices were competitve and my produce section was always kept clean.
Pros
advancement apportunity
Cons
weak management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and team orientated business
Greeter (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB10 June 2017
I enjoyed my time as a member of the Walmart team I found it to be a very team orntated bussiness and I was very privileged to learn new skills happy open dialog with all mangers
Pros
Fast paced free birthday cake once every month
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 99,467 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

71%
30,699 ratings
Add your rating