Walmart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast pace
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Vegreville, AB12 February 2018
Working at Walmart was great you got to see a lot of new faces everyday got to help the customers find the products they were looking for, and making sure they had a great shopping experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with great opportunities
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Vernon, BC12 February 2018
I have had the pleasure of meeting and working within a very diverse community of associates and management. I have had the opportunity to continually learn and advance my career, but am most excited about the teachings and advancement I was able to help my associates with.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Commuting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good communication between uppermanagement
Wireless Associate (Current Employee) –  Port Perry, ON12 February 2018
Solid communication to help boost sales

Constantly updated with prices

Good deals with gift cards

Pay is not good enough

In store politics
Pros
Walk around store, make sales, talk
Cons
standing for long periods, low compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Store Standard Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bolton, ON11 February 2018
My time at Walmart was fun and educational, I got to learn a lot in the time that I worked there. If you are looking for a job in the retail business Walmart is a good place to start.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun part at walmart was to serve customers
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 February 2018
We came at work and punched in our cards. We went to floor and checked the desk if a colleague who got off work, left a notice for the day. I counted the changes and walked around tills if a cashier was short of changes. We interacted with customers who looked for items or brought returns to the stores.
Pros
Employees got discounts, when they used employees cards
Cons
pay rates is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult work enviroment
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 February 2018
-little to no communication between management and associates
-a very fast paced enviroment
-not a lot of shifts available
-little to no opportunity to move up positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB10 February 2018
In this company you are nothing but a number. They don't care about any of there workers at all.
They do not care about employee's family or life outside about Walmart, they expect you to be able to do every thing for them but they have no respect for you. It is a terrible company and I would never recommend people to work at it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overnight stocker/ cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kindersley, SK9 February 2018
night shift: 2-3 skids per department to be unpacked every night. clean shelves as you go and keep your work area clean.

day shift: Cashier: stock up cash areas, separate returns, handle cash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Value of Customer Service
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON9 February 2018
Working at Walmart taught me some of the most important life skills that I will take with me forever, the value of customer service. I was not only a cashier, but I was the 1st associates that customers saw when they came through the door. It was my responsibility to assist them in every which way that I could to be able to give them a positive outlook on the store. As a cashier, I was also the last associate that customers saw before they left. it was important that I was able to keep that positive attitude and outlook of the store so that the customers will want to return.
Pros
Helping people and seeing smiles when recommend great deals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great way to enhance cashier skills
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 February 2018
Working with individuals that work in a variety of departments. Alternating from cashier to sales representative and not doing the same job always. Great culture
Pros
breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job in Canada
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB9 February 2018
It was a good expeirence to advance English lahnguage skills , to understand Canaian way of customer service. The most useful part is an ability to understand medication dispensing process in Canada.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good in-school job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON9 February 2018
Walmart is a good job for in-school and high school job. The management team isn't very pleasant though. Very rude and doesnt care about any of the employees and only focuses on getting master cards. If you dont get master cards you get sat down n spoken to and trained. Also, they don't give you hardly any hours due to hiring so many employees.

Other then that the pay wage is fair.
Pros
Higher then minimum wage
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good as it gets
Overnight Merchandiser/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON8 February 2018
I very much enjoyed working with my team. I found the over night shift was a good family. My assistant manager at the time was a good teacher to those who needed to be taught new skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
Customer Experience Salesfloor (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON8 February 2018
Fantastic people, lots of training, schedules given out 3 weeks in advance, higher pay than minimum wage, great benefits for full time employees, discount card after 3 months,
Pros
Discount card, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Lead Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 February 2018
Best place to work as a newcomer.Learned about Management skills,handling things under pressure,customer dealing and satisfaction,diverse culture and friendly associates and Managers always willing to help each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB8 February 2018
I didn't mind working at coldlake Alberta Walmart. The staff were nice and it was fast paced enough to keep me on my feet. A community I'd love to work with again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very understanding and don't care for their employees.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  South Surrey, BC8 February 2018
• Operating a point of sales system
• Ensuring customer satisfaction
• Counting change back to customers and ensuring till balanced at the end of each shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning with fun
Part Time (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 February 2018
Its good place to work as first job when u move from other country.
working culture is friendly. And you meet a lot of people from different countries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON7 February 2018
Good place to start working to get you ready for future employment. Learned a lot about local produce and tips and tricks in the produce industry and field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough staff
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON7 February 2018
Walmart was very understaffed, due to Corporate office not the individual store. Too much on selling of their mastercard and not enough on customer service.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
cannot get full time work only partime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 130,015 reviews
535.4K
437.4K
335.4K
212.1K
19.7K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture