Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36,610 reviews

Walmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my position
vision-optometric assistant (Former Employee), Collingwood, ONOctober 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: management
I Loved my position. I Worked with some great people. I enjoyed the customers, many whom returned year after year. We had a lot of ongoing safety training. Some good perks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Work Experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Burlington, ONOctober 1, 2014
Most Managers are not understanding and have no Customer Service values and talks down and lowly towards you. So far the worst job I have ever had. Very rude managers and head managers. Low on staff always so they pull floor associates on cash so no ones on the floor and ask us to work longer hours. Ridiculous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible.
Electronics Sales Associate (Former Employee), Swift Current, SKOctober 1, 2014
Pros: met my best friend at the job, store closed at 10 so you never worked too late
Cons: terrible management, customers were always very rude and impatient, expected you to know everything even though you have an assigned department
I enjoyed working in the Electronics department- but the management was awful- they treated their workers like dirt, and were very mean. If a customer complained about you- even if they were lying- the managers would NOT listen to your side of the story. You would be blamed, no matter what, and get in trouble for things you didn't even do. The coworkers – more... were pretty good, but they came and went very quickly because of how low pay was, the horrible minimal hours, and the terrible treatment. The hardest part of the job was going to work knowing my feelings didn't matter- of course you have to try your best at work, and be professional, but the managers shouldn't have the right to scream at you in front of customers. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with electronics and my coworkers in that department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot but wasnt happy with the way they treated advancement with associates
Merchandise Manager (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONOctober 1, 2014
took position as merch manager and was told i would only be in it for 6 months and would become an assistant manager and i worked in that position for over a year and i was overlooked.Walmart seems to overlook women over 40. i had worked in every department in the store and worked overnights for 3 years so i felt i had given it my all and didnt seem – more... to be able to further my self.i had worked there for 11 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job and couldnt ask for better
Cashier - Customer (Former Employee), WinnipegSeptember 30, 2014
working at wal mart i was faced with a lot of different things on a daily basis and i loved every part of it.
being my first job i learned a lot about customer service and how to keep calm in situations that would need my full attention!
there were some hard parts like making sure that every customer left the store with a smile on their face or that – more... everyone got what they came to the store for, but all and all i believe that we gave it our all to make sure that no one left the store without knowing they wanted to coming back!
i might some of my best friends at wal mart, working there was like a big family and i wouldnt trade that experience for the world – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt enjoy working in the dairy position
Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee), Woodstock, ONSeptember 30, 2014
I did not enjoy this position, however someone else may be a better fit. I didn't like working in the fridge or freezer because of how cold it was. It was also a lot of heavy lifting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You Get To Know Different People
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: meeting different cultures, free lunches when there's an occasion
Cons: stressful especially on special occasions
Working in Wal-Mart is demanding. Everyday, I get to meet different people with different needs. I have to help them find their item, explain the functions of the item, help with lifting, cash out people and answer calls if I have the opportunity to do so. My co-workers are cooperative and we help each other when we need it. The management is not that – more... bad. Although they send us in other departments aside from our assigned department when the need arises. The most enjoyable part of this job is that I get to talk to different people and their cultures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People I work with at the front end are great.
Cashier (Current Employee), OshawaSeptember 29, 2014
Wal-Mart is an alright place to work. You just have to go in do your work and leave. Some people are a bit difficult to work with but I don't work with the same people everyday which helps
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Photo Lab Technician (Current Employee), Wallaceburg, ONSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: good place to work at.
Cons: would like more hours.
I am a Photo Lab Technician and enjoy helping customers with machines that print the pictures. I also help out other departments as much as i can because its a team environment. The staff are all friendly and i work very well with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), March, ONSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: lack of work life balance
Running operations of store
Mentoring associates
Merchandise planning
Customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but really disorganized place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: discount card and other discounts from companies like hotels
Cons: managment making you feel like less of a person aswell as a worker
I learned how to effectively calm distraught customers whenever they were unhappy in a manner that wouldn't inconvenience the customer or my employer. I learned what it's like to work in a high paced area that actually pushed me to work hard. a typical day of work would be to come in, go to your assigned register, and serve customers via cashing them – more... out, take your breaks, clean up your register, punch out and head home. Dealing with the management who often makes you feel unappreciated and often disliked wasn't great. There was a very distinct feeling of tension on most days. Besides management being difficult towards their employees, my fellow co-workers were fantastic people to work with every day. Hardest part of the job was standing in the same spot for several hours at a time through out the day. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers everyday, I had regular customers come in and say hello every time. It's amazing to greet them and know they come back because of the great experience they have with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a strong work ethic
Pantry worker (Former Employee), Drayton Valley, ABSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: 3 breaks for an 8hr day
Cons: short breaks
I liked coming into work everyday because I liked what I did as a Pantry worker (coolers/freezers and stocking food onto shelves) because I'm built for heavy lifting and I learned a lot from the whmis training.

Management was great, always looked over the associates and kept us motivated for another day of work, and my co-workers were very friendly – more... towards everyone they came across. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an excellent store . I love to do shopping here.
Cashier (Current Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 28, 2014
I like a busy day at work . I like to do work with my co workers very nicely . I like to co-operate my co workers .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy place to work, need to be on top of all aspects of your game.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Victoria, BCSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: have to spin "numerous plates"
start day by touring entire store looking for things that need to be fixed for better customer service. Once done you either 1) go back to your own areas of responsibility to do a detailed deep dive of your own areas or 2) you are duty manager for the day being responsible for entire stores reports, customer service calls and making sure checkouts are – more... running smoothly.
I understand total store operations in a big box setting and can apply that to any setting. We have a very large management staff due to sheer volume we do. My co workers are very hardworking and try their best. Hardest part of job is when there are numerous sick call ins and can't replace them all so you have to move employees around to ensure best possible customer satisfaction. Most enjoyable part of job is when figures line up right for maximum productivity and employees are happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very active person and responsible with my duties
Cashier (Current Employee), calgary deerfootSeptember 28, 2014
Very Active person on the Job and learned something new Everyday at work to greet and assist customers at my best. management is very nice as well including my fellow co-workers. I enjoy every part of my job as a cashier at Walmart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales/ Stock Clerk
Sales / Stock Clerk (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: eating in the staff room
Cons: going home
My typical day was to get returns from the customer service by putting them back where they belong. My co-workers help me through the tough times even though they were like my family. The hardest part was going home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Prince Albert, SKSeptember 26, 2014
enjoyed working for the company, worked at the tills as Cashier..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart is a good start off job
Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: time share
Cons: flexibility with schedule
Walmart seems to be good as a start off job, you learn a lot of useful skills that you can implement in every work field you decide to go forth with. Communication skills, and productivity is just two of the many skills you learn working there. As a cashier, I stand at the register and cash out many customers. The hardest part of the job is getting – more... blamed for things you can't control, while understanding a customers frustration, it was not your fault bananas were priced wrong. It's not easy to move up in the business, it's not impossible, but it's rare in my opinion. The best part of the job is meeting new people and making connections with regular customers. Sometimes dealing with customers can be a blessing and a curse, I know how to understand and work with every customer that walks through the Walmart doors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excitement working with co-workers
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Kindersley, SKSeptember 26, 2014
Handling the Cashiers.
Handling work without any stress.
Balance daily transactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: work
Cons: not work
Help people on a day to dy basis be positive and out going and willing to help

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more