Walmart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  New Liskeard, ON11 January 2018
Loved working at the walmart I was at. They had excellent facilities for the employees and lots of clean space, The walmart was also very very organized which was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, Pleasant working culture
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 January 2018
A Pleasent culture and working environment, management were also pleasant and jobs and tasks were typically reasonable and well defined. Not a bad place to work especially as a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Walkie Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 January 2018
.Great Work and Pay
.Great Leadership Team
.Extremely low job security(Can loose your job anytime)
.Clean facility
.Well organized
.Extremely safe as your required to sign in and out, Every time you leave or enter the building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A welcoming work place that values its employees and customers alike.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Powell River, BC11 January 2018
I enjoyed working at Wal-Mart part-time as a cashier for the christmas season. I found the managers fair and treated everyone equally, and gave everyone of all different backgrounds a good opportunity to learn new skills and benefit from working there.
Pros
discounts in store given to employees
Cons
long and repetitive work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON11 January 2018
I was there from the store first opening and untill I had my daughter, great team of people to work for , great over all company
lots of benefits and profit sharing, and paid sick time as well as holidays
Pros
over all great place
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at walmart
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Malton, ON11 January 2018
Walmart was a great place to work. It had a fast pace but friendly environment. the managers, co workers were very friendly and reasdy to help always no matter what the situtation is.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Workplace
Truck unloader/ Cart pusher (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB11 January 2018
An average day would be me unloading boxes then pushing carts. I learned how to lift heavy boxes safely and push carts. Management was distant barely seen. workplace culture was respectable. The hardest part was pushing the carts in the winter. I enjoyed the friendly employees.
Pros
friendly employees
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer service, cooking, and sanitization (Former Employee) –  Deli10 January 2018
easy work. not much thinking required as general staff. good part time job or in a pinch. do not work on cash, please. evening shift is nice and calm besides the before dinner rush.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun working at best price ludhiana in india learnt alot of things
CUSTOMER RELATIONS AND CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 January 2018
best price was the best place to work at the management and the staff was very cooperative and helpful learnt a lot of communication technique and skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment, very helpful staff set on achieving their goals.
Store Standards (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ON10 January 2018
overall work experience was great, could definitely improve on under staffing the stores and picking managers wiser. alot happens under the noses of the people in charge. i just wish they were smart enough to realize it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the different options and opportunity's
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB10 January 2018
Loved the different options and opportunity's and the wide selection of job dutys to be learned and completed. Great staff and management. Taught me great patients and client care skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT was a good place to work.
Day Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON10 January 2018
While I was happy to go to work each day and do my jobs, I found that the company did not care about me. While I got a good severance package they did nothing to help me stay employed.
Pros
Good place to work.
Cons
Did not protect workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON10 January 2018
I really enjoyed working with the management and workers at Walmart. They were kind and very helpful. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping customers.
Pros
helping customers
Cons
long lineups
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 January 2018
Wal-Mart can be no a bad place to work when its not on one of its busy days. But when it gets busy you'll have to watch out plenty of people coming at you with tons of questions. The people that worked there were decent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and healthy place to work
Associate (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC9 January 2018
It is a nice place to work, i like helping customers and I love working in electronics department. All the other employees were great, it sometime gets hard to handle customers and also it is such a big store so it was tough walking around from one place to another.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't think of it as more than just a job.
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON9 January 2018
There were opportunities for growth, but rarely any employee recognition or incentive to do better. You could be working at your absolute best but being paid less than someone who does very little and just happens to be employed there longer. It's fine as a job to tie you over between jobs, but I wouldn't stay longer than a few years at most. Good profit sharing and stocks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS9 January 2018
A typical work day involves cooking, cleaning , dishes and being part of a team. I've learned a lot of work ethic and how to work independent and in a team. The management team for the most part is great and easy to get along with but some are harder on their employees. The hardest part of the job is the heavy lifting, moving skids, carrying boxes and racking chickens. The most enjoyable part of the job was the friendships I've make with my coworkers and the amazing environment it created.
Pros
schdualed luches and breaks
Cons
non flexable schedual
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good opportunity to save money.
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON9 January 2018
Always busy fast paced environment makes the day go by quicker.
Generally most associates are friendly and well mannered.
Most of the management team cares about the well being of employees.
Pros
Profit sharing program, Occasional free refreshments from bakery and or dry goods.
Cons
A very heavy work load at times, Management has very high, sometimes unreasonable expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON9 January 2018
Nobody respected each other. There were noticeable cliques. Managers were discouraging and rude. Employees frequently stole from the store. Overall not a good place to work.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Managers would make employees cry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place
OVERNIGHT BEAUTY STOCKER - SEASONAL (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB9 January 2018
Great people to work with.
Became a bit boring during night shifts.
Decent start salary for night shift
Nice managers and leaders
Happy not to wear a uniform
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 125,762 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4