Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37,893 reviews

Walmart Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Dry Grocery (Former Employee), Orangeville, ONNovember 1, 2014
Pros: stock sharing, open door policy
Cons: scattered management
Working at Walmart was a great experience for me. I was able to work with, and help a variety of different people from all cultures and backgrounds. Unlike other places I've been employed, I was always busy at Walmart, which is what I've been looking for. I was able to work independently when I came in for my shift, with some instruction and little – more... guidance. When it came to working with my co-workers, majority of our interactions were pleasant. It was a growing experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nearly perfect place to work
Cashier/Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Halifax, NSNovember 1, 2014
Walmart has a better salary than most entry level jobs. Good benefits, especially if you get hired full time. Surprisingly great advancement opportunities. Generally friendly management as long as you are doing your job. The only complaint I have is the pressure to upsell Mastercards. That is not necessarily the companies fault however, there may not – more... be another cost feasible way to advertise their Mastercards to customers without the upselling. I just didn't like doing it. In fact, I'm pretty sure I heard nearly ever other employee complain about it at one time or another as well. Cashiers are the only ones required to upsell though. Just a heads up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great time working with Walmart
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Swift Current, SKOctober 31, 2014
Pros: 10 % employee discount on all purchases!!!
Cons: changing work hours
Although I worked at Walmart for short period of time, it was great experience for me. Co-workers were very friendly and supportive. Flexible and accommodative schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and job security
department manager (Current Employee), whitby ontarioOctober 30, 2014
Pros: friendly attmosphere, helping customers, benefits
Cons: pay rate, too many managers making different decisions
My typical day at work is working hard,stocking,merchandising,price changes,modulars onhand changes
I learned to multi task, prioritize, working fast and correctly,
Management are fantastic they are understanding and helpful and demanding
I love my co workers they listen and willing to help with any concerns
The hardest part of my job is trying to get – more... all my jobs done in 8 hours
The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing all my co workers, and being challenged with new projects – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 30, 2014
good people
helpful
teamwork
safety checks
easy to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wal-mart Family
Manager basics (Former Employee), Fort St John, BCOctober 29, 2014
Pros: customer service
i enjoyed working at Wal-mart and would love to work there again as i had to leave my job last time before two week notice was up .
My husband had a job and they moved his start date up. I regretted leaving there . We are now settled in living in Kamloops and have bought a home here so am going to try to get back in at Walmart . Management was good – more... as a whole but i never got a chance to be fully trained i found there was no hard part of my job i have worked in many parts of the store within the store and always loved caring for customers needs and helping find things was my favorite part and watching the smile on a customers face . I really enjoyed my years with wal-mart and customer is first smiles and the 3 meter rule . all aspects of my adventures with walmart were always good experiences – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of bad talk
Shoes Sale Associate (Former Employee), Wetaskiwin, ABOctober 29, 2014
A lot of people talk about each other, I don't find it a very suitable enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of stuff
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Trail, BCOctober 28, 2014
Pros: learn lots
Cons: not enough money
I have learned alot of stuff to use in my future jobs. i just listen to the bosses and have enjoyed my time with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and good atmosphere for the most part.
Manager, of deli and meats (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 27, 2014
Cons: asking for more and more and not very good pay
i have learned a lot at walmart in the past year i went from a sales associate to a manger of meats and deli from all my hard work. my typical day is sorting, stocking, making sure everything is in the right place paper work, and order inventory. the hardest part of my job would be the non communication between staff and store mangers. but the most – more... enjoyable part of my day is to see all my regular customer who come in just to see me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain new and different experiences.
Midland Dept Manager and Sales Floor Rep (Former Employee), Midland, OnOctober 27, 2014
Pros: lots of experience
Cons: mostly part time work and wished more hours
During my time working for Walmart, I have worked in multiple departments. Every department I worked in gave me more experience of the retail industry such as cashier, stock management, ordering, customer relations and how management works in a large business such as Walmart. I enjoyed working with my co-workers at flexible hours that suited my needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Associates bond and work as a team environment
Claims & DSD Processor/Receiver (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 26, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: not enough management communication
A fast pace environment that keeps you on your toes and moving from one corner to the next. You get cross train in other department to help out when needed and when inventory rolls around. Management is always changing, it seems Walmart changes its management team every 6 months. Co-workers are family, we help each other out and keep each other happy – more... and with a smile on our face. We will always lend a hand to help to keep everything up-to-date and on the sales floor. The hardest part of the job is not enough workers, we do our best to fill the gap to keep customers happy. The enjoyable part of the job is to work with awesome co-workers, as we treat each others as family, its what makes us go to work each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and new experience
renovation crew member (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 25, 2014
Renovation of the Walmart to include food isles and other new merchandise isles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sylvan Lake, AB - Poor Management and Pay!!
FT Dairy Associate (Former Employee), Sylvan Lake, ABOctober 24, 2014
Cons: everything
This location boasts the worst management I have ever worked for and I have been in retail for 19yrs and apart of Walmart twice.... They do not care about the employees and only care about covering up poor decisions on their part by blaming the staff below them. They will never offer more than minimum wage as the manager feels minimum is more than anyone – more... needs and in Alberta... this is not the case. as a dept manager you make the same as a cashier in the larger city stores which is unacceptable. Walmart preys on the people of this community thinking they have no other option in life... Hans and the rest of the management team should be fired and replaced so this Walmart can actually thrive and be a true part of this community. Also on a side note they never have the products needed and always have empty shelves which means for the underpaid staff customers who are rude and ignorant all of which could be avoided by proper management and a staff who are paid to care. If you have another option take it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service representative
Customer service representative (Former Employee), Windsor, ONOctober 24, 2014
Pros: stable job
Cons: grueling hours
Wal-Mart Canada, Windsor ON
• Worked at organizing inventory and offered customer assistance.
• Helped customers with returns and exchanges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional productive company to work for.
Customer service Management. (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 24, 2014
Pros: working with clientele in a mangagent position.
Cons: getting people not coming in to work and having client upset for long wait at tills
I typical day a work as a Head Cashier , Handled money far all cashiers on duties and department. Training co workers on use of equipment and products . Customers complaints. collect and deposit money of all cashier on duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok but short
Sales associate and cashier (Former Employee), Victoria, BCOctober 24, 2014
Pros: nice environment, flexible hours, good training
Cons: short term
I found working at walmart to be a good job, not an awesome over the top, but not a down in the dirt either. my one big complaint about walmart is how they like a lot of other big retail companies do the whole hire you for three months then let you go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment, high standards, room for growth
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 24, 2014
Pros: good team environment, challenges every day.
Working with associates to ensure store was ready for opening.
Time sensitive merchandising changes.
Spending time with Dept. Managers daily, in their departments.
Ensuring proper customer service. Dealing with issues daily.
Hiring and training of new associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of WalMart
Cashier and Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Prince George, BCOctober 24, 2014
Pros: half my lunch is paid for on sunday, i work with some wonderful people
Cons: no full-time, no benefits, scattered hours, no set schedule, disorganized workplace, poor management, poor pay, little ability of advancement
A typical day for me consists of signing into my till, checking a communication binder. Dealing with customers through phone or person. If by phone, I am parking calls, transferring calls, speaking over a PA system answering questions & giving general information. If in person, I am returning, exchanging or selling items through my till. I am ordering – more... money for my till, doing international money transfers, directing to whom-ever, answering questions & giving general information. If I am not at my main till, I am covering a cashier's break on till, putting stock back to the salesfloor, or I am doing misc jobs.
At WalMart, I have learned to deal with large amounts of money through transfers or till work. I have become much better at simple math. I have learned to deal with a large variety of people and to take the time to listen and respond carefully. I have learned that in order to give the best service, I have to learn about my workplace.
I have come to find that the most enjoyable part of my job is dealing with people, aside from announcing things over a PA system. I love how every person is an individual and I constantly learn new and amazing things from them. However, I would say the hardest part of my job is when I don't have the service for a customer. When I don't have the information to give them or if my hands are tied, so to say, in a situation my job isn't easiest – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), North VancouverOctober 22, 2014
The typical day simply involved assisting customers in the store, and manning the till.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
HR Manager (Current Employee), ABOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great culture, people are treated with respect.
Cons: learning and development for hr professional is not the greatest.
-Great culture to work in
-High job security
-Good work life balance

But not too much opportunities for learning.

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more