Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33,942 reviews

Walmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favouritism and Incompetent management
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: poor management. horrible treatment of good hard working employees.underpaid.
I work as a csm and its the most horrible company to work for.There is extreme favouritism. Assistant managers let associates they like get away with anything. Some associates do nothing take multiple breaks and leave their station whenever they want while others are overworked to pick up after them. If you file complaint against any favoured associate – more... you get a lecture and they will team up and imply you are lying. That has been my experience working at walmart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Terrace, British ColumbiaJuly 25, 2014
everyday working with customers was amazing. i loved meeting new people each and everyday. what i have learned was a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It`s better than being unemployed
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Kirkland, QCJuly 24, 2014
It wasn`t my ideal kind of job. I wasn`t there long enough to give a proper review because I was determined to find a job that best suited my talents in the work face. I was hoping for a job in the office dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great teamwork morale
loader (Current Employee), Wetaskiwin, AlbertaJuly 24, 2014
Pros: great co-workers and management
Cons: low wages
It is a good balance between really busy days and low activity. I learned how to handle all kinds of stresses while on the job, which showed in my work because my supervisor has recommended me for a full-time position next month. Learning how to manage tasks of unloading, organizing product shipments and co-worker requests, and scanning products with – more... all required tools and electronics.
The best part of working with Walmart is working with a great team and being guided by a upstanding leadership. the difficult part of the job is doing all this work, keeping up with odd shifts, and not getting the pay or enough hours to make decent cheques. Mainly, it is the low wages that is my biggest challenge with this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electronics Department
Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 24, 2014
Helping customer with their purchases and fulfilling there needs with correct items for there electronic products. Sales, cashier and merchandising were the main priorities for this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Department Manager - Multiple Departments (Current Employee), Mississauga, OntarioJuly 24, 2014
Working at Black's gave me a full insight to the functional side of photography while still allowing me to show my creative side. This was a great knowledgeable opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recommended to work here
Night Crew (Former Employee), CalgaryJuly 24, 2014
Pros: no experience nessessary
Cons: 40 boxes an hour
Standard "box on shelf" job. Learned how to use a box cutter, and warehousing. Management wasn't always the best. Co-workers were a good bunch of people, very few if any complaints. Hardest part was the deadlines. Completely filling the toilet paper department in under 4 hours. I could get it vaguely filled, but not 100% filled. Most enjoyable was the – more... last 30 minutes of clean up, and working in teams, and a "blitz" team we did once, where we had a group that would just rush the quick and easy freight in each department, 1 person picking up the garbage, and off to the next zone, and the regular employee of the area would just stay there and finish up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Often productive and pleasant work environment
Cashier (Current Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 23, 2014
Pros: experience, knowledge
Cons: no opportunity for advancement
As a Cashier, an ordinary day at work is meeting different people, providing them with the best service possible. Managers are approachable and very helpful and the same with most co-workers. I developed promotional skills, learned how to assist customers, process transactions in exchange for goods. A challenging part of the job is not being able to – more... meet every customers' needs. On the upside, there are customers that who are open to suggestions and gave associates like myself the opportunity to utilize my skills and knowledge in order to satisfy them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Overnight Support Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 23, 2014
Pros: challenges
Cons: money
The job was extremely busy at times but in a great way. To change a stores appearance in a night was fun and challenging. Problem there was the amount of money the company was able to pay associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service experience
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Surrey, BCJuly 23, 2014
It was good customer service experience. I enjoyed working with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Co Workers, Great Work, Terrible Management
1st Shift In-Stock Associate (Former Employee), St. John's, NLJuly 23, 2014
Pros: awesome co workers
Cons: terrible management
Everyday I went to work, I knew I'd be with co workers who I also called friends. They treated me like an equal (most of the time) and the job itself was easy and manageable if you knew how to do it correctly.
However, the management at this location was terrible. I was blatantly lied to about a position change, lied about being full time, lied about – more... gaining benefits, pay increase and hours, the job itself, etc. The management (most of them) were incredibly lazy and would rather get other people to do their job or not do it at all. I would have to wait forever for a manager to answer a page or help me with something, in which they would get angry with me when the job wasn't done, yet it was 100% their fault. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work
Overnight Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Cobourg, ONJuly 22, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: poor compensation for amount of work
Midnight is a very hard shift to do, Many different personalities within management makes it very difficult for fair environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible managment
cashier (Former Employee), vaudreuil- dorionJuly 22, 2014
not organized , no formal training.
employees were not very friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good at interacting with the customer
cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 22, 2014
I enjoy interacting with the customer. i learn that we have to work as a team to get the job done. and I most enjoyable come to work all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the social aspect of the job.
Cashier (Former Employee), Peace River, ABJuly 21, 2014
Management was supportive and accommodated my schedule.
Co-workers were supportive, helpful and fun to be around.
Hardest part of the job was standing for long periods of time.
I learned that good customer service is the key and how you treat someone definitely can make for a good day.
Typical day at work was working for 4 hours and then a break and – more... then working another 4 hours and home I would go.
The most enjoyable part was dealing with the customers and supporting other co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmasphere, great co-workers
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Westbank, BCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: long lunch hors, flexible hours, great people.
Cons: understaffed
I worked in the Westbank Wal-Mart 1093 for 2 years, I had a great time with my co-workers, the best part of working there was the flexible hours and knowing that the people you worked with actually cared about you, everyone there was caring and compassionate, although the downfall to working there was that it was almost run like a high school, very – more... 'clicky'. but an over-all great place to work. I definitely recommend it for anyone to have as their first job or even just for something to do if you don't need to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN, RUN FAST!
Customer Service Manger/ Cashier (Former Employee), torontoJuly 21, 2014
Cons: everything, the store, co-workers no closeness, horrible pay, no union
worst job ever! took me three years to figure out. Horrible customers, horrible management including HR, and cash office. Many opportunities if you wish to continue on in the company any times hours are constant and you do get a yearly bonus depending on store location and how well sales were. Build backbone, if you can work here you can handle anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of tasks
Commis d'entrepĂ´t (Former Employee), Lachute, QCJuly 21, 2014
i've learn a lot about organizing my tasks about my time and breaks. Being mostly of the time alone in the backstore was the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONJuly 20, 2014
usually I would bring in carts, carry heavy objects and change garbages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to networking
Marketing Manager (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 20, 2014
Pros: good culture
Cons: long hours, difficult to obtain permanent positions
Management level is generally friendly and approachable; depending on area, expect to be long hours and change management skills

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more