Walmart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Good life/work balance
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON2 October 2017
Enjoyed working for Wal-Mart. Good pay good people good benefits. The work is pretty easy and not overly demanding. Would definitely work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fun place to work
Customer Service Manager, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC2 October 2017
The Management at the Maple Ridge Store are very easy to work with. It makes the day much easier and fun. The Store location kept me on my toes. There was rarely a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Electronics Department (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 October 2017
Perform cash transactions, Stock shelves, Inventory control, Customer service, Clean and organize
Answer question on various electronics including TV’s, game consoles, games and music. Worked in other departments when short staffed such as furniture, sports, hardware, toys. Completed price changes as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Steinbach, MB2 October 2017
one of the nice places to work.
enough breaks which is good.
all the staff is really nice and friendly.
they always welcome you with a smiling face and always ready to help
Pros
free coffee and donuts
Cons
no such cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst work place
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON1 October 2017
The time i worked there i was not treated even like a human managers would never actually listen to you. they treated there employees like they where just basically machine that should never complain.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Starter Job
Fulfillment Dept. Manager/Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 October 2017
The place and company is great to work with. It's the management that makes the place not so wonderful. Politics is present. Others are overworked while others are not working but receive the same compensation.
Pros
Company Benefits
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 September 2017
It is a fun place to work at. I enjoyed working with my colleagues and learnt a lot from them. One of the cons is that they do not pay well and give very minimal increase.
Pros
Very accepting environment
Cons
Wage is not competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Courtesy Desk Associate (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 September 2017
I had came across so many experience to work with Walmart company and still I am learning in different ways. The management is quite satisfaction and
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Grocery Associate (Former Employee) –  Steinbach, MB30 September 2017
Coworkers were always amazing to be with, made work fun! The overall environment at Walmart is good. The managers always had a positive attitude and were understanding of a student's schedule.
Pros
free food sometimes
Cons
repetetive work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is something new happens.
Assitant Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 September 2017
Everyday is different. You have to be able to change and adapt to customer's and company's needs.fast paced environment. Sometimes you feel like you have accomplished things and sometimes you don't.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome people, Great hours, enjoyable work!
Sales Associate - Electronics Department (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK29 September 2017
Working at Wal-mart felt more like a family to me. You get to know a lot of people and make a lot of new friends. Its definetly an enjoyable work place! Would recommend for anyone just out of high school.
Pros
Hours, work, people
Cons
Wage, and parts of the managment team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe environment to wok at
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Steinbach, MB29 September 2017
Typical work day would be start off by turning all the TV'S on in the morning and making sure that the cash registers work. If there was anything that needed to be overstocked, we would either put it in the back and bin it in the right located bins, or we would label them for inventory if that was not already done so. Simply help customers with questions, unlock doors for video games, headphones, cases, etc. Treat each customer with respect, as the customer is always first!
Pros
10% Discount at Walmart
Cons
Long hours, not very flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last resort
Produce Associate/ICS (Former Employee) –  Canada28 September 2017
Last resort. Get sometimes good hours, not great work life balance. No benefits. Loyalty counts for nothing. Customers are very rude. Racism/ scape goating is rampant with in culture of company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant work environment with uncooperative management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dieppe, NB28 September 2017
Strikes would be put on record for calling in sick or not being able to come in on storm days, depending who the manager on duty was that day. Management refused to cooperate with part time employees, denied medical leave with doctors note.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 September 2017
busy days
meeting new people
management was good
workplace was very busy all the time
was as a cashier
meeting new people made new friends
it is not organized .
Pros
nothing
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place and fun people
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC28 September 2017
I've learned so many things here and much more to learn. I love what I do at Walmart and I love the ambiance here and its very fun working here I am pushing my self to my limits to learn more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walmart as a whole
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC28 September 2017
it was a typical minimum wage job, nothing fantastic about it i didn't feel like there was any room to move up the morale was pretty low and i just waited till i could go to college and get a better job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy
SALES ASSOCIATE/CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON28 September 2017
Walmart is a great corporation to work for, the staff is very upbeat and is always looking for new ways to improve the company. I love helping customers and the atmosphere of helping others. The hardest part of the job is the hours, I am flexible but not enough hours are given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excel in customer service
(Mississauga) Fashion Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 September 2017
It's an excellent place to learn the subtle nuances of customer service and know all the aspects of retail working, helps in working as multitasker and learn to cope up with working in stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC28 September 2017
Very demanding for a very low pay, especially for supervisors. Responsibilities are added to the workload constantly, but the pay never raises above 0,30 cents every year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 114,686 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4